DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are pending.
Claims 1-9 have been examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "storage boxes" must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clemons (US 20250375037) in view of Fleming (US 20140265462).
As concerns claim 1, Clemons teaches a multifunctional outdoor folding chair with integrated photovoltaic panels and fans, comprising: a folding chair (Clemons, fig. 1: 100) composed of a folding chair frame (Clemons, fig. 1: 102) and a top frame (Clemons, see below annotated fig. 1), wherein the folding chair frame (Clemons, ig. 1: 102) is provided with a cushion base (Clemons, see below annotated fig. 1), a lower end of the top frame (Clemons, see below annotated fig. 1) is installed on the folding chair frame (Clemons, fig. 1: 102); the top frame (Clemons, see below annotated fig. 1) and the folding chair frame (Clemons, fig. 1: 102); a roof (Clemons, fig. 2: 122) is installed on the top frame (Clemons, see below annotated fig. 1), an upper end of the roof (Clemons, fig. 2: 122) is connected to the folding chair frame (Clemons, fig. 1: 102), multiple sets of photovoltaic panels (Clemons, fig. 1: 126) are arranged on the upper end of the roof (Clemons, fig. 2: 122), multiple sets of plug adapters (Clemons, fig. 1: 144) connected to the multiple sets of photovoltaic panels (Clemons, fig. 1: 126) are arranged at a lower end of the roof (Clemons, fig. 2: 122), and multiple sets of fans (Clemons, fig.1: 132) connected to the multiple sets of plug adapters (Clemons, fig. 1: 144) are arranged on the folding chair (Clemons, fig. 1: 100).
However, Clemons does not teach a back curtain is connected between one side of the top frame and the folding chair frame.
Flemming teaches a back curtain (Fleming, fig. 1: 204) is connected between one side of the top frame and the folding chair frame; and side curtains (Fleming, fig. 1: 201 and 202) are connected between two sides of the top frame.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the chair of Clemons to include a back and side curtain as taught by Flemming in order to protect the user from the weather.
As concerns claim 6, Clemons teaches multiple sets of fans (Clemons, fig.1: 132), the fan (Clemons, fig.1: 132) is provided with a connector (Clemons, paragraph 0011, lines 2-6), the connector (Clemons, paragraph 0011, lines 2-6) is connected to the plug adapter (Clemons, fig. 1: 144) through a cable, and the plug adapter (Clemons, fig. 1: 144) comprises at least one set of USB interface, TYPE-C interface or DC interface (Clemons, paragraph 0011, lines 6-8).
However, Clemons does not teach the multiple sets of fans are installed on the side curtains.
Fleming teaches the side curtains (Fleming, fig. 1: 201 and 202) as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify Clemons with the teachings of Fleming to provide the fans on side curtains to better cool the user, as this would have been a predictable use of known elements to achieve the expected function. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that combining known elements according to their established functions to achieve a predictable result is within the level of routine skill.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clemons (US 20250375037) in view of Fleming (US 20140265462), and further in view of Shively (US 9247818).
As concerns claim 2, Clemons teaches wherein armrests (Clemons, fig. 2: 118) are symmetrically arranged on both sides of the cushion base (Clemons, see below annotated fig. 1).
However, Clemons does not teach storage boxes are arranged on the armrest.
Shively teaches storage boxes (Shively, fig. 1: 3) are arranged on the armrests (Clemons, fig. 2: 118).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the chair as taught by Clemons to include the storage boxes in the armrest as taught by Shively in order for the user to store items.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clemons (US 20250375037) in view of Fleming (US 20140265462) and Shively (US 9247818), and further in view of Reeb (US 7431389).
As concerns claim 3, Clemons and Fleming are discussed above but neither teach folding plates and side curtains.
Reeb teaches folding plates (Reeb, fig. 1: 51 and 52) bent downward are provided on both sides of the roof.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the chair as taught by Clemons and Fleming to include the folding plates as taught by Reeb in order to provide shade and to protect the side curtains, when the side curtains are in the upward position.
As concerns claim 4, Clemons teaches wherein the lower end of the top frame (Clemons, see below annotated fig. 1) is arranged on the folding chair frame (Clemons, fig. 1: 102); the cushion base (Clemons, see below annotated fig. 1) and the roof (Clemons, fig. 2: 122).
However, Clemons does not teach the back curtain is connected to the cushion base and an upper end of the back curtain is connected to the roof.
Fleming teaches a lower end of the back curtain (Fleming, fig. 1: 204) is connected to the cushion base, and an upper end of the back curtain (Fleming, fig. 1: 204) is connected to the roof.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the chair as taught by Clemons to include a back curtain as taught by Flemming in order to protect the user from the elements.
Claims 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clemons (US 20250375037) in view of Fleming (US 20140265462), and further in view of Munn (US 6264271)
As concerns claim 5, Clemons is discussed above but does not teach an extension frame is provided with a footrest; and a universal seat, and a detachable traction belt.
Munn teaches an extension frame (Munn, fig. 6: 102 and 104) through a universal seat (Munn, fig. 7: 110 and 112), another end of the extension frame (Munn, fig. 6: 102 and 104) is provided with a footrest (Munn, fig. 1: 16), a side of the cushion base near the footrest (Munn, fig. 1: 16) is provided with a traction belt (Munn, fig. 6: 92 and 94), a middle section of the traction belt (Munn, fig. 6: 92 and 94) is detachable, and two ends of the traction belt (Munn, fig. 6: 92 and 94) are respectively fixed to the cushion base and the footrest (Munn, fig. 1: 16).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the chair as taught by Clemons to include the footrest and components as taught by Munn in order for the user’s comfort.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clemons (US 20250375037) in view of Fleming (US 20140265462), Shively (US 9247818) and Reeb (US 7431389), and further in view of Truong (US 20210345779).
As concerns claim 9, Fleming is discussed above but does not teach a heat dissipation mesh in grid-form is provided on both curtains.
Truong teaches a heat dissipation mesh (Truong, fig. 114a) in grid-form is provided on both the back curtain and the side curtains.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the side and back curtains as taught by Flemming to include the mesh as taught by Truong in order for the mesh windows to allow the air to pass through and hence keeps the user in a cooler state of mind while sitting in the chair.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to teach:
The chair of claim 3, wherein a pair of fastening straps in spaced distribution are provided at the upper end of the roof, shoulder straps are respectively installed on the folding plates, one end of the shoulder strap is installed on the folding plate, and another end of the shoulder strap is connected to the fastening strap through an elastic buckle;
Wherein a pair of the folding plates are both provided with fixed hooks, the fixed hook on one side of the folding plate is connected to a male buckle, and the fixed hook on the other side of the folding plate is connected to a female buckle, and the male buckle and the female buckle are capable of plugged together correspondingly.
Conclusion
JESSICA K THOMPSON
Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/DAVID R DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3636