DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (US 2012/0043323) in view of Tode (WO 2022050390).
Claims 1, 2 and 7
Thomas discloses a packaging (30) accommodating a tobacco product (see [0079]), and comprising a region (defined by surface of sealing sheet 36) in at least a part of an interior surface thereof (see figure 5), the region being imparted with antibacterial properties/treatment (see [0053] and [0059]). Thomas further discloses the packaging is a hard package made of a heavy paper/paperboard (see [0051] and [0052]). Thomas does not disclose the packaging comprising a layer containing an additive having antibacterial performance and/or antiviral performance disposed on an outer surface of the packaging, wherein the additive is at least one selected from the group consisting of silver ion-based. titanium oxide-based, calcium hydroxide-based, halogen-based, copper ion-based, peroxide/ozone-based, amine-based, phenol-based, isothiocyanate-based, isothiazoline-based, biguanide-based, pyridine-based, epoxide-based, and surfactant-based substances. However, Tode discloses paper container (see page 10) comprising an antiviral film (10a) including an antiviral layer (12) disposed on the exposed/outer surface of the antiviral film (see pages 2 and 3) including a metal compound as an anti-virus agent comprising any of silver sulfate, silver iodide, silver chloride, silver bromide, or silver sulfide (see page 4) which all are silver ion-based. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an antiviral film disposed on the outer/exposed surface of the packaging as taught by Tode to prevent the spreading of virus and/or bacteria to the user when contact with the packaging.
Claim 5
Tode appears to disclose the antiviral layer (12) disposed on 100%, or at least 60% or more, of the outer surface of the antiviral film (10a) and therefore the container (see figure 1). After Thomas is modified by Tode, the antiviral layer will be disposed on an entire outer surface of the package.
Claims 6 and 8
Thomas discloses a packaging production method for producing a packaging (30) that accommodates a tobacco product (see [0079]) and that has a region (defined by surface of sealing sheet 36) in at least a part of an interior surface thereof (see figure 5), the region being imparted with antibacterial properties/treatment (see [0053] and [0059]). Thomas further discloses the packaging is a hard package made of a heavy paper/paperboard (see [0051] and [0052]). Thomas does not disclose the packaging comprising a layer comprising a printing ink or varnish containing an additive having antibacterial performance and/or antiviral performance disposed on an outer surface of the packaging, wherein the additive is at least one selected from the group consisting of silver ion-based. titanium oxide-based, calcium hydroxide-based, halogen-based, copper ion-based, peroxide/ozone-based, amine-based, phenol-based, isothiocyanate-based, isothiazoline-based, biguanide-based, pyridine-based, epoxide-based, and surfactant-based substances. However, Tode discloses paper container (see page 10) comprising an antiviral film (10a) including an antiviral layer (12), applied as a coating/varnish layer disposed on the exposed/outer surface of the antiviral film (see pages 2 and 3) including a metal compound as an anti-virus agent comprising any of silver sulfate, silver iodide, silver chloride, silver bromide, or silver sulfide (see page 4) which all are silver ion-based. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an antiviral film disposed on the outer/exposed surface of the packaging as taught by Tode to prevent the spreading of virus and/or bacteria to the user when contact with the packaging.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 2, 5 and 6 have been considered but are moot in view of a new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or prior art(s) disclosed by the Examiner (in the attached PTO-892 form).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RAFAEL A. ORTIZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
/RAFAEL A ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736