DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kano et al. (US 2024/0120769; “Kano”) in view of Masunaga et al. (US 10,756,567; “Masunaga”; reference of record).
Regarding claim 1, Kano teaches a hybrid uninterruptible power supply (figure 1) comprising:
a power conversion unit (1-3, B1) including a converter (1) electrically connected to a first external alternating current (AC) power source (11), an inverter (3) electrically connected to an output of the converter (1) and to a load (13), and a power storage unit (2, B1) electrically connected between the converter (1) and the inverter (3);
a current bypass unit (5-6) including a second thyristor (6; see figure 2; para. [0045]) and a switch (5) electrically connected in parallel to the second thyristor (6), wherein the second thyristor (6) is electrically connected to a second external AC power source (12) and electrically connected to the load (13); and
a controller (8) configured to control the power conversion unit (1-3, B1) and the current bypass unit (5-6).
Kano fails to teach a current thrupass unit electrically connected to the first external AC power source and electrically connected to the load, wherein the current thrupass unit comprises a first thyristor.
Masunaga teaches an uninterruptible power supply, comprising a controller (7), an external AC power source (51), a converter (1), an inverter (3), a load (53), and a current thrupass unit (S9) electrically connected to the external AC power source (51) and electrically connected to the load (53), wherein the current thrupass unit (S9) comprises a first thyristor (S9; col. 8, lines 39-41). The thyristor S9 provides a well-known bypass of the converter 1 and inverter 3 and provides the bypass with a sufficiently higher response speed than a traditional switch (col. 8, lines 49-58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to bypass the converter and inverter of Kano with a thyristor because such a modification would have been exercising a well-known bypass configuration for a UPS utilizing a well-known switching element with a high response speed.
Regarding claim 2, Kano teaches wherein the first external AC power source (11) and the second external AC power source (12) are separate power sources.
As for claim 3, Kano modified by Masunaga teaches wherein the controller is further configured to, during a normal operation, control power supplied by the first external AC power source to the load through the current thrupass unit (The controller 7 of Masunaga controls closing of thyristor S9 in figure 1).
As for claim 4, Kano teaches wherein the controller is further configured to, during the normal operation, selectively charge the power storage unit by the converter (Para. [0039]).
Regarding claim 5, Kano teaches wherein the inverter is configured to, during the normal operation, operate as an active power filter for the load (Para. [0043]).
Regarding claim 6, Kano teaches wherein the controller (8) is further configured to enable the power storage unit (B1) to supply power to the load (13) when detecting an abnormality (power failure; para. [0039]) of the first external AC power source (11) during the normal operation, and
wherein the abnormality of the first external AC power source (11) includes one of a voltage drop of the first external AC power source or interruption of receiving power from the first external AC power source (power failure; para. [0039]).
As for claim 7, Kano teaches wherein the inverter is configured to compensate for reactive power for the load during the normal operation (Due to the structural similarities between the positions of the inverters relative to the respective loads of Kano and the instant application, the functional operations of the inverters will also be similar.).
Regarding 8, Kano teaches wherein the controller (8) is further configured to detect interruption (power failure; para. [0039]) of the first external AC power source (11),
wherein when the first external AC power source (11) is interrupted, the power storage unit (B1) is configured to supply power to the load (13), and
wherein the controller (8) is further configured to control supplying power by the second external AC power source (12) to the load (13) through the second thyristor (6).
As for claim 9, Kano teaches wherein the controller (8) is further configured to, when the power is supplied from the second external AC power source (12) to the load (13) through the second thyristor (6), close the switch (5) of the current bypass unit (5-6) such that the power supplied by the second external AC power source (12) is supplied to the load (13) through the switch (5) when the switch (5) is closed (para. [0054]).
As for claim 10, Kano teaches wherein a first filter (F1) is provided on an electrical line between the first external AC power source (11) to the converter (1), and
wherein a second filter (F2) is provided on an electrical line connecting the inverter (3) to the load (13).
Regarding claim 11, Kano teaches wherein each the first filter (F1) and the second filter (F2) includes at least one of a low-pass filter (para. [0035], [0042]), an electromagnetic interference/radio frequency interference (EMI/RFI) filter, or a harmonic filter.
As for claim 12, Kano modified by Masunaga wherein the first external AC power source comprises a first three-phase AC power supply and the second external AC power source comprises a second a three-phase AC power supply, wherein the hybrid uninterruptible power supply includes three current thrupass units and three current bypass units, wherein the three current thrupass units are electrically connected to the first three-phase AC power supply to respectively correspond to phases of the first three-phase AC power supply, and wherein the three current bypass units are electrically connected to the second three-phase AC power supply to respectively correspond to phases of the second three-phase AC power supply (See three-phase AC lines in both Kano and Masunaga.).
Regarding claim 14, Kano teaches wherein the power storage unit (2, B1) comprises a battery (B1) and a direct current converter (2) electrically connected between the battery (B1), the converter (1), and the inverter (3).
Regarding claim 15, Kano teaches a hybrid uninterruptible power supply (figure 1) comprising:
a power conversion unit (1-3, B1) including a converter (1) electrically connected to a first external AC power source (11), an inverter (3) electrically connected to an output of the converter (1) and to a load (13), and a power storage unit (2, B1) electrically connected between the converter (1) and the inverter (3);
a current bypass unit (5-6) including a second thyristor (6; see figure 2; para. [0045]) electrically connected to a second external AC power source (12) and electrically connected to the load (13), and a bypass switch (5) electrically connected in parallel to the second thyristor (6); and
a controller (8) configured to control the power conversion unit (1-3, B1) and the current bypass unit (5-6),
wherein the first external AC power source (11) and the second external AC power source (12) are separate power sources,
wherein the controller (8) is further configured to selectively charge the power storage unit (B1) by the converter (1) during normal operation (Para. [0039]),
wherein the controller (8) is further configured to detect interruption (power failure; para. [0039]) of the first external AC power source (11),
wherein the power storage unit (B1) is configured to supply power to the load (13) when the first external AC power source (11) is interrupted, and
wherein the controller (8) is configured to activate the second thyristor (6) by transmitting an electrical signal to the second thyristor (6) to supply power to the load (13) from the second external AC power source (12) through the second thyristor (6).
Kano fails to teach a high-efficiency operation unit electrically connected to the first external AC power source and electrically connected to the load, wherein the high-efficiency operation unit comprises a first thyristor; wherein the controller is further configured to, during a normal operation, control power supplied by the first external AC power source to the load through the high-efficiency operation unit.
Masunaga teaches an uninterruptible power supply, comprising controller (7), an external AC power source (51), a converter (1), an inverter (3), a load (53), and a high-efficiency operation unit (S9) electrically connected to the external AC power source (51) and electrically connected to the load (53), wherein the high-efficiency operation unit (S9) comprises a first thyristor (S9; col. 8, lines 39-41). The thyristor S9 provides a well-known bypass of the converter 1 and inverter 3 and provides the bypass with a sufficiently higher response speed than a traditional switch (col. 8, lines 49-58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to bypass the converter and inverter of Kano with a thyristor because such a modification would have been exercising a well-known bypass configuration for a UPS utilizing a well-known switching element with a high response speed.
Regarding claim 16, Kano teaches wherein the controller (8) is further configured to, during the normal operation, supply power to the load (13) through the power storage unit (B1) when detecting an abnormality (power failure; para. [0039]) of the first external AC power source (11), and
wherein the abnormality of the first external AC power source (11) includes one of a voltage drop of the first external AC power source or interruption of receiving power from the first external AC power source (power failure; para. [0039]).
As for claim 17, Kano teaches wherein the controller (8) is further configured to (para. [0054]), when power is supplied from the second external AC power source (12) to the load (13) through the second thyristor (6), close the bypass switch (5) of the current bypass unit (5-6) such that the power supplied by the second external AC power source (12) is supplied to the load (13) through the bypass switch (5).
As for claim 18, Kano teaches wherein the inverter (3) operates as an active power filter (para. [0043]) for the load (13) to compensate for reactive power for the load (Due to the structural similarities between the positions of the inverters relative to the respective loads of Kano and the instant application, the functional operations of the inverters will also be similar.).
As for claim 19, Kano modified by Masunaga teaches wherein the first external AC power source comprises a first three-phase AC power supply and the second external AC power source comprises a second three-phase AC power supply, wherein the hybrid uninterruptible power supply includes three current thrupass units and three current bypass units, wherein the three current thrupass units are electrically connected to the first three-phase AC power supply to respectively correspond to phases of the first three-phase AC power supply, and wherein the three current bypass units are electrically connected to the second three-phase AC power supply to respectively correspond to phases of the second three-phase AC power supply (See three-phase AC lines in both Kano and Masunaga.).
Claims 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kano in view of Masunaga and Shu et al. (US 2023/0122255; “Shu”).
Regarding claim 13, Kano teaches the hybrid uninterruptible power supply of claim 1, as detailed above, but fails to teach wherein each of the first thyristor and the second thyristor includes a silicon-controlled rectifier (SCR).
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to implement a thyristor with a silicon-controlled rectifier. For example, see para. [0058] of Shu.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the general thyristor of Kano with a silicon-controlled rectifier because such a modification would have been a replacement with a well-known, art-recognized functionally-equivalent thyristor device.
Regarding claim 20, Kano teaches a hybrid uninterruptible power supply (figure 1) comprising:
a power conversion unit (1-3, B1) including a converter (1) electrically connected to a first external AC power source (11), an inverter (3) electrically connected to an output of the converter (1) and to a load (13), and a power storage unit (2, B1) electrically connected between the converter (1) and the inverter (3);
a current bypass unit (5-6) including a second thyristor (6; see figure 2; para. [0045]) electrically connected to a second external AC power source (12) and the load (13), and a bypass switch (5) electrically connected in parallel to the second thyristor (6); and
a controller (8) configured to control the power conversion unit (1-3, B1) and the current bypass unit (5-6),
wherein the first external AC power source (11) and the second external AC power source (12) are separate power sources,
wherein the controller (8) is further configured to, during the normal operation, selectively charge the power storage unit (B1) by the converter (1) (Para. [0039]),
wherein the controller (8) is further configured to detect interruption (power failure; para. [0039]) of the first external AC power source (11),
wherein the controller (8) is further configured to supply power to, during the normal operation, the load (13) from the power storage unit (B1) when detecting an abnormality (power failure; para. [0039]) of the first external AC power source (11), wherein the abnormality of the first external AC power source (11) includes one of a voltage drop of the first external AC power source or interruption of receiving power from the first external AC power source (power failure; para. [0039]),
wherein the power storage unit (B1) is configured to supply power to the load (13) when the first external AC power source (11) is interrupted, and the controller (8) is configured to activate the second thyristor (6) by transmitting an electrical signal to the second thyristor (6) to supply power to the load (13) from the second external AC power source (12) through the second thyristor (6),
wherein the controller (8) is further configured to (para. [0054]), when power is supplied from the second external AC power source (12) to the load (13) through the second thyristor (6), close the bypass switch (5) of the current bypass unit (5-6) such that the power supplied by the second external AC power source (12) is supplied to the load (13) through the bypass switch (5),
wherein the inverter (3) operates as an active power filter (para. [0043]) for the load (13) to compensate for reactive power for the load (Due to the structural similarities between the positions of the inverters relative to the respective loads of Kano and the instant application, the functional operations of the inverters will also be similar.),
wherein the first external AC power source (11) comprises a first three-phase AC power supply (Vu1, Vv1, Vw1) and the second external AC power source (12) comprises a second three-phase AC power supply (Vu2, Vv2, Vw2), wherein the hybrid uninterruptible power supply includes three current bypass units (see configuration of figure 2), and wherein the three current bypass units (in figure 2) are electrically connected to the second three-phase AC power supply (12) to respectively correspond to phases of the second three-phase AC power supply (12).
Kano fails to teach a high-efficiency operation unit electrically connected to the first external AC power source and the load, wherein the high-efficiency operation unit comprises a first thyristor; wherein the controller is further configured to, during normal operation, control power supplied by the first external AC power source to the load through the high-efficiency operation unit; and wherein each of the first thyristor and the second thyristor includes a silicon controlled rectifier (SCR).
Masunaga teaches an uninterruptible power supply, comprising controller (7), an external AC power source (51), a converter (1), an inverter (3), a load (53), and a three-phase high-efficiency operation unit (S9-S10; see three phase lines VI1, VN, VI2) electrically connected to the external AC power source (51) and electrically connected to the load (53), wherein the high-efficiency operation unit (S9) comprises a first thyristor (S9; col. 8, lines 39-41). The thyristor S9 provides a well-known bypass of the converter 1 and inverter 3 and provides the bypass with a sufficiently higher response speed than a traditional switch (col. 8, lines 49-58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to bypass the converter and inverter of Kano with a thyristor because such a modification would have been exercising a well-known bypass configuration for a UPS utilizing a well-known switching element with a high response speed.
Furthermore, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to implement a thyristor with a silicon-controlled rectifier. For example, see para. [0058] of Shu.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the general thyristor of Kano with a silicon-controlled rectifier because such a modification would have been a replacement with a well-known, art-recognized functionally-equivalent thyristor device.
Conclusion
The prior art references made of record and not relied upon teach uninterruptible power supplies, comprising: rectifiers, inverters, loads, power storage units, thyristor-based current thrupass units, thyristor-based current bypass units, controllers, first and second AC power sources, switches, filter, and three-phase AC lines.
/LEVI GANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849 January 28, 2026