DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0124932 (WANG).
Regarding claim 1, WANG disclose a method for regulating a high voltage supply of an x-ray source by selectively triggering a low voltage signal to an electron emitting cathode ([0004], [0032]-[0035]), the method comprising:
providing a regulator including a high voltage monitor, a comparator and a memory unit ([0007], [0041]-[0042], controller 20 and voltage judgement unit 202 compare high-voltage reference signal with upper limit);
the high voltage monitor monitoring the high voltage supplied between the electron emitting cathode and an anode target ([0032], [0034], [0042], high voltage between cathode and anode, evaluation of high-voltage reference signal); and
regulating the low voltage supply according to monitored high voltage ([0035], [0042]. Grid-enable signal activated electron emission when reference signal reaches upper limit).
Regarding claim 2, Wang disclose the method of claim 1wherein the step of regulating the low voltage supply comprises: deactivating the low voltage supply to the electron emitting cathode if the high voltage supply is above an Upper High Voltage threshold value HV upper; and activating the low voltage supply to the electron emitting cathode if the high voltage supply is below a Lower High Voltage threshold value HV upper ([0034]-[0034], [0042]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 3, Wang disclose method of claim 1further comprising storing an Upper High Voltage threshold value HV upper in the memory unit and storing a Lower High Voltage threshold value HV lower in the memory unit ([0034]-[0034], [0042]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 4, Wang disclose method of claim 1further comprising: storing a High Voltage Supply function HV(t) in the memory unit; a time monitoring device recording time elapsed; a regulator calculating a value of HV(t) for current time elapsed; and the regulator generating a monitor signal indicating if the low voltage signal should be activated (Fig. 4-7; [0034]-[0035], [0038]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 5, Wang disclose method of claim 4 wherein the step of the regulator generating a monitor signal monitor signal comprises the regulator generating an analog signal indicating a difference between a monitored value of High Voltage supply and the calculated value of HV(t) ([0034]-[0035], [0042]).
Regarding claim 6, Wang disclose method of claim 4 wherein the step of the regulator generating a monitor signal monitor signal comprises the regulator generating a digital signal comprising a single bit (Fig. 4; [0035]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 7, Wang disclose method of claim 4 wherein the step of the regulator generating a monitor signal monitor signal comprises the regulator generating a single bit value of ONE if a low voltage driver should be activated (Fig. 4, [0035]).
Regarding claim 8, Wang disclose method of claim 4 wherein the step of the regulator generating a monitor signal monitor signal comprises the regulator generating a single bit value of ZERO if a low voltage driver should not be activated (Fig. 4, [0037]).
Regarding claim 9, Wang disclose an x-ray emission system (Fig. 1, [0032], [0041]) comprising:
a field emission type electron emitting construct ([0004], [0032]);
an anode target [0032];
a low voltage driving circuit for activating said electron emitting construct [0032]; and
a high voltage supply for establishing an electron accelerating potential between said electron emitting construct and said anode [0032];
a digital switching unit operable to selectively connect and disconnect said low voltage driving circuit ([0035]-[0037]);
a synchronizer ([0033]-[0035], [0042]); and
at least one regulator in communication with the synchronizer and operable to send a monitor signal thereto indicating if the low voltage signal should be activated [0042].
Regarding claim 10, Wang disclose system of claim 9 wherein the at least one regulator comprises: a high voltage supply monitor configured and operable to monitor potential difference between the anode target and the electron emitter; a memory unit storing at least one reference value; and a comparator configured and operable to compare the potential difference between the anode target and the electron emitter with the at least one reference value (Fig. 1, 8; [0032], [0041]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 11, Wang disclose system of claim 10 wherein the memory unit stores an Upper High Voltage Threshold value HV upper.
Regarding claim 12, Wang disclose system of claim 10 wherein the memory unit stores a Lower High Voltage Threshold value HV lower ([0034]-[0035], [0043]).
Regarding claim 13, Wang disclose system of claim 9 wherein the at least one regulator comprises: a memory unit storing a High Voltage Supply Function HV(t);a time monitoring device; and a processor configured and operable to trigger the monitor signal when the High Voltage Supply Function HV(t) returns a value outside a required range.
Regarding claim 14, Wang disclose system of claim 13 wherein the required range is bounded by an Upper High Voltage Threshold value HV upper (Fig. 4-7; [0034]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 15, Wang disclose system of claim 13 wherein the required range is bounded by a Lower High Voltage Threshold value HV lower ([0034], [0037], [0043]).
Regarding claim 16, Wang disclose system of claim 9 wherein the monitor signal comprises an analog signal ([0035], [0042]).
Regarding claim 17, Wang disclose system of claim 16 wherein the analog signal indicates a difference between a monitored value of High Voltage supply and a reference value ([0034]-[0035], [0042]).
Regarding claim 18, Wang disclose system of claim 9 wherein the monitor signal comprises a digital signal comprising a single bit (Fig. 4, [0035]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 19, Wang disclose system of claim 9 wherein a single bit value of ONE indicates that the low voltage driver should be activated (Fig. 4, [0035]).
Regarding claim 20, Wang disclose system of claim 9 wherein a single bit value of ZERO indicates that the low voltage driver should not be activated (Fig. 4, [0037]).
Conclusion
/DANI FOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884