DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 9-10 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Imbrie (US Pub. No. 2017/0113121) or Weber (US Pat. No. 9,457,260).
Regarding claim 1, Imbrie discloses a footpad assembly for a self-balancing electric vehicle, the footpad assembly comprising: a footpad configured to be coupled to a frame of the vehicle and to receive a rider's foot, wherein a recess is defined in an upper surface of the footpad; an insert disposed in the recess and coupled to the footpad; a slot formed between the insert and a bottom wall of the recess; and a foot engagement member operatively coupled to the insert (see annotated fig below).
Regarding claim 1, Weber discloses a footpad assembly for a self-balancing electric vehicle, the footpad assembly comprising: a footpad configured to be coupled to a frame of the vehicle and to receive a rider's foot, wherein a recess is defined in an upper surface of the footpad; an insert disposed in the recess and coupled to the footpad; a slot formed between the insert and a bottom wall of the recess; and a foot engagement member operatively coupled to the insert
Regarding claims 4-5, Imbrie and Weber disclose wherein the foot engagement member comprises: a rigid body configured to abut the rider's foot; wherein the rigid body extends upward above the upper surface of the footpad (generally at 1477 of Imbrie, 306 of Weber).
Regarding claim 9, Weber discloses wherein the insert is disposed in the recess, such that the insert is exposed to the rider's foot (at least figs 4 and 10).
Regarding claim 10, Imbrie and Weber disclose A footpad assembly for a self-balancing electric vehicle, the footpad assembly comprising: a footpad configured to be coupled to a frame of the vehicle and to receive a rider's foot; a first recess and a second recess defined in an upper surface of the footpad; a first insert disposed in the first recess and a second insert disposed in the second recess, wherein the first and second inserts are coupled to the footpad; and a first slot formed between the first insert and a first bottom wall of the first recess and a second slot formed between the second insert and a second bottom wall of the second recess (see discussion of claim 1 above wherein the first and second portions refer to a front footpad assembly and rear footpad assembly, respectively, as illustrated in the figs of both Imbrie and Weber).
Regarding claims 14-15, Imbrie and Weber disclose A method of assembling a footpad assembly, the method comprising: removably coupling a foot engagement member to an insert coupled to a footpad of the assembly, such that the foot engagement member is disposed at a selected position and rotational orientation relative to the footpad; wherein the insert is disposed within a recess defined in an upper surface of the footpad (see discussion of Imbrie and Weber above). Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,187,373. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of claims 1-20 of the instant application are disclosed or implied in at least claims 1-20 of the U.S. patent noted above. The limitations of the instant application are no more than a broadening or rearrangement of the limitations of the above noted U.S. Patent claims. There are no substantive differences between the instant application claims under rejection as compared to the referenced patent claims noted. The reasons why a person of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the invention defined in the claims noted above at issue is anticipated by, or would have been an obvious variation of the invention defined in the claims of the patent noted above are as follows: it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have designed a footpad assembly according to claims 1-20 of the instant application, since the instant application claims similar limitations which can be found in claims 1-20 of the prior patent, and since Applicant has not disclosed that the alleged invention of the above noted claims of the instant application provide any additional novelty over the claims of the above noted patent and since it would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to provide a footpad assembly according to claims 1-20 of the instant application in view of the prior patent claims. Therefore, there are no limitations in the instant application claims that result in the claims being at least non-obvious over the patented case.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 6-8, 11-13 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as overcoming the double patenting rejections above.
Conclusion
JACOB B. MEYER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3613
/JACOB B MEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613