DETAILED ACTION
Examiner acknowledges the response filed 8/13/2026. Claims 1 and 3-4 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuyama et al. (US 2010/0310365).
Re Clm 1: Matsuyama et al. disclose (figs 2 and 7) a rotation device comprising: one or more plates (10 and 11) that define a part of a flow path (see figs); and a plurality of vanes that are disposed in the flow path, each of the plurality of vanes (15) including: a vane body that is located in the flow path (see figs); and a shaft (16) that is rotatably supported by one or more holes provided in the one or more plates (see figs), the shaft including a radiused or arc shape (cross-sectional shape of the cylindrical shaft is radiused and arc-shaped) taken at both ends in the axial direction of a contact part (16a, 16b) between the shaft and the one or more holes, wherein the shaft includes at least one tapered part (inside and outside of contact parts 16a and 16b), a connection part between the contact part and the at least one tapered part is rounded (external surface of cylindrical shaft is rounded) and includes the radiused or arc shape, such that the at least one tapered part is formed continuous with the radiused or arc shape, and the at least one tapered part is at least partially arranged inside of the one or more holes (see figs).
Re Clm 4: Matsuyama et al. disclose wherein the one or more plates include a first plate (11) and second plate (10), the shaft is rotatably supported by a first through hole (@ 16b) and a second through hole (@ 16a) provided in the first plate and the second plate, respectively, the shaft includes a first shaft part (16b) inserted into the first through hole of the first plate, and a second shaft part (16a) inserted into the second through hole of the second plate, wherein a protruding end of the first shaft part and an end face of the first plate are flush with each other (fig 7, left end of shaft flush with plate 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuyama et al. (US 2010/0310365).
Re Clm 3: Matsuyama et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein a radius of the radiused or arc shape is 0.5 mm or more and 1.0 mm or less. Examiner notes that a change in the size of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided the radius of the R shape to be 0.5-1.0mm, as an obvious design consideration within the skill of the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/13/2026 regarding the 102 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 5 of the response that Matsuyama et al. fail to disclose wherein the shaft includes at least one tapered part, a connection part between the contact part and the at least one tapered part is rounded and includes the radiused or arc shape, such that the at least one tapered part is formed continuous with the radiused or arc shape, and the at least one tapered part is at least partially arranged inside of the one or more holes. Examiner disagrees and notes that Matsuyama et al. disclose each and every one of the above limitations (see rejection above).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN P MASINICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678