DETAILED ACTION
This final Office action is responsive to amendments filed April 22nd, 2026. Claims 1-5 have been amended. Claims 6-11 have been added. Claims 1-11 are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed 04/22/26, with respect to claims 1 and 5 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim interpretation of 02/09/26 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 04/22/26, with respect to claims 1-5 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(b) rejection of 02/09/26 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 04/22/26, with respect to claims 1-5 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(a) rejection of 02/09/26 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments regarding claim rejections under 35 USC 101 filed 04/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 9-10 of the provided remarks, Applicant argues that the amended claims present statutory subject matter. Beginning on page 9 of the provided remarks, Applicant argues that the claims cannot be performed in the human mind, stating, “the number of parameters that can be included in the input information may become vast, with each additional parameter adding another layer of complexity”. Examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts that the high-level recitation of “perform calculation processing for estimating resource information” and “perform calculation processing for estimation monetary resources based on the estimated resource information” merely recite “based on the input information” which is a judgment and evaluation of the human mind. Additionally, amended claim 5 recites “the calculation processing includes route planning information for each of the autonomous mobile robots”. This route plan information recited at a high-level of generality under broadest reasonable interpretation could include merely evaluating the resource information to make a judgement of the possible routes that the autonomous mobile robots could take. Therefore, the claims recite the abstract idea of mental process. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Continuing on pages 9-10 of the provided remarks, Applicant argues that the amended claims 1 and 5 combination of features are integrated into a practical application. Citing Example 36 and 42 of the patent eligibility guidance, Applicant argues “outputting or displaying information has been recognized as patent eligible, especially when it integrates the features into a practical solution.” Examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts that the outputting or displaying information within Examples 36 and 42 were not the features that present patent eligible subject matter. For example, citing Example 42, the Office argued the following regarding Step 2A-Prong 2, “Specifically, the additional elements recite a specific improvement over prior art systems by allowing remote users to share information in real time in a standardized format regardless of the format in which the information was input by the user.” Therefore, it was not simply the outputting or displaying of information, but that the combination of additional elements, specifically the converting updated information that was input by a user in a non-standardized corm to a standardized form, that integrated the method of organizing human activity into a practical application. While Applicant argues that “a user is able to quantitatively know the necessary robot-related resources in accordance with a task time and a shift” Examiner asserts that this function of the amended claims is directed to the abstract idea as the claimed “perform calculation processing for estimation monetary resources based on the estimated resource information” merely recite “based on the input information” is a judgment and evaluation of the human mind. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The 35 USC 101 rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-13, filed 04/22/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5 under 35 USC 102(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Dambman (U.S 2022/026445 A1) in view of Cella (U.S 2022/0197306 A1).
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 13-14, filed 04/22/26, with respect to claims 1 and 5 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The provisional double patenting rejection of 02/09/26 has been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 3 recites "the type of task" which lacks antecedent basis and should recite "a type of task". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Dependent claim 10 recites “wherein the calculation processing for estimating the resource information is based on all of the input information”. However, it is unclear to Examiner the metes and bounds of the claimed “all of the input information”. As the claim depends from claim 9, the claim includes “a task completion time” in the calculation of the estimation of resource information. It is unclear if this “task completion time” is included as a piece of input information as well as the independent claim 5 recitation of “facility type”, “facility size”, “service type information”, and “time period information” used to perform the calculation processing estimating resource information. In the interest of furthering prosecution, Examiner assumes that all prior inputs, “facility type”, “facility size”, “service type information”, and “time period information”, are utilized to determine the amount of autonomous mobile robots and an amount of robot accessories needed to operate the facility.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter;
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea), and if so, it must additionally be determined whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception. If an abstract idea is present in the claim, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claims 1-4 and 11
Step 1: Independent claim 1 (system) and dependent claims 2-4 and 11, respectively, fall within at least one of the four statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. 101: (i) process; (ii) machine; (iii) manufacture; or (iv) composition of matter. Claim 1 is directed to a system (i.e. machine).
Step 2A Prong 1: The independent claim recites provides information about an autonomous mobile robot and a plurality of robot accessories, the information providing system comprising one or more processors configured to: receive input information including: facility type information indicating a type of facility in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate, facility size information indicating a size of a facility in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate, service type information indicating a plurality of types of services, each type of service to be executed by the autonomous mobile robot in conjunction with at least one of the plurality of robot accessories, and time period information indicating a period of time in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate; perform calculation processing for estimating resource information, the resource information being information indicating an amount of resources for the autonomous mobile robot and the plurality of robot accessories needed for operating the facility based on the input information; perform calculation processing for estimating monetary resources based on the estimated resource information; output a result of a monetary estimate calculated in the calculation processing for estimating monetary resources, wherein: the monetary estimate includes an estimate of an initial investment; and the monetary estimate includes an estimate of an on-going investment (Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity & Mental Process), which are considered to be abstract ideas (See PEG 2019 and MPEP 2106.05). [Examiner notes the underlined limitations above recite the abstract idea].
The steps/functions disclosed above and in the independent claims recite the abstract idea of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity because the claimed limitations are estimating resource information indicating the amount of resources for the autonomous mobile robot needed to operate the facility and estimating monetary resources based on the estimated resource information including initial and on-going investment estimation, which is managing personal behavior & interactions. The Applicant’s claimed limitations are estimating resource information indicating the amount of resources for the autonomous mobile robot and monetary resources based on the estimated resource information, which recite the abstract idea of Organizing Human Activity.
The steps/functions disclosed above and in the independent claims recite the abstract idea of Mental Process because the claimed limitations are estimating resource information indicating the amount of resources for the autonomous mobile robot needed to operate the facility and estimating monetary resources based on the estimated resource information including initial and on-going investment estimation, which are observations, judgments, and evaluations of the human mind. The Applicant’s claimed limitations are estimating resource information indicating the amount of resources for the autonomous mobile robot and monetary resources based on the estimated resource information, which recite the abstract idea of Mental Process.
In addition, dependent claims 2-4 and 11 further narrow the abstract idea and recite further defining the input information enabling autonomous mobile robots to execute different services; the calculation processing regarding the amount of required human resources; and the calculation processing including route planning information for movement of the autonomous robot in conjunction with the at least one of the plurality of robot accessories. These processes are similar to the abstract idea noted in the independent claims because they further the limitations of the independent claims which recite a certain method of organizing human activity which include managing personal behavior as well as mental processes. Accordingly, these claim elements do not serve to confer subject matter eligibility to the claims since they recite abstract ideas.
Step 2A Prong 2: In this application, the above “receive input information including: facility type information indicating a type of facility in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate, facility size information indicating a size of a facility in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate, service type information indicating a plurality of types of services, each type of service to be executed by the autonomous mobile robot in conjunction with at least one of the plurality of robot accessories, and time period information indicating a period of time in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate; output a result of a monetary estimate calculated in the calculation processing for estimating monetary resources” steps/functions of the independent claims would not account for additional elements that integrate the judicial exception (e.g. abstract idea) into a practical application because receiving/storing data and displaying data merely add insignificant extra-solution activity and merely adds the words to apply it with the judicial exception. Also, the claimed “An information providing system that provides information about an autonomous mobile robot and a plurality of robot accessories; one or more processors” would not account for additional elements that integrate the judicial exception (e.g. abstract idea) into a practical application because the claimed structure merely adds the words to apply it with the judicial exception and mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (See PEG 2019 and MPEP 2106.05).
In addition, dependent claims 2-4 and 11 further narrow the abstract idea and dependent claim 2 additionally recite “in which the time period is stored for each type of the required service” which do not account for additional elements that integrate the judicial exception (e.g. abstract idea) into a practical application because receiving/storing data and displaying data merely add insignificant extra-solution activity and the claimed “information providing system” which do not account for additional elements that integrate the judicial exception (e.g. abstract idea) into a practical application because the claimed structure merely adds the words to apply it with the judicial exception and mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (See PEG 2019 and MPEP 2106.05).
The claimed “An information providing system that provides information about an autonomous mobile robot and a plurality of robot accessories; one or more processors” are recited so generically (no details whatsoever are provided other than that they are general purpose computing components and regular office supplies) that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer. These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer. Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements in the claims do no more than use the computer components as a tool. There is no change to the computers and other technology that is recited in the claim, and thus the claims do not improve computer functionality or other technology (See PEG 2019).
Step 2B: When analyzing the additional element(s) and/or combination of elements in the claim(s) other than the abstract idea per se the claim limitations amount(s) to no more than: a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment and merely amounts to the application or instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer (See MPEP 2106.05 and PEG 2019). Further, system claims 1-4 and 11 recite “An information providing system that provides information about an autonomous mobile robot and a plurality of robot accessories; one or more processors”; however, these elements merely facilitate the claimed functions at a high level of generality and they perform conventional functions and are considered to be general purpose computer components which is supported by Applicant’s specification in Paragraphs [0015] and [0019] and Figures 1-2. The Applicant’s claimed additional elements are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a general purpose computer and generally link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Also, the above “receive input information including: facility type information indicating a type of facility in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate, facility size information indicating a size of a facility in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate, service type information indicating a plurality of types of services, each type of service to be executed by the autonomous mobile robot in conjunction with at least one of the plurality of robot accessories, and time period information indicating a period of time in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate; output a result of a monetary estimate calculated in the calculation processing for estimating monetary resources” steps/functions of the independent claims would not account for significantly more than the abstract idea because receiving data and displaying/presenting data (See MPEP 2106.05) have been identified as well-known, routine, and conventional steps/functions to one of ordinary skill in the art. When viewed as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
In addition, claims 2-4 and 11 further narrow the abstract idea identified in the independent claims. The Examiner notes that the dependent claims merely further define the data being analyzed and how the data is being analyzed. Similarly, claim 2 additionally recite “in which the time period is stored for each type of the required service” which do not account for additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because receiving data and displaying/presenting data (See MPEP 2106.05) have been identified as well-known, routine, and conventional steps/functions to one of ordinary skill in the art and the claimed “information providing system” which do not account for additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the claimed structure merely amounts to the application or instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer and does not move beyond a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment (See MPEP 2106.05). The additional limitations of the independent and dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The examiner has considered the dependent claims in a full analysis including the additional limitations individually and in combination as analyzed in the independent claim(s). Therefore, the claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 5-10
Step 1: Independent claim 5 (method), and dependent claims 6-10, respectively, fall within at least one of the four statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. 101: (i) process; (ii) machine; (iii) manufacture; or (iv) composition of matter. Claim 5 is directed to a method (i.e. process).
Step 2A Prong 1: The independent claim recites providing method by which a computer provides estimation information about operating a facility, the method comprising: receiving input information, from a user, the input information including: facility type information indicating a type of facility in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate, facility size information indicating a size of a facility in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate, service type information indicating a plurality of types of services, each type of service to be executed by the autonomous mobile robot in conjunction with at least one of the plurality of robot accessories, and time period information indicating a period of time in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate; performing calculation processing for estimating resource information, the resource information being information indicating an amount of resources for the autonomous mobile robot and the plurality of robot accessories needed for operating the facility based on the input information; outputting a result of the estimate for display to the user, wherein: in estimating the resource information for the estimate for the amount of autonomous mobile robots and the amount of robot accessories, the calculation processing includes route planning information for each of the autonomous robots (Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity & Mental Process), which are considered to be abstract ideas (See PEG 2019 and MPEP 2106.05). [Examiner notes the underlined limitations above recite the abstract idea].
The steps/functions disclosed above and in the independent claims recite the abstract idea of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity because the claimed limitations are estimating resource information indicating the amount of resources for the autonomous mobile robot needed to operate the facility including route planning information for each of the autonomous mobile robots, which is managing personal behavior & interactions. The Applicant’s claimed limitations are estimating resource information indicating the amount of resources for the autonomous mobile robot including route planning information for each of the autonomous mobile robots, which recite the abstract idea of Organizing Human Activity.
The steps/functions disclosed above and in the independent claims recite the abstract idea of Mental Process because the claimed limitations are estimating resource information indicating the amount of resources for the autonomous mobile robot needed to operate the facility including route planning information for each of the autonomous mobile robots, which are observations, judgments, and evaluations of the human mind. The Applicant’s claimed limitations are estimating resource information indicating the amount of resources for the autonomous mobile robot including route planning information for each of the autonomous mobile robots, which recite the abstract idea of Mental Process.
In addition, dependent claims 6-10 further narrow the abstract idea and recite further defining the determination of route planning information; the input information including facility equipment information; estimating an initial monetary investment and an on-going monetary investment; and estimating the resource information including task completion time. These processes are similar to the abstract idea noted in the independent claims because they further the limitations of the independent claims which recite a certain method of organizing human activity which include managing personal behavior as well as mental processes. Accordingly, these claim elements do not serve to confer subject matter eligibility to the claims since they recite abstract ideas.
Step 2A Prong 2: In this application, the above “receiving input information from a user, the input information including: facility type information indicating a type of facility in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate, facility size information indicating a size of a facility in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate, service type information indicating a plurality of types of services, each type of service to be executed by the autonomous mobile robot in conjunction with at least one of the plurality of robot accessories, and time period information indicating a period of time in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate; outputting a result of a monetary estimate calculated in the calculation processing for estimating monetary resources” steps/functions of the independent claims would not account for additional elements that integrate the judicial exception (e.g. abstract idea) into a practical application because receiving/storing data and displaying data merely add insignificant extra-solution activity and merely adds the words to apply it with the judicial exception. Also, the claimed “a computer; autonomous mobile robots; a plurality of robot accessories” would not account for additional elements that integrate the judicial exception (e.g. abstract idea) into a practical application because the claimed structure merely adds the words to apply it with the judicial exception and mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (See PEG 2019 and MPEP 2106.05).
In addition, dependent claims 6-10 further narrow the abstract idea and dependent claim 7 additionally recite “the input information includes facility equipment information indicating a facility feature available to the autonomous mobile robots for traveling from a first portion of the facility to a second portion of the facility” which do not account for additional elements that integrate the judicial exception (e.g. abstract idea) into a practical application because receiving/storing data and displaying data merely add insignificant extra-solution activity and the claimed “computer” which do not account for additional elements that integrate the judicial exception (e.g. abstract idea) into a practical application because the claimed structure merely adds the words to apply it with the judicial exception and mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (See PEG 2019 and MPEP 2106.05).
The claimed “a computer; autonomous mobile robots; a plurality of robot accessories” are recited so generically (no details whatsoever are provided other than that they are general purpose computing components and regular office supplies) that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer. These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer. Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements in the claims do no more than use the computer components as a tool. There is no change to the computers and other technology that is recited in the claim, and thus the claims do not improve computer functionality or other technology (See PEG 2019).
Step 2B: When analyzing the additional element(s) and/or combination of elements in the claim(s) other than the abstract idea per se the claim limitations amount(s) to no more than: a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment and merely amounts to the application or instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer (See MPEP 2106.05 and PEG 2019). Further, method claims 5-10 recite “a computer; autonomous mobile robots; a plurality of robot accessories”; however, these elements merely facilitate the claimed functions at a high level of generality and they perform conventional functions and are considered to be general purpose computer components which is supported by Applicant’s specification in Paragraphs [0015] and [0019] and Figures 1-2. The Applicant’s claimed additional elements are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a general purpose computer and generally link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Also, the above “receiving input information from a user, the input information including: facility type information indicating a type of facility in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate, facility size information indicating a size of a facility in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate, service type information indicating a plurality of types of services, each type of service to be executed by the autonomous mobile robot in conjunction with at least one of the plurality of robot accessories, and time period information indicating a period of time in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate; outputting a result of a monetary estimate calculated in the calculation processing for estimating monetary resources” steps/functions of the independent claims would not account for significantly more than the abstract idea because receiving data and displaying/presenting data (See MPEP 2106.05) have been identified as well-known, routine, and conventional steps/functions to one of ordinary skill in the art. When viewed as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
In addition, claims 6-10 further narrow the abstract idea identified in the independent claims. The Examiner notes that the dependent claims merely further define the data being analyzed and how the data is being analyzed. Similarly, claim 7 additionally recite “the input information includes facility equipment information indicating a facility feature available to the autonomous mobile robots for traveling from a first portion of the facility to a second portion of the facility” which do not account for additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because receiving data and displaying/presenting data (See MPEP 2106.05) have been identified as well-known, routine, and conventional steps/functions to one of ordinary skill in the art and the claimed “computer” which do not account for additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the claimed structure merely amounts to the application or instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer and does not move beyond a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment (See MPEP 2106.05). The additional limitations of the independent and dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The examiner has considered the dependent claims in a full analysis including the additional limitations individually and in combination as analyzed in the independent claim(s). Therefore, the claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dambman (U.S 2022/026445 A1) in view of Cella (U.S 2022/0197306 A1).
Claim 1
Regarding Claim 1, Dambman discloses the following:
An information providing system that provides information about an autonomous mobile robot and a plurality of robot accessories, the information providing system comprising one or more processors configured to [see at least Paragraph 0022 for reference to system diagram of a framework for performing an automated self-assembly of workcells of integrated equipment, and executing the automated self-assembly of workcells to perform workflows, for example using a platform configured with one or more mobile robots, where the integrated equipment includes one or more robotic devices or equipment mounted on such a platform; Figure 1 and related text regarding a system for a framework for performing a self-assembly of workcells including item 106 ‘mobile robots’]
receive input information including: facility type information indicating a type of facility in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate [see at least Paragraph 0025 for reference to the framework receiving, ingesting, requesting, or otherwise obtaining input data including workflow constraints including equipment involved in workcells; Paragraph 0025 for reference to Workcell and workflow constraints at least represent spatial and temporal workflow requirements for a workflow, and spatial and temporal workcell limitations of each workcell; Paragraph 0027 for reference to workcell and workflow constraints including available workcell resources including location; Paragraph 0058 for reference to information representing such instructions to create an order may be embodied in input data, for example in the order and scheduling information, where an order is identified, and parameters relevant to the order details such as sequences and timeslots, and scheduling data relative to one or more aspects of a workflow, are provided; Figure 1 and related text regarding item 106 ‘mobile robots’, 108 ‘robotic device equipment’, and 110 ‘input data’]
facility size information indicating a size of a facility in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate [see at least Paragraph 0025 for reference to the framework receiving, ingesting, requesting, or otherwise obtaining input data including workflow constraints including equipment involved in workcells; Paragraph 0025 for reference to Workcell and workflow constraints at least represent spatial and temporal workflow requirements for a workflow, and spatial and temporal workcell limitations of each workcell; Paragraph 0027 for reference to workcell and workflow constraints including available workcell resources including location; Paragraph 0029 for reference to operational workcell capabilities including volume range and transfer range (smallest and largest volumes in the instrument to transfer); Paragraph 0058 for reference to information representing such instructions to create an order may be embodied in input data, for example in the order and scheduling information, where an order is identified, and parameters relevant to the order details such as sequences and timeslots, and scheduling data relative to one or more aspects of a workflow, are provided; Figure 1 and related text regarding item 106 ‘mobile robots’, 108 ‘robotic device equipment’, and 110 ‘input data’]
service type information indicating a plurality of types of services, each type of service to be executed by the autonomous mobile robot in conjunction with at least one of the plurality of robot accessories [see at least Paragraph 0024 for reference to the present invention is not to be limited to any particular type of workflow performed, and that framework of the present invention may be applied to any field and any process where automated control of tasks performed by robots, robotic devices or equipment, and any other computer-controlled device is desired; Paragraph 0025 for reference to the framework receiving, ingesting, requesting, or otherwise obtaining input data including workflow constraints including equipment involved in workcells; Paragraph 0027 for reference to workflow constraints also include workflow order and scheduling information defining a workflow order for at least one workflow; Paragraph 0058 for reference to information representing such instructions to create an order may be embodied in input data, for example in the order and scheduling information, where an order is identified, and parameters relevant to the order details such as sequences and timeslots, and scheduling data relative to one or more aspects of a workflow, are provided; Figure 1 and related text regarding item 106 ‘mobile robots’, 108 ‘robotic device equipment’, and 110 ‘input data’ ]
and time period information regarding a time period indicating a period of time in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate [see at least Paragraph 0024 for reference to the present invention is not to be limited to any particular type of workflow performed, and that framework of the present invention may be applied to any field and any process where automated control of tasks performed by robots, robotic devices or equipment, and any other computer-controlled device is desired; Paragraph 0025 for reference to the framework receiving, ingesting, requesting, or otherwise obtaining input data including workflow constraints including equipment involved in workcells; Paragraph 0027 for reference to workflow constraints also include workflow order and scheduling information defining a workflow order for at least one workflow; Paragraph 0028 for reference to workflow constraints including workcell characteristics, such as for example timing requirements, mobility, location, battery characteristics, and historical reliability of each workcell whose utility is being modeled in framework; Paragraph 0058 for reference to information representing such instructions to create an order may be embodied in input data, for example in the order and scheduling information, where an order is identified, and parameters relevant to the order details such as sequences and timeslots, and scheduling data relative to one or more aspects of a workflow, are provided; Figure 1 and related text regarding item 106 ‘mobile robots’, 108 ‘robotic device equipment’, and 110 ‘input data’ ]
perform calculation processing for estimating resource information, the resource information being information indicating an amount of resources for the autonomous mobile robot and the plurality of robot accessories required for operating the facility based on the input information [see at least Paragraph 0034 for reference to data collection and initialization element may also initialize input data and framework, by configuring characteristics of workcells, workflow, and mobile robots following processing of input data in framework; Paragraph 0036 for reference to deployment and transportation model is embodied in a plurality of algorithms that perform various mathematical calculations and execute various instructions in computer code that programmatically execute such algorithms to develop and apply a rules engine to the initialized input data, to define both configuration schemes for the equipment to be assembled as a workcell, and the one or more pathway topologies that define and guide mobility of self-assembled workcells for the performance of a workflow]
output a result of a monetary estimate calculated in the calculation processing for estimating monetary resources [see at least Paragraph 0041 for reference to instructions may also be provided as output data of framework, and may be parsed and communicated to one or more mobile robots, robotic devices or equipment, and any other relevant equipment to arrange as a workcell; Paragraph 0042 for reference to output data may be instructions to arrange a mobile robot (and/or, arrange multiple robotic devices or equipment and other equipment on a mobile platform) in order to self-assemble a workcell; Figure 1 and related text regarding item 180 ‘output data’]
While Dambman discloses the limitations above, it does not disclose perform calculation processing for estimating monetary resources based on the estimated resource information; output a result of a monetary estimate calculated in the calculation processing for estimating monetary resources wherein: the monetary estimate includes an estimate of an initial investment and the monetary estimate includes an estimate of an on-going investment.
However, Cella discloses the following:
receive input information [see at least Paragraph 2114 for reference to the job configuration system generates a job execution plan based on a job request; Paragraph 2190 for reference to a job request may indicate a set of job request parameters. Non-limiting examples of job request parameters may include: types of projects and tasks (e.g., inspection tasks, packaging tasks, unloading tasks, loading tasks, shipping tasks, assembling tasks, monitoring tasks, digging tasks, construction tasks, delivery tasks, or the like), budget, timeline, environment description (e.g., indoors/outdoors, size of the environment, communication capabilities of the environment, layouts/blueprint/digital twin of the environment, or the like), location (e.g., region, address, coordinates, or the like), and any other suitable parameters; Paragraph 2190 for reference to the job request parameters which may be indicative of what types of robot operating units are needed and/or functionalities thereof]
perform calculation processing for estimating resource information, the resource information being information indicating an amount of resources for the autonomous mobile robot and the plurality of robot accessories required for operating the facility based on the input information [see at least Paragraph 2114 for reference to the resource provisioning system is configured to handle allocation and access to fleet resources (e.g., robot operating units); Paragraph 2233 for reference to a fleet configuration system proxy may narrow down sets of candidate robots for performing tasks (as indicated in task description(s)) to a specific robot type (and optionally a specific robot in the fleet) based on fleet configuration and fleet resource inventory and allocation data relevant to the requested job (e.g., based on geography, timing, and the like); Paragraph 2233 for reference to a fleet configuration proxy may generate data suitable for use by fleet operational elements, such as a fleet resource provisioning system, to perform fleet resource allocation, scheduling, and the like that supports at least a portion of the goals of a job request being processed through the job configuration system]
perform calculation processing for estimating monetary resources based on the estimated resource information [see at least Paragraph 1755 for reference to cost factors (such as material costs, energy costs, costs of IT resources, costs of labor, pricing for additive manufacturing services, and others); Paragraph 2133 for reference to logistics twins (e.g., digital modeling for shipment and cost of robots, personnel, and support equipment—job independent and as needed for addressing a particular job request); Paragraph 2177 for reference to inventory databases storing inventory records including pricing data relating to the resource; Paragraph 2177 for reference to the resource provisioning system may query the data processing system to determine the availability of certain resources, the pricing of certain resources, the locations of certain resources, the statuses of certain resources, and/or the like; Paragraph 2184 for reference to determination of which resource to use for execution of a logistics plan may be based on costs and availability of resources]
output a result of a monetary estimate calculated in the calculation processing for estimating monetary resources, wherein: the monetary estimate includes an estimate of an initial investment and the monetary estimate includes an estimate of an on-going investment [see at least Paragraph 2114 for reference to the job execution system executes, monitors, and/or reports on jobs being performed by robot operating units (e.g., in accordance with a job execution plan) to ensuring efficient use of fleet resources while executing the job plan and addressing job and fleet related reporting requirements; Paragraph 2186 for reference to the maintenance management system may monitor the state of the fleet resources, such as robot operating units via resource state reports that may be provided on a scheduled basis or in response to an inquiry for robot operating unit state by the maintenance management system and the like; Paragraph 2199 for reference to the job execution system may further facilitate adherence to reporting requirements (e.g., job-specific, fleet-specific, compliance-related reporting, and the like) associated with job execution, wherein embodiments, reporting may include data collection (e.g., from robot operating units, sensor systems, user devices, databases, and/or the like), data processing, and feedback preparation for use of job execution data by job and fleet configuration systems and the like; Paragraph 2204 for reference to robust distributed data systems, such as distributed ledgers (e.g., public or private blockchains) can be utilized for tracking and enhancing robot fleets and/or multi-purpose robot activities, as well as allocation of robotic resource utilization cost to relevant parties, such as job requestors, fleet users, and the like; Paragraph 2241 for reference to logistics twin of the fleet intelligence system may provide useful workflow simulation information through operation of modeling of shipments and costs of robots, personnel, support equipment and the like for robot fleet delivery to a job site; Paragraph 2250 for reference to once the job configuration system and the fleet configuration system have determined the task and workflow definitions, as well as the fleet configurations, including multi-purpose robot configurations and team assignments, the fleet management platform may output the job execution plan corresponding to the job request]
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Dambman to include the monetary estimate capabilities and output of Cella. Doing so may reveal that a local fleet that will soon become available (perhaps after the preferred start date of a requested job) may complete the job at a lower cost than using a currently available crew that requires logics and transportation to the job site, as stated by Cella (Paragraph 2244).
Claim 2
While the combination of Dambman and Cella disclose the limitations above, regarding Claim 2, Dambman discloses the following:
wherein the time period information is schedule information in which the autonomous mobile robot is to perform each type of service in the period of time [see at least Paragraph 0027 for reference to workflow constraints also include workflow order and scheduling information defining a workflow order for at least one workflow wherein scheduling information includes a work order identifier, and also may include parameters of the at least one workflow that include one or more sequences for executing the performance of the at least one workflow during required timeslots; Paragraph 0058 for reference to information representing such instructions to create an order may be embodied in input data, for example in the order and scheduling information, where an order is identified, and parameters relevant to the order details such as sequences and timeslots, and scheduling data relative to one or more aspects of a workflow, are provided; Figure 1 and related text regarding item 114 ‘scheduling information’]
Claim 3
While the combination of Dambman and Cella disclose the limitations above, regarding Claim 3, Dambman discloses the following:
wherein the time period information includes a time period in which the autonomous mobile robot is to be charged [see at least Paragraph 0028 for reference to available workcell resources including battery characteristics; Paragraph 0037 for reference to input data being evaluated for workcell capabilities including battery capacity of mobile robots or robotic device equipment being utilized in workcell; Paragraph 0060 for reference to each available resource being evaluated for battery capacity and charge; Figure 1 and related text regarding item 122 ‘battery capacity and charge’]
Claim 4
While the combination of Dambman and Cella disclose the limitations above, regarding Claim 4, Dambman discloses the following:
wherein the resource information also indicates an amount of human resources needed to support the autonomous mobile robot and the plurality of robot accessories, the amount of human resources being calculated based on the input information [see at least Paragraph 0039 for reference to rules engine then assigns workcell and workflow constraints based on the parameters to workflow, and allocates an available workcell resource for each sequence and each timeslot; Paragraph 0043 for reference to output data may further be embodied as instructions to pool one or more mobile robots and/or robotic devices or equipment, for example to provide scalable throughput for a workflow, or to pool one or more mobile robots with human workers]
Claim 5
Regarding Claim 5, Dambman discloses the following:
An information providing method by which a computer provides estimation information about operating a facility, the method comprising [see at least Paragraph 0022 for reference to system diagram of a framework for performing an automated self-assembly of workcells of integrated equipment, and executing the automated self-assembly of workcells to perform workflows, for example using a platform configured with one or more mobile robots, where the integrated equipment includes one or more robotic devices or equipment mounted on such a platform; Figure 1 and related text regarding a system for a framework for performing a self-assembly of workcells including item 106 ‘mobile robots’]
receiving input information including: facility type information indicating a type of facility in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate [see at least Paragraph 0025 for reference to the framework receiving, ingesting, requesting, or otherwise obtaining input data including workflow constraints including equipment involved in workcells; Paragraph 0025 for reference to Workcell and workflow constraints at least represent spatial and temporal workflow requirements for a workflow, and spatial and temporal workcell limitations of each workcell; Paragraph 0027 for reference to workcell and workflow constraints including available workcell resources including location; Paragraph 0058 for reference to information representing such instructions to create an order may be embodied in input data, for example in the order and scheduling information, where an order is identified, and parameters relevant to the order details such as sequences and timeslots, and scheduling data relative to one or more aspects of a workflow, are provided; Figure 1 and related text regarding item 106 ‘mobile robots’, 108 ‘robotic device equipment’, and 110 ‘input data’]
facility size information indicating a size of a facility in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate [see at least Paragraph 0025 for reference to the framework receiving, ingesting, requesting, or otherwise obtaining input data including workflow constraints including equipment involved in workcells; Paragraph 0025 for reference to Workcell and workflow constraints at least represent spatial and temporal workflow requirements for a workflow, and spatial and temporal workcell limitations of each workcell; Paragraph 0027 for reference to workcell and workflow constraints including available workcell resources including location; Paragraph 0029 for reference to operational workcell capabilities including volume range and transfer range (smallest and largest volumes in the instrument to transfer); Paragraph 0058 for reference to information representing such instructions to create an order may be embodied in input data, for example in the order and scheduling information, where an order is identified, and parameters relevant to the order details such as sequences and timeslots, and scheduling data relative to one or more aspects of a workflow, are provided; Figure 1 and related text regarding item 106 ‘mobile robots’, 108 ‘robotic device equipment’, and 110 ‘input data’]
service type information indicating a plurality of types of services, each type of service to be executed by the autonomous mobile robot in conjunction with at least one of the plurality of robot accessories [see at least Paragraph 0024 for reference to the present invention is not to be limited to any particular type of workflow performed, and that framework of the present invention may be applied to any field and any process where automated control of tasks performed by robots, robotic devices or equipment, and any other computer-controlled device is desired; Paragraph 0025 for reference to the framework receiving, ingesting, requesting, or otherwise obtaining input data including workflow constraints including equipment involved in workcells; Paragraph 0027 for reference to workflow constraints also include workflow order and scheduling information defining a workflow order for at least one workflow; Paragraph 0058 for reference to information representing such instructions to create an order may be embodied in input data, for example in the order and scheduling information, where an order is identified, and parameters relevant to the order details such as sequences and timeslots, and scheduling data relative to one or more aspects of a workflow, are provided; Figure 1 and related text regarding item 106 ‘mobile robots’, 108 ‘robotic device equipment’, and 110 ‘input data’ ]
and time period information regarding a time period indicating a period of time in which the autonomous mobile robot is to operate [see at least Paragraph 0024 for reference to the present invention is not to be limited to any particular type of workflow performed, and that framework of the present invention may be applied to any field and any process where automated control of tasks performed by robots, robotic devices or equipment, and any other computer-controlled device is desired; Paragraph 0025 for reference to the framework receiving, ingesting, requesting, or otherwise obtaining input data including workflow constraints including equipment involved in workcells; Paragraph 0027 for reference to workflow constraints also include workflow order and scheduling information defining a workflow order for at least one workflow; Paragraph 0028 for reference to workflow constraints including workcell characteristics, such as for example timing requirements, mobility, location, battery characteristics, and historical reliability of each workcell whose utility is being modeled in framework; Paragraph 0058 for reference to information representing such instructions to create an order may be embodied in input data, for example in the order and scheduling information, where an order is identified, and parameters relevant to the order details such as sequences and timeslots, and scheduling data relative to one or more aspects of a workflow, are provided; Figure 1 and related text regarding item 106 ‘mobile robots’, 108 ‘robotic device equipment’, and 110 ‘input data’ ]
performing calculation processing for estimating resource information that is an estimate for an amount of autonomous mobile robots and an amount of robot accessories needed to operate the facility based on the input information [see at least Paragraph 0034 for reference to data collection and initialization element may also initialize input data and framework, by configuring characteristics of workcells, workflow, and mobile robots following processing of input data in framework; Paragraph 0036 for reference to deployment and transportation model is embodied in a plurality of algorithms that perform various mathematical calculations and execute various instructions in computer code that programmatically execute such algorithms to develop and apply a rules engine to the initialized input data, to define both configuration schemes for the equipment to be assembled as a workcell, and the one or more pathway topologies that define and guide mobility of self-assembled workcells for the performance of a workflow]
outputting a result of the estimate for display to the user [see at least Paragraph 0041 for reference to instructions may also be provided as output data of framework, and may be parsed and communicated to one or more mobile robots, robotic devices or equipment, and any other relevant equipment to arrange as a workcell; Paragraph 0042 for reference to output data may be instructions to arrange a mobile robot (and/or, arrange multiple robotic devices or equipment and other equipment on a mobile platform) in order to self-assemble a workcell; Figure 1 and related text regarding item 180 ‘output data’]
While Dambman discloses the limitations above, it does not disclose wherein: in estimating the resource information for the estimate for the amount of autonomous mobile robots and the amount of robot accessories, the calculation processing includes route planning information for each of the autonomous mobile robots.
However, Cella discloses the following:
receiving input information [see at least Paragraph 2114 for reference to the job configuration system generates a job execution plan based on a job request; Paragraph 2190 for reference to a job request may indicate a set of job request parameters. Non-limiting examples of job request parameters may include: types of projects and tasks (e.g., inspection tasks, packaging tasks, unloading tasks, loading tasks, shipping tasks, assembling tasks, monitoring tasks, digging tasks, construction tasks, delivery tasks, or the like), budget, timeline, environment description (e.g., indoors/outdoors, size of the environment, communication capabilities of the environment, layouts/blueprint/digital twin of the environment, or the like), location (e.g., region, address, coordinates, or the like), and any other suitable parameters; Paragraph 2190 for reference to the job request parameters which may be indicative of what types of robot operating units are needed and/or functionalities thereof]
performing calculation processing for estimating resource information that is an estimate for an amount of autonomous mobile robots and an amount of robot accessories needed to operate the facility based on the input information [see at least Paragraph 2114 for reference to the resource provisioning system is configured to handle allocation and access to fleet resources (e.g., robot operating units); Paragraph 2233 for reference to a fleet configuration system proxy may narrow down sets of candidate robots for performing tasks (as indicated in task description(s)) to a specific robot type (and optionally a specific robot in the fleet) based on fleet configuration and fleet resource inventory and allocation data relevant to the requested job (e.g., based on geography, timing, and the like); Paragraph 2233 for reference to a fleet configuration proxy may generate data suitable for use by fleet operational elements, such as a fleet resource provisioning system, to perform fleet resource allocation, scheduling, and the like that supports at least a portion of the goals of a job request being processed through the job configuration system]
wherein: in estimating the resource information for the estimate for the amount of autonomous mobile robots and the amount of robot accessories, the calculation processing includes route planning information for each of the autonomous mobile robots [see at least Paragraph 2323 for reference to the navigation system may employ Simultaneous Localization and Mapping (SLAM) for autonomous navigation of robots by recognizing its own position using a sensor while mapping the environment; Paragraph 2326 for reference to the navigation system may also work with the motion planning system to plan the path of the robot and/or the task management system (in conjunction with the robot-level intelligence layer); Paragraph 2328 for reference to the motion planning system may be configured to control the motion of MPR or portions thereof and build an optimal collision free path for the MPR; Figure 140 and related text regarding the motion planning system]
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Dambman to include the route planning information generation of Cella. Doing so would determine an optimal navigational policy within the environment, as stated by Cella (Paragraph 2326).
Claim 6
While the combination of Dambman and Cella disclose the limitations above, Dambman does not disclose wherein the method further comprises the step of determining the route planning information based on the facility type information and the facility size information
Regarding Claim 6, Cella discloses the following:
wherein the method further comprises the step of determining the route planning information based on the facility type information and the facility size information [see at least Paragraph 2323 for reference to the navigation system may employ Simultaneous Localization and Mapping (SLAM) for autonomous navigation of robots by recognizing its own position using a sensor while mapping the environment; Paragraph 2325 for reference to MPR traverses through this map and attempts to measure range to each object, either through imaging, laser range finding, or ultrasonics, and continuously updates both the location of the detected objects and its own location, with respect to the objects; Paragraph 2326 for reference to the navigation system may also work with the motion planning system to plan the path of the robot and/or the task management system (in conjunction with the robot-level intelligence layer); Paragraph 2328 for reference to the motion planning system may be configured to control the motion of MPR or portions thereof and build an optimal collision free path for the MPR; Figure 140 and related text regarding the motion planning system]
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Dambman to include the route planning information generation of Cella. Doing so would determine an optimal navigational policy within the environment, as stated by Cella (Paragraph 2326).
Claim 7
While the combination of Dambman and Cella disclose the limitations above, Dambman does not disclose the input information includes facility equipment information indicating a facility feature available to the autonomous mobile robots for traveling from a first portion of the facility to a second portion of the facility; and the method further comprises the step of determining the route planning information based on the facility type information, the facility size information, and the facility equipment information.
Regarding Claim 7, Cella discloses the following:
the input information includes facility equipment information indicating a facility feature available to the autonomous mobile robots for traveling from a first portion of the facility to a second portion of the facility [see at least Paragraph 2107 for reference to the dynamic vision system may integrate into or with an unmanned automotive vehicle (UAV) navigation system to help control the position or course of the UAV in three dimensions; Paragraph 2323 for reference to the navigation system may employ Simultaneous Localization and Mapping (SLAM) for autonomous navigation of robots by recognizing its own position using a sensor while mapping the environment; Paragraph 2325 for reference to MPR traverses through this map and attempts to measure range to each object, either through imaging, laser range finding, or ultrasonics, and continuously updates both the location of the detected objects and its own location, with respect to the objects]
the method further comprises the step of determining the route planning information based on the facility type information, the facility size information, and the facility equipment information [see at least Paragraph 2323 for reference to the navigation system may employ Simultaneous Localization and Mapping (SLAM) for autonomous navigation of robots by recognizing its own position using a sensor while mapping the environment; Paragraph 2325 for reference to MPR traverses through this map and attempts to measure range to each object, either through imaging, laser range finding, or ultrasonics, and continuously updates both the location of the detected objects and its own location, with respect to the objects; Paragraph 2326 for reference to the navigation system may also work with the motion planning system to plan the path of the robot and/or the task management system (in conjunction with the robot-level intelligence layer); Paragraph 2328 for reference to the motion planning system may be configured to control the motion of MPR or portions thereof and build an optimal collision free path for the MPR; Figure 140 and related text regarding the motion planning system]
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Dambman to include the route planning information generation of Cella. Doing so would determine an optimal navigational policy within the environment, as stated by Cella (Paragraph 2326).
Claim 8
While the combination of Dambman and Cella disclose the limitations above, Dambman does not disclose the method further comprises the step of estimating an initial monetary investment and an on-going monetary investment based on: the estimate for the amount of autonomous mobile robots, the estimate for the amount of robot accessories, the route planning information for each of the autonomous mobile robots, and an estimated charging interval for each of the autonomous mobile robots
Regarding Claim 8, Cella discloses the following:
the method further comprises the step of estimating an initial monetary investment and an on-going monetary investment based on: the estimate for the amount of autonomous mobile robots, the estimate for the amount of robot accessories, the route planning information for each of the autonomous mobile robots, and an estimated charging interval for each of the autonomous mobile robots [see at least Paragraph 1755 for reference to cost factors (such as material costs, energy costs, costs of IT resources, costs of labor, pricing for additive manufacturing services, and others); Paragraph 2133 for reference to logistics twins (e.g., digital modeling for shipment and cost of robots, personnel, and support equipment—job independent and as needed for addressing a particular job request); Paragraph 2177 for reference to inventory databases storing inventory records including pricing data relating to the resource; Paragraph 2177 for reference to the resource provisioning system may query the data processing system to determine the availability of certain resources, the pricing of certain resources, the locations of certain resources, the statuses of certain resources, and/or the like; Paragraph 2184 for reference to determination of which resource to use for execution of a logistics plan may be based on costs and availability of resources]
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Dambman to include the monetary estimate capabilities and output of Cella. Doing so may reveal that a local fleet that will soon become available (perhaps after the preferred start date of a requested job) may complete the job at a lower cost than using a currently available crew that requires logics and transportation to the job site, as stated by Cella (Paragraph 2244).
Claim 9
While the combination of Dambman and Cella disclose the limitations above, Dambman does not disclose wherein, in estimating the resource information, the calculation processing includes a task completion time, the task completion time being an estimated amount of time to complete the type of task based on the facility type information and the facility size information.
Regarding Claim 9, Cella discloses the following:
wherein, in estimating the resource information, the calculation processing includes a task completion time, the task completion time being an estimated amount of time to complete the type of task based on the facility type information and the facility size information [see at least Paragraph 2244 for reference to Job workflows may be impacted by availability of each type of robot, so a job configuration system may leverage the fleet configuration system when determining candidate job workflows; Paragraph 2244 for reference to special purpose robot may perform a task or tasks more efficiently and/or with greater precision than a multi-purpose robot; therefore, a special purpose robot workflow may be configured with a shorter completion time (e.g., greater robot efficiency) or without an independent confirmation step (e.g., greater precision or self-validating special purpose robot capability)]
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the estimation of resource information of Dambman to include the task completion time determination of Cella. Doing so establishes a set of robot tasks that each define at least a type of robot and a task objective, the set of robot tasks being based at least in part on the portions of the job request that are suitable for robot automation and meet a first fleet objective of a set of fleet objectives, as stated by Cella (Paragraph 0018).
Claim 10
While the combination of Dambman and Cella disclose the limitations above, regarding Claim 10, Dambman discloses the following:
wherein the calculation processing for estimating the resource information is based on all of the input information [see at least Paragraph 0034 for reference to data collection and initialization element may also initialize input data and framework, by configuring characteristics of workcells, workflow, and mobile robots following processing of input data in framework; Paragraph 0036 for reference to deployment and transportation model is embodied in a plurality of algorithms that perform various mathematical calculations and execute various instructions in computer code that programmatically execute such algorithms to develop and apply a rules engine to the initialized input data, to define both configuration schemes for the equipment to be assembled as a workcell, and the one or more pathway topologies that define and guide mobility of self-assembled workcells for the performance of a workflow; Paragraph 0039 for reference to rules engine then assigns workcell and workflow constraints based on the parameters to workflow, and allocates an available workcell resource for each sequence and each timeslot; Paragraph 0043 for reference to output data may further be embodied as instructions to pool one or more mobile robots and/or robotic devices or equipment, for example to provide scalable throughput for a workflow, or to pool one or more mobile robots with human workers]
Claim 11
While the combination of Dambman and Cella disclose the limitations above, Dambman does not disclose wherein the calculation processing includes route planning information for movement of the autonomous mobile robot in conjunction with the at least one of the plurality of robot accessories.
Regarding Claim 11, Cella discloses the following:
wherein the calculation processing includes route planning information for movement of the autonomous mobile robot in conjunction with the at least one of the plurality of robot accessories [see at least Paragraph 2323 for reference to the navigation system may employ Simultaneous Localization and Mapping (SLAM) for autonomous navigation of robots by recognizing its own position using a sensor while mapping the environment; Paragraph 2326 for reference to the navigation system may also work with the motion planning system to plan the path of the robot and/or the task management system (in conjunction with the robot-level intelligence layer); Paragraph 2328 for reference to the motion planning system may be configured to control the motion of MPR or portions thereof and build an optimal collision free path for the MPR; Figure 140 and related text regarding the motion planning system]
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Dambman to include the route planning information generation of Cella. Doing so would determine an optimal navigational policy within the environment, as stated by Cella (Paragraph 2326).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee, Dong-Hyun. "Resource-based task allocation for multi-robot systems." Robotics and Autonomous Systems 103 (2018): 151-161.
DOCUMENT ID
INVENTOR(S)
TITLE
US 2018/0046963A1
Kobayashi et al.
Process planning support apparatus, process planning support method, and computer-readable recording medium
US 2022/0276654 A1
Lee et al.
Apparatus for generating multiple paths for mobile robot and method thereof
CN115769192A
Gollub et al.
System and method for planning computing tasks to an autonomous vehicle network
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRISTIN E GAVIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624