DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 12 and 17 are independent.
3 The IDS submitted on 1/6/2025 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noel (US PG Pub. 2017/0289187) in view of Park (US PG Pub. 2019/0158309).
As regarding claim 1, Noel discloses A computer-implemented method comprising:
normalizing, by at least one processor, cyber information received for a plurality of cyberspace entities [para. 24; normalizing data ingested from sensors];
generating, by the at least one processor, one or more cyber-graphs based on relationships between two or more of the plurality of cyberspace entities [FIG. 2, para. 26-28 and 30; generating graphs illustrated in FIG. 2];
receiving, by the at least one processor, a cyber-threat inquiry of the cyber-graphs [para. 36-38; receiving a user query];
configuring the one or more cyber-graphs as nodes represented by the plurality of cyberspace entities and edges represented by relationships between the plurality of cyberspace entities [para. 26-28, 30, 41 and 42; generating graphs including nodes represented various entities and edges represented relationships between nodes];
further configuring the nodes to represent mission-dependent operations for an organization mission and further linking to network service nodes used by the mission-dependent operations [para. 26-28, 30, 41 and 42; generating graphs including nodes represented various entities and edges represented relationships between nodes]; and
rendering on a geographical map the one or more cyber-graphs that represent impacts on a plurality of the mission-dependent operations for an organization mission suspected to be compromised by a cyber-threat actor [para. 27 and 42-48; providing cyber-graphs including asset components that are vulnerable to attacks].
Noel does not explicitly disclose rendering on a geographical map, based on a location of the cyber-threat inquiry, the one or more cyber-graphs; however, Park discloses it [para. 352; inquiring the space graph based on a location of the query].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the effective filing of the invention to modify Noel’s system to further comprise the missing claim features, as disclosed by Park, as one of a plurality attributes associated with an object entity that are used to query other attributes associated with the object entity.
As regarding claim 2, Noel further discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising: aggregating the cyber-graphs into an active knowledge database [para. 23-28].
As regarding claim 3, Noel further discloses The method of claim 2, the generating the cyber-graphs further comprising: selecting the cyber-graphs related to the cyber-threat inquiry from the active knowledge database [para. 41-55].
As regarding claim 4, Noel and Park further discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating the cyber-threat inquiry by converting a natural language inquiry to a formal query language [Noel para. 44 and Park para. 61, 68 and 351].
As regarding claim 5, Park further discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving location information associated with the plurality of cyberspace entities [para. 352].
As regarding claim 6, Park further discloses The method of claim 5, further comprising: filtering the location information associated with the plurality of cyberspace entities to match the location to a corresponding operational environment [para. 301].
As regarding claim 7, Park further discloses The method of claim 1, the normalizing further comprising: capturing the cyber information from streaming data [para. 22].
As regarding claim 8, Noel further discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising: linking to virtual machine nodes that are dependent on the network service nodes [para. 28-30].
As regarding claim 9, Noel further discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising: linking to deployment platform nodes that are dependent on the network service nodes [para. 28-30].
As regarding claim 10, Noel further discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the cyber information includes any of: network infrastructure, security posture, cyber threats, or operational dependencies [para. 20].
As regarding claim 11, Noel further discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of cyberspace entities are represented as Internet Protocol (IP) addresses for virtual machines [para. 39 and 59].
As regarding claim 12, Noel discloses A system, comprising:
a memory [para. 73]; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured [para. 71 and 73] to:
normalize, by at least one processor, cyber information received for a plurality of cyberspace entities [para. 24; normalizing data ingested from sensors];
generate, by the at least one processor, one or more cyber-graphs based on relationships between two or more of the plurality of cyberspace entities [FIG. 2, para. 26-28 and 30; generating graphs illustrated in FIG. 2];
receive, by the at least one processor, a cyber-threat inquiry of the cyber-graphs [para. 36-38; receiving a user query];
configure the one or more cyber-graphs as nodes represented by the plurality of cyberspace entities and edges represented by relationships between the plurality of cyberspace entities [para. 26-28, 30, 41 and 42; generating graphs including nodes represented various entities and edges represented relationships between nodes];
further configure the nodes to represent mission-dependent operations for an organization mission and further link to network service nodes used by the mission-dependent operations [para. 26-28, 30, 41 and 42; generating graphs including nodes represented various entities and edges represented relationships between nodes]; and
render on a geographical map the one or more cyber-graphs that represent impacts on a plurality of the mission-dependent operations for an organization mission suspected to be compromised by a cyber-threat actor [para. 27 and 42-48; providing cyber-graphs including asset components that are vulnerable to attacks].
Noel does not explicitly disclose rendering on a geographical map, based on a location of the cyber-threat inquiry, the one or more cyber-graphs; however, Park discloses it [para. 352; inquiring the space graph based on a location of the query].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the effective filing of the invention to modify Noel’s system to further comprise the missing claim features, as disclosed by Park, as one of a plurality attributes associated with an object entity that are used to query other attributes associated with the object entity.
As regarding claim 13, Noel further discloses The system of claim 12, the at least one processor further configured to: aggregate the cyber-graphs into an active knowledge database [para. 23-28].
As regarding claim 14, Noel further discloses The system of claim 12, the at least one processor further configured to: select the one or more cyber-graphs related to the location of the cyber-threat inquiry from the active knowledge database [para. 41-55].
As regarding claim 15, Noel further discloses The system of claim 12, wherein the cyber information includes any of network infrastructure, security posture, cyber threats, or mission dependencies [para. 20].
As regarding claim 16, Noel further discloses The system of claim 12, wherein the plurality of cyberspace entities are represented as Internet Protocol (IP) addresses for virtual machines [para. 39 and 59].
As regarding claim 17, Noel discloses A non-transitory computer-readable device having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations comprising:
normalizing, by at least one processor, cyber information received for a plurality of cyberspace entities [para. 24; normalizing data ingested from sensors];
generating, by the at least one processor, one or more cyber-graphs based on relationships between two or more of the plurality of cyberspace entities [FIG. 2, para. 26-28 and 30; generating graphs illustrated in FIG. 2];
receiving, by the at least one processor, a cyber-threat inquiry of the cyber-graphs [para. 36-38; receiving a user query];
configuring the one or more cyber-graphs as nodes represented by the plurality of cyberspace entities and edges represented by relationships between the plurality of cyberspace entities [para. 26-28, 30, 41 and 42; generating graphs including nodes represented various entities and edges represented relationships between nodes];
further configuring the nodes to represent mission-dependent operations for an organization mission and further linking to network service nodes used by the mission-dependent operations [para. 26-28, 30, 41 and 42; generating graphs including nodes represented various entities and edges represented relationships between nodes]; and
rendering on a geographical map the one or more cyber-graphs that represent impacts on a plurality of the mission-dependent operations for an organization mission suspected to be compromised by a cyber-threat actor [para. 27 and 42-48; providing cyber-graphs including asset components that are vulnerable to attacks].
Noel does not explicitly disclose rendering on a geographical map, based on a location of the cyber-threat inquiry, the one or more cyber-graphs; however, Park discloses it [para. 352; inquiring the space graph based on a location of the query].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the effective filing of the invention to modify Noel’s system to further comprise the missing claim features, as disclosed by Park, as one of a plurality attributes associated with an object entity that are used to query other attributes associated with the object entity.
As regarding claim 18, Noel further discloses The non-transitory computer-readable device of claim 17, the operations further comprising: aggregating the cyber-graphs into an active knowledge database [para. 23-28].
As regarding claim 19, Noel further discloses The non-transitory computer-readable device of claim 17, the operations further comprising: selecting the one or more cyber-graphs related to the location of the cyber-threat inquiry from the active knowledge database [para. 41-55].
As regarding claim 20, Noel further discloses The non-transitory computer-readable device of claim 17, wherein the plurality of cyberspace entities are represented as Internet Protocol (IP) addresses for virtual machines [para. 39 and 59].
Conclusion
/THONG TRUONG/
Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433