Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lei et al., CN101610625 (hereinafter referred to as Lei).
In regards to claim 1, Lei teaches a solid-state circuit breaker (dynamic energy-saving lighting power supply; [Fig. 1]), comprising a first switch (switch K1; [Fig. 1]), a second switch (emitter tube T1; [Fig. 2]), a first capacitor (capacitor Ci; [Fig. 2]), and a first diode (diode D4; [Fig. 2]), wherein, a first terminal of the first switch (left node of K1; [Fig. 1]) is connected to a positive electrode of an input terminal (Uin; [Fig. 1]) (implicit; [Fig. 1]), a second terminal of the first switch (right node of K1; [Fig. 1]) is connected to a first terminal of the second switch (left node of T1; [Fig. 2]) (implicit; [Fig. 1 & 2]), a second terminal of the second switch (right node of T1; [Fig. 2]) is connected to a positive electrode of an output terminal (upper connection of OUT; [Fig. 2]) (implicit; [Fig. 2]), a first terminal of the first capacitor (top node of Ci; [Fig. 2]) is connected to the first terminal of the second switch (implicit; [Fig. 2]), a second terminal of the first capacitor (bottom node of Ci; [Fig. 2]) is connected to a negative electrode of the input terminal (lower connection of IN; [Fig. 2]) (implicit; [Fig. 2]), a cathode of the first diode (top node of D4; [Fig. 2]) is connected to the second terminal of the second switch (implicit; [Fig. 2]), and an anode of the first diode (bottom node of D4; [Fig. 2]) is connected to a negative electrode of the output terminal (lower connection of OUT; [Fig. 2]) (implicit; [Fig. 2]).
In regards to claim 2, Lei teaches the solid-state circuit breaker of claim 1, further comprising a transient voltage suppressor (TVS1; [Fig. 2]) and a second diode (diode D1; [Fig. 2]), wherein the transient voltage suppressor is connected in parallel with the first capacitor (implicit; [Fig. 2]), the second diode is connected in parallel with the second switch (implicit; [Fig. 2]), and a cathode of the second diode (left node of D1; [Fig. 2]) is connected to the first terminal of the second switch (implicit; [Fig. 2]) and an anode of the second diode (right node of D1; [Fig. 2]) is connected to the second terminal of the second switch (implicit; [Fig. 2]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al., CN101610625 (hereinafter referred to as Lei) in view of Barone, US5742495 (hereinafter referred to as Barone).
In regards to claim 5, Lei teaches wherein: the first switch is an intelligent mechanical switch (solid-state relay; [Pg. 6, Para. 1]) configured to disconnect a contact of a main circuit though an electrical control command (control of the solid-state relay) and having a current breaking capability (implicit of the rating of a solid-state relay).
Lei does not teach wherein: the second switch is a metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET) with an anti-parallel diode or an insulated-gate bipolar transistor (IGBT).
Barone teaches wherein: the second switch is a metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET) (MOSFET; [Col. 15, Ln. 46-49]) with an anti-parallel diode or an insulated-gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) (IGBT; [Col. 15, Ln. 46-49]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei in order to incorporate wherein: the second switch is a metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET) with an anti-parallel diode or an insulated-gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) as taught by Barone. The motivation for doing so would be engineering design choice in order to electrically control the switch quickly.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al., CN101610625 (hereinafter referred to as Lei) in view of Mayama, US20020093293 (hereinafter referred to as Mayama).
In regards to claim 6, Lei does not teach wherein: the first diode can also be replaced by a silicon controlled rectifier.
Mayama teaches wherein: the first diode can also be replaced by a silicon controlled rectifier (substitute for a diode… SCR; [0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei in order to incorporate wherein: the first diode can also be replaced by a silicon controlled rectifier as taught by Mayama. The motivation for doing so would be engineering design choice for selecting a diode functioning component.
Claim(s) 3-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al., CN101610625 (hereinafter referred to as Lei) in view of Cai et al., CN216121792 (hereinafter referred to as Cai) and in further view of McWilliams et al., US3651378 (hereinafter referred to as McWilliams).
In regards to claim 3, Lei does not teach the solid-state circuit breaker of claim 2, further comprising a first overcurrent protection apparatus and a second overcurrent protection apparatus wherein the first overcurrent protection apparatus is connected in series with the first capacitor, and the second overcurrent protection apparatus is connected in series with the first diode.
Cai teaches the solid-state circuit breaker of claim 2, further comprising a first overcurrent protection apparatus (fuse F2; [Pg. 4, Para. 7-Pg. 5, Para. 1]) wherein the first overcurrent protection apparatus is connected in series with the first capacitor (connected between the resistor R1 and the capacitor C5; [Pg. 4, Para. 7-Pg. 5, Para. 1]).
Cai does not teach the solid-state circuit breaker of claim 2, further comprising a second overcurrent protection apparatus wherein the second overcurrent protection apparatus is connected in series with the first diode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei in order to incorporate the solid-state circuit breaker of claim 2, further comprising a first overcurrent protection apparatus wherein the first overcurrent protection apparatus is connected in series with the first capacitor as taught by Cai. The motivation for doing so would be to prevent a capacitor short circuit by allowing the fuse to create an open circuit from a fatal fault.
McWilliams teaches the solid-state circuit breaker of claim 2, further comprising a second overcurrent protection apparatus (fuse 40 within unit 38 for protection; [Col. 2, Ln. 30-34] & [Fig. 1]) wherein the second overcurrent protection apparatus is connected in series with the first diode (implicit; [Fig. 1]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei & Cai in order to incorporate a second overcurrent protection apparatus wherein the second overcurrent protection apparatus is connected in series with the first diode as taught by McWilliams. The motivation for doing so would be to provide protection to the diode in order to have a protection against transients on the positive output electrode.
In regards to claim 4, Lei teaches the solid-state circuit breaker of claim 3, further comprising a first inductor (inductance L1; [Fig. 2]) and a second inductor (inductance Lo; [Fig. 2]), wherein, the first inductor is connected in series between the positive electrode of the input terminal and a node where the first terminal of the second switch and the first terminal of the first capacitor are connected (implicit; [Fig. 2]), and the second inductor is connected in series between a node where the second terminal of the second switch and a first terminal of the first inductor are connected and the positive electrode of the output terminal (implicit; [Fig. 2]).
In regards to claim 7, Lei does not teach wherein: the first overcurrent protection apparatus and the second overcurrent protection apparatus are fuses.
Cai teaches wherein: the first overcurrent protection apparatus is a fuse (fuse F2; [Pg. 4, Para. 7-Pg. 5, Para. 1]).
Cai does not teach wherein: the second overcurrent protection apparatus is a fuse.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei in order to incorporate wherein: the first overcurrent protection apparatus is a fuse as taught by Cai. The motivation for doing so would be to prevent a capacitor short circuit by allowing the fuse to create an open circuit from a fatal fault.
McWilliams teaches wherein: the second overcurrent protection apparatus is a fuse (fuse 40; [Col. 2, Ln. 30-34] & [Fig. 1]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei & Cai in order to incorporate wherein: the second overcurrent protection apparatus is a fuse as taught by McWilliams. The motivation for doing so would be to provide protection to the diode in order to have a protection against transients on the positive output electrode.
Conclusion
SAMANTHA LYNETTE FAUBERT
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838