DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I [figures 1-2 & 6-9d, corresponding to claims 1-20] in the reply filed on 2/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/6/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-9, 14, & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takei (US 20030098836).
As to claim 1, Takei discloses a display device (field sequential type liquid crystal display apparatus) [abstract & figs. 1-3 & 6] comprising:
a display panel (liquid crystal display device 10) [figs. 1-3 & 6 & para. 47-48] having a display area in which a plurality of pixels (plurality of pixels laid out in matrix form) [figs. 1-3 & 6 & para. 47] are arrayed in a first direction and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction;
a light source (illumination device 40 comprising light sources 42r, 42g and 42b) [figs. 1 & 6 & para. 47] configured to output light to the display panel; and
a signal processing circuit (control section 77) [fig. 6 & para. 76] configured to control the display panel and the light source (illumination device 40 controlled by illumination control section 76 controlled by control section 77) [para. 76], wherein
the signal processing circuit sets a preset gradation value (reset voltage) [fig. 7 & para. 77-79, 83, & 58-59] written to all pixels in the display area based on a frame image of one frame (field) [fig. 7 & para. 77-79 & 83] to be displayed in the display area, and
the display panel has a preset period (reset period) [fig. 7 & para. 77-79 & 83] for writing the preset gradation value to all pixels in the display area before a write period (write period) [fig. 7 & para. 77-79 & 83] for writing a gradation value for each pixel of the frame image in one frame period for displaying the frame image.
As to claim 2, Takei discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the display panel has a light emission period (emission period where light sources are activated in sequence) [fig. 7 & para. 77-79 & 83] for lighting up the light source when a predetermined response period has elapsed after the gradation value for each pixel of the frame image is written (after passage of a time after writing) [fig. 7 & para. 78].
As to claim 6, Takei discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein one frame period for displaying the frame image includes a plurality of sub-field periods for displaying different colors (r field, g field, & b field) [fig. 7 & para. 77-79 & 83].
As to claim 7, Takei discloses the display device according to claim 6, wherein the sub-field periods include:
a first sub-field period for displaying a first color (red) [fig. 7 & para. 77-79, 47, & 83];
a second sub-field period for displaying a second color (green) [fig. 7 & para. 77-79, 47, & 83]; and
a third sub-field period for displaying a third color (blue) [fig. 7 & para. 77-79, 47, & 83].
As to claim 8, Takei discloses the display device according to claim 7, wherein the light source comprises:
a first light emitter configured to emit light of the first color (light source 42r) [figs. 1-7 & para. 77-79, 47, & 83];
a second light emitter configured to emit light of the second color (light source 42g) [figs. 1-7 & para. 77-79, 47, & 83]; and
a third light emitter configured to emit light of the third color (light source 42b) [figs. 1-7 & para. 77-79, 47, & 83].
As to claim 9, Takei discloses the display device according to claim 8, wherein the display panel has a light emission period for lighting up the first light emitter when a predetermined response period has elapsed after the gradation value of the first color for each pixel of the frame image is written in the first sub-field period (r field) [figs. 1-7 & para. 77-79, 47, & 83].
As to claim 14, Takei discloses the display device according to claim 8, wherein the display panel has a light emission period for lighting up the second light emitter when a predetermined response period has elapsed after the gradation value of the second color for each pixel of the frame image is written in the second sub-field period (g field) [figs. 1-7 & para. 77-79, 47, & 83].
As to claim 19, Takei discloses the display device according to claim 8, wherein the display panel has a light emission period for lighting up the third light emitter when a predetermined response period has elapsed after the gradation value of the third color for each pixel of the frame image is written in the third sub-field period (b field) [figs. 1-7 & para. 77-79, 47, & 83].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 10-13, 15-18, & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takei, in view of Nagase (US 20040189586).
As to claim 3, Takei teaches the display device according to claim 1 (See above).
Takei does not explicitly teach wherein the signal processing circuit sets an average value of the gradation values for the respective pixels of the frame image as the preset gradation value.
Nagase teaches the concept of a display device [abstract & figs. 15-16 & para. 101-108], wherein a signal processing circuit (arithmetic unit) [figs. 15-16 & para. 101-108] sets an average value of gradation values [para. 105-106] for respective pixels of a frame image as a preset gradation value (pre-writing data voltage) [para. 105-106].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signal processing circuit of the display device of Takei, such that the signal processing circuit sets an average value of the gradation values for the respective pixels of the frame image as the preset gradation value, as taught by Nagase, to improve writing efficiency and reduce cost, as taught by Nagase [para. 107].
As to claim 4, Takei teaches the display device according to claim 1 (See above).
Takei does not explicitly teach wherein the signal processing circuit sets the preset gradation value to a minimum gradation value of the display panel when the gradation values of all pixels of the frame image are the minimum gradation value.
Nagase teaches the concept of a display device [abstract & figs. 15-16 & para. 101-108], wherein a signal processing circuit (arithmetic unit) [figs. 15-16 & para. 101-108] sets an average value of gradation values [para. 105-106] for respective pixels of a frame image as a preset gradation value (pre-writing data voltage) [para. 105-106].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signal processing circuit of the display device of Takei, such that the signal processing circuit sets an average value of the gradation values for the respective pixels of the frame image as the preset gradation value, as taught by Nagase, to improve writing efficiency and reduce cost, as taught by Nagase [para. 107].
Thus, Takei as modified by Nagase teaches wherein the signal processing circuit sets the preset gradation value to a minimum gradation value of the display panel when the gradation values of all pixels of the frame image are the minimum gradation value (Takei teaches a normally white display, thus, when displaying an image of one gradation such as an all white screen [lowest gradation value 0], the averaged value for the preset gradation value corresponding to the of an all white screen would be the minimum gradation value) [Takei: fig. 7 & para. 77-79 & 83 & Nagase: para. 105-106].
As to claim 5, Takei teaches the display device according to claim 1 (see above).
Takei does not explicitly teach wherein the signal processing circuit sets the preset gradation value to a maximum gradation value of the display panel when the gradation values of all pixels of the frame image are the maximum gradation value.
Nagase teaches the concept of a display device [abstract & figs. 15-16 & para. 101-108], wherein a signal processing circuit (arithmetic unit) [figs. 15-16 & para. 101-108] sets an average value of gradation values [para. 105-106] for respective pixels of a frame image as a preset gradation value (pre-writing data voltage) [para. 105-106].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signal processing circuit of the display device of Takei, such that the signal processing circuit sets an average value of the gradation values for the respective pixels of the frame image as the preset gradation value, as taught by Nagase, to improve writing efficiency and reduce cost, as taught by Nagase [para. 107].
Thus, Takei as modified by Nagase teaches wherein the signal processing circuit sets the preset gradation value to a maximum gradation value of the display panel when the gradation values of all pixels of the frame image are the maximum gradation value (Takei teaches a normally white display, thus, when displaying an image of one gradation such as an all black screen [highest gradation value 255], the averaged value for the preset gradation value corresponding to the of an all black screen would be the maximum gradation value) [Takei: fig. 7 & para. 77-79 & 83 & Nagase: para. 105-106].
As to claim 10, Takei teaches the display device according to claim 9 (See above).
Takei does not explicitly teach wherein the signal processing circuit sets an average value of the gradation values for the respective pixels of the first color of the frame image as the preset gradation value in the first sub-field period.
Takei does not explicitly teach wherein the signal processing circuit sets an average value of the gradation values for the respective pixels of the first color of the frame image as the preset gradation value in the first sub-field period.
Nagase teaches the concept of a display device [abstract & figs. 15-16 & para. 101-108], wherein a signal processing circuit (arithmetic unit) [figs. 15-16 & para. 101-108] sets an average value of gradation values [para. 105-106] for respective pixels of a frame image as a preset gradation value (pre-writing data voltage) [para. 105-106].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signal processing circuit of the display device of Takei, such that the signal processing circuit sets an average value of the gradation values for the respective pixels of the frame image as the preset gradation value, as taught by Nagase, to improve writing efficiency and reduce cost, as taught by Nagase [para. 107].
Thus, Takei as modified by Nagase teaches wherein the signal processing circuit sets an average value of the gradation values for the respective pixels of the first color of the frame image as the preset gradation value in the first sub-field period (r field) [Takei: fig. 7 & para. 77-79 & 83 & Nagase: para. 105-106].
As to claim 11, Takei teaches the display device according to claim 9 (see above).
Takei does not explicitly teach wherein the signal processing circuit sets the preset gradation value in the first sub-field period to a minimum gradation value of the display panel when the gradation values of the first color of all pixels of the frame image are the minimum gradation value.
Nagase teaches the concept of a display device [abstract & figs. 15-16 & para. 101-108], wherein a signal processing circuit (arithmetic unit) [figs. 15-16 & para. 101-108] sets an average value of gradation values [para. 105-106] for respective pixels of a frame image as a preset gradation value (pre-writing data voltage) [para. 105-106].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signal processing circuit of the display device of Takei, such that the signal processing circuit sets an average value of the gradation values for the respective pixels of the frame image as the preset gradation value, as taught by Nagase, to improve writing efficiency and reduce cost, as taught by Nagase [para. 107].
Thus, Takei as modified by Nagase teaches wherein the signal processing circuit sets the preset gradation value in the first sub-field period to a minimum gradation value of the display panel when the gradation values of the first color of all pixels of the frame image are the minimum gradation value (r field, Takei teaches a normally white display, thus, when displaying an image of one gradation such as an all white screen [lowest gradation value 0], the averaged value for the preset gradation value corresponding to the of an all white screen would be the minimum gradation value) [Takei: fig. 7 & para. 77-79 & 83 & Nagase: para. 105-106].
As to claim 12, Takei teaches the display device according to claim 9 (see above).
Takei does not explicitly teach wherein the signal processing circuit sets the preset gradation value in the first sub-field period to a maximum gradation value of the display panel when the gradation values of the first color of all pixels of the frame image are the maximum gradation value.
Nagase teaches the concept of a display device [abstract & figs. 15-16 & para. 101-108], wherein a signal processing circuit (arithmetic unit) [figs. 15-16 & para. 101-108] sets an average value of gradation values [para. 105-106] for respective pixels of a frame image as a preset gradation value (pre-writing data voltage) [para. 105-106].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signal processing circuit of the display device of Takei, such that the signal processing circuit sets an average value of the gradation values for the respective pixels of the frame image as the preset gradation value, as taught by Nagase, to improve writing efficiency and reduce cost, as taught by Nagase [para. 107].
Thus, Takei as modified by Nagase teaches wherein the signal processing circuit sets the preset gradation value in the first sub-field period to a maximum gradation value of the display panel when the gradation values of the first color of all pixels of the frame image are the maximum gradation value (r field, Takei teaches a normally white display, thus, when displaying an image of one gradation such as an all black screen [highest gradation value 255], the averaged value for the preset gradation value corresponding to the of an all black screen would be the maximum gradation value) [Takei: fig. 7 & para. 77-79 & 83 & Nagase: para. 105-106].
As to claim 13, Takei as modified by Nagase teaches the display device according to any one of claim 10, wherein the display panel has a preset period for writing the preset gradation value in the first sub-field period to all pixels in the display area before a write period for writing the gradation value of the first color for each pixel of the frame image in the first sub-field period (reset period for r field) [Takei: figs. 1-7 & para. 77-79, 47, & 83].
As to claim 15, Takei teaches the display device according to claim 14 (see above).
Takei does not explicitly teach wherein the signal processing circuit sets an average value of the gradation values for the respective pixels of the second color of the frame image as the preset gradation value in the second sub-field period.
Nagase teaches the concept of a display device [abstract & figs. 15-16 & para. 101-108], wherein a signal processing circuit (arithmetic unit) [figs. 15-16 & para. 101-108] sets an average value of gradation values [para. 105-106] for respective pixels of a frame image as a preset gradation value (pre-writing data voltage) [para. 105-106].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signal processing circuit of the display device of Takei, such that the signal processing circuit sets an average value of the gradation values for the respective pixels of the frame image as the preset gradation value, as taught by Nagase, to improve writing efficiency and reduce cost, as taught by Nagase [para. 107].
Thus, Takei as modified by Nagase teaches wherein the signal processing circuit sets an average value of the gradation values for the respective pixels of the second color of the frame image as the preset gradation value in the second sub-field period (g field) [Takei: fig. 7 & para. 77-79 & 83 & Nagase: para. 105-106].
As to claim 16, Takei teaches the display device according to claim 14 (see above).
Takei does not explicitly teach wherein the signal processing circuit sets the preset gradation value in the second sub-field period to a minimum gradation value of the display panel when the gradation values of the second color of all pixels of the frame image are the minimum gradation value.
Nagase teaches the concept of a display device [abstract & figs. 15-16 & para. 101-108], wherein a signal processing circuit (arithmetic unit) [figs. 15-16 & para. 101-108] sets an average value of gradation values [para. 105-106] for respective pixels of a frame image as a preset gradation value (pre-writing data voltage) [para. 105-106].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signal processing circuit of the display device of Takei, such that the signal processing circuit sets an average value of the gradation values for the respective pixels of the frame image as the preset gradation value, as taught by Nagase, to improve writing efficiency and reduce cost, as taught by Nagase [para. 107].
Thus, Takei as modified by Nagase teaches wherein the signal processing circuit sets the preset gradation value in the second sub-field period to a minimum gradation value of the display panel when the gradation values of the second color of all pixels of the frame image are the minimum gradation value (g field, Takei teaches a normally white display, thus, when displaying an image of one gradation such as an all white screen [lowest gradation value 0], the averaged value for the preset gradation value corresponding to the of an all white screen would be the minimum gradation value) [Takei: fig. 7 & para. 77-79 & 83 & Nagase: para. 105-106].
As to claim 17, Takei teaches the display device according to claim 14 (see above).
Takei does not explicitly teach wherein the signal processing circuit sets the preset gradation value in the second sub-field period to a maximum gradation value of the display panel when the gradation values of the second color of all pixels of the frame image are the maximum gradation value.
Nagase teaches the concept of a display device [abstract & figs. 15-16 & para. 101-108], wherein a signal processing circuit (arithmetic unit) [figs. 15-16 & para. 101-108] sets an average value of gradation values [para. 105-106] for respective pixels of a frame image as a preset gradation value (pre-writing data voltage) [para. 105-106].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signal processing circuit of the display device of Takei, such that the signal processing circuit sets an average value of the gradation values for the respective pixels of the frame image as the preset gradation value, as taught by Nagase, to improve writing efficiency and reduce cost, as taught by Nagase [para. 107].
Thus, Takei as modified by Nagase teaches wherein the signal processing circuit sets the preset gradation value in the second sub-field period to a maximum gradation value of the display panel when the gradation values of the second color of all pixels of the frame image are the maximum gradation value (g field, Takei teaches a normally white display, thus, when displaying an image of one gradation such as an all black screen [highest gradation value 255], the averaged value for the preset gradation value corresponding to the of an all black screen would be the maximum gradation value) [Takei: fig. 7 & para. 77-79 & 83 & Nagase: para. 105-106].
As to claim 18, Takei as modified by Nagase teaches the display device according to any one of claim 15, wherein the display panel has a preset period for writing the preset gradation value to all pixels in the display area before a write period for writing the gradation value of the second color for each pixel of the frame image in the second sub-field period (reset period for g field) [Takei: figs. 1-7 & para. 77-79, 47, & 83].
As to claim 20, Takei teaches the display device according to claim 19 (see above).
Takei does not explicitly teach wherein the signal processing circuit sets an average value of the gradation values for the respective pixels of the third color of the frame image as the preset gradation value in the third sub-field period.
Nagase teaches the concept of a display device [abstract & figs. 15-16 & para. 101-108], wherein a signal processing circuit (arithmetic unit) [figs. 15-16 & para. 101-108] sets an average value of gradation values [para. 105-106] for respective pixels of a frame image as a preset gradation value (pre-writing data voltage) [para. 105-106].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signal processing circuit of the display device of Takei, such that the signal processing circuit sets an average value of the gradation values for the respective pixels of the frame image as the preset gradation value, as taught by Nagase, to improve writing efficiency and reduce cost, as taught by Nagase [para. 107].
Thus, Takei as modified by Nagase teaches wherein the signal processing circuit sets an average value of the gradation values for the respective pixels of the third color of the frame image as the preset gradation value in the third sub-field period (b field) [Takei: fig. 7 & para. 77-79 & 83 & Nagase: para. 105-106].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Miyatake et al. (US 20140062984).
Park (US 20050253796).
Aoki et al. (US 20180240424).
Waterman (US 20020075221).
/DAVID TUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622