DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
Claims 1-20 are pending.
This action is Non-Final.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-12) in the reply filed on 10/5/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: [0061] “table” seems incorrect, maybe tablet?.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “communication module configured to” and “computing device is configured to” in claims 1, 3, 5, 7-8.
“communication module configured to” corresponds to a Bluetooth device, a modem, a cellphone modem, and the like
“computing device is configured to” is described in the specification with possibilities, such that it is not clear what the corresponding structure is actually clearly meant to be as the description as filed states “Computing device 10 may include a processor or controller 2 that may be, for example, a central processing unit (CPU) processor, a chip or any suitable computing or computational device, an operating system 3, a memory 4, executable code 5, a storage system 6, input devices 7 and output devices 8.” It is suggested applicant amend the claims to remove 112(f) interpretation of this term by using “processor configured to” in place of the current form.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 line 3 is missing a punctuation, likely “;”. Claim 1 is missing a conjunction prior to “communication module”. Claim 2 is missing a conjunction between last two clauses. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-8 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims fail to conform with MPEP 608.01(m): “Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations. See Fressola v. Manbeck, 36 USPQ2d 1211 (D.D.C. 1995).” As the claim(s) contain additional periods, or does not end in a period the claim(s) is objected to. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As addressed above in the claim interpretation, the term “computing device” configured to invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f), but there is no clear corresponding structure for such nonce term with functional limitations, and the claims must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and (b). The disclosure lists numerous structures which could/may form the structure and uses the same nonce term in describing such additional structures: “Computing device 10 may include a processor or controller 2 that may be, for example, a central processing unit (CPU) processor, a chip or any suitable computing or computational device, an operating system 3, a memory 4, executable code 5, a storage system 6, input devices 7 and output devices 8.” It is suggested applicant amend the claims to remove 112(f) interpretation of this term by using “processor configured to” in place of the current form. As such, one of skill in the art would not have recognized applicant was in possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was effectively filed.
The dependent claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As addressed above in the claim interpretation, the term “computing device” configured to invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f), but there is no clear corresponding structure for such nonce term with functional limitations, and the claims must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and (b). The disclosure lists numerous structures which could/may form the structure and uses the same nonce term in describing such additional structures: “Computing device 10 may include a processor or controller 2 that may be, for example, a central processing unit (CPU) processor, a chip or any suitable computing or computational device, an operating system 3, a memory 4, executable code 5, a storage system 6, input devices 7 and output devices 8.” It is suggested applicant amend the claims to remove 112(f) interpretation of this term by using “processor configured to” in place of the current form. It is not clear what the metes and bounds are for the corresponding structure and the equivalents which renders the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 2, the limitations “wherein calculating the temporal fatness index comprises: a. determining a first biomarker index from the first temporal biomarker value; b. determining a second biomarker index from the second temporal biomarker value; c. calculating the temporal fatness index using the first biomarker index and the second biomarker index” renders the claim indefinite. Claim 2 is written as a method form of active functions as opposed to the system form of configurations. It is not clear if claim 2 is further limiting structure or is meant to be intended use of the claimed system from claim 1. This makes the metes and bounds of the claim unclear, which renders the claim indefinite. For examination purposes, the limitations are interpreted as intended use.
Regarding claim 4, the limitations “wherein determining the Lipolysis (fat loss) stage when the temporal fatness index is below a first threshold value and the Lipogenesis (fat gain) stage when the temporal fatness index is above a first threshold value” renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if these are the same or different first threshold. This makes the metes and bounds of the claim unclear, which renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 5 “a user device” is unclear if this is the same or different from claim 1. This makes the metes and bounds of the claim unclear, which renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the daily fatness index". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the result". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the temporal food intake". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the at least two sensors". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the dermis". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the temporal concentration". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the concentration". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 limitations “wherein the computing device is at least one of: a smartphone, a laptop computer, a desktop computer, a smartwatch, a tablet computer, and a wearable computing device” are indefinite for being inconsistent with the disclosure as filed, MPEP 2173.03. Claim 1 sets forth a positively recited system with a computing device and a sensing unit, where the computing device has an inferenced relationship with a user device, but the user device and the computing device are not one in the same. The disclosure as filed states “The temporal fatness index is displayed on a user device, for example, a user device (e.g., smartphone, smartwatch, laptop, table, etc.) associated with the subject, a caregiver, a dietician, a doctor and the like.” (Emphasis added). There is no other passage mentioning that the computing device is any of these particular elements contained in the list but are a separate, inferenced, element to the positively recited structures of the claimed system. As such, the metes and bounds of the claims are unclear which renders the claims indefinite. For examination purposes, claim 12 is interpreted as further limiting the inferenced user device and is non-limiting to the positively recited computing device and sensor unit set forth in claim 1.
The dependent claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s):
b. calculate a temporal fatness index based on the first temporal biomarker value and the second temporal biomarker value (mathematical concepts/mental process including pen and paper)
These claim limitations fall within the identified groupings of abstract ideas:
Mathematical Concepts:
mathematical relationships
mathematical formulas or equations
mathematical calculations
Mental Processes
concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because:
Under the step 2A, analysis is conducted on the additional features of the claim. Under this analysis, the additional features beyond the judicial exception are:
a sensing unit (insignificant structures related to data gathering)
a computing device (generic computer structures used as a tool for implementation)
wherein the sensing unit comprises: a first sensor configured to measure a first temporal biomarker value in a body fluid of the subject; a second sensor configured to measure a second temporal biomarker value in the body fluid of the subject; (insignificant structures related to data gathering)
a communication module configured to transmit the measured temporal biomarkers values to the computing device (insignificant structures related to data gathering)
wherein the computing device is configured to: a. receive the first temporal biomarker value and the second temporal biomarker value from the sensing unit (insignificant structures related to data gathering)
display the temporal fatness index on a user device (insignificant post solution activities related to intended use with inferenced elements)
These features in the claim do not integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception as the additional elements in the claim do not apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is no more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Limitation concepts that are indicative of integration into a practical application:
Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field - see MPEP 2106.05(a)
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition – see Vanda Memo
Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine - see MPEP 2106.05(b)
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing - see MPEP 2106.05(c)
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo
Limitation concepts that are not indicative of integration into a practical application:
Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)
Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)
Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h)
Under Step 2B, the claim limitations are evaluated for an inventive concept. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and in combination, they do not add significantly more to the exception. Analyzing the additional claim limitations individually, the additional limitation that is not directed to the abstract idea are the same as those identified above in step 2A. Such limitations related to the sensors are recognized by the courts as routine data gathering in order to input data to the mathematical algorithm, and thus, do not add a meaningful limitation to the system/method as it would be routinely used by those of ordinary skill in the art in order to apply the mathematical algorithm. In addition, these sensor structures are known from Simpson et al. (US 2016/0328991), and in general are generic sensors in generic locations producing the expected analyte data discussed in the cited art. The computer structures cited above are claimed as performing generic computer functions routinely used in computer applications. Generic computer components recited as performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea with a computerized system. The additional limitations recited in the dependent claims are directed to further details of computer systems generally known int he art for implementation and to further details of the exception (A more specific abstraction is still an abstraction). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. Therefore, analyzing the claims as an ordered combination under the Mayo/Alice analysis the features claimed are directed to patent ineligible limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Simpson et al. (Simpson, US 2016/0328991).
Regarding claim 1, Simpson teaches a system for managing fat trend of a subject, the system comprising:
a sensing unit (see at least [0061]); and
a computing device (see at least [0166], [0560])
wherein the sensing unit comprises:
a first sensor configured to measure a first temporal biomarker value in a body fluid of the subject (see at least [0061]);
a second sensor configured to measure a second temporal biomarker value in the body fluid of the subject (see at least [0061]);
a communication module configured to transmit the measured temporal biomarkers values to the computing device (see at least [0156], [0531]), and
wherein the computing device is configured to:
a. receive the first temporal biomarker value and the second temporal biomarker value from the sensing unit (see at least [0531], [0535], [0539]-[0541]);
b. calculate a temporal fatness index based on the first temporal biomarker value and the second temporal biomarker value (see at least [0475], [0535], [0537]-[0541]); and
c. display the temporal fatness index on a user device (see at least Figures 8-9, [0537]).
Regarding claim 2, Simpson teaches wherein calculating the temporal fatness index comprises: a. determining a first biomarker index from the first temporal biomarker value; b. determining a second biomarker index from the second temporal biomarker value; c. calculating the temporal fatness index using the first biomarker index and the second biomarker index (intended use, system capable see at least [0475], [0535], [0537]-[0541]).
Regarding claim 3, Simpson teaches wherein the computing device is configured to: a. determine if the subject is in Lipolysis (fat loss) stage or Lipogenesis (fat gain) stage based on the temporal fatness index (see at least [0475], [0535], [0537]-[0541]); and b. display the determination on the user device (see at least Figures 8-9, [0537]).
Regarding claim 4, Simpson teaches wherein determining the Lipolysis (fat loss) stage when the temporal fatness index is below a first threshold value and the Lipogenesis (fat gain) stage when the temporal fatness index is above a first threshold value (see at least [0537]).
Regarding claim 5, Simpson teaches wherein the computing device is configured to: a. calculate a periodic fatness index by integrating the temporal fatness index over a predetermined period of time (see at least [0457], [0475], [0537]); and b. display the periodic fatness index on a user device (see at least [0537]).
Regarding claim 6, Simpson teaches wherein the predetermined period is 24 hours, and the periodic fatness index is a daily fatness index (see at least, [0208], [0446] daily statistics).
Regarding claim 7, Simpson teaches wherein the computing device is configured to: a. determine if the subject lost fat or gained fat during the predetermined period of time, based on the daily fatness index (see at least [0457], [0475], [0537], [0208], [0446] daily statistics); and b. display the result on the user devise (see at least [0537]).
Regarding claim 8, Simpson teaches wherein the computing device is configured to: a. receive from the user device information related to the temporal food intake of the subject during the predetermined period of time; b. determine preferable food types for the subject based on the information, the temporal fatness index and the periodic fatness index; c. display the preferable food types on the user device (see at least [0190]-[0191], [0213], [0406]-[0418] including input on food, and feedback for cooking to user).
Regarding claim 9, Simpson teaches wherein the at least two sensors are configured to at least partially penetrate the dermis to reach a subcutaneous body fluid (see at least [0061]).
Regarding claim 10, Simpson teaches wherein the first temporal biomarker value is indicative of the temporal concentration of one or more of: Insulin, Glucose and C-peptide in the body fluid (see at least [0063], [0362]).
Regarding claim 11, Simpson teaches wherein the second temporal biomarker value is indicative of the concentration of one or more of Glycerol, and free fatty acids in the body fluid (see at least [0063]).
Regarding claim 12, Simpson teaches wherein the computing device is at least one of: a smartphone, a laptop computer, a desktop computer, a smartwatch, a tablet computer, and a wearable computing device (see at least [0166], [0183]-[0184], [0230], [0380], [0560]).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL R BLOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791