DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21 – 40 of U.S. Patent No. 11,481,551. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 - 20 of the instant application are similar in scope and content of the claims of the cited US patent.
It would have been obvious to an artisan at the time the invention was made to use the teaching of claims 21 - 40 of the '551' Patent as a general teaching for recommending words, to perform method as claimed in the present invention. The instant claims obviously encompass the claimed invention of the '551' Patent and differ only in the method steps. The extent that the instant claims are broaden and therefore generic to claimed invention of '551' Patent [species], In re Goodman 29 USPQ 2d 2010 CAFC 1993, states that a generic claim cannot be issued without a terminal disclaimer, if a species claim has been previously been claimed in a co- pending application. And since the structure is as recited, the method step is obtained and therefore, obvious.
Here is a comparison between claim 12 of the instant application and claim 30 of the cited patent (11,481,551).
Instant Application 19/010,326
Cited Patent 11,481,551
Comparison
12. A method by which a device provides recommended words for at least one input character, the method comprising:
30. A method by which a device provides recommended words for at least one input character, the method comprising:
Same
receiving an input for inputting at least one character;
receiving an input for inputting at least one character in a character input window;
Similar
recommending one or more extended words including the at least one character by applying the input at least one character to an artificial intelligence (AI) model;
recommending at least one word including the at least one input character by analyzing the at least one input character;
Similar
receiving an input that selects one of the recommended word; predicting whether a space is located next to the selected extended word;
in response to receiving a user input for selecting a word from the recommended at least one word and collecting, based on information about speech data input by a user an user, a characteristic of the user for inputting characters, recommending a plurality of extended words including the selected word and at least one additional character; and
Similar
displaying the selected extended word and the space on a character input window, based on the predicting that the space is located next to the selected extended
word; and
displaying a selected extended word in response to receiving a user input for selecting one of the plurality of extended words,
Similar
recommending at least one word to be located next to the space.
wherein the at least one additional character is derived from the selected word.
Similar
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 8, 12 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISO-SIPIla et al. (US PAP 2016/0321239) in view of Ouyang et al. (US PAP 2014/0115519).
As per claims 1, 12, and 20, ISO-SIPIla et al. teach a device/method comprising:
a display (paragraph 28);
a memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry configured to execute the instructions stored in the memory, the at least one processor configured to (paragraphs 68, 116, 117):
receive an input for inputting at least one character ("receive a sequence of characters input into the device."; Abstract),
recommend one or more extended words including the at least one
character by applying the at least one character to an artificial intelligence (AI) model,
receive an input that selects one of the recommended one or more extended words ("The word segment may be a character long, as with morphemes, for example *s* to pluralize a word, and may include words when there is no part of the word shared with other words Selecting which words to keep as single units and which words to segment into word segments (e.g. morphemes) may depend on the morphological typology of the language."; Abstract, paragraphs 31 - 36).
However, ISO-SIPIla et al. do not specifically teach predicting whether a space is located next to the selected extended word, display the selected extended word and the space on a character input window, based on a prediction that the space is located next to the selected extended word, recommend at least one word to be located next to the space.
Ouyang et al. disclose that multiple-space prediction module 8 may recognize the character string "lazy" by using a lexicon, such as a dictionary, past user inputs, and others. Responsive to detecting the character string "lazy," multiple-space prediction module 8 may insert at least one space character on either side of the character string "lazy."…In instances where multiple-space prediction module 8 modifies the entirety of character set 22, multiple-space prediction module 8 may insert more than two space characters, forming more than three character strings… UI module may output, for display at presence-sensitive device, various text suggestions generated by one or both of multiple-space prediction module… multiple-space prediction module 8 may match the character string "lazy" to a lexicon entry accessible to computing device 2, and insert the space characters on either side of the recognized character string (paragraphs 19 -22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to predict whether a space is located next to the selected word as taught by Ouyang et al. in ISO-SIPIla et al., because that would help provide more accurate word predictions for input into the system (ISO-SIPIla et al., paragraph 90).
As per claims 2, 13, ISO-SIPIla et al. in view of Ouyang et al. further disclose
the at least one processor is further configured to recommend a plurality of extended words including the selected word based on a characteristic for inputting characters ("the language model 10 is also configured to predict a modified or corrected word-segment from the input character sequence relating to the current word/word- segment being entered."; ISO-SIPIla et al., paragraphs 31, 63 - 70).
As per claims 3,14, ISO-SIPIla et al. in view of Ouyang et al. further disclose receiving an input that selects one of the recommended plurality of extended words, recommend at least one other extended word including the selected extended word in response to receiving the input for selecting one of the recommended plurality of extended words ("the word- segment language model 10 can be configured to predict iteratively word-segments such that the output from the text prediction engine is one or more word predictions 50 which may be displayed on a user interface of an electronic device for user selection."; ISO-SIPIla et al. paragraphs 28, and 63 - 70).
As per claims 4, 15, ISO-SIPIla et al. in view of Ouyang et al. further disclose the at least one processor is further configured to: recommend the at least one other extended word including the selected extended word or other extended words not including the selected extended word, based on the predicting whether the space is located next to the selected extended word ("word-segment language model 10b can be used to generate text predictions 50' comprising two or more words separated by one or more term boundaries, as well as single word predictions. Since the user character input for two or more terms will comprise more characters than a single word, the system is configured to first determine whether it has predicted the end of a word, i.e. whether a term boundary $ is predicted with the word-segment."; ISO-SIPIla et al. paragraph 69; see also Ouyang et al. paragraphs 19 -22).
As per claims 5, 16, ISO-SIPIla et al. in view of Ouyang et al. further disclose the other extended words not including the selected extended word are determined based on at least one extended word pre-displayed, the selected extended word, and the space ("combine word predictions 50 sourced from the word-segment language model 10 of FIG. 2a and the word predictions 51 sourced from the word language model 20 of FIG. 2e, to generate final predictions 55 that may be provided to a user interface for display and user selection (or the most-likely prediction may simply be inserted)."; ISO-SIPIla et al. paragraphs 28, and 91; see also Ouyang et al. paragraphs 19 -22).
As per claims 6, 17, ISO-SIPIla et al. in view of Ouyang et al. further disclose the recommended one or more extended words are determined based on a use frequency with respect to each of the one or more extended words (“identifying words which are best left un-segmented, for example the n most frequent words of a language can remain un-segmented.”; ISO-SIPIla et al., paragraphs 35 – 43).
As per claims 7, 18, ISO-SIPIla et al. in view of Ouyang et al. further disclose
the at least one processor is further configured to: display the at least one word outside the character input window, and differently display the at least one word to indicate whether extended words to be recommended for each of the at least one word exist ("generate final predictions that may be provided to a user interface for display and user selection (or the most- likely prediction may simply be inserted). "; ISO-SIPIla et al. paragraphs 89 - 91).
As per claims 8, 19, ISO-SIPIla et al. in view of Ouyang et al. further disclose the AI model is configured to be trained using at least one of: information regarding characters or pieces of speech data input in past, statistical data regarding a common use frequency for each word, or information regarding a word selected from among the one or more words recommended by the device ("A ‘word-segment language model’ 10 is a probability distribution representing the statistical probability of sequences of word-segments occurring within a natural language. A word-segment language model therefore comprises stored sequences of word-segments…To train a word-segment language model 10, the text corpus (or many corpora) is passed through a known technique for morpheme identification, €.g. an unsupervised compression-like technique provided in the Morfessor toolkit (htto:/Awww.cis.hut.fi/projects/morpho/). This technique identifies all morphemes in the text corpora and results in a dictionary that can be used to identify morphemes from words not actually seen in the text corpora (i.e. novel combinations of morphemes)."; ISO-SIPIla et al. paragraphs 32 - 43).
Claims 9 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISO-SIPIla et al. (US PAP 2016/0321239) in view of Ouyang et al. (US PAP 2014/0115519); and further in view of Leung et al. (US PAP 2008/0294982).
As per claim 9, ISO-SIPIla et al. in view of Ouyang et al. further disclose the at least one processor is further configured to: predict whether the space is located next to the selected extended word by using a language model (Ouyang et al. paragraphs 19 -22, 40).
However, ISO-SIPIla et al. in view of Ouyang et al. do not specifically teach applying the selected word to a neural network.
Leung et al. disclose that the prediction ranker may include a comparative neural network or other component which may be trained to determine which text auto completion prediction is more relevant than another text auto completion prediction (paragraph 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to use a neural network in text auto completion as taught by Ouyang et al. in ISO-SIPIla et al., because that would help provide more accurate word predictions for input into the system (ISO-SIPIla et al., paragraph 90).
As per claim 10, ISO-SIPIla et al. in view of Ouyang et al. further disclose the at least one processor is further configured to: recommend the at least one word to be located next to the space by applying the selected extended word to a language model (Ouyang et al. paragraphs 19 -22, 40; see also ISO-SIPIla et al., paragraphs 31, 63 - 70).
However, ISO-SIPIla et al. in view of Ouyang et al. do not specifically teach applying the selected word to a neural network.
Leung et al. disclose that the prediction ranker may include a comparative neural network or other component which may be trained to determine which text auto completion prediction is more relevant than another text auto completion prediction (paragraph 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to use a neural network in text auto completion as taught by Ouyang et al. in ISO-SIPIla et al., because that would help provide more accurate word predictions for input into the system (ISO-SIPIla et al., paragraph 90).
As per claim 11, ISO-SIPIla et al. in view of Ouyang et al. and further in view of Leung et al. further disclose the neural network outputs a probability distribution of the at least one word to be located next to the space and a probability distribution of a space to be located next to the at least one word, when the selected extended word is input (“A ‘word language model’ 20 is a probability distribution representing the statistical probability of sequences of words occurring within a natural language.” ISO-SIPIla et al. paragraphs 32, 33; see also Leung et al., paragraphs 37, 41).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Arnold et al. teach INTERACTIVE CONTEXT-BASED TEXT COMPLETIONS. Bellegarda et al. teach MULTILINGUAL WORD PREDICTION. Bellegarda et al. teach ENTROPY-GUIDED TEXT PREDICTION USING COMBINED WORD AND CHARACTER N-GRAM LANGUAGE MODELS. Clements et al. teach METHOD FOR INPUTTING TEXT INTO ELECTRONIC DEVICES. Brotherston et al. teach System For Improving Autocompletion Of Text Input.
/LEONARD SAINT-CYR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658