DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
MPEP 2114 States:
II. MANNER OF OPERATING THE DEVICE DOES NOT DIFFERENTIATE APPARATUS CLAIM FROM THE PRIOR ART
"[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.” Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (The preamble of claim 1 recited that the apparatus was "for mixing flowing developer material" and the body of the claim recited "means for mixing ..., said mixing means being stationary and completely submerged in the developer material." The claim was rejected over a reference which taught all the structural limitations of the claim for the intended use of mixing flowing developer. However, the mixer was only partially submerged in the developer material. The Board held that the amount of submersion is immaterial to the structure of the mixer and thus the claim was properly rejected.)
Claim(s) 1-9, 13, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wynberg 2013/0274783.
Regarding claims 1, Wynberg discloses the invention as claimed comprising: a system ([0145]; 0193]) for renal access and pressure reduction, comprising: an apparatus that provides access to a kidney; and an interventional apparatus that engages a renal tissue ([0246]), the interventional apparatus being sized and shaped to be advanced to the kidney.
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Wynberg discloses further comprising a needle (see [0015] which states using an 18-gauge needle passed over a puncture wire configured to pierce) having a distal end configured to pierce a renal capsule.
Regarding claim 3, Wynberg discloses a catheter or sheath sized and shaped to provide a path for the interventional apparatus to engage the renal tissue (see [0016]).
Regarding claims 4-7 “comprising a guidewire sized and shaped to be advanced to engage the renal tissue” see [0016]). “wherein the interventional apparatus is sized and shaped to be advanced within vasculature to the kidney” is functional language. See MPEP 2114. Wynberg is capable of performing the functions as claimed.
Regarding claim 8 see “C” in fig. 27.
Regarding claim 13 see [0108] for a balloon.
Regarding claim 17 see ([0015]) for a steerable device.
Regarding claim 19 “configured to treat multiple areas of a kidney is functional language. See MPEP 2114 supra.
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 13-14, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kapur et al. 2022/0218393.
Kapur et al. discloses a system (300) for renal access and pressure reduction, comprising:
an apparatus that provides access to a kidney; and an interventional apparatus that engages a renal tissue, the interventional apparatus being sized and shaped to be advanced to the kidney (see [0043]).
Regarding claim 2 discloses further comprising a needle (see [0043] needle tip 310) having a distal end configured to pierce a renal capsule.
Regarding claim 3, Kapur et al. discloses a catheter (308) or sheath sized and shaped to provide a path for the interventional apparatus to engage the renal tissue.
Regarding claims 4-7 “comprising a guidewire (302) sized and shaped to be advanced to engage the renal tissue”. The phrase “wherein the interventional apparatus is sized and shaped to be advanced within vasculature to the kidney” is functional language. See MPEP 2114. Kapur et al. is capable of performing the functions as claimed.
Regarding claim 9 and 18 Kapur et al. discloses the use of electrocautery [0015] which is able to perform the functions as claimed via an energy device.
Regarding claim 13 Kapur et al. discloses the use of a balloon [00015]. See MPEP 2114 supra.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapur et al. 2022/0218393.
Kapur et al. has been disclosed supra however does not utilize the word “stent”. Kapur et al. teaches a spacer device (see [0045] and (320) which is designed to maintain the dilated puncture created in the fibrous capsule of the renal capsule, and to permit fluid communication between the subcapsular space of the renal capsule and the space outside the fibrous capsule. Kapur further states that the spacer device 320 is transitionable from a collapsed delivery state, e.g., within an introductory sheath, where it may be advanced over guidewire 302 via a delivery catheter, to an expanded deployed state. It is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the space of Kapur performs as a stent.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art has been disclosed above however does not recite in combination with the limitations of claim 1 a grommet placed within the hole of a renal capsule; a grommet with spikes or barbs; or a grommet shaped to tent a renal capsule; or a jacket for the kidney.
Conclusion
4751. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 7:00am-3:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http:/Avww.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/SUZETTE J GHERBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 October 28, 2026