DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application 19010553 filed 1/6/25.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “obtaining, by a transmitting end, coding parameter information of first data, wherein the coding parameter information indicates information related to physical layer data processing of the transmitting end, wherein the physical layer data processing comprises performing first coding on a transport block (TB), and the first coding is a coding mode in which compression and channel coding are separated, or the physical layer data processing comprises separately performing second coding on a plurality of sub-TBs obtained based on the TB, and the second coding is a coding mode in which compression and channel coding are combined”? The claim languages are not very clear what exactly the applicant trying to accomplished? When to do the first coding? When to do the second coding? What about the “related to physical layer data”? is the claimed invention about performing the coding? Please clarify
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “determining, by the transmitting end, whether to transmit the coding parameter information to a receiving end”? the claim languages are not very clear about the condition of “transmit the coding parameter information’? why? What about the “coding on a TB”? What is a reason of “performing the coding” and not to do anything with it? Please clarify
Claim(s) 3 & 12 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “wherein the physical layer data processing comprises separately performing the second coding on the plurality of sub-TBs obtained based on the TB, wherein the plurality of sub-TBs comprise a control information sub-TB and X sub-TBs, wherein the X sub-TBs are obtained by dividing the TB into a plurality of preprocessing blocks (PBs) and combining PBs whose sparsities fall within a same sparsity range into one sub-TB, wherein the control information sub-TB indicates information about respective sparsities of the plurality of PBs, and wherein X is less than or equal to Y, Y is a quantity of preset sparsity ranges, Y is less than or equal to 2Q, and X, Y, and Q are positive integers? Is this only apply for “second coding”? what about “first coding”? when does the system trigger the “second coding”? Where does the Y quantity ranges trigger in this claim limitation? what is a reason for dividing the TB and combining the PB? Please clarify
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-11, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2023/0300823 A1.
As to claim 1, Yang teaches a method for transmitting data, comprising:
obtaining, by a transmitting end, coding parameter information of first data, wherein the coding parameter information indicates information related to physical layer data processing of the transmitting end, wherein the physical layer data processing comprises performing first coding on a transport block (TB), and the first coding is a coding mode in which compression and channel coding are separated (Yang, figure 11; page 6, paragraph 62, 66 & 69; page 8, paragraph 88; i.e., [0062] requested transport block size (TBS) for future transmissions to the receiver. This PMI generally reports the receiving device's preferred precoding matrix for the transmitting device 108 to use and may be indexed to a predefined codebook; [0066] rate matching can be used to modify the size of an encoded transmission by, e.g., puncturing a portion of systematic bits. The channel coding technique, code rate, and rate matching may be referred to as a coding scheme; [0069] a physical layer (PHY) 402/452. The PDCP layer 405/455 provides functions including header compression for upper layer data packets to reduce radio transmission overhead, security by ciphering the data packets; [0088] Transport channels carry blocks of information called transport blocks (TB). The transport block size (TBS), which may correspond to a number of bits of information in a TB, may be a controlled parameter based on the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and the number of RBs in a given transmission), or the physical layer data processing comprises separately performing second coding on a plurality of sub-TBs obtained based on the TB, and the second coding is a coding mode in which compression and channel coding are combined; and
determining, by the transmitting end, whether to transmit the coding parameter information to a receiving end (Yang, figure 11).
As to claim 2, Yang teaches the method as recited in claim 1,
wherein the physical layer data processing comprises performing first coding on a TB by compressing the TB to obtain a compressed TB, and then performing channel coding and rate matching on the compressed TB (Yang, figure 11; page 6, paragraph 69; page 8, paragraph 88; i.e., [0069] a physical layer (PHY) 402/452. The PDCP layer 405/455 provides functions including header compression for upper layer data packets to reduce radio transmission overhead, security by ciphering the data packets; [0088] Transport channels carry blocks of information called transport blocks (TB). The transport block size (TBS), which may correspond to a number of bits of information in a TB, may be a controlled parameter based on the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and the number of RBs in a given transmission); and
wherein the coding parameter information indicates a size of the compressed TB (Yang, figure 11; page 6, paragraph 62 & 69; page 8, paragraph 88; i.e., [0062] requested transport block size (TBS) for future transmissions to the receiver. This PMI generally reports the receiving device's preferred precoding matrix for the transmitting device 108 to use and may be indexed to a predefined codebook; [0069] a physical layer (PHY) 402/452. The PDCP layer 405/455 provides functions including header compression for upper layer data packets to reduce radio transmission overhead, security by ciphering the data packets; [0088] Transport channels carry blocks of information called transport blocks (TB). The transport block size (TBS), which may correspond to a number of bits of information in a TB, may be a controlled parameter based on the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and the number of RBs in a given transmission).
As to claim 5, Yang teaches the method as recited in claim 1,
wherein the first data is newly transmitted data (Yang, figure 11; page 6, paragraph 62, 66 & 69; page 8, paragraph 88; i.e., [0062] requested transport block size (TBS) for future transmissions to the receiver. This PMI generally reports the receiving device's preferred precoding matrix for the transmitting device 108 to use and may be indexed to a predefined codebook; [0066] rate matching can be used to modify the size of an encoded transmission by, e.g., puncturing a portion of systematic bits. The channel coding technique, code rate, and rate matching may be referred to as a coding scheme; [0069] a physical layer (PHY) 402/452. The PDCP layer 405/455 provides functions including header compression for upper layer data packets to reduce radio transmission overhead, security by ciphering the data packets; [0088] Transport channels carry blocks of information called transport blocks (TB). The transport block size (TBS), which may correspond to a number of bits of information in a TB, may be a controlled parameter based on the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and the number of RBs in a given transmission); and
wherein the determining whether to transmit the coding parameter information to the receiving end comprises:
determining, by the transmitting end, to transmit the coding parameter information to the receiving end (Yang, figure 11).
As to claim 6, Yang teaches the method as recited in claim 5,
wherein the transmitting end is a terminal device (Yang, figure 11; page 6, paragraph 62, 66 & 69; page 8, paragraph 88; i.e., [0062] requested transport block size (TBS) for future transmissions to the receiver. This PMI generally reports the receiving device's preferred precoding matrix for the transmitting device 108 to use and may be indexed to a predefined codebook; [0066] rate matching can be used to modify the size of an encoded transmission by, e.g., puncturing a portion of systematic bits. The channel coding technique, code rate, and rate matching may be referred to as a coding scheme; [0069] a physical layer (PHY) 402/452. The PDCP layer 405/455 provides functions including header compression for upper layer data packets to reduce radio transmission overhead, security by ciphering the data packets; [0088] Transport channels carry blocks of information called transport blocks (TB). The transport block size (TBS), which may correspond to a number of bits of information in a TB, may be a controlled parameter based on the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and the number of RBs in a given transmission); and
wherein the determining to transmit the coding parameter information to the receiving end comprises:
receiving, by the transmitting end, first indication information from the receiving end, wherein the first indication information indicates to the transmitting end to transmit the coding parameter information (Yang, figure 11; page 6, paragraph 62, 66 & 69; page 8, paragraph 88; i.e., [0062] requested transport block size (TBS) for future transmissions to the receiver. This PMI generally reports the receiving device's preferred precoding matrix for the transmitting device 108 to use and may be indexed to a predefined codebook; [0066] rate matching can be used to modify the size of an encoded transmission by, e.g., puncturing a portion of systematic bits. The channel coding technique, code rate, and rate matching may be referred to as a coding scheme; [0069] a physical layer (PHY) 402/452. The PDCP layer 405/455 provides functions including header compression for upper layer data packets to reduce radio transmission overhead, security by ciphering the data packets; [0088] Transport channels carry blocks of information called transport blocks (TB). The transport block size (TBS), which may correspond to a number of bits of information in a TB, may be a controlled parameter based on the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and the number of RBs in a given transmission); and
determining, by the transmitting end based on the first indication information, to transmit the coding parameter information (Yang, figure 11; page 6, paragraph 62, 66 & 69; page 8, paragraph 88; i.e., [0062] requested transport block size (TBS) for future transmissions to the receiver. This PMI generally reports the receiving device's preferred precoding matrix for the transmitting device 108 to use and may be indexed to a predefined codebook; [0066] rate matching can be used to modify the size of an encoded transmission by, e.g., puncturing a portion of systematic bits. The channel coding technique, code rate, and rate matching may be referred to as a coding scheme; [0069] a physical layer (PHY) 402/452. The PDCP layer 405/455 provides functions including header compression for upper layer data packets to reduce radio transmission overhead, security by ciphering the data packets; [0088] Transport channels carry blocks of information called transport blocks (TB). The transport block size (TBS), which may correspond to a number of bits of information in a TB, may be a controlled parameter based on the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and the number of RBs in a given transmission).
As to claim 7, Yang teaches the method as recited in claim 1,
wherein the first data is retransmitted data, and the transmitting end is a terminal device (Yang, figure 11; page 6, paragraph 62, 66 & 69; page 8, paragraph 88; i.e., [0062] requested transport block size (TBS) for future transmissions to the receiver. This PMI generally reports the receiving device's preferred precoding matrix for the transmitting device 108 to use and may be indexed to a predefined codebook; [0066] rate matching can be used to modify the size of an encoded transmission by, e.g., puncturing a portion of systematic bits. The channel coding technique, code rate, and rate matching may be referred to as a coding scheme; [0069] a physical layer (PHY) 402/452. The PDCP layer 405/455 provides functions including header compression for upper layer data packets to reduce radio transmission overhead, security by ciphering the data packets; [0088] Transport channels carry blocks of information called transport blocks (TB). The transport block size (TBS), which may correspond to a number of bits of information in a TB, may be a controlled parameter based on the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and the number of RBs in a given transmission);
wherein the determining whether to transmit the coding parameter information to the receiving end comprises:
receiving, by the transmitting end, second indication information from the receiving end, wherein the second indication information indicates to the transmitting end to transmit the coding parameter information (Yang, figure 11; page 6, paragraph 62, 66 & 69; page 8, paragraph 88; i.e., [0062] requested transport block size (TBS) for future transmissions to the receiver. This PMI generally reports the receiving device's preferred precoding matrix for the transmitting device 108 to use and may be indexed to a predefined codebook; [0066] rate matching can be used to modify the size of an encoded transmission by, e.g., puncturing a portion of systematic bits. The channel coding technique, code rate, and rate matching may be referred to as a coding scheme; [0069] a physical layer (PHY) 402/452. The PDCP layer 405/455 provides functions including header compression for upper layer data packets to reduce radio transmission overhead, security by ciphering the data packets; [0088] Transport channels carry blocks of information called transport blocks (TB). The transport block size (TBS), which may correspond to a number of bits of information in a TB, may be a controlled parameter based on the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and the number of RBs in a given transmission); and
determining, by the transmitting end based on the second indication information, to transmit the coding parameter information to the receiving end; or
wherein the determining whether to transmit the coding parameter information to a receiving end comprises:
receiving, by the transmitting end, second indication information from the receiving end, wherein the second indication information indicates to the transmitting end not to transmit the coding parameter information; and
determining, by the transmitting end based on the second indication information, not to transmit the coding parameter information to the receiving end.
As to claim 8, Yang teaches the method as recited in claim 1,
wherein the first data is retransmitted data, and the transmitting end is a network device (Yang, figure 11; page 6, paragraph 62, 66 & 69; page 8, paragraph 88; i.e., [0062] requested transport block size (TBS) for future transmissions to the receiver. This PMI generally reports the receiving device's preferred precoding matrix for the transmitting device 108 to use and may be indexed to a predefined codebook; [0066] rate matching can be used to modify the size of an encoded transmission by, e.g., puncturing a portion of systematic bits. The channel coding technique, code rate, and rate matching may be referred to as a coding scheme; [0069] a physical layer (PHY) 402/452. The PDCP layer 405/455 provides functions including header compression for upper layer data packets to reduce radio transmission overhead, security by ciphering the data packets; [0088] Transport channels carry blocks of information called transport blocks (TB). The transport block size (TBS), which may correspond to a number of bits of information in a TB, may be a controlled parameter based on the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and the number of RBs in a given transmission);
wherein the determining whether to transmit the coding parameter information to the receiving end comprises:
receiving, by the transmitting end, first feedback information from the receiving end, wherein the first feedback information indicates that the receiving end does not correctly decode the coding parameter information (Yang, figure 11; page 6, paragraph 62, 66 & 69; page 8, paragraph 84 & 88; i.e., [0062] requested transport block size (TBS) for future transmissions to the receiver. This PMI generally reports the receiving device's preferred precoding matrix for the transmitting device 108 to use and may be indexed to a predefined codebook; [0066] rate matching can be used to modify the size of an encoded transmission by, e.g., puncturing a portion of systematic bits. The channel coding technique, code rate, and rate matching may be referred to as a coding scheme; [0069] a physical layer (PHY) 402/452. The PDCP layer 405/455 provides functions including header compression for upper layer data packets to reduce radio transmission overhead, security by ciphering the data packets; [0084] the receiving device confirms the integrity of the transmission, it may transmit an ACK, whereas if not confirmed, it may transmit a NACK. In response to a NACK, the transmitting device may send a HARQ retransmission; [0088] Transport channels carry blocks of information called transport blocks (TB). The transport block size (TBS), which may correspond to a number of bits of information in a TB, may be a controlled parameter based on the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and the number of RBs in a given transmission); and
determining, by the transmitting end based on the first feedback information, to transmit the coding parameter information to the receiving end (Yang, figure 11; page 6, paragraph 62, 66 & 69; page 8, paragraph 88; i.e., [0062] requested transport block size (TBS) for future transmissions to the receiver. This PMI generally reports the receiving device's preferred precoding matrix for the transmitting device 108 to use and may be indexed to a predefined codebook; [0066] rate matching can be used to modify the size of an encoded transmission by, e.g., puncturing a portion of systematic bits. The channel coding technique, code rate, and rate matching may be referred to as a coding scheme; [0069] a physical layer (PHY) 402/452. The PDCP layer 405/455 provides functions including header compression for upper layer data packets to reduce radio transmission overhead, security by ciphering the data packets; [0088] Transport channels carry blocks of information called transport blocks (TB). The transport block size (TBS), which may correspond to a number of bits of information in a TB, may be a controlled parameter based on the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and the number of RBs in a given transmission); and
wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the transmitting end, second feedback information from the receiving end, wherein the second feedback information indicates that the receiving end does not correctly decode the first data (Yang, figure 11; page 6, paragraph 62, 66 & 69; page 8, paragraph 84 & 88; i.e., [0062] requested transport block size (TBS) for future transmissions to the receiver. This PMI generally reports the receiving device's preferred precoding matrix for the transmitting device 108 to use and may be indexed to a predefined codebook; [0066] rate matching can be used to modify the size of an encoded transmission by, e.g., puncturing a portion of systematic bits. The channel coding technique, code rate, and rate matching may be referred to as a coding scheme; [0069] a physical layer (PHY) 402/452. The PDCP layer 405/455 provides functions including header compression for upper layer data packets to reduce radio transmission overhead, security by ciphering the data packets; [0084] the receiving device confirms the integrity of the transmission, it may transmit an ACK, whereas if not confirmed, it may transmit a NACK. In response to a NACK, the transmitting device may send a HARQ retransmission; [0088] Transport channels carry blocks of information called transport blocks (TB). The transport block size (TBS), which may correspond to a number of bits of information in a TB, may be a controlled parameter based on the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and the number of RBs in a given transmission); and
retransmitting, by the transmitting end based on the second feedback information, the first data to the receiving end (Yang, figure 11; page 6, paragraph 62, 66 & 69; page 8, paragraph 84 & 88; i.e., [0062] requested transport block size (TBS) for future transmissions to the receiver. This PMI generally reports the receiving device's preferred precoding matrix for the transmitting device 108 to use and may be indexed to a predefined codebook; [0066] rate matching can be used to modify the size of an encoded transmission by, e.g., puncturing a portion of systematic bits. The channel coding technique, code rate, and rate matching may be referred to as a coding scheme; [0069] a physical layer (PHY) 402/452. The PDCP layer 405/455 provides functions including header compression for upper layer data packets to reduce radio transmission overhead, security by ciphering the data packets; [0084] the receiving device confirms the integrity of the transmission, it may transmit an ACK, whereas if not confirmed, it may transmit a NACK. In response to a NACK, the transmitting device may send a HARQ retransmission; [0088] Transport channels carry blocks of information called transport blocks (TB). The transport block size (TBS), which may correspond to a number of bits of information in a TB, may be a controlled parameter based on the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and the number of RBs in a given transmission).
As to claim 9, Yang teaches the method as recited in claim 1,
wherein the first data is retransmitted data, and the transmitting end is a network device (Yang, figure 11; page 6, paragraph 62, 66 & 69; page 8, paragraph 88; i.e., [0062] requested transport block size (TBS) for future transmissions to the receiver. This PMI generally reports the receiving device's preferred precoding matrix for the transmitting device 108 to use and may be indexed to a predefined codebook; [0066] rate matching can be used to modify the size of an encoded transmission by, e.g., puncturing a portion of systematic bits. The channel coding technique, code rate, and rate matching may be referred to as a coding scheme; [0069] a physical layer (PHY) 402/452. The PDCP layer 405/455 provides functions including header compression for upper layer data packets to reduce radio transmission overhead, security by ciphering the data packets; [0088] Transport channels carry blocks of information called transport blocks (TB). The transport block size (TBS), which may correspond to a number of bits of information in a TB, may be a controlled parameter based on the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and the number of RBs in a given transmission);
wherein the determining whether to transmit the coding parameter information to the receiving end comprises:
receiving, by the transmitting end, third feedback information from the receiving end, wherein the third feedback information indicates that the receiving end correctly decodes the coding parameter information (Yang, figure 11; page 6, paragraph 62, 66 & 69; page 8, paragraph 84 & 88; i.e., [0062] requested transport block size (TBS) for future transmissions to the receiver. This PMI generally reports the receiving device's preferred precoding matrix for the transmitting device 108 to use and may be indexed to a predefined codebook; [0066] rate matching can be used to modify the size of an encoded transmission by, e.g., puncturing a portion of systematic bits. The channel coding technique, code rate, and rate matching may be referred to as a coding scheme; [0069] a physical layer (PHY) 402/452. The PDCP layer 405/455 provides functions including header compression for upper layer data packets to reduce radio transmission overhead, security by ciphering the data packets; [0084] the receiving device confirms the integrity of the transmission, it may transmit an ACK, whereas if not confirmed, it may transmit a NACK. In response to a NACK, the transmitting device may send a HARQ retransmission; [0088] Transport channels carry blocks of information called transport blocks (TB). The transport block size (TBS), which may correspond to a number of bits of information in a TB, may be a controlled parameter based on the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and the number of RBs in a given transmission); and
determining, by the transmitting end based on the third feedback information, not to transmit the coding parameter information to the receiving end (Yang, figure 11; page 6, paragraph 62, 66 & 69; page 8, paragraph 84 & 88; i.e., [0062] requested transport block size (TBS) for future transmissions to the receiver. This PMI generally reports the receiving device's preferred precoding matrix for the transmitting device 108 to use and may be indexed to a predefined codebook; [0066] rate matching can be used to modify the size of an encoded transmission by, e.g., puncturing a portion of systematic bits. The channel coding technique, code rate, and rate matching may be referred to as a coding scheme; [0069] a physical layer (PHY) 402/452. The PDCP layer 405/455 provides functions including header compression for upper layer data packets to reduce radio transmission overhead, security by ciphering the data packets; [0084] the receiving device confirms the integrity of the transmission, it may transmit an ACK, whereas if not confirmed, it may transmit a NACK. In response to a NACK, the transmitting device may send a HARQ retransmission; [0088] Transport channels carry blocks of information called transport blocks (TB). The transport block size (TBS), which may correspond to a number of bits of information in a TB, may be a controlled parameter based on the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and the number of RBs in a given transmission); and
wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the transmitting end, fourth feedback information from the receiving end, wherein the fourth feedback information indicates that the receiving end does not correctly decode the first data (Yang, figure 11; page 6, paragraph 62, 66 & 69; page 8, paragraph 84 & 88; i.e., [0062] requested transport block size (TBS) for future transmissions to the receiver. This PMI generally reports the receiving device's preferred precoding matrix for the transmitting device 108 to use and may be indexed to a predefined codebook; [0066] rate matching can be used to modify the size of an encoded transmission by, e.g., puncturing a portion of systematic bits. The channel coding technique, code rate, and rate matching may be referred to as a coding scheme; [0069] a physical layer (PHY) 402/452. The PDCP layer 405/455 provides functions including header compression for upper layer data packets to reduce radio transmission overhead, security by ciphering the data packets; [0084] the receiving device confirms the integrity of the transmission, it may transmit an ACK, whereas if not confirmed, it may transmit a NACK. In response to a NACK, the transmitting device may send a HARQ retransmission; [0088] Transport channels carry blocks of information called transport blocks (TB). The transport block size (TBS), which may correspond to a number of bits of information in a TB, may be a controlled parameter based on the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and the number of RBs in a given transmission); and
retransmitting, by the transmitting end based on the fourth feedback information, the first data to the receiving end (Yang, figure 11; page 6, paragraph 62, 66 & 69; page 8, paragraph 84 & 88; i.e., [0062] requested transport block size (TBS) for future transmissions to the receiver. This PMI generally reports the receiving device's preferred precoding matrix for the transmitting device 108 to use and may be indexed to a predefined codebook; [0066] rate matching can be used to modify the size of an encoded transmission by, e.g., puncturing a portion of systematic bits. The channel coding technique, code rate, and rate matching may be referred to as a coding scheme; [0069] a physical layer (PHY) 402/452. The PDCP layer 405/455 provides functions including header compression for upper layer data packets to reduce radio transmission overhead, security by ciphering the data packets; [0084] the receiving device confirms the integrity of the transmission, it may transmit an ACK, whereas if not confirmed, it may transmit a NACK. In response to a NACK, the transmitting device may send a HARQ retransmission; [0088] Transport channels carry blocks of information called transport blocks (TB). The transport block size (TBS), which may correspond to a number of bits of information in a TB, may be a controlled parameter based on the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and the number of RBs in a given transmission).
As to claim 10, Yang teaches a method for receiving data, comprising:
receiving, by a receiving end, first data from a transmitting end (Yang, figure 11; page 6, paragraph 62, 66 & 69; page 8, paragraph 88; i.e., [0062] requested transport block size (TBS) for future transmissions to the receiver. This PMI generally reports the receiving device's preferred precoding matrix for the transmitting device 108 to use and may be indexed to a predefined codebook; [0066] rate matching can be used to modify the size of an encoded transmission by, e.g., puncturing a portion of systematic bits. The channel coding technique, code rate, and rate matching may be referred to as a coding scheme; [0069] a physical layer (PHY) 402/452. The PDCP layer 405/455 provides functions including header compression for upper layer data packets to reduce radio transmission overhead, security by ciphering the data packets; [0088] Transport channels carry blocks of information called transport blocks (TB). The transport block size (TBS), which may correspond to a number of bits of information in a TB, may be a controlled parameter based on the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and the number of RBs in a given transmission); and
decoding, by the receiving end, the first data based on coding parameter information of the first data (Yang, figure 11; page 6, paragraph 62, 66 & 69; page 8, paragraph 88; i.e., [0062] requested transport block size (TBS) for future transmissions to the receiver. This PMI generally reports the receiving device's preferred precoding matrix for the transmitting device 108 to use and may be indexed to a predefined codebook; [0066] rate matching can be used to modify the size of an encoded transmission by, e.g., puncturing a portion of systematic bits. The channel coding technique, code rate, and rate matching may be referred to as a coding scheme; [0069] a physical layer (PHY) 402/452. The PDCP layer 405/455 provides functions including header compression for upper layer data packets to reduce radio transmission overhead, security by ciphering the data packets; [0088] Transport channels carry blocks of information called transport blocks (TB). The transport block size (TBS), which may correspond to a number of bits of information in a TB, may be a controlled parameter based on the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and the number of RBs in a given transmission);
wherein the coding parameter information indicates information related to physical layer data processing of the transmitting end (Yang, figure 11; page 6, paragraph 62, 66 & 69; page 8, paragraph 88; i.e., [0062] requested transport block size (TBS) for future transmissions to the receiver. This PMI generally reports the receiving device's preferred precoding matrix for the transmitting device 108 to use and may be indexed to a predefined codebook; [0066] rate matching can be used to modify the size of an encoded transmission by, e.g., puncturing a portion of systematic bits. The channel coding technique, code rate, and rate matching may be referred to as a coding scheme; [0069] a physical layer (PHY) 402/452. The PDCP layer 405/455 provides functions including header compression for upper layer data packets to reduce radio transmission overhead, security by ciphering the data packets; [0088] Transport channels carry blocks of information called transport blocks (TB). The transport block size (TBS), which may correspond to a number of bits of information in a TB, may be a controlled parameter based on the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and the number of RBs in a given transmission); and
wherein the physical layer data processing comprises performing first coding on a transport block TB, and the first coding is a coding mode in which compression and channel coding are separated, or the physical layer data processing comprises separately performing second coding on a plurality of sub-TBs obtained based on the TB, and the second coding is a coding mode in which compression and channel coding are combined (Yang, figure 11; page 6, paragraph 62, 66 & 69; page 8, paragraph 88; i.e., [0062] requested transport block size (TBS) for future transmissions to the receiver. This PMI generally reports the receiving device's preferred precoding matrix for the transmitting device 108 to use and may be indexed to a predefined codebook; [0066] rate matching can be used to modify the size of an encoded transmission by, e.g., puncturing a portion of systematic bits. The channel coding technique, code rate, and rate matching may be referred to as a coding scheme; [0069] a physical layer (PHY) 402/452. The PDCP layer 405/455 provides functions including header compression for upper layer data packets to reduce radio transmission overhead, security by ciphering the data packets; [0088] Transport channels carry blocks of information called transport blocks (TB). The transport block size (TBS), which may correspond to a number of bits of information in a TB, may be a controlled parameter based on the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and the number of RBs in a given transmission).
Claim(s) 11, 14-18 is/are directed to a method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 2, 5-9. Therefore, claim(s) 11, 14-18 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 2, 5-9.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are directed to apparatus claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1-2. Therefore, claim(s) 19-20 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1-2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3-4 & 12-13 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and changing the “or” condition in the independent claims 1, 10 & 19 to the “and” condition which applies to both first and second coding.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for objected the claim(s):
In interpreting the claim(s), in light of the specification filed on 1/6/25, the Examiner finds the claimed invention to be patentably distinct from the prior art(s) of record.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reason(s) for objected the claim(s) to be allowed:
The examiner has found that the prior art(s) of record does/do not appear to teach or suggest or render obvious the claimed limitation(s) in combination with the specific added limitations as recited in dependent claim(s). The closest prior art of the record, Yang discloses “wherein the physical layer data processing comprises separately performing the second coding on the plurality of sub-TBs obtained based on the TB, wherein the plurality of sub-TBs comprise a control information sub-TB and X sub-TBs, wherein the X sub-TBs are obtained by dividing the TB into a plurality of preprocessing blocks (PBs) and combining PBs whose sparsities fall within a same sparsity range into one sub-TB, wherein the control information sub-TB indicates information about respective sparsities of the plurality of PBs, and wherein X is less than or equal to Y, Y is a quantity of preset sparsity ranges, Y is less than or equal to 2Q, and X, Y, and Q are positive integers; and wherein the coding parameter information is length information of each of the plurality of sub-TBs”. However, Yang does not teach “wherein the physical layer data processing comprises separately performing the second coding on the plurality of sub-TBs obtained based on the TB, wherein the plurality of sub-TBs comprise a control information sub-TB and X sub-TBs, wherein the X sub-TBs are obtained by dividing the TB into a plurality of preprocessing blocks (PBs) and combining PBs whose sparsities fall within a same sparsity range into one sub-TB, wherein the control information sub-TB indicates information about respective sparsities of the plurality of PBs, and wherein X is less than or equal to Y, Y is a quantity of preset sparsity ranges, Y is less than or equal to 2Q, and X, Y, and Q are positive integers; and wherein the coding parameter information is length information of each of the plurality of sub-TBs”. Yang disclosure relates to “rate matching can be used to modify the size of an encoded transmission by, e.g., puncturing a portion of systematic bits. The channel coding technique, code rate, and rate matching may be referred to as a coding scheme” as claimed. Another close prior art, Klenner et al, discloses “The PCM of a QC LDPC code is a matrix having QxM rows and QxN columns, and the codewords each include N blocks including Q bits”. Thus, Yang's disclosure is insufficient to meet the claimed limitation of “wherein the physical layer data processing comprises separately performing the second coding on the plurality of sub-TBs obtained based on the TB, wherein the plurality of sub-TBs comprise a control information sub-TB and X sub-TBs, wherein the X sub-TBs are obtained by dividing the TB into a plurality of preprocessing blocks (PBs) and combining PBs whose sparsities fall within a same sparsity range into one sub-TB, wherein the control information sub-TB indicates information about respective sparsities of the plurality of PBs, and wherein X is less than or equal to Y, Y is a quantity of preset sparsity ranges, Y is less than or equal to 2Q, and X, Y, and Q are positive integers; and wherein the coding parameter information is length information of each of the plurality of sub-TBs” as set forth in dependent claim(s) 3-4 & 12-13. Claim(s) 3-4 & 12-13 is/are object to be allowed only when changing the “or” condition in the independent claims 1, 10 & 19 to the “and” condition which applies to both first and second coding because of the combination of other limitation(s) and the limitation listed above.
Listing of Relevant Arts
Zhang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20230239919 A1 discloses Modulation Coding Scheme, compression, encryption, coding and baseband signal.
Grossmann, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20230209567 A1 discloses codeword, transport block and b-bit.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416