Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 16, 2025; July 21, 2025; November 13, 2025 and February 17, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Wolke et al. US Patent Application Publication No. US-20170094251-A1 (hereinafter Wolke) in view of Rao Bantwal Janardrian Moha Patent Application Publication No. WO-2009120073-A2 (hereinafter Rao) and further in view of Yi Patent Application Publication No. CN-107960705-A (hereinafter Yi).
Regarding claim 1, Wolke discloses a method of calibrating a light source, comprising (Wolke in [0148] discloses, “FIG. 17B shows a compensation method 1700B that may be used to determine the relative pose between a camera 1420A and a separated projector 1410A”): projecting by a directional light source an image onto a three-dimensional surface of at least one object, the image include a plurality of points of light (Wolke in [0061] discloses about laser light directed through diffractive element (directional light source) and collection of illuminated elements (plurality of points of light), “The light source emits a beam of light 117C, which might for example be a collimated beam of laser light. The light 117C passes through the diffractive optical element 115C, which diffracts the light into a diverging pattern of light 119C. In an embodiment, the pattern includes a collection of illuminated elements that are projected in two dimensions. In an embodiment, the pattern includes a two-dimensional grid of spots”. Wolke in [0117] discloses, “Light reflected (scattered) off the object surface 130A”); and calibrating a location (Wolke in Fig. 17B; [0148] discloses, 1700B that may be used to determine the relative pose between a camera 1420A and a separated projector 1410A. In an embodiment, in a first step, the camera 1420A measures the positions of each of the spots on the calibration plate 1710. In a second step, the projector 1410A projects a pattern onto the calibration plate, which is measured by the camera 1420A. The results of the measurements performed in the first step and the second step are combined to determine the relative pose of the camera 1420A and the projector 1410A. [0187], the system determines the coordinates of the object 1030 based at least in part on the images of the projected pattern obtained by the two cameras [e.g., calculating location]), and orientation of the light source relative to the optical device using the captured data for the plurality of points (Wolke in [0187] discloses, “The cameras 1420A, 1420B are able to match the patterns of light marks 2822 and, based on that initial orientation, are further able to match the projected spots 3010 near the probe 2820, 2830, or 2840 that are in the FOV of the two cameras 1420A, 1420B”).
Wolke doesn’t disclose about the following limitation as further recited in the claim.
Rao discloses performing a plurality of sweeping operations (Rao in [0057] discloses, “It may also be of use to make multiple passes of the sweeping the laser over the object in which the resulting geometry for each pass is averaged together in order to minimize error”); capturing images of the sweeps (Rao in [0104] discloses, “recording, respectively and sequentially, each scene of said object to produce a sequence of images”); producing horizontal and vertical virtual contours during the sweeping operations (Rao in [0065] discloses, “the light plane may take all poses between and including absolute vertical or horizontal”. Furthermore, Rao in [0053] discloses, “This light plane strikes and illuminates the object producing a lighted contour over the object”); determining from the horizontal and vertical virtual contours a sweep path of the directional light source (Rao in [0056] discloses, “Each camera image is the processed to extract the contour line and determine the position of each contour line point in each frame”); searching the sweep path for overlapping points to generate a virtual grid (Rao in [0038] discloses, “Such points may be points in the image where there is an intersection between respective contours of illuminated points on the object obtained during the pre- scan and the final scan respectively”. Rao in [0098] discloses about grid, “other types of light structure may be used, such as curved surfaces, parallel surfaces, grids of surfaces etc”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to integrate the technique of Rao into the system of Wolke because it would allow the system to automatically create a virtual grid without requiring a physical checkerboard or other known calibration target.
The combination of Wolke and Rao doesn’t disclose about the following limitation as further recited in the claim.
Yi discloses simultaneously capturing by at least one optical device data for a plurality of points on the virtual grid by performing the sweeping operations into a field of view of an optical device (Yi in [Page – 5, Paragraph – 1] discloses, “The point light source 31 emits a light source, and forms a grid projection via a grating. The multiple cameras 32 collect raster projections on a three-dimensional space at multiple angles. ... The raster scanner 3 disposed at the end of the slide rail 22 close to the collector 1 can project several specific encoded structured lights to the collector 1 through the point light source 31 with a grating, and simultaneously angle multiple cameras in the triangular space. 32 capturing the corresponding projected images at the same time”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to integrate the technique of Yi into the system of Wolke in view of Rao because it would improve calibration efficiency and accuracy.
Summary of Citations (Yi)
[Page – 5, Paragraph – 1]; “The point light source 31 emits a light source, and forms a grid projection via a grating. The multiple cameras 32 collect raster projections on a three-dimensional space at multiple angles. The computer is in communication with the camera 32 and receives the graphic data transmitted from the camera 32. The raster scanner 3 disposed at the end of the slide rail 22 close to the collector 1 can project several specific encoded structured lights to the collector 1 through the point light source 31 with a grating, and simultaneously angle multiple cameras in the triangular space. 32 capturing the corresponding projected images at the same time”.
Summary of Citations (Rao)
Paragraph [0038]; “Such points may be points in the image where there is an intersection between respective contours of illuminated points on the object obtained during the pre- scan and the final scan respectively”.
Paragraph [0053]; “This light plane strikes and illuminates the object producing a lighted contour over the object”.
Paragraph [0056]; “Each camera image is the processed to extract the contour line and determine the position of each contour line point in each frame”.
Paragraph [0057]; “It may also be of use to make multiple passes of the sweeping the laser over the object in which the resulting geometry for each pass is averaged together in order to minimize error”.
Paragraph [0065]; “the light plane may take all poses between and including absolute vertical or horizontal”.
Paragraph [0098]; “other types of light structure may beused, such as curved surfaces, parallel surfaces, grids of surfaces etc”.
Paragraph [0104]; “recording, respectively and sequentially, each scene of said object to produce a sequence of images”.
Summary of Citations (Wolke)
Paragraph [0061]; “The light source emits a beam of light 117C, which might for example be a collimated beam of laser light. The light 117C passes through the diffractive optical element 115C, which diffracts the light into a diverging pattern of light 119C. In an embodiment, the pattern includes a collection of illuminated elements that are projected in two dimensions. In an embodiment, the pattern includes a two-dimensional grid of spots”.
Paragraph [0117]; “Light reflected (scattered) off the object surface 130A”.
Paragraph [0148]; “FIG. 17B shows a compensation method 1700B that may be used to determine the relative pose between a camera 1420A and a separated projector 1410A. In an embodiment, in a first step, the camera 1420A measures the positions of each of the spots on the calibration plate 1710. In a second step, the projector 1410A projects a pattern onto the calibration plate, which is measured by the camera 1420A”.
Paragraph [0187]; “natural features on the object 1030 or on nearby stationary objects enable the system to use the images from the two cameras to determine 3D coordinates of the object 1030 within the frame of reference 2810”.
Regarding claim 5, Rao in the combination discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a sweeping operation is performed in coordination with a frame capture in the field of view of the optical device (Rao in [0056] discloses, “While the camera views the scene the pre scan is now made by allowing the projection device to sweep the light line over the object from top mark to bottom mark in a docile and speed consistent fashion. Each camera image is the processed to extract the contour line and determine the position of each contour line point in each frame”).
Summary of Citations (Rao)
Paragraph [0056]; “While the camera views the scene the pre scan is now made by allowing the projection device to sweep the light line over the object from top mark to bottom mark in a docile and speed consistent fashion. Each camera image is the processed to extract the contour line and determine the position of each contour line point in each frame”.
Regarding claim 6, Rao in the combination discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the directional light source generates captured light that radiates at a level that provides a measurable change compared to ambient lighting along a sweep path (Rao in [0055] discloses, “Low and stable ambient light is desired during scanning in order to maximize the illumination and subsequent registration of the light plane's reflected contour on the object by the camera. A reference image frame without the light plane contour on the object .... The reference frame image is subtracted from images of the projection device's ray plane reflection on the object. Only those pixels that have different values will show up in the resultant data. These pixels will be that of the contour line, excluding for camera image noise”).
Summary of Citations (Rao)
Paragraph [0055]; “Low and stable ambient light is desired during scanning in order to maximize the illumination and subsequent registration of the light plane's reflected contour on the object by the camera. A reference image frame without the light plane contour on the object may be made by the camera and stored in computer memory to be used to isolate the illuminated contour on the object in subsequent images. The reference frame image is subtracted from images of the projection device's ray plane reflection on the object. Only those pixels that have different values will show up in the resultant data. These pixels will be that of the contour line, excluding for camera image noise”.
Regarding claim 7, Rao in the combination discloses the method of claim 1, wherein producing the horizontal contour includes a horizontal sweep where a pan is variable and a tilt is fixed and producing the vertical contour includes a vertical sweep where the pan is fixed and the tilt is variable (Rao in [0053] discloses, “The light plane is typically set to project a horizontal plane of light onto an object. The platform allows radial movement or 1 degree of freedom in which the projection device can be rotated such that the horizontal plane of light can sweep vertically over the object from top to bottom” wherein 1 degree of freedom equates to tilt is fixed. Furthermore, Rao in [0056] discloses about contour).
Summary of Citations (Rao)
Paragraph [0053]; “The light plane is typically set to project a horizontal plane of light onto an object. The platform allows radial movement or 1 degree of freedom in which the projection device can be rotated such that the horizontal plane of light can sweep vertically over the object from top to bottom”.
Paragraph [0056]; “The projection device is then set back in it original position. While the camera views the scene the pre scan is now made by allowing the projection device to sweep the light line over the object from top mark to bottom mark in a docile and speed consistent fashion. Each camera image is the processed to extract the contour line and determine the position of each contour line point in each frame”.
Regarding claim 8, Rao in the combination discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising performing an image processing operation comprising: capturing two images, wherein a first image is captured from the sweeps and the second image is captured in the absence of an application of the directional light source (Rao in [0055] discloses, “A reference image frame without the light plane contour on the object may be made by the camera and stored in computer memory to be used to isolate the illuminated contour on the object in subsequent images. The reference frame image is subtracted from images of the projection device's ray plane reflection on the object”. Images of the projection device's ray plane reflection is the first image and reference frame image is the second image); executing a background subtraction operation using the two captured images (Rao in [0055] discloses, “Only those pixels that have different values will show up in the resultant data”); filtering the resulting image for noise; performing a contour estimation operation (Rao in [0055] discloses, “These pixels will be that of the contour line, excluding for camera image noise. The light plane is cast onto the top portion of object while the camera views this scene and the reflected contour”); and performing an edge detection operation (Rao in [0019] discloses, “points at the edge of a broad lighted band may be selected points”).
Summary of Citations (Rao)
Paragraph [0019]; “points at the edge of a broad lighted band may be selected points”.
Paragraph [0055]; “Low and stable ambient light is desired during scanning in order to maximize the illumination and subsequent registration of the light plane's reflected contour on the object by the camera. A reference image frame without the light plane contour on the object may be made by the camera and stored in computer memory to be used to isolate the illuminated contour on the object in subsequent images. The reference frame image is subtracted from images of the projection device's ray plane reflection on the object. Only those pixels that have different values will show up in the resultant data. These pixels will be that of the contour line, excluding for camera image noise. The light plane is cast onto the top portion of object while the camera views this scene and the reflected contour”.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Wolke in view of Rao and Yi further in view of Wellins Patent Application Publication No. CN-1784687-B (hereinafter Wellins).
Regarding claim 2, Wolke in the combination discloses the method of claim 1.
Wolke, Rao and Yi in the combination doesn’t disclose about the following limitation as further recited in the claim.
Wellins discloses the sweeping operations include a series of vertical and horizontal sweeping operations performed in a predetermined manner to generate the virtual grid (Wellins in [0047] discloses, “mirror 86 scanning horizontal scanning line is quicker, and the slower mirror 90 scanning horizontally and vertically scanning the horizontal scan line, so as to generate one of substantially parallel scan line image grid or sequence. each scanning line having a plurality of pixels”. Furthermore, Wellins in [0031] discloses about defined frequency relationship between horizontal and vertical scanning equates to predetermined scanning pattern, “a first scanning frequency fh move back and forth along the first direction horizontally (generally called "X axis" scanning) ... second scanning frequency fv (often referred to as the Y-axis scanning) of the light source. the first and second directions are perpendicular to each other”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to integrate the technique of Wellins into the system of Wolke in view of Rao and Yi because it would improve the reliability and efficiency of grid generation ensuring the horizontal and vertical sweeps performed in a controlled pattern.
Summary of Citations (Wellins)
Paragraph [0031]; “a first scanning frequency fh move back and forth along the first direction horizontally (generally called "X axis" scanning) ... second scanning frequency fv (often referred to as the Y-axis scanning) of the light source. the first and second directions are perpendicular to each other”.
Paragraph [0047]; “mirror 86 scanning horizontal scanning line is quicker, and the slower mirror 90 scanning horizontally and vertically scanning the horizontal scan line, so as to generate one of substantially parallel scan line image grid or sequence. each scanning line having a plurality of pixels”.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Wolke in view of Rao and Yi further in view of Ueda US Patent Application Publication No. US-20160297150-A1 (hereinafter Ueda).
Regarding claim 3, Wolke in the combination discloses the method of claim 1.
Wolke, Rao and Yi in the combination doesn’t disclose about the following limitation as further recited in the claim.
Ueda discloses the horizontal and vertical contours include a plurality of line segments between points of intersection between the vertical and horizontal virtual counters (Ueda in [0062 discloses, “The intersection determiner 60 (see FIG. 4) determines the intersections of a contour polyline with vertical and horizontal scanning lines ... the intersection determiner 60 determines the intersections 5A to 5AA of the cut line segments L.sub.c1 to L.sub.c5, which are included in the contour polyline L.sub.c, with the scanning lines 21VL and 21LL”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to integrate the technique of Ueda into the system of Wolke in view of Rao and Yi because it would allow the system to provide a more accurate representation of the actual sweep path.
Summary of Citations (Ueda)
Paragraph [0062]; “The intersection determiner 60 (see FIG. 4) determines the intersections of a contour polyline with vertical and horizontal scanning lines. In the example illustrated in FIG. 8, the intersection determiner 60 determines intersections 5A to 5AA of the contour polyline L.sub.c with the scanning lines 21VL and 21LL. Specifically, the intersection determiner 60 determines the intersections 5A to 5AA of the cut line segments L.sub.c1 to L.sub.c5, which are included in the contour polyline L.sub.c, with the scanning lines 21VL and 21LL”
Claims 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Wolke in view of Rao and Yi further in view of Vikhagen Patent Application Publication No. WO-2019008330-A1 (hereinafter Vikhagen).
Regarding claim 4, Wolke in the combination discloses the method of claim 1.
Wolke, Rao and Yi in the combination doesn’t disclose about the following limitation as further recited in the claim.
Vikhagen discloses a sweeping operation is performed at a speed that is less than an exposure time of the optical device (Vikhagen in [Page – 5, Paragraph – 4] discloses, “the projector is arranged to sweep a pattern or beam over the illumination plane or an imaging region, within an exposure time of the camera”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to integrate the technique of Vikhagen into the system of Wolke in view of Rao and Yi because it would allow the optical device to capture the directional light source’s entire sweep within a single image exposure.
Summary of Citations (Vikhagen)
[Page – 5, Paragraph – 4]; “the projector is arranged to sweep a pattern or beam over the illumination plane or an imaging region, within an exposure time of the camera”.
Conclusion
should be directed to ZAID MUHAMMAD SALEH whose telephone number is (703)756-1684.
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8 am - 5 pm ET. Examiner interviews are available
via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based
collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO
Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.If attempts to
reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Vu Le can be
reached on (571)272-7332. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or
proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or
unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application
information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent
submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center
and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For
additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786
9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ZAID MUHAMMAD SALEH/
Examiner, Art Unit 2668
08/08/2026
/VU LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2668