DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leijon et al. (6376775) in view of Nakayama et al. (7488893).
Leijon et al. discloses a cable comprising a core strand (A in layer K3); a bare copper strand (B in layer K4) positioned adjacent the core strand; and a jacketed strand (A in layer K4) positioned adjacent to the core strand, wherein the jacketed strand comprising a jacket (strand A is an insulated strand, the insulation layer on the strand is a jacket) disposed around a core of the jacketed strand, wherein a portion of the jacket is visible to a user observing the cable.
Leijon et al. does not disclose the portion of the jacket undergoing at least a partial melting when the current carried by the cable exceeding the fault threshold. In other words, Leijon et al. does not disclose the jacket being a PVC jacket, see application’s publication [0075].
Nakayama et al. discloses a cable. Nakayama et al. discloses that PVC is known in the art for being used as cable insulator/jacket (col. 1 lines 40-43). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use PVC for the jacket (insulation of strand A) of Leijon et al. since PVC is known in the art for being used as jacketing material as taught by Nakayama et al.
Leijon et al. does not disclose at least one conductive layer positioned between the core of the jacketed strand and the jacket of the jacketed strand.
Nakayama et al. discloses a conductive strand comprising a (copper) core and a conductive layer (tin, col. 8 line 50) provided on the core. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide a conductive layer as taught by Nakayama et al. on the (copper) core (of strand A) of Leijon et al. to provide a protecting layer and/or a joining means in the jacketed strand.
It is noted that since the modified cable of Leijon et al. comprises structure and material as claimed, it is a ground cable and can be used in a power distribution network; the portion of the jacket undergoes at least a partial melting when the current carried by the ground cable exceeds the fault threshold; the at least one conductive layer is positioned between the core and the jacket of the jacketed strand.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12191053 in view of Leijon et al. Claim 1 of said patent discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for a bare copper strand positioned adjacent to the core strand. Leijon et al. discloses a cable comprising a core strand (A in layer K3) and a bare copper strand (B in layer K4) positioned adjacent to the core strand. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to include a bare copper strand as taught by Leijon et al. adjacent to the core strand in the cable of said patent to increase the transmission capacity of the cable.
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841