Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Thoss et al. (US 2014/0245736), referred to hereafter as Thoss.
With regard to claim 1, Thoss discloses a turbine comprising: an impeller (3); and a housing (2) that accommodates the impeller (Fig. 1), the housing including: an inlet that receives exhaust gas (Fig. 1); a first space that accommodates the impeller (Fig. 1); a second space that is located downstream of the first space in a flow of the exhaust gas (Fig. 1); a first flow path that connects the inlet to the first space (Fig. 1); and a second flow path (18 and 19) that directly connects the inlet to the second space without connecting the inlet to the first space (Fig. 1, 2), wherein an outlet passage of the second flow path is defined in part by an inner circumferential surface that extends parallel to an axial direction of the impeller and that is continuous in a circumferential direction of the impeller (Fig. 1, 2, [0035]), and an outer circumferential surface that extends parallel to the axial direction and that is continuous in the circumferential direction (Fig. 1, [0035]), the outlet passage of the second flow path is fixed to the housing (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 2, Thoss further discloses a valve (22, 23) that opens and closes the second flow path at a position upstream of the first space (Fig. 1-3).
With regard to claim 3, Thoss further discloses that a volume of the second flow path is smaller than a volume of the first flow path (Fig. 1-3).
With regard to claim 4, Thoss further discloses that the second flow path has a spiral shape (Fig. 1-3, [0032]).
With regard to claim 5, Thoss further discloses an exhaust opening (20) located downstream of the second space in the flow of the exhaust gas (Fig. 1), wherein the second flow path is configured to face the exhaust opening in the axial direction (Fig. 1, [0035]).
With regard to claim 6, Thoss further discloses that the outlet passage includes an entry that is radially outside the first space and an exit that exits into the second space (Fig. 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jinnouchi (US 5,584,181).
With regard to claim 1:
Jinnouchi discloses a turbine comprising: an impeller (101); and a housing (102) that accommodates the impeller (Fig. 4), the housing including: an inlet that receives exhaust gas (Fig. 4); a first space that accommodates the impeller (Fig. 4); a second space that is located downstream of the first space in a flow of the exhaust gas (Fig. 4); a first flow path that connects the inlet to the first space (Fig. 4); and a second flow path (108) that directly connects the inlet to the second space without connecting the inlet to the first space (Fig. 4), wherein an outlet passage of the second flow path is defined in part by an inner circumferential surface that extends parallel to an axial direction of the impeller and that is at least partially continuous in a circumferential direction of the impeller (Fig. 4), and an outer circumferential surface that extends parallel to the axial direction and that is continuous in the circumferential direction (Fig. 4), the outlet passage of the second flow path is fixed to the housing (Fig. 4).
Jinnouchi does not appear to explicitly disclose that the inner circumferential surface is completely continuous in a circumferential direction of the impeller.
However, a careful examination of the specification reveals no criticality for the continuity of the inner circumferential surface, nor any reason as to why the turbine of applicant with the continuous inner circumferential surface would operate any different than the turbine of Jinnouchi, and Applicant has not disclosed that the continuity of the inner circumferential surface provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. On the contrary, the specification discloses that the continuity of the inner circumferential surface is a mere example and that “In another embodiment, the outlet 52 c may not be continuous in the circumferential direction, and may be partly provided in the circumferential direction” ([0035]). Hence the continuity feature is considered to be a design choice by the applicant. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Jinnouchi and Applicant’s invention to perform equally well, because both would perform the same function of bypassing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the continuity feature for the inner circumferential surface as claimed with turbine of Jinnouchi in order to achieve a desired dimension, flow rate, or configuration, as they are a matter of design choice. Such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art.
With regard to claim 2, Jinnouchi further discloses a valve (107) that opens and closes the second flow path at a position upstream of the first space (Fig. 4).
With regard to claim 3, Jinnouchi further discloses that a volume of the second flow path is smaller than a volume of the first flow path (Fig. 4).
With regard to claim 4, Jinnouchi further discloses that the second flow path has a spiral shape (Fig. 4).
With regard to claim 5, Jinnouchi further discloses an exhaust opening (104) located downstream of the second space in the flow of the exhaust gas (Fig. 4), wherein the second flow path is configured to face the exhaust opening in the axial direction (Fig. 4).
With regard to claim 6, Jinnouchi further discloses that the outlet passage includes an entry that is radially outside the first space and an exit that exits into the second space (Fig. 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to the attached form PTO-892 for pertinent prior art disclosing similar bypasses such as US 8047772.
/BEHNOUSH HAGHIGHIAN/
Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745