DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Note
Claim 16 refers to adhesion using units of gf/20mm this is understood to mean gram force for a strip 20mm wide. Gram force is technically a non-SI unit convertible to newtons (N).
Claim Objections
Claim 16 has a typo “of of” in line 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SIKHA et al. (US 2016/0013480).
Regarding claim 1,
SIKHA teaches making a cathode for a battery with a desired porosity abstract. The cathode material contains active material, binder, conductive material and solvent [0053]. Deposition is on a conductive substrate (current collector) [0060]. The solvent is dried to obtain a cathode (dry mixture) with porosity of 15% or more [0057]-[0061]. The reference does not expressly teach a porosity of 3.5-18%. However, the claimed range is overlapped by the prior art range and considered prima facie obvious, MPEP 2144.05.I.
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MISSLING et al. (US 2002/0136948) in view of SIKHA et al. (US 2016/0013480)
Regarding claim 1,
MISSLING teaches a cathode mixture of active material, conductive material, ionically-conductive polymer and electrolyte salt in a dry mixture [0017]. The material is deposited onto a substrate such as a current collector [0057]. MISSLING further teaches calendaring [0056] but does not expressly teach obtaining a porosity of 3.5-18%. However, SIKHA teaches making a cathode for a battery with a desired porosity abstract. The cathode material contains active material, binder, conductive material and solvent [0053]. Deposition is on a conductive substrate (current collector) [0060]. The solvent is dried to obtain a cathode (dry mixture) with porosity of 15% or more [0057]-[0061]. By tailoring the porosity of various layers a higher power and longer cycle battery can be obtained [0024]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to tailor the porosity of the cathode material to achieve improved power and cycling characteristics. The reference does not expressly teach a porosity of 3.5-18%. However, the claimed range is overlapped by the prior art range and considered prima facie obvious, MPEP 2144.05.I.
Regarding claims 2 and 3,
MISSLING teaches that a cathode mixture can include ionically-conductive polymer (solid electrolyte) to improve conductivity properties in addition to adhesion [0022]. The ionically-conductive polymer can have electrolyte salt dissolved therein [0035]-[0037].
Regarding claim 4,
MISSLING teaches the polymer can be polyacrylonitrile (PAN), polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) and styrene-butadiene rubber [0035].
Regarding claim 5,
MISSLING teaches the salts are hexafluorophosphate and bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide among others [0037].
Regarding claims 8 and 9,
MISSLING teaches the salts are dissolved by the polymer material. Therefore the particle diameter of the salt incorporated with the polymer does not provide a meaningful limitation because salt of any size particle is dissociated.
Regarding claims 10 and 11,
MISSLING teaches the polymer (solid electrolyte) an be included at any amount from 0-50 wt% of the composition [0035]. The salt is used at 3-15 wt% [0037]. The ratio of polymer to salt therefore overlaps the claimed ratio and is considered prima facie obvious, MPEP 2144.05.I.
Regarding claims 12 and 13,
MISSLING teaches mixing the dry material but does not teach the formation of granules of the claimed size. However, the examiner notes that the parent is directed to the porosity of the electrode layer, and applicant’s specification indicates this porosity is achieved by pressing. The formation of the intermediate granules of the claimed size therefore do not change the final product of the claimed materials in an electrode with the claimed porosity. Additional pertinent art below describes the effects of pressing on particle sizes.
Regarding claims 14 and 15,
MISSLING teaches the polymer (solid electrolyte) an be included at any amount from 0-50 wt% of the composition [0035]. The range overlaps the claimed range and is prima facie obvious, MPEP 2144.05.I.
Regarding claim 16,
MISSLING teaches using the same polymer (solid electrolyte) at the same loading. Therefore it is reasonable to expect the same adhesive strength to be obtained.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MISSLING et al. (US 2002/0136948) in view of SIKHA et al. (US 2016/0013480) further in view of FUJIKI et al. (US 2015/0147660)
Regarding claims 6 and 7,
Modified MISSLING teaches including polymeric binder/solid electrolyte but does not particularly limit the molecular weight. However, FUJIKI teaches that when using binder of for example polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) the molecular weight should be at least 100,000 Da (g/mol) to ensure adhesive strength [0060]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to manipulate the molecular weight of the binder/solid electrolyte in MISSLING to obtain sufficient adhesion of the electrode composition, MPEP 2144.05.II. In addition the disclosed range overlaps the claimed range and is considered prima facie obvious, MPEP 2144.05.I.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,224,424. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending claims fall within the scope of the patented claims of the parent application/patent.
Current claim 16 describes the measured adhesive properties of the product which are expected to be present when the same materials are used to make a layer of the same porosity described in the parent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, TAKAMATSU et al. (US 2015/0056511) teaches that when rolling a powder of cathode mixture, the particle size changes [0059].
/AUSTIN MURATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712