DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on January 06, 2025 and December 29, 2025 has been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 form).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,457,273. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1-20 are anticipated by the conflicting patented claims 1-13 as shown in the table below. The difference between the instant examined claim and the conflicting patented claims is that the conflicting patented claims are narrower in scope and falls within the scope of the examined claim. Thus, the species or sub-genus claimed in the conflicting patent anticipates the examined claimed genus. Therefore, a patent to the examined claim genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus. See MPEP § 804 (II)(B)(1).
Instant App 16/959,477
U.S. Patent No. 11,457,273
Claims 1, 11, 2, 12, 4, 14
Claims 1, 6
Claim 3, 13
Claims 2, 7
Claim 5, 15
Claims 4, 9
Claim 6, 16
Claims 3, 8
Claim 7, 17
Claim 4
Claim 8, 18
Claims 5, 10
Claim 9, 19
Claims 11, 12
Claim 10, 20
Claim 13
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greene (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0039717) in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0185871).
Regarding claim 1, Greene discloses a device (see fig. 1 (content receiver 202)) comprising:
a display (see paragraph 0033; media presentation device 204 having the display 206);
a memory storing one or more instructions (see paragraph 0035; non-transitory computer readable memory (NTCRM) 308); and
at least one processor configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory to cause the device to (see paragraph 0035; control circuitry 302, control circuitry 302, e.g., by a general purpose central processing unit (CPU), or a specialized image processing unit (IPU)):
obtain a first video (see paragraphs 0030, 0037; The content receiver 202 to receive the media content for presentation via the media presentation device 204. content receiver 202 receives media content from the satellite receiving antenna 210A);
compare an aspect ratio of the first video with an aspect ratio of a display area of the display (see paragraphs 000005-0007 and fig. 5 (steps 504-508); automatically resizes video images based on the content being displayed on the TV screen);
based on the aspect ratio of the first video being different from the aspect ratio of the display area, obtain an expanded video corresponding to all frames of the first video (see paragraph 0007, fig. 5 (steps 508-510), fig. 8 (steps 806-810); media content need adjustment, adapt output of media content, the expanded video having an aspect ratio corresponding to the aspect ratio of the display area (see paragraph 0007, fig. 8 (step 810), output the modified video frame to reduce the amount of blank space on the visual display), and
display the expanded video in the display area (see fig. 5 (step 512 – display media content to user), fig. 8 (step 804 – display media content on the visual display)).
However, Greene is silent as to AI models or applying a reference frame to an AI model and wherein the trained AI model is generated by using the reference frame and at least one related frame associated with the reference frame as training data.
Zhang et al. teaches neural networks trained for image processing, including aspect ratio adjustment (i.e., by applying a reference frame comprised in the first video to a trained artificial intelligence (AI) model) (see paragraphs 0008-0009, 0045; a neural network trained by inputting a set of raw data images and a correlating set of desired quality output images. The neural network may be configured for being downloaded to a mobile imaging device. The at least one image quality attribute may include image size, aspect ratio. Fig. 6 shows a CNN architecture that outputs a resized RGB patch), neural-network-based resizing to adjust aspect ratio (see paragraph 0009),
wherein the trained AI model is generated by using the reference frame and at least one related frame associated with the reference frame as training data (see paragraphs 0008-0011, 0026-0032, fig. 5; the neural network trained by inputting a set of raw data images and a correlating set of desired quality output images. Trained by inputting a set of raw data images and a correlating set of desired quality output images. Deep CNN training).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Greene with the teachings of Zhang et al., the motivation being to improve resizing, aspect-ration correction and image quality.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Greene and Zhang et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 1 and 11). Greene discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to cause the device to identify a letterbox to be displayed in the display area based on the aspect ratio of the first video being different from the aspect ratio of the display area (see paragraphs 0005-0007, fig. 5 (step 504-508), determine unused areas of extracted frame; fig. 8 (step 806, 808)).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Greene and Zhang et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 1 and 11). Greene discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to cause the device to:
extract frames comprised in the first video (see fig. 5 (step 504, 514), extract video frame).
Zhang et al. discloses generate the training data to be used to generate the trained Al model based on the extracted frames (see paragraphs 0008, 0010-0011, 0026-0032, fig. 5 (500, 512)); and
obtain the expanded video by updating the trained Al model by inputting the training data to the trained Al model (see paragraphs 0008-0011, 0013-0014 and fig. 5 (500)).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Greene and Zhang et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 1 and 11). Zhang et al. discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to cause the device to generate the trained Al model by using the reference frame and a resized frame obtained by resizing the reference frame as the training data (see paragraphs 0008, 0010-0011, 0045, fig. 5 (500, 504, 512, 514, 520, 525), fig. 4 (400))).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Greene and Zhang et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 1 and 11). Greene discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to cause the device to:
extract the reference frame, at least one previous frame, and at least one next frame comprised in the first video (see paragraph 0007, fig. 5 (504, 514); extract video frame); and
Zhang et al. discloses generate the trained Al model by using the reference frame, the at least one previous frame, and the at least one next frame as the training data (see paragraphs 0008, 0010-0011, 0026-0032, 0038, fig. 5 (500)).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Greene and Zhang et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 1 and 11). Greene discloses wherein the device further comprises a communicate interface (see paragraphs 0034-0035, 0030-0031, fig. 2 (network interface)) configured to transmit the first video to a server (see paragraph 0022, 0030-0031 and fig. 1).
Zhang et al. discloses sending image data to a server for training (see paragraphs 0013-0014 and fig. 1);
receive, from the server, the trained Al model generated by the server using the first video (see paragraphs 0011, 0013-0014), and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to cause the device to obtain the expanded video by inputting at least one frame of the first video to the trained Al model received from the server (see paragraphs 0008-0009, 0010, 0012 and fig. 6).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Greene and Zhang et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 1 and 11). Greene discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to cause the device to generate frames of the expanded video corresponding to the all frames of the first video (see paragraphs 0007, fig. 5 (steps 504-512), step 8 (steps 802-812)).
Zhang et al. discloses by training the trained Al model (see paragraphs 0008, 0010-0011, 0013-0014) by inputting the reference frame, at least one previous frame, and at least one next frame, to the trained Al model (see paragraphs 0008, 0010-0011, 0026-0032, 0032 and fig. 5 (500)).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Greene and Zhang et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 1 and 11). Greene discloses wherein the device further comprises a communicate interface (see paragraphs 0035, 0030-0031, fig. 1, fig. 2; network interface 310), and
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to cause the device to:
detect at least one of a pattern and a color constituting the reference frame comprised in the first video (see paragraphs 0016-0017, 0007, figs. 6A-6D, 7A-7B);
search for an image related to the detected at least one of the pattern and the color by using the communicate interface (see paragraph 00018, 0062, 0064-0066).
Zhang et al. discloses generate the trained Al model by using the reference frame and the searched image as the training data (see paragraphs 0008, 0010-0011, 0013-0014).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Greene and Zhang et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 1 and 11). Zhang et al. discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to cause the device to:
identify an object comprised in the reference frame of the first video (see paragraphs 0026-0032, 0038);
determine a category of the first video according to the object (see paragraphs 0027, 0038 and fig. 6);
select the trained Al model related to the category of the first video (see paragraphs 0013-0014, 0027).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greene and Zhang et al. as applied to claims 9 and 10 above, and further in view of Stern (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0324472).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Greene and Zhang et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 9 and 10).
However, Greene and Zhang et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the category comprises at least one from among a scientific fiction (SF) movie, a documentary, a live performance, a 2D animation, a 3D animation, an augmented reality (AR) video and a hologram video.
Stern discloses wherein the category comprises at least one from among a scientific fiction (SF) movie, a documentary (see fig. 4A, paragraphs 0003, 0013, 0030), a live performance, a 2D animation, a 3D animation, an augmented reality (AR) video and a hologram video.
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Greene and Zhang et al. with the teachings of Stern, the motivation being to automatically select the most appropriate AI model for a given video genre.
Conclusion
NNENNA EKPO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/NNENNA N EKPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425 March 3, 2026.