DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 11 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carbury et al. (U.S. Patent 11,162,800) in view of Lavy et al. (U.S. Publication 2020/0309541) & Nixon (U.S. Patent 11,232,685)
As to claims 1 & 8, Carbury discloses a method for reconstructing a scene from data captured by a network of sensors, comprising: in response to occurrence of an event, collecting evidence captured by a plurality of sensors; (Col. 9 Lines 58-61 & Steps 205-210, Fig. 2 discloses an accident may be detected based on a combination of sensor readings.)
receiving messages in response to said transmitting in the form of consents from the owners (Col. 12 lines 66 thru Col. 13 Line 7; Step 235, Fig. 2 discloses the user may respond to the request message. Col. 13 lines 50-55 Step 240, Fig. 2 discloses permission for the data has been granted in Step 235); and analyzing evidence for which a consent was received to reconstruct the scene when and where the event took place (Col. 15 lines 35-41 & 260, Fig. 2 discloses the server 150 may recreate the accident. Col. 15 Lines 50-54; Fig. 2, step 265 discloses visualization may comprise a computer generated reconstruction or other simulation of the accident.).
an interface enabling analysis by said analyzers of evidence (Col. 15, Step 265, Fig. 2 discloses the visualization may comprise a user interface, such as a GUI. )
Carbury is silent to adding temporal and spatial data to each evidence ; a plurality of analyzers.
However, Lavy discloses adding temporal and spatial data to each evidence ([0039, 0042, 0047] discloses label the road images with time and geographic GPS location. Sensors 130 signals are processed in a time domain and split into time intervals with location and time labels. See wherein used for collision reconstruction off line.); a plurality of analyzers. [0050] discloses annotation tool 140 allows multiple users to annotate the same incidents.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Carbury’s disclosure to include the above limitations in order to synchronize independently captured accident evidence and improve reconstruction of vehicle locations, motion and event sequences.
Carbury in view of Lavy is silent to transmitting messages in the form of data requests and evidence to owners of the sensors.
However, Nixon discloses transmitting messages in the form of data requests and evidence to owners of the sensors. (Col. 18 Lines 35-38 discloses send the retrieved images to the client device 122 when requesting consent. Col. 23 Fig. 1J block B1207 discloses permission to use the still images is obtained for each of the capture devices identified in block B1204.
analyzers of evidence for which said consent messager received; (Col. 18 discloses the user or owner of the capture device 102 that captured the images must first give permission.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Carbury in view of Lavy’s disclosure to include the above limitations in order to enable informed authorization of relevant event evidence before transferring the authorized evidence for accident reconstruction.
As to claims 2 & 9, Carbury in view of Lavy & Nixon discloses everything as disclosed in claims 1 & 8 respectively. In addition, Lavy discloses wherein the sensors comprise traffic cameras, smartphone cameras and vehicle dashcams. ([0034, 0037])
As to claims 4 & 11, Carbury in view of Lavy & Nixon discloses everything as disclosed in claims 1 & 8. In addition, Carbury discloses wherein evidence and messages are transmitted via a vehicle-to-vehicle network or via an event-to-event network. (Col. 7-8)
As to claim 5, Carbury in view of Lavy & Nixon discloses everything as disclosed in claim 1. In addition, Levy discloses wherein said analyzers comprise automated analyzers or human expert analyzers. ([0049-0051] discloses annotation tool 140 allows multiple users to annotate the same incidents.)
As to claims 7 & 13, Carbury in view of Lavy & Nixon discloses everything as disclosed in claims 1 & 8. In addition, Carbury discloses wherein the event is a collision between moving vehicles. (Col. 16 Lines 30-48)
CONCLUSION
No prior art has been found for claims 3, 6, 10 & 12 in their current form.
Stephen P. Coleman
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2675
/STEPHEN P COLEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2675