DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Luo et al. (US 2019/0028714).
Regarding claim 20, a bit stream generated by a method, the method comprises… is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bit stream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the information and samples manipulated by the steps. To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III). The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no fictional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefor the structure bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Luo which recites a storage medium storing a bitstream (e.g. see ¶ [0046]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 2019/0028714) in view of Wang et al. (US 2020/0275118).
Regarding claim 1, Luo discloses a method for video processing (see figs. 6-7), comprising: obtaining, for a conversion between a video and a bitstream of the video (see figs. 6-7), a first video block (see 802 of 808 in fig. 8), the first video block being generated based on a first adjustment (see 806 in fig. 8) of a current video block (see 802 of 800 in fig. 8) of the video, the first adjustment comprising at least one of adjusting an orientation of the current video block or adjusting positions of samples in the current video block (see “ROTATION” 806 in fig. 8); generating a second video block (see 902 of 916 in fig. 9) based on a second adjustment of the first video block (see 914 in fig. 9), the second adjustment being an inverse process of the first adjustment (see 914 in fig. 9); and performing the conversion based on the second video block (see 706 in fig. 7).
Although Luo discloses wherein a corresponding relationship between luma and chroma samples of the first video block (e.g. see ¶ [0032]) is adjusted for a prediction coding tool (see 402 in fig. 4), it is noted that Luo does not provide the particular wherein the prediction coding tool is a cross-component prediction coding tool.
However, Wang discloses a video processing system wherein the prediction coding tool is a cross-component prediction coding tool (e.g. see ¶ [0039]).
Given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate Wang teachings of the well-known cross-component coding tool into Luo prediction coding for the benefit of properly coding and decoding with industries standard practices.
Regarding claim 2, Luo further discloses wherein the first video block is generated and encoded into the bitstream at an encoder (see 400 in fig. 4), or or or
Regarding claim 3, Luo further discloses or wherein the orientation of the current video block is adjusted by rotating the current video block (see 800 and 808 in fig. 8), and the second adjustment comprises: adjusting positions of samples in the first video block by rotating the first video block (see 912 and 916 in fig. 9), or
Regarding claim 5, although Luo discloses the color video, it is noted that Luo does not disclose wherein information regarding at least one of the following is dependent on a color format of the current video block: or how to adjust the corresponding relationship.
However, Wang discloses a video processing system wherein information regarding at least one of the following is dependent on a color format of the current video block: whether to adjust a corresponding relationship between luma and chroma samples of the first video block for a cross-component prediction coding tool, or how to adjust the corresponding relationship (e.g. see ¶ [0039]).
Given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate Wang teachings of the well-known cross-component coding tool into Luo prediction coding for the benefit of properly coding and decoding with industries standard practices.
Regarding claim 6, the references further discloses wherein the cross-component prediction coding tool comprises at least one of the following: a cross-component linear model (CCLM) mode (e.g. see Wang ¶ [0039]), an L-CCLM mode, a T-CCLM mode, or an MM- CCLM mode, or
Regarding claim 7, the references further discloses wherein a type of a filter for adjusting the corresponding relationship is dependent on at least one of the following: or the color format (e.g. see Wang ¶ [0039]).
Regarding claim 9, the references further discloses wherein the adjusted corresponding relationship is the same as a corresponding relationship between luma and chroma samples of the current video block (e.g. see Wang 112 in fig. 13).
Regarding claim 10, Luo further discloses wherein the first adjustment is determined based on a rate-distortion optimization (RDO) process (e.g. see ¶ [0049]).
Regarding claim 11, Luo further discloses wherein luma and chroma rate-distortion (RD) costs are determined for a plurality of candidate adjustment schemes, and the first adjustment comprises a candidate adjustment scheme with the least cost (e.g. see ¶ [0049]).
Regarding claim 12, Luo further discloses wherein information regarding whether the second adjustment is allowed (e.g. see ¶ [0054]) or
Regarding claim 13, Luo further discloses wherein the coding information comprises at least one of the following:
Regarding claim 14, Luo further discloses wherein at least one syntax element indicating information regarding at least one of the following is included in the bitstream: whether to apply the second adjustment on the first video block (e.g. see ¶ [0054]), or
Regarding claim 15, although Luo further discloses wherein the current video block is comprised in a current frame of the video (see 800 in fig. 8), it is noted that Luo does not disclose the current frame is coded with a predetermined CU size and a predetermined splitting scheme.
However, Wang discloses a video processing system wherein the current frame is coded with a predetermined CU size (e.g. see ¶ [0063]) and a predetermined splitting scheme (e.g. see ¶ [0060]).
Given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate Wang teachings of the well-known partition scheme into Luo prediction coding for the benefit of properly coding and decoding with industries standard practices.
Regarding claim 16, the references further discloses wherein the predetermined splitting scheme comprises a quad tree splitting (e.g. see Wang ¶ [0058]), or
Regarding claim 17, Luo further discloses wherein the current video block is a picture (see 800 in fig. 8), or or or
Regarding claim 18, the claim(s) recite an apparatus for video processing comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon (see 200 in fig. 2) with analogous limitations to claim 1, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 19, the claim(s) recite non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to perform acts (see 200 in fig. 2) with analogous limitations to claim 1, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo and Wang in view of Li et al. (US 2021/0314575).
Regarding claim 8, the references do not disclose or wherein if the color format is format 4:2:0 and the current video block is located on a boundary of a CTU of the video, the filter is a 3-tap filter, or
However, Li discloses an encoding/decoding system wherein if the color format is format 4:2:0 and the current video block is located on a boundary of a CTU of the video, the filter is a 3-tap filter (e.g. see ¶ [0116]).
Given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate Li teachings of tap filter into the references filtering for the benefit of properly down-sampling block with neighboring block.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued that the references does not disclose "wherein a corresponding relationship between luma and chroma samples of the first video block is adjusted for a cross-component prediction coding tool” because “Luo [0032] merely describes a hierarchical organization of video” and that “the mere existence of separate luma and chroma planes does not imply that a corresponding relationship between luma and chroma samples is to be adjusted The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Luo [0032] clearly indicated that luma and chroma have corresponding relationship under colors, and can be adjusted “at different resolutions” with a prediction coding tool (see 402 in fig. 4). Applicant argument over the secondary reference is based on the premise of the argument above which is rebutted. Therefore, the Examiner maintains all limitations are met.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1. Kim et al. (US 2021/0021809), discloses encoding/decoding with video format adjustment.
2. Kotra et al. (US 2021/0014498), discloses encoding/decoding with video format adjustment..
3. Laroche et al. (US 2020/0288135), discloses cross-component prediction.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD T TORRENTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485