DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No.CN 2024200468627, filed on January 5th 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 16th 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the references cited therein are considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1, 2, 6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegarty et al. (US 2021/0268630; “Hegarty”) in view of Hansson et al. (US 2011/0000694; “Hansson”).
Regarding claim 1, Hegarty discloses a ratcheting tool (200) comprising:
a housing (290);
a motor (210) disposed within the housing (290) and including an output shaft (212) rotatable about a first axis (see annotated diagram 1 below; Fig. 5);
a head (294) extending from the housing (290; Fig. 5), the head (294) including an output drive (230) that is rotatable about a second axis (see annotated diagram 2 below; Fig. 4B);
a transmission (227, 228, see annotated diagram 5 below) configured to transfer rotation from the output shaft (212) to the output drive (para. [0032]), the transmission (227, 228, see annotated diagram 5 below) including a ring gear (227) that is rotatable about the first axis (see annotated diagram 1 below) with respect to the housing (290; para. [0037]); and
a clutch mechanism (220) including:
an adjustment collar (270) that is disposed around the housing (290) and rotatable about the first axis (see annotated diagram 1 below; Fig. 2; para. [0042]),
a plurality of rolling elements (326) engaged with the ring gear (227; Fig. 12B; para. [0052]), and
a spring (223) positioned between the adjustment collar (270) and the ring gear (227; Fig. 12B) and configured to bias the plurality of rolling elements (326) into engagement with the ring gear (227; para. [0052]),
wherein the clutch mechanism (220) is configured to prevent the ring gear (227) from rotating relative to the housing (290) when a torque applied to the ring gear (227) is less than a torque threshold (para. [0037]), wherein the clutch mechanism (220) is configured to permit the ring gear (227) to rotate relative to the housing (220) when a torque applied to the ring gear (227) is greater than or equal to the torque threshold (para. [0028]), and
wherein rotation of the adjustment collar (270) about the first axis (see annotated diagram 1 below) adjusts the torque threshold.
Hegarty fails to disclose a nutrunner.
However, Hansson teaches a nutrunner (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to replace the ratcheting tool of Hegarty by having provided the nutrunner of Hansson, in order to provide torque control for the nutrunner.
Diagram 1
Diagram 2
Regarding claim 2, Hegarty discloses wherein the adjustment collar (270) is configured to be rotated by hand without use of a tool (Figs. 7A, 7B; para. [0042]).
Regarding claim 6, Hegarty discloses wherein the adjustment collar (270) includes an outer collar (272) and an inner collar (221), wherein the inner collar (221) is rotationally fixed to the outer collar (272), and wherein the inner collar (272) is moveable along the first axis (see annotated diagram 1 above; para. [0041]-[0042]) with respect to the outer collar (272) in response to rotation of the adjustment collar (270) about the first axis (see annotated diagram 1 above; para. [0041]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 9, Hegarty discloses further comprising a spindle extending along the first axis (see annotated diagram 1 above), wherein the transmission (227, 228, see annotated diagram 5 below) includes a first transmission portion (227, 228) configured to transfer rotation from the output shaft (212) to the spindle (260), wherein the first transmission portion (227, 228) includes the ring gear (227), and wherein the ratcheting tool further comprises a second transmission portion (para. [0033]-[0034] discloses a crankshaft mechanism which converts rotary movement into a linear movement, therefore, there are additional elements in addition to element 260 providing this conversion) configured to transfer rotation from the spindle (260) to the output drive (230).
Hegarty fails to disclose a nutrunner.
However, Hansson teaches a nutrunner (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to replace the ratcheting tool of Hegarty by having provided the nutrunner of Hansson, in order to provide torque control for the nutrunner.
Regarding claim 10, Hegarty discloses a ratcheting tool comprising:
a housing (290);
a motor (210) disposed within the housing (290) and including an output shaft (212) rotatable about an axis (see “first axis” in annotated diagram 1 above; Fig. 5);
a head (294) extending from the housing (290; Fig. 5), the head (294) including an output drive (230; Fig. 4B);
a transmission (227, 228, see annotated diagram 5 below) configured to transfer rotation from the output shaft (212) to the output drive (230; para. [0032]), the transmission (227, 228, see annotated diagram 5 below) including a ring gear (227) that is rotatable about the axis (see “first axis” in annotated diagram 1 above) with respect to the housing (290; para. [0037]); and
a clutch mechanism (220) engaged with the ring gear (227; Fig. 12B; para. [0052]);
wherein the clutch mechanism (220) is configured to prevent the ring gear (227) from rotating relative to the housing (290) when a torque applied to the ring gear (227) is less than a torque threshold (para. [0037]), wherein the clutch mechanism (220) is configured to permit the ring gear (227) to rotate relative to the housing (290) when a torque applied to the ring gear (227) is greater than or equal to the torque threshold (para. [0027]), and
wherein the torque threshold is adjustable by hand without use of a tool (via element 270; Figs. 7A, 7B; para. [0042]).
Hegarty fails to disclose a nutrunner.
However, Hansson teaches a nutrunner (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to replace the ratcheting tool of Hegarty by having provided the nutrunner of Hansson, in order to provide torque control for the nutrunner.
Regarding claim 11, Hegarty discloses wherein the clutch mechanism (220) includes an adjustment collar (270) configured to be rotated to adjust the torque threshold (para. [0028]).
6. Claim(s) 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegarty et al. (US 2021/0268630; “Hegarty”) in view of Hansson et al. (US 2011/0000694; “Hansson”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yue et al. (US 2023/0055198; “Yue”).
Regarding claim 3, Hegarty in view of Hansson disclose the clutch mechanism (220), a spring (223) and a plurality of rolling elements (326; Fig. 12B).
Hegarty in view of Hansson fail to disclose wherein the clutch mechanism further includes a plurality of pins disposed between the spring and the plurality of rolling elements.
However, Yue teaches a clutch mechanism (50) further includes a plurality of pins (70) disposed between a spring (78) and a plurality of rolling elements (54; Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the clutch mechanism of Hegarty in view of Hansson by having provided the plurality of pins of Yue, in order to transmit a rearward axial biasing force from the spring to the pins, which in turn transmits the biasing force to the plurality of rolling elements (para. [0021]).
Regarding claim 4, Hegarty discloses wherein the ring gear (227) includes a groove (see annotated diagram 3 below) formed in a front surface (229) of the ring gear (227; Fig. 6B), the groove (see annotated diagram 3 below) extending in a circumferential direction along a plurality of flat portions and a plurality of raised portions (229A-C; Fig. 6B), and wherein the plurality of rolling elements (329) is received by the groove (see annotated diagram 3 below).
Diagram 3
Regarding claim 5, Hegarty in view of Hansson disclose the housing (290).
Hegarty in view of Hansson fail to disclose wherein the housing includes a flange portion having a plurality of apertures, and wherein the plurality of pins extends through the plurality of apertures in the flange portion.
However, Yue teaches the housing includes a flange portion (17) having a plurality of apertures (see annotated diagram 4 below), and wherein the plurality of pins (70) extends through the plurality of apertures (see annotated diagram 4 below) in the flange portion (17; Figs. 2, 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the housing of Hegarty in view of Hansson by having provided the flange and plurality of apertures of Yue, in order to retain the plurality of pins, while providing a transmitting force to the spring.
Diagram 4
Diagram 5
7. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegarty et al. (US 2021/0268630; “Hegarty”) in view of Hansson et al. (US 2011/0000694; “Hansson”) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Bublitz et al. (US 2016/0039019; “Bublitz”).
Regarding claim 14, Hegarty in view of Hansson discloses further comprising a battery receptacle located at an end of the housing (290) opposite the head (294; para. [0027], [0033]), wherein the battery receptacle is configured to receive a battery pack in an insertion direction (para. [0027], [0033]).
Hegarty in view of Hansson fail to disclose wherein the insertion direction is oriented at an oblique angle relative to the axis.
However, Bublitz teaches wherein the insertion direction of the battery (30) is oriented at and oblique angle relative to the axis (50; Fig. 2; para. [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the battery receptacle and housing of Hegarty in view of Hansson by having provided the oblique battery insertion direction of apertures of Bublitz, in order to reduce torque and fatigue on a user’s wrist during operation (para. [0029]).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Regarding claim 15, Hegarty et al. (US 2021/0268630; “Hegarty”) in view of Hansson et al. (US 2011/0000694; “Hansson”) are the most relevant prior art.
Hegarty discloses a ratcheting tool comprising:
a housing (290);
a motor (210) disposed within the housing (290) and including an output shaft (212);
a head (294) extending from the housing (290; Fig. 5), the head (294) including an output drive (230; Fig. 4B);
a spindle (260) disposed within the housing (290) and extending between the output shaft (212) of the motor (210) and the head (294; Fig. 5)
a transmission (227, 228, see annotated diagram 5 above) configured to transfer rotation from the output shaft (212) to the output drive (230; para. [0032]), the transmission (227, 228, see annotated diagram 5 above) including:
first transmission portion (227, 228) configured to transfer rotation from the output shaft (212) to the spindle (260), the first transmission portion (227, 228) including a planetary stage (228) and a ring gear (227),
a second transmission portion (para. [0033]-[0034] discloses a crankshaft mechanism which converts rotary movement into a linear movement, therefore, there are additional elements in addition to element 260 providing this conversion) configured to transfer rotation from the spindle (260) to the output drive (230).
Hansson teaches a nutrunner (Fig. 1).
Hegarty in view of Hansson fails to disclose the second transmission portion including a second planetary stage.
It would not have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hegarty in view of Hansson’s second transmission portion with a second planetary stage because it would change the output ratio of said second transmission rendering the tool inoperable
9. Claims 7, 8, 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7, Hegarty et al. (US 2021/0268630; “Hegarty”) in view of Hansson et al. (US 2011/0000694; “Hansson”) are the most relevant prior art.
Hegarty in view of Hansson disclose the housing (290) and the outer collar (272).
Hegarty in view of Hansson fail to disclose wherein the housing includes a plurality of detents, the outer collar includes at least one tab configured to engage the detents.
Regarding claim 8, Hegarty et al. (US 2021/0268630; “Hegarty”) in view of Hansson et al. (US 2011/0000694; “Hansson”) are the most relevant prior art.
Hegarty in view of Hansson discloses the housing (290) and the inner collar (221).
Hegarty in view of Hansson fail to disclose wherein the housing includes an outer threaded portion, and the inner collar includes an inner threaded portion engaged with the outer threaded portion.
It would not have been obvious to modify Hegarty in view of Hansson with the aforementioned limitation because the housing and the inner collar of Hegarty need to move with respect to one another. Applying a threaded to portion to each respective element would prevent said movement.
Regarding claim 12, Hegarty et al. (US 2021/0268630; “Hegarty”) in view of Hansson et al. (US 2011/0000694; “Hansson”) are the most relevant prior art.
Hegarty in view of Hansson disclose the adjustment collar (270) includes and inner collar (221) including a protrusion (221A) and an outer collar (272) including a recess (Figs. 4B, 5; the recess of element 272 is where element 221A is disposed).
Hegarty in view of Hansson fail to disclose wherein the adjustment collar includes an inner collar including a protrusion and an outer collar including a recess that receives the protrusion to couple the inner collar for co-rotation with the outer collar.
It would not have been obvious to modify Hegarty in view of Hansson with the aforementioned limitation because the inner and outer collar of Hegarty work to linearly displace element 221/221A along the axial direction. 221/221A are not displaced about the axial direction.
Conclusion
10. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to EYAMINDAE JALLOW whose telephone number is (571)270-1927. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday from 7:30am-5:00pm and alternating Fridays from 7:30am-4:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, SHELLEY SELF, can be reached on (571)272-4524. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300.
/EYAMINDAE C JALLOW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731