DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on January 6, 2025 and June 5, 2026. Claims 1-22 are pending, claims 8-22 have been withdrawn based on the election/restriction filed June 5, 2026. Invention I drawn to claims 1-7 was elected with traverse and claims 8-22 have been withdrawn.
Therefore claims 1-7 have been examined below. Claims 8-22 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a non-elected Species and/or Sub-Species.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 30, 2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group/Invention I drawn to claims 1-7, a leg guard comprising a thigh guard comprising a first hinge member, in the reply mailed April 06, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “A requirement for restriction is proper only where two conditions are both satisfied: (1) the inventions claimed in the respective Groups are independent or distinct as claimed; and (2) there would be a serious burden on the Examiner if restriction were not required. See MPEP § 803(I); 35 U.S.C. § 121; 37 C.F.R. § 1.142. With regard to the first condition, claim 13 encompasses every element of claim 1. Because claim 13 expressly recites every element of claim 1 including the first and second hinge members and their interlocking at an interlocking angle-the combination of claim 13 necessarily requires the very features of the sub combination of claim 1. A combination that fully contains a sub combination cannot be shown to be patentable apart from, or distinct over, that
sub combination. The distinctness required for restriction as between Group I and Group III is therefore absent, and the first condition for restriction fails.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees that Invention I and Invention II are a combination that fully contains a sub combination but instead that the inventions claimed are distinct as claimed and would require a serious burden on the examiner if the restriction were not required. Independent claim 1 does not require a cushion as required in independent claim 13. Further the claim 13 requires a first cover shell comprising a first hinge member and claim 1 requires a thigh guard comprising a first hinge member.
Examiner is arguing that the species election relates to the different embodiments that the Applicant has provided, see Applicant’s disclosure listing the two independent claims as different embodiments Pages 2-3 of disclosure filed January 6, 2025.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 8-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II/III. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on April 06, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
In claims 1-7 (any dependent claim is subject to this interpretation due to dependency from claim 1) the limitation “first hinge member” and “second hinge member” have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph, because they use a generic placeholder “member” coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 (and the claims that depend therefrom 2-7) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 1, the term “a leg guard, comprising: a thigh guard comprising a first hinge member, and … the knee guard comprising a second hinge member,“ specifically the terms “first hinge member and second hinge member are unclear terms which renders the claim indefinite. The term “first hinge member” and “second hinge member” is neither defined in the specification, nor is a standard provided for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art cannot reasonably be apprised of the scope of the claim term based upon the state of the art. Claim 1 does not definitively establish the geometric dimensions and tolerances of ““first hinge member” and “second hinge member”, therefore it is not reasonable for one of ordinary skill to understand the metes and bounds of ““first hinge member” and “second hinge member”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0326290 A1 to RODRICK et al. (herein after "Rodrick").
(Note: Claim language is in bold typeface, and the Examiner’s comments and cited passages from the prior art reference(s) are in normal typeface.)
As to Claim 1, Rodrick discloses a leg guard, comprising: a thigh guard comprising a first hinge member (leg guard 100; Rodrick ~ regarding leg guard)(thigh guard 10; ~ regarding a thigh guard)(Figures 6B, 7A,7B & 9C; Rodrick regarding a first hinge member (50; regarding first hinge member and second hinge member (annotated Figure 7A;Rodrick) a knee guard pivotally attached to the thigh guard and positioned below the thigh guard (knee guard 6 and or extended knee guard 8; Rodrick ~ regarding a knee guard)(thigh guard 10; ~ regarding a thigh guard), the knee guard comprising a second hinge member (knee guard 6 and or extended knee guard 8; Rodrick ~ regarding a knee guard)(50; regarding first hinge member and second hinge member (annotated Figure 7A;Rodrick) , wherein the thigh guard is configured to pivot relative to the knee guard and the first hinge member is configured to interlock with the second hinge member when the first hinge member and the second hinge member meet at an interlocking angle (thigh guard 10; ~ regarding a thigh guard)(knee guard 6 and or extended knee guard 8; Rodrick ~ regarding a knee guard)(Figures 6B, 7A,7B & 9C; Rodrick regarding first hinge member and second hinge member (annotated Figure 7A; Rodrick) and wherein the thigh guard is configured to pivot relative to the knee guard and the first hinge member is configured to interlock with the second hinge member when the first hinge member and the second hinge member meet at an interlocking angle).
As to Claim 2, Rodrick discloses the leg guard of claim 1, wherein the first hinge member is formed along a bottom edge of the thigh guard and the second hinge member is formed along a top edge of the knee guard (thigh guard 10; ~ regarding a thigh guard)(knee guard 6 and or extended knee guard 8; Rodrick ~ regarding a knee guard)(Figures 6A-6B, 7A,7B & 9C; Rodrick ~ regarding wherein the first hinge member is formed along a bottom edge of the thigh guard and the second hinge member is formed along a top edge of the knee guard).
As to Claim 3, Rodrick discloses the leg guard of claim 1, wherein the first hinge member and the second hinge member are complementary in shape (Figures 6A-6B, 7A, 7B & 9C; Rodrick ~ regarding wherein the first hinge member and the second hinge member are complementary in shape) (thigh guard 10; ~ regarding a thigh guard)(knee guard 6 and or extended knee guard 8; Rodrick ~ regarding a knee guard.
As to Claim 4, Rodrick discloses the leg guard of claim 1, wherein the thigh guard is configured to pivot upward and downward relative to the knee guard (Figures 6A-6B, 7A,7B & 9C and Paragraphs 0010, 0054, 0059; Rodrick teaching wherein the thigh guard is configured to pivot upward and downward relative to the knee guard.) (thigh guard 10; ~ regarding a thigh guard)(knee guard 6 and or extended knee guard 8; Rodrick ~ regarding a knee guard.
As to Claim 5, Rodrick discloses the leg guard of claim 1, wherein the interlocking angle is met when the thigh guard is configured to pivot to an angle of about 65 degrees to about 105 degrees relative to the knee guard (Paragraph 0009 and Figure 6A-6B; Rodrick "In another embodiment, the thigh guard is configured to articulate less than 90 degrees relative to the knee guard upon movement of the user to a crouching position")(thigh guard 10; ~ regarding a thigh guard)(knee guard 6 and or extended knee guard 8; Rodrick ~ regarding a knee guard).
As to Claim 6, Rodrick discloses the leg guard of claim 1, wherein the knee guard is attached to the thigh guard at a pivot point positioned on a lateral portion of the knee guard (Figures 6A-6B,7A,7B & 9C; and paragraph 0061; Rodrick ~ regarding wherein the knee guard is attached to the thigh guard at a pivot point positioned on a lateral portion of the knee guard.) (pivot point 44; Rodrick ~ regarding a pivot point).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0326290 A1 to RODRICK et al. (herein after "Rodrick").
As to Claim 7, Rodrick discloses the leg guard of claim 6, wherein the pivot point (44; Rodrick) but fails to explicitly disclose being located about 2 inches to about 3 inches from a center line of the knee guard.
Another Embodiment of Rodrick discloses wherein the pivot point (44; Rodrick) is located about 2 inches to about 3 inches from a center line of the knee guard (Paragraphs 0057-0058; Rodrick, as doing so would provide increased comfort and mobility for the wearer.) (leg guard 100; Rodrick ~ regarding leg guard)(thigh guard 10; ~ regarding a thigh guard).
Therefore, based on Rodrick’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Rodrick’s leg guard’s pivot point to include wherein the pivot point is located about 2 inches to about 3 inches from a center line of the knee guard, as doing so would provide increased comfort and mobility for the wearer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure and can be found in PTO-892 for submitted herewith. The cited
prior art reference to Guidetti (US 2017/0055603 A1) is of particular relevance to the
claimed invention.
/AKWOKWO OLABISI REDHEAD/ Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA L HOEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732