DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spinger et al. (U.S. Publication 2024/0027049 A1).
With regards to Claim 1, Spinger discloses an illuminated system including:
A first light source (408a) adapted to provide a first illumination range [note Figure 1A];
A second light source (408b) adapted to provide a second illumination range partly overlapped with the first illumination range [note Figure 1A]; and
An operation processor (916) electrically connected to the first light source and the second light source, and adapted to adjusted a first lighting parameter of the first light source [e.g., (817a)] for being different from a second lighting parameter of the second light source [e.g., (817b)], so as to reduce or eliminate a flicker phenomenon in an overlapping illumination range between the first illumination range and the second illumination range [note Figure 6 and Paragraphs 81-108].
With regards to Claim 2, Spinger discloses the first lighting parameter is a first scanning frequency of the first light source (817a), the second lighting parameter is a first scanning frequency of the second light source (817b), and the first scanning frequency and the second scanning frequency are in a multiple relationship [note Figure 6].
With regards to Claim 3, Spinger discloses the first lighting parameter is a first scanning frequency of the first light source (817a), the second lighting parameter is a second scanning frequency of the second light source (817b), and clock speeds of the first scanning frequency and the second scanning frequency are varied randomly [note Figure 3A and Paragraph 55 – (817a, 817b) may include various patterns].
With regards to Claim 4, Spinger discloses the first lighting parameter is a first scanning frequency of the first light source (817a), the second lighting parameter is a second scanning frequency of the second light source (817b), and the first scanning frequency and the second scanning frequency has phase difference with a feature of light and dark complementary [note Figure 6].
With regards to Claim 5, Spinger discloses the phase difference between the first scanning frequency (817a) and the second scanning frequency (817b) is one hundred and eighty degrees, or the phase difference is one hundred and eighty degrees with an allowable error of ten percent [note Figure 6].
With regards to Claim 6, Spinger discloses a duration of a high level area of at least one of the first frequency (817a) and the second scanning frequency (817b) is greater than a duration of a low level area of the at least one of the first scanning frequency and the second scanning frequency [note Figure 6].
With regards to Claim 7, Spinger discloses the first lighting parameter is a first scanning frequency of the first light source (817a), the second lighting parameter is a second scanning frequency of the second light source (817b), and the first scanning frequency is different from the second scanning frequency, and the first scanning frequency and the second scanning frequency has phase difference with a feature of light and dark complementary [note Figure 6].
With regards to Claim 8, Spinger discloses the first lighting parameter is a first scanning frequency of the first light source (817a), the second lighting parameter is a second scanning frequency of the second light source (817b), and a first scanning direction of the first scanning frequency is different from a second scanning direction of the second scanning frequency [note Figure 6].
With regards to Claim 9, Spinger discloses the first scanning direction is opposite to the second scanning direction [note Figure 6].
With regards to Claim 10, Spinger discloses the first light source and the second light source respectively are a light emitting diode [note (102a, 102b) – Paragraph 45], the illumination system further includes a micro-reflector (860a, 860b) adapted to reflect illumination light emitted by the foresaid light emitting diodes for adjusting the first lighting parameter (817a) and the second lighting parameter (817b) and further providing the first illumination range and the second illumination range [note Figure 2].
With regards to Claim 11, Spinger discloses the first light source (408a) and the second light source (408b) respectively are a LED module, and the LED module includes a plurality of light emitting diode units arranged as an array [note Paragraph 45].
With regards to Claim 13, Spinger discloses the illumination system further includes an optical detector (820) electrically connected to the operation processor (916), the operation processor is adapted to analyze an environment detection result of the optical detector for adjusting the first lighting parameter and/or the second lighting parameter [note Figure 2].
With regards to Claim 14, Spinger discloses the illumination system is applied to a headlight [note Figures 1A-B, D].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spinger et al. (U.S. Publication 2024/0027049 A1).
With regards to Claim 12, Spinger discloses the illumination system further includes a micro-reflector (860a, 860b) adapted to reflect illumination light emitted by light emitting diodes (102a, 102b) for adjusting the first lighting parameter (817a) and the second lighting parameter (817b) and further providing the first illumination range and the second illumination range [note Figure 2], but does not specifically teach the light emitting diodes respectively of the first light source and the second light source respectively being laser units/diodes.
However, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the first light source and the second light source of Spinger respectively to be laser units/diodes, since such illumination devices are considered functionally equivalent, whereby both light emitting diodes and laser diodes are well-established in the art as point light sources [note Claim 10 interchangeably recites light emitting diodes].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, but is not considered exhaustive: U.S. Patent 12,123,566 B2 to Nakashima et al. that teaches multiple LED arrays with various illumination phases [note Figures 1-8].
Thursday, December 18, 2025
/Jason M Han/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875