Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 2-3, “the animal sensor signal” should be “sensor signal”.
Claim 1, lines 8-9 and 10 “motion sensor signal” should be “sensor signal”.
Claim 2, line 3 “the sensor” should be “the motion sensor”.
Claim 4, line 2-3 “the respiration-corrected linear magnitude component” should be “the respiration-corrected linear magnitude”.
Claim 5, line 4-5 “the respiration-corrected linear magnitude component” should be “the respiration-corrected linear magnitude”.
Claim 5, line 7-8 “the detecting of the animal heart signal through use of the second filtered linear magnitude component” should be “wherein the detecting of the animal heart signal uses the second filtered linear magnitude component” or similar.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the animal heart rate” in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation of the claim and as a result it is unclear if the limitation is intended to refer to a heart rate of the animal or the animal heart signal. The limitation is interpreted as referring to a heart rate of the animal.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-14, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12220261 in view of Rettedal (US 20200113481 A1).
The reference patent claims teach all limitations of the claims except for the following limitations of claim 1: ii) a wireless connection for transmitting the sensor signal; and iii) at least one hardware processor programmed to perform operations.
Rettedal, in the same field of endeavor of a system for monitoring an animal including a bolus sensor, teaches that a bolus sensor may include ii) a wireless connection for transmitting the sensor signal (Abstract, paragraph 0002, 0025-0026, 0051—the animal monitoring device (6) can further operate to generate and transmit a first radio frequency signal (13) (also referred to as a “first RF signal”) which can carry encoded animal identification information (12) and encoded sensed animal characteristic information (11)… an inert bolus (4) orally administrable to an animal (or implantable in an animal) (3) containing the AMD (6) which includes … a first radio frequency generator (87) including one or more of an oscillator (88), a radio frequency stabilizer (89), an antenna (90), and a power source (91) which operate to generate the first radio frequency signal (13); Fig. 4, ); and
iii) at least one hardware processor programmed to perform operations (Paragraph 0025, 0028, 0051-- A microcontroller (7) having one or more processors (8) which operate to continuously or intermittently transform the analog or digital sensor signal (10) from the one or more sensors (9) to generate encoded sensed animal characteristic information (11)… an inert bolus (4) orally administrable to an animal (or implantable in an animal) (3) containing the AMD (6) which includes one or more of a microcontroller (7), one or more processors (8); Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the reference patent claims, which disclose monitoring a motion sensor signal generated by an animal bolus sensor, to explicitly include a wireless connection and at least one processor within the animal bolus sensor, in order to predictably improve the system and method by enabling measurements performed by the sensor to be received wirelessly while the bolus sensor remains in place, rather than requiring extraction of the bolus sensor to observe measurements and additionally to enable a user to control the operation of the bolus sensor via an onboard processor which would allow for operation of the bolus sensor to be programmed rather than requiring direct operation of the sensor.
Conclusion
The claims are not presently rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102/103.
The most pertinent prior art, Rettedal (US 20200113481 A1), Pless (US 20230053966 A1), and Dieken (US 20230119173 A1) teaches a bolus comprising: a motion sensor that generates a sensor signal, the animal sensor signal having a rotational component describing a rotation of the motion sensor within an animal and a linear component describing a linear movement of the motion sensor within the animal, a wireless connection for transmitting the sensor signal; and at least one hardware processor programmed to perform operations of identifying an animal respiration signal with the rotational component of the motion sensor signal.
However, the prior art of the record fails to sufficiently teach and/or fairly suggest, in combination with all other recited limitations, “generating a respiration-corrected linear component through use of the linear component of the motion sensor signal and the animal respiration signal; and detecting an animal heart signal from the respiration-corrected linear component”.
/ANNA ROBERTS/Examiner, Art Unit 3791