DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-12) in the reply filed on 17 February 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 13 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 17 February 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “expanders” in claims 1, 7 and 11; “constraint portion” in claim 1; and “fixing portion” in claims 2-4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Axelrod (US Pat. No. 7,021,242 B2).
In regards to claim 1, Axelrod teaches an electronic device rack comprising: a bottom plate portion (14); a top plate portion (12) spaced apart from the bottom plate portion in a vertical direction; a pair of expanders (20, 22) between the bottom plate portion and the top plate portion, the pair of expanders being spaced apart from each other in a width direction, each expander being configured to individually expand in the vertical direction to be in an expanded state (e.g.; in Fig. 1); and a constraint portion (e.g.; 19) provided between the bottom plate portion and the top plate portion and configured to constrain the pair of expanders in the expanded state (i.e.; wall are retained/locked in place; Col 6, Lines 2-16).
In regards to claim 2, Axelrod teaches the constraint portion includes constraint portions (16-19), and wherein each constraint portion includes: a plate-shaped member having an upper end and a lower end, the plate-shaped member being rotatable around one of the upper end and the lower end as an axis, the axis extending in a longitudinal direction crossing the vertical direction and the width direction (Col 4, Lines 55-67; Col 5, Lines 1-44); and a fixing portion (i.e.; a fastener) configured to fix the plate-shaped member in a state where a plate surface of the plate-shaped member is along the vertical direction (Col 6, Lines 2-16).
In regards to claim 3, Axelrod teaches the plate-shaped member includes a first plate-shaped (e.g.; 16) member and a second plate-shaped member (e.g.; 18) which are provided side by side in the vertical direction, and wherein the fixing portion is configured to connect the first plate-shaped member and the second plate-shaped member to each other (Col 6, Lines 2-16).
In regards to claim 7, Axelrod teaches the constraint portions (e.g.; 18 and 19) are provided inside of the pair of expanders in the width direction (see Fig. 3).
In regards to claim 10, Axelrod teaches the plate-shaped member includes a support portion (e.g.; the holes therein) capable of supporting an electronic instrument (e.g.; by use of a fastener through the hole).
In regards to claim 11, Axelrod teaches each expander (20, 22) being configured to individually contract in the vertical direction to be in an contracted state (in Fig. 1), and wherein the pair of expanders are configured to converge on the inside of an area in which the top plate portion and the bottom plate portion overlap as seen from above in the contracted state (in Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Axelrod (US Pat. No. 7,021,242 B2).
In regards to claim 5, Axelrod teaches the plate-shaped member includes a first plate-shaped member (e.g.; 16) and a second plate-shaped member (e.g.; 18) which are provided side by side in the vertical direction, and wherein the fixing portion includes a connection pin and an insertion hole (i.e.; pin or mechanical fastener; Col 6, Lines 2-5). In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognizes a pin and mechanical faster (such as a screw of bolt) would have a cooperating insertion hole.
Furthermore, Axelrod teaches the plate members (i.e.; walls) are secured along their vertical edge (Col 6, Lines 5-7), and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and with reasonable expectation of success to modify Axelrod’s connection pin protruding toward the second plate-shaped member at one of the upper end and the lower end of the first plate-shaped member (e.g.; along the vertical edge), the insertion hole being configured such that the connection pin is inserted into the insertion hole. The motivation would be for the purpose of securing the plate-shaped members at any location along the vertical edges with predictable results.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Axelrod (US Pat. No. 7,021,242 B2) in view of Katsuura et al. (US Pat. No. 5,593,046).
In regards to claim 12, Axelrod teaches an electronic device unit comprising: the electronic device rack according to claim 1, but does not teach an electronic instrument that is mounted in the electronic device rack.
Katsuura teaches a electronic device unit in the form of a collapsible housing frame (100) used to mount electronic instruments therein (Col 1, Lines 28-37).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and with reasonable expectation of success to modify Axelrod’s device unit such that it is adapted to have an electronic instrument that is mounted in the electronic device rack. The motivation would be for the purpose of proving an additional use as a collapsible housing frame for various electric and electronic equipment as taught by Katsuura (Col 1, Lines 6-12).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not teach or suggest modifying Axelrod’s device to include the structural and functional limitations of claims 4, 6, 8 and 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the PTO-892 for additional prior art related to Applicant’s disclosed invention.
/Stanton L Krycinski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631