DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 01/10/2025, 11/20/2025 and 04/20/2026 have been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
For claim 1,
a. a conversion unit configured to convert at least two… on lines 2,3.
b. a processing unit configured to multiplex…on lines 5,6.
For claim 2,
a. the processing unit us further in configured to demultiplex… on lines 2,3;
b. the conversion unit is further is configured to… on lines 5,6.
For claim 10,
a. the communication unit is configured to transmit…on lines 3,4.
For claim 18,
a. the signal conversion module, configured to receive… on lines 5-7.
For claim 19,
a. the at least two remote optical modules configured to receive… on lines 10-12.
a. The signal conversion unit with processor 1901 and memory 1902, see figure 13.
b. communication units 121, 122 with transmitter and receiver, see figures 12,13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 19, applicant claims, “at least two remote optical modules configured to receive” and discloses “plurality of single color-light optical modules 142 may be remote optical modules”, see paragraph 170 and figure 14 but fails to disclose the actual structure of the remote optical modules and thus making claim 19 vague and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2,10,13,15 and 20 are rejected 35 USC 102 a(1) in view of Komi et al; (US 2015/0349912).
Regarding claim 1, Komi discloses a signal conversion module ;(optical line terminal 20, see figure 2) wherein the signal conversion module comprises: a conversion unit, configured to convert at least two received first electrical signals into at least two first optical signals, wherein the at least two first optical signals respectively correspond to different wavelengths;( the photoelectric conversion module 24 converts the electric signal output from the communication interface 26 into an optical signal of a particular wavelength, 24-1converts the electric signal output from the communication interface 26-1 into an optical signal of a wavelength λ10 and 24-2 converts the electric signal output from the communication interface 26-2 into an optical signal of a wavelength λ11, see paragraphs 53 and 54 and figure 2) and a processing unit, configured to multiplex the at least two first optical signals into a first mixed optical signal ;( the optical coupler 23 wavelength multiplexes the optical signals having a different wavelength than one another that have been output from the photoelectric conversion modules 24, and outputs an optical signal obtained by the wavelength-multiplex to the dual directional coupler 22, see paragraph 52 and figure 2).
Regarding claim 2, Komis discloses the signal conversion module according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is further configured to demultiplex a received second mixed optical signal into at least two second optical signals, wherein the at least two second optical signals respectively correspond to different wavelengths; (The optical coupler 23 wavelength separates the multi-wavelength optical signal output from the dual directional coupler 22 and outputs the wavelength-separated optical signals of each of the wavelengths to the photoelectric conversion modules 24 that cover the respective wavelengths,(λ1-λ9), see paragraph 51 and figure 2)and the conversion unit is further configured to convert the at least two second optical signals into at least two second electrical signals ;(the photoelectric conversion module 24 converts the optical signal of a particular wavelength output from the optical coupler 23 into an electric signal, and outputs the electric signal obtained by the conversion to the communication interface 26, see paragraph 53).
Regarding claim 10, Komi discloses the signal conversion module according to claim 2, wherein the signal conversion module further comprises a communication unit; and the communication unit is configured to transmit the first mixed optical signal and/or receive the second mixed optical signal via an optical fiber; (the multi-wavelength optical signal output from the optical coupler 23 is input to the dual directional coupler 22, and the input multi-wavelength optical signal is output to the optical splitter 30 via the first optical fiber 61, see paragraph 50 and figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, Komi discloses a signal conversion method ;(optical line terminal 20 with photelectric conversion modules 24-1 to 24-9 optical coupler 23 as wavelength multiplexer and/or demultiplexer, see figure 2) wherein the signal conversion method comprises: receiving at least two first electrical signals; converting the at least two first electrical signals into at least two first optical signals, wherein the at least two first optical signals respectively correspond to different wavelengths;( the photoelectric conversion module 24 converts the electric signal output from the communication interface 26 into an optical signal of a particular wavelength, 24-1converts the electric signal output from the communication interface 26-1 into an optical signal of a wavelength λ10 and 24-2 converts the electric signal output from the communication interface 26-2 into an optical signal of a wavelength λ11, see paragraphs 53 and 54 and figure 2) multiplexing the at least two first optical signals into a first mixed optical signal; and transmitting the first mixed optical signal;( the optical coupler 23 wavelength multiplexes the optical signals having a different wavelength than one another that have been output from the photoelectric conversion modules 24, and outputs an optical signal obtained by the wavelength-multiplex to the dual directional coupler 22, see paragraph 52 and figure 2).
Regarding claim 15, Kom discloses the method according to claim 13, the method further comprises: receiving a second mixed optical signal; demultiplexing the second mixed optical signal into at least two second optical signals, wherein the at least two second optical signals respectively correspond to different wavelengths; (the optical coupler 23 wavelength separates the multi-wavelength optical signal output from the dual directional coupler 22 and outputs the wavelength-separated optical signals of each of the wavelengths to the photoelectric conversion modules 24 that cover the respective wavelengths, see paragraph 51 and figure 2) converting the at least two second optical signals into at least two second electrical signals; and transmitting the at least two second electrical signals ;(the photoelectric conversion module 24 converts the optical signal of a particular wavelength output from the optical coupler 23 into an electric signal, and outputs the electric signal obtained by the conversion to the communication interface 26, see paragraph 53 and figure 2).
Regarding claim 20, Komi discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program thereon, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor, the signal conversion method according to claim 13 is implemented ;( The CPU 21 is a processor that is connected to each of the components 22 to 26 included in the optical line terminal 20 and that controls an entire operation of the optical line terminal 20, see paragraph 48 and figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 USC 103 in view of Komi et al; (US 2015/0349912).
Regarding claim 4, Komi discloses the signal conversion module according to claim 2, wherein the conversion unit comprises: a color laser sub-unit, configured to convert the at least two received first electrical signals into at least two first optical signals, wherein the at least two first optical signals respectively correspond to different wavelengths;( the photoelectric conversion module 24 converts the electric signal output from the communication interface 26 into an optical signal of a particular wavelength, and outputs the optical signal obtained by the conversion to the optical coupler 23. The particular wavelength of the optical signal obtained by the conversion is a reception wavelength of the optical signal received from the corresponding optical network unit 40A, see paragraph 53 and figure 2) and a detector sub-unit, configured to convert the at least two received second optical signals into the at least two second electrical signals ;(the photoelectric conversion module 24 converts the optical signal of a particular wavelength output from the optical coupler 23 into an electric signal, and outputs the electric signal obtained by the conversion to the communication interface 26, see paragraph 53 and figure 2). Official notice is taken that it would be obvious for one the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention that the optical to electrical conversion is done photodetector (photodiode) and electrical to optical conversion is done by laser and the motivation is to provide optical to electrical conversion and vice-versa.
Regarding claim 5, Komi discloses the signal conversion module according to claim 2, wherein the processing unit (optical line terminal 20, see figure 2) comprises: an internal multiplexer sub-unit, configured to multiplex the at least two received first optical signals into a first mixed optical signal;(the optical coupler 23 wavelength multiplexes the optical signals having a different wavelength than one another that have been output from the photoelectric conversion modules 24, and outputs an optical signal obtained by the wavelength-multiplex to the dual directional coupler 22, see paragraph 52 and figure 2) and an internal demultiplexer sub-unit, configured to demultiplex the received second mixed optical signal into at least two second optical signals, wherein the at least two second optical signals correspond to different wavelengths; (the optical coupler 23 wavelength separates (demultiplex) the multi-wavelength optical signal output from the dual directional coupler 22 and outputs the wavelength-separated optical signals of each of the wavelengths to the photoelectric conversion modules 24 that cover the respective wavelengths,(λ1-λ9), see paragraph 51 and figure 2). Official notice is taken that it would be obvious for one the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention that the optical coupler 23 for multiplexing and demultiplexing is internal to the OLT and the motivation decreased cost and size of the processing component.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 USC 103 in view of Komi et al; (US 2015/0349912) in view of Xia (US 2021/0306282).
Regarding claim 3, Komi discloses the signal conversion module according to claim 2, wherein at least two first electrical signals are electrical signals transmitted by switch, ;(the photoelectric conversion module 24 converts the optical signal of a particular wavelength output from the optical coupler 23 into an electric signal, and outputs the electric signal into a switch 25, see paragraph 53 ad figure 2) and the second mixed optical signal is a mixed optical signal obtained by multiplexing a plurality of optical signals ;( the optical coupler 23 wavelength multiplexes the optical signals having a different wavelength than one another that have been output from the photoelectric conversion modules 24, and outputs an optical signal obtained by the wavelength-multiplex to the dual directional coupler 22, see paragraph 52 and figure 2).
However, Komi does not explicitly disclose a core switch, transmitted by access switches.
In a related field of endeavor, Xia discloses a core switch ;(core switch, see figure 1) transmitted by access switches ;(plurality of access switches, see figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the core switch and the plurality of access switches to provide to transmit and/or receive optical and/or electrical signals between the central node and plurality user terminals and the motivation is increased transmission and/or reception efficiency.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 USC 103 in view of Komi et al; (US 2015/0349912) in view of Huang et al; (US 10805033).
Regarding claim 6, Komi does not explicitly disclose the signal conversion module according to claim 5, wherein the at least two received first optical signals comprise at least four optical signals, and the internal multiplexer sub-unit comprises: first-stage internal multiplexers, configured to multiplex the at least four received first optical signals into a third mixed optical signal and a fourth mixed optical signal; and a second-stage internal multiplexer, configured to multiplex the third mixed optical signal and the fourth mixed optical signal into the first mixed optical signal.
In a related field of endeavor, Huang discloses the signal conversion module according to claim 5, wherein the at least two received first optical signals comprise at least four optical signals, (WDM1 receiving four optical signals λ1, λ9, λ17 and λ25, and λ2, λ10, λ18 and λ26, see figure 5) and the internal multiplexer sub-unit comprises: first-stage internal multiplexers, configured to multiplex the at least four received first optical signals into a third mixed optical signal and a fourth mixed optical signal; (WDM1 receiving four optical signals λ1, λ9, λ17 and λ25, and λ2, λ10, λ18 and λ26, multiplexing the receive signal; see figure 5) and a second-stage internal multiplexer, configured to multiplex the third mixed optical signal and the fourth mixed optical signal into the first mixed optical signal ;(periodic arrayed waveguide grating for multiplexing the λ1, λ9, λ17 and λ25, and λ2, λ10, λ18 and λ26 into signal, see figure 5).
Thus, it would be obvious for one the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the plurality of wavelength multiplexers of Huang with Komi to provide wavelength multiplexing of the plurality of optical signals and the motivation is increased system capacity.
Regarding claim 7, Komi does not explicitly disclose the signal conversion module according to claim 5, wherein the at least two second optical signals comprise at least four second optical signals, and the internal demultiplexer sub-unit comprises: a first-stage internal demultiplexer module, configured to demultiplex the received second mixed optical signal into at least two mixed optical signals; and second-stage internal demultiplexer modules, configured to demultiplex the at least two mixed optical signals into the at least four second optical signals.
In a related field of endeavor, Huang discloses the signal conversion module according to claim 5, wherein the at least two second optical signals comprise at least four second optical signals, (WDM1 receiving four optical signals λ1, λ9, λ17 and λ25, and λ2, λ10, λ18 and λ26, see figure 5) and the internal demultiplexer sub-unit comprises: a first-stage internal demultiplexer module, configured to demultiplex the received second mixed optical signal into at least two mixed optical signals;(periodic arrayed waveguide grating for de-multiplexing the λ1, λ9, λ17 and λ25, and λ2, λ10, λ18 and λ26 into signal, see figure 5), and second-stage internal demultiplexer modules, configured to demultiplex the at least two mixed optical signals into the at least four second optical signals ;( WDM1 receiving four optical signals λ1, λ9, λ17 and λ25, and λ2, λ10, λ18 and λ26, de-multiplexing the receive signal; see figure 5). Motivation same as claim 6
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 USC 103 in view of Komi et al; (US 2015/0349912) in view of McGreer et al; (US 2012/0315044).
Regarding 8, Komi does not explicitly disclose the signal conversion module according to claim 2, wherein the processing unit further comprises an optical filter, and the optical filter is configured to filter out an interference signal to obtain the second mixed optical signal.
In a related field of endeavor, McGreer discloses the signal conversion module according to claim 2, wherein the processing unit further comprises an optical filter, and the optical filter is configured to filter out an interference signal to obtain the second mixed optical signal ;( the multi-band D/MUX function can be performed with a series of wavelength filters. Each filter can split off a particular channel such that a series of filters can sequentially split off all of the desired channels corresponding with the user service optical connections, see paragraph 29).
Thus, it would be obvious for one the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the optical filter of McGreer with Komi to sperate or split the undesired wavelength band from the received optical signal and the motivation is to provide separation desired wavelength bands.
Regarding 9, Komi does not explicitly disclose the signal conversion module according to claim 8, wherein the optical filter comprises a first optical filter and a second optical filter, wherein the first optical filter is configured to allow light with a wavelength in a first wave band to pass through, and the second optical filter is configured to allow light with a wavelength in a second wave band to pass through; and the first wave band and the second wave band are in different ranges, wherein the second mixed optical signal comprises the light with the wavelength in the first wave band and the light with the wavelength in the second wave band.
In a related field of endeavor, McGreer discloses the signal conversion module according to claim 8, wherein the optical filter comprises a first optical filter and a second optical filter, wherein the first optical filter is configured to allow light with a wavelength in a first wave band to pass through ;( the multi-band D/MUX function can be performed with a series of wavelength filters (first and second), each filter (first and second) can split off a particular channel (wavelength bands) such that a series of filters can sequentially split off all of the desired channels corresponding with the user service optical connections, see paragraph 29) and the second optical filter is configured to allow light with a wavelength in a second wave band to pass through; and the first wave band and the second wave band are in different ranges, wherein the second mixed optical signal comprises the light with the wavelength in the first wave band and the light with the wavelength in the second wave band;( the multi-band D/MUX function can be performed with a series of wavelength filters (first and second), each filter (first and second) can split off a particular channel (wavelength bands) such that a series of filters can sequentially split off all of the desired channels corresponding with the user service optical connections, see paragraph 29). Motivation same as claim 8.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 USC 103 in view of Komi et al; (US 2015/0349912) in view of Xia (US 2021/0306282) in view of Liu (EP 1887724 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Komi does not explicitly disclose the signal conversion module according to claim 10, wherein the communication unit is an external multiplexer/ demultiplexer module.
In a related field od endeavor, Liu discloses the signal conversion module according to claim 10, wherein the communication unit is an external multiplexer/ demultiplexer module ;(external multiplexer/demultiplexer modules 3 and 4 respectively, see figure 5).
Thus, it would be obvious for one the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the external multiplexer and/or demultiplexer of Liu with Komi to provide for multiplexing and demultiplexing of the uplink and/or downlink optical signals and the motivation is separation of different optical components for ease in manufacturing.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 USC 103 in view of Komi et al; (US 2015/0349912) in view of Wei et al; (CN 202010336195A).
Regarding claim 12, Komi discloses the signal conversion module according to claim 1, wherein the signal conversion module further comprises: configured to be connected to a core switch; (eight communication interfaces 26-1 to 26-8 coupled with the switch 25, see paragraph 46 and figure 2) and an optical fiber interface, configured to be connected to an optical fiber that transmits the first mixed optical signal ;(eight communication interfaces 26-1 to 26-8 coupled with the to the plurality of transmission paths 70-1 to 70-n, see paragraph 28 and figure 2).
However, Komi does not explicitly disclose a gold finger connector.
In a related field of endeavor, Wei discloses a gold finger connector ;( connector 110 connected with the preset optical line terminal 300 and the connector 110 is a gold finger, see figure 8).
Thus, it would be obvious for one the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the golden finger connector of Wei with Komi to provide reliable, low-resistance electrical contact with mating slots and the motivation is to provide increased durability, conductivity, and resistance to wear.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 USC 103 in view of Komi et al; (US 2015/0349912) in view of Huang et al; (US 10805033).
Regarding claim 14, Komi discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein the multiplexing the at least two first optical signals into a first mixed optical signal comprises: multiplexing a plurality of optical signals in the at least two first optical signals into a third mixed optical signal; multiplexing remaining optical signals in the at least two first optical signals into a fourth mixed optical signal; and multiplexing the third mixed optical signal and the fourth mixed optical signal into the first mixed optical signal, wherein the at least two first optical signals comprises at least four first optical signals.
In a related field of endeavor, Huang discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein the multiplexing the at least two first optical signals into a first mixed optical signal (WDM1 receiving four optical signals λ1, λ9, λ17 and λ25, and λ2, λ10, λ18 and λ26, see figure 5) comprises: multiplexing a plurality of optical signals in the at least two first optical signals into a third mixed optical signal; multiplexing remaining optical signals in the at least two first optical signals into a fourth mixed optical signal; (WDM1 receiving four optical signals λ1, λ9, λ17 and λ25, and λ2, λ10, λ18 and λ26, multiplexing the receive signal; see figure 5) and multiplexing the third mixed optical signal and the fourth mixed optical signal into the first mixed optical signal, wherein the at least two first optical signals comprises at least four first optical signals ;(periodic arrayed waveguide grating for multiplexing the λ1, λ9, λ17 and λ25, and λ2, λ10, λ18 and λ26 into signal, see figure 5).
Thus, it would be obvious for one the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the plurality of wavelength multiplexers of Huang with Komi to provide wavelength multiplexing of the plurality of optical signals and the motivation is increased system capacity.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 USC 103 in view of Komi et al; (US 2015/0349912) in view of McGreer et al; (US 20120315044).
Regarding claim 16, Komi discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the receiving a second mixed optical signal comprises: receiving a fifth mixed optical signal, wherein the fifth mixed optical signal comprises the second mixed optical signal ;(the optical coupler 23 wavelength separates (demultiplex) the multi-wavelength optical signal output from the dual directional coupler 22 and outputs the wavelength-separated optical signals of each of the wavelengths to the photoelectric conversion modules 24 that cover the respective wavelengths,(λ1-λ9), see paragraph 51 and figure 2), and
However, Komi does not explicitly disclose an interference optical signal; filtering out the interference optical signal.
In a related field of endeavor, McGreer discloses an interference optical signal; filtering out the interference optical signal ;( the multi-band D/MUX function can be performed with a series of wavelength filters. Each filter can split off a particular channel such that a series of filters can sequentially split off all of the desired channels corresponding with the user service optical connections, see paragraph 29).
Thus, it would be obvious for one the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the optical filter of McGreer with Komi to sperate or split the undesired wavelength band from the received optical signal and the motivation is to provide separation desired wavelength bands.
Regarding claim 17, Komi does not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 16, wherein the filtering out the interference optical signal comprises: filtering out the interference optical signal by using a single optical filter or filtering out the interference optical signal by using a plurality of optical filters based on the second mixed optical signal.
In a related field of endeavor, McGreer discloses the method according to claim 16, wherein the filtering out the interference optical signal comprises: filtering out the interference optical signal by using a single optical filter or filtering out the interference optical signal by using a plurality of optical filters based on the second mixed optical signal ;( the multi-band D/MUX function can be performed with a series of wavelength filters. Each filter can split off a particular channel such that a series of filters can sequentially split off all of the desired channels corresponding with the user service optical connections, see paragraph 29).
Thus, it would be obvious for one the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the optical filter of McGreer with Komi to sperate or split the undesired wavelength band from the received optical signal and the motivation is to provide separation desired wavelength bands.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 USC 103 in view of Komi et al; (US 2015/0349912) in view of Xia (US 2021/0306282).
Regarding claim 18, Komi discloses an optical fiber transmission system,(optical fiber transmission system with optical line terminal 20 and plurality of optical network units 40A-1… to 40A-n, see paragraph 26 and figure 1) comprising: configured to provide at least two first electrical signals to a signal conversion module and receive at least two second electrical signals transmitted by the signal conversion module and the signal conversion module, configured to receive the at least two first electrical signals provided;(the photoelectric conversion module 24 converts the electric signal output from the communication interface 26 into an optical signal of a particular wavelength, 24-1 converts the electric signal output from the communication interface 26-1 into an optical signal of a wavelength λ10 and 24-2 converts the electric signal output from the communication interface 26-2 into an optical signal of a wavelength λ11, see paragraphs 53 and 54 and figure 2) , generate at least two first optical signals based on the at least two first electrical signals, multiplex the at least two optical signals into a first mixed optical signal, transmit the first mixed optical signal to a remote access module;( the optical coupler 23 wavelength multiplexes the optical signals having a different wavelength than one another that have been output from the photoelectric conversion modules 24, and outputs an optical signal obtained by the wavelength-multiplex to the dual directional coupler 22, see paragraph 52 and figure 2) and configured to receive a second mixed optical signal transmitted by the remote access module,(the particular wavelength of the optical signal obtained by the conversion is a reception wavelength of the optical signal received from the corresponding optical network unit 40A (remote access module 40A), see paragraph 53 and figure 2) demultiplex the second mixed optical signal into at least two second optical signals, convert the at least two second optical signals into the at least two second electrical signals, and transmit the at least two second electrical signals ;(the multi-wavelength optical signal output from the optical splitter 30 is input to the dual directional coupler 22 via the first optical fiber 61, and the input multi-wavelength optical signal is output to the optical coupler 23 and the optical coupler 23 wavelength separates the multi-wavelength optical signal output from the dual directional coupler 22 and outputs the wavelength-separated optical signals of each of the wavelengths to the photoelectric conversion modules 24 which converts the optical signal of a particular wavelength output from the optical coupler 23 into an electric signal, see paragraphs 49,51 and 53).
However, Komi does not explicitly disclose a core switch, by the core switch, to the core switch.
In a related field of endeavor, Xia discloses a core switch, by the core switch, to the core switch;(core switch, see figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the core switch and the plurality of access switches to provide to transmit and/or receive optical and/or electrical signals between the central node and plurality user terminals and the motivation is increased transmission and/or reception efficiency.
Regarding claim 19, Komi discloses the optical fiber transmission system according to claim 18, wherein the optical fiber transmission system further comprises the remote access module, (plurality of optical network units 40A (remote access module 40A), see paragraph 53 and figure 2) and the remote access module comprises: a passive wavelength division multiplexing box, (optical demultiplexer 43, see figure 2) configured to receive the first mixed optical signal transmitted by the signal conversion module, demultiplex the first mixed optical signal into at least two third optical signals, transmit the at least two third optical signals to at least two remote optical modules and configured to receive at least two fourth optical signals transmitted by the at least two remote optical modules, and multiplex the at least two fourth optical signals into the second mixed optical signal,( the multi-wavelength optical signal output from the optical splitter 30 is input to the dual directional coupler 42 via the second optical fiber 62, and the input multi-wavelength optical signal is output to the optical demultiplexer 43. The multi-wavelength optical signal that is output to the optical demultiplexer 43 is the multi-wavelength optical signal which the optical network unit 40A has received from the optical line terminal 20 via the optical splitter 30, see paragraph 65 and figure 2) the at least two remote optical modules, configured to receive the at least two third optical signals, generate at least two third electrical signals based on the at least two received third optical signals, transmit the at least two third electrical signals to and configured to receive at least two fourth electrical signals, generate at least two fourth optical signals based on the at least two fourth electrical signals,( The multi-wavelength optical signal output from the dual directional coupler 42 is input to the optical demultiplexer 43. The optical demultiplexer 43 demultiplexes an optical signal of a unique reception wavelength from the input multi-wavelength optical signal and outputs the demultiplexed optical signal to the photoelectric conversion module 44. For example, in the optical network unit 40A-1, the optical signal of a unique reception wavelength λ10 assigned to the optical network unit 40A-1 is output from the optical demultiplexer 43 to the photoelectric conversion module 44, see paragraph 67 and figure 2) and transmit the at least two fourth optical signals to the passive wavelength division multiplexing box; configured to receive the at least two third electrical signals transmitted by the remote optical modules, and transmit the at least two fourth electrical signals to the remote optical modules ;( photoelectric conversion module 44 receives the optical signal of the unique reception wavelength output from the optical demultiplexer 43, converts the received optical signal into an electric signal, and transmits the electric signal obtained by the conversion to the communication interface 45. Further, the photoelectric conversion module 44 receives the electric signal transmitted from the communication interface 45, see paragraph 68 and figure 2).
However, Komi does not explicitly disclose at least two access switches, transmitted by the access switches and at least two access switches.
In a related field of endeavor, Xia discloses at least two access switches, transmitted by the access switches and at least two access switches;(plurality of access switches, see figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the core switch and the plurality of access switches to provide to transmit and/or receive optical and/or electrical signals between the central node and plurality user terminals and the motivation is increased transmission and/or reception efficiency.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as reproduced below.
a. Lam et al; (US 8953942) discloses a technique for providing time division multiplexing ("TDM") and wavelength division multiplexing ("WDM") communication services to customer premises ("CP") over a passive optical network ("PON") includes multiplexing a downstream TDM signal with downstream WDM signals onto a fiber trunk line coupled between a central office and a remote node ("RN"), see figure 4.
b. Dvir (US 2013/0202290) discloses an OLT (300) comprises an optical module (320) that includes an optical network unit (ONU) traffic processing module (340) which is electrically coupled to the optical module and an electrical module (310), see figure 3A.
c. Yu et al; (CN 100377514C) discloses a wavelength division multiplexing system, comprising a plurality of optical signal emitting module, a combiner, transmission link, optical wave separator and a plurality of optical signal receiving module, the plurality of optical signal emitting module multi-path optical signal sent through the optical multiplexer wavelength output, via a transmission link to the optical interleaver, see figure 4
/AMRITBIR K SANDHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634