DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/3/2025, 1/16/2025, 12/12/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a second part” in claims 1 and 16.
“a first connection part” and “a second connection part” in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-15 recites “The foldable electronic device of claim …”. There is a lack of antecedent basis. Should claim 1 be “A foldable electronic device comprising: “ instead?
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 5, 6 and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 9-13 of copending Application No. 19/028,732 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending Application No. 19/028,732 teaches everything except difference in wording, such as first linear direction and second linear direction are the same as first straight line direction and second straight line direction. Copending Application No. 19/028,732 does not teach the second part is connected to a shaft, and the second rotation axis is provided by the shaft. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second part is connected to a shaft, and the second rotation axis is provided by the shaft, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, using a shaft provides smooth and simple rotation on an axis, and this yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 1-18 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/980,573 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending Application No. 18/980,573 teaches everything except difference in wording, such as first unit, second unit, third unit, and fourth unit are the same as first part, second part, third part and fourth part.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US 11,054,868; hereinafter “Lin”).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses an electronic device (Figs. 1-4C) comprising:
first (210, Fig. 3B) and second housings (230 and/or 220, Fig. 3B); and
a hinge module (100, Figs. 1A-1C) configured to foldably connect the first and second housings (as shown in Figs. 3A-4C),
wherein the hinge module comprises:
a first part (160, Fig. 1C) configured to be rotatable about a first rotation axis (120, Figs. 2A, 2B) and comprising a first pin rail (G2, Fig. 1C);
a second part (180, Fig. 1C) configured to be rotatable about a second rotation axis (relative to axis at P2, Figs. 2A-2C) parallel to the first rotation axis and spaced apart from the first rotation axis (as shown in Figs. 2A-2C);
a first bracket (150, Figs. 1C) connected to the first and second parts and fixed to the first housing; and
a first pin (P3, Fig. 1C) provided in parallel with the second rotation axis, disposed in the second part (180), and inserted into the first pin rail (see P3 dashed line to G2 as shown in Fig. 1C; also see Figs. 2A-2C),
wherein the first part and the first bracket are connected to each other and configured to be slidable in a first linear direction (linear portion of G2 at SP, not RP in Fig. 2B),
wherein the second part (180) and the first bracket (150) are connected to each other and configured to be slidable in a second linear direction (G1 direction, see Figs. 1C, 2A-2C) different from the first linear direction,
wherein the first part (160) and the first bracket (150) mutually slide and the second part (180) and the first bracket (150) mutually slide when an angle between the first and second housings is changed (as shown in Figs. 2A-2C), and
wherein a force or motion is transmitted between the first and second parts by an interaction between the first pin rail and the first pin when the angle between the first and second housings is changed (inherent as shown in Figs. 2A-4C).
Regarding claim 8, Lin discloses the foldable electronic device of claim 1, and Lin further discloses wherein the second part is connected to a shaft (shaft of P2, Fig. 1C) included in the hinge module, and the second rotation axis is provided by the shaft.
Claims 1, 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahn et al. (US 2017/0139663; hereinafter “Ahn”).
Regarding claim 1, Ahn discloses an electronic device (Figs. 1A-7) comprising:
first (112, 111a, Figs. 1B, 2) and second housings (113, 111b, Figs. 1B, 2); and
a hinge module (left and right 120 in Fig. 3) configured to foldably connect the first and second housings (as shown in Figs. 5-7),
wherein the hinge module comprises:
a first part (122, Fig. 3) configured to be rotatable about a first rotation axis (axis at 114a) and comprising a first pin rail (122b, Fig. 3);
a second part (123, Fig. 3) configured to be rotatable about a second rotation axis (axis at 123a, Fig. 3) parallel to the first rotation axis and spaced apart from the first rotation axis (as shown in Fig. 3);
a first bracket (121, Fig. 3) connected to the first and second parts and fixed to the first housing; and
a first pin (pin of 123a, Fig. 3) provided in parallel with the second rotation axis, disposed in the second part (123), and inserted into the first pin rail (122b),
wherein the first part and the first bracket are connected to each other and configured to be slidable in a first linear direction (linear portion of 122b),
wherein the second part (123) and the first bracket (121) are connected to each other and configured to be slidable in a second linear direction (vertical direction of 121b in Fig. 3) different from the first linear direction,
wherein the first part (122) and the first bracket (121) mutually slide and the second part (123) and the first bracket (121) mutually slide when an angle between the first and second housings is changed (Figs. 5-7), and
wherein a force or motion is transmitted between the first and second parts by an interaction between the first pin rail and the first pin when the angle between the first and second housings is changed (inherent as shown in Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 4, Ahn discloses the foldable electronic device of claim 1, and Ahn further discloses a flexible display module (10, Fig. 2), wherein the flexible display module comprises: a third display area (portion of 10 above 114 at middle section of 100 in Fig. 2) positioned to correspond to the hinge module; a first display area extending from the third display area and disposed in the first housing (such as left 10 in Fig. 2); and a second display area (such as right 10 in Fig. 2) extending from the third display area and disposed in the second housing.
Regarding claim 8, Ahn discloses the foldable electronic device of claim 1, and Ahn further discloses wherein the second part (123) is connected to a shaft (shaft of 123a) included in the hinge module, and the second rotation axis is provided by the shaft.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5-7 and 9-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and double patenting rejection in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JAMES WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841