DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/05/2026 (hereafter “the amendment”) has been accepted and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,7-10 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Estabrook (US 8834948 B2) and further in view of Shapiro (US 20080210686 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Estabrook teaches a system for a shaker, said system comprising (see annotated fig.3 of Estabrook below for a system capable of being a shaker):
an inverted top can sitting atop and coupled to a bottom can (see annotated fig.3 below for an inverted top can sitting atop and coupled to the bottom can);
wherein said top can comprises a top can lid, and wherein said bottom can comprises a bottom can lid, and wherein said top can lid and said bottom can lid are adjacent when said inverted top can is coupled to said bottom can (see annotated fig.3 for the inverted position is shown and “a secondary lid, such as a thin sheet film, may be positioned under the lid 24 and be attached to the rim 22 or other part of the second container 2 to provide a suitable moisture, oxygen or other barrier.” (Col.6 lines 37-41) and fig.2 shows the top can having lid 12 that would be adjacent when the top can is coupled to the bottom can since it is inverted);
wherein said top can has an integral first outer diameter located adjacent to said top can lid, and wherein said bottom can has an integral second outer diameter located adjacent said bottom can lid, wherein said first outer diameter is less than said second outer diameter (see annotated fig.3 below for the first outer diameter located adjacent to the top can lid, the first diameter being the rim 13 as seen fig.1 when system is assembled and bottom can having integral second outer diameter located adjacent to the bottom can lid and the first diameter is less than the second; it is noted that top can is read as “inverted top can” as labeled in fig.3 below plus cartridge 10);
wherein said first outer diameter nests within said second outer diameter via friction when said first can is coupled to said second can (see annotated fig.3 below for the first outer diameter nests within the second outer diameter via friction as the wall that is pointed out extends down into the 2nd outer diameter which extends all the way up to the lid);
wherein said top can lid comprises a diameter, and wherein said bottom can lid comprises a diameter, and wherein the diameter of the top can lid is less than the diameter of the bottom can lid (fig.2 shows the diameter of lid 12 and the secondary lid that goes over the rim 22 as stated above having a diameter and the top can lid will have less diameter than the bottom can since sizes are different). Estabrook does not teach wherein said system further comprises an external coupling to couple said top can with said bottom can, wherein said external coupling is removable, and wherein said external coupling must be removed to decouple said top can from said bottom can.
Shapiro does teach wherein said system further comprises an external coupling to couple said top can with said bottom can, wherein said external coupling is removable, and wherein said external coupling must be removed to decouple said top can from said bottom can; (fig.1A shows the coupling 28 that couples the top can with the bottom can and has to be removed to decouple the top can 22a from the bottom 22b). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system disclosed by Estabrook by adding the teaching of coupling means as disclosed by Shapiro in order to secure the two cans together and provide temper proof indication since the coupling means has to be broken into order to access the containers.
Annotated fig.3 of Estabrook
Regarding claim 2, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Estabrook as modified in claim 1 further teaches wherein said bottom can lid results in a 360 opening when removed (fig.3 the film as discussed above that goes on rim 22 can be taken off resulting in 360 opening when removed).
Regarding claim 7, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Estabrook as modified in claim 1 further teaches wherein said inverted top can comprises a solid and said bottom can comprises a liquid (see annotated fig.3 above the top can capable of comprising a solid and bottom can a liquid).
Regarding claim 8, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Estabrook as modified in claim 1 further teaches wherein top can comprises a first component and wherein said bottom can comprises a second component and wherein said bottom can has sufficient volume to accommodate both a first and second component (see annotated fig.3 above the bottom can has sufficient volume to accommodate both the first and second component).
Regarding claim 9, the references as applied to claim 8 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Estabrook as modified in claim 8 further teaches wherein after a first component has been poured into the bottom can, the top of the inverted top can is recoupled to form a shaker with the bottom can (see annotated fig.3 above when a first component stored in top can has been poured into the bottom can it can be recoupled to form a shaker).
Regarding claim 10, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Estabrook as modified in claim 1 further teaches wherein said bottom can comprises a short filled bottom can (see annotated fig.3 above the bottom can be filled to desired amount).
Regarding claim 17, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Estabrook as modified in claim 1 further teaches wherein said top can comprises generally non-parallel side walls, and wherein said bottom can comprises generally parallel side walls (see annotated fig.3 above for the top can with non-parallel side walls and bottom can with parallel side walls).
Regarding claim 18, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Estabrook as modified in claim 1 further wherein said top can comprises a first shape, and wherein said bottom can comprises a dissimilar shape (see annotated fig.3 where two cans have different shapes).
Regarding claim 19, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Estabrook as modified in claim 1 further wherein said top can comprises a generally conical shape and wherein said bottom can comprises a generally cylindrical shape (fig.3 above shows the top can with generally conical shape and bottom can with cylindrical shape).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over references as applied to claim 1 above, Hammerle (US8584882B2) and further in view of Carino (US20110204048A1)
Regarding claim 3 the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Estabrook as modified in claim 1 further teaches wherein said top can is smaller than said bottom can (see annotated fig.3 above for the top can being smaller than the bottom can) wherein said top can comprises a first component, and wherein said bottom can comprises a second component (see annotated fig.3 above for the top can comprising first component and bottom can comprise a second component). Estabrook as modified in claim 1 does not teach wherein said top can has a volume of about 100 mL, and wherein said bottom can has a volume of about 12 ounces.
Hammerle does teach wherein said top can has a volume of about 100 mL (fig.4-5 shows that alcohol can be present in the first can 22 and max volume of 150 mL which includes the limitation of 100 mL; and the bottom can 21 has a max limit of 250 ml). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the size/volume of top can of Estabrook to be 100ml in order to fit desired amount of liquid in the can. To modify the size/volume of the can into the claimed can would entail a mere change in size of the components and yield only predictable results. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Estabrook as modified right above does wherein said bottom can has a volume of about 12 ounces.
Carino teaches wherein bottom can has a volume about 12 ounces (fig.1 the bottom piece 105 has volume of .4liters which is equivalent to 13.5 ounces). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bottom can disclosed by references right above by adding the teaching of bottom can with volume of 12 ounces as disclosed by Carino in order to have sufficient volume in the bottom can to mix the two liquids together and shake it well. To modify the size/volume of the can into the claimed can would entail a mere change in size of the components and yield only predictable results. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over references as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Carino (US20110204048A1).
Regarding claim 5, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Estabrook as modified in claim 1 does teach inverted top can (see annotated fig.3 above). Estabrook does not teach wherein the top can comprises a sanitary and safety lining.
Carino does teach wherein the top can comprises a sanitary and safety lining (that food storage containers are commonly lined with BPA-0005; according to applicant specs,0019, that sanitary and safety lining which is typically BPA ) It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first can disclosed by Hammerle by adding the teaching of BPA lining as disclosed by Carino in order to protect against harmful substances. “Epoxy resins containing BPA are used to coat the inside of beverage cans, as well as aluminum water bottles not made from stainless steel.” (0005, Carino)
Regarding claim 15, the references as applied to claim 5 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Estabrook as modified in claim 5 further teaches wherein said sanitary and safety lining comprises BPA (Carino teaches that common household items are lined with BPA-0005).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over references as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Averill (US20110240589A1).
Regarding claim 14, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Estabrook as modified in claim 1 does not teach wherein said bottom can comprises a nitrogen blanket.
Averill does teach wherein said bottom can comprises a nitrogen blanket (fig.1 shows the bottle 16 which can comprise nitrogen blanket). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bottom can disclosed by Hammerle by adding the teaching of nitrogen blanket as disclosed by Averill in order to limit the degradation of alcohol in the container due to exposure to oxygen once the bottle/can is open. “However, once a wine bottle has been opened, the quality of the wine quickly degrades due to exposure to oxygen…. Another solution is to introduce a blanket of inert gas over an open wine by squirting it into the bottle though an elongate tube connected to the nozzle of a pressurized can of nitrogen or argon.” (0010-0011, Averill)
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over references as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Cavella (US20010022305A1).
Regarding claim 16, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Estabrook as modified in claim 1 does not teach wherein said bottom can comprises aluminum, and wherein said top can comprises tin.
Cavella does teach wherein said bottom can comprises aluminum, and wherein said top can comprises tin (fig.4 shows the top can bottom cans 11’s that can be made from aluminum and tin). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material of the bottom and top can disclosed by Estabrook by adding the teaching of aluminum and tin material as disclosed by Cavella in order to give the cans the necessary properties of can formation including high strength, light weight, thin-walled capability, corrosion resistance, etc. “This soda or pop can is further generally manufactured of a metal such as aluminum, tin, steel, or other well known metals having the necessary properties of can formation including high strength, light weight, thin walled capability, corrosion resistance, etc.” (0004, Cavella)
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over references as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Schlesinger (US 20160166115 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Estabrook as modified in claim 1 does not teach wherein inverted top can comprises a first component which comprises alcohol and wherein bottom can comprises a second component which comprises a mixer.
Schlesinger does teach wherein top can comprises a first component which comprises alcohol and wherein bottom can comprises a second component which comprises a mixer (fig.4 shows the top can 6 comprises vodka, alcohol, and bottom can 10 comprising cranberry, mixer). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of invert can and bottom can disclosed by claim 1 by adding the teaching of storing alcohol and mixer as disclosed by Schlesinger in order to store the desired components in the cans until the user to ready to use them whether it is food or alcohol/mixer. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 6, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Estabrook as modified in claim 1 does not teach wherein top inverted top can comprises a first component which comprises a solute and wherein bottom comprises a second component which comprises a solvent.
Schlesinger does teach wherein top inverted top can comprises a first component which comprises a solute and wherein bottom comprises a second component which comprises a solvent (fig.4 shows the top can 6 comprises vodka, alcohol, and bottom can 10 comprising cranberry, mixer). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of invert can and bottom can disclosed by claim 1 by adding the teaching of storing alcohol and mixer as disclosed by Schlesinger in order to store the desired components in the cans until the user to ready to use them whether it is food or alcohol/mixer. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-10 and 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4,7-14,16-18 of U.S. Patent No.12,221,266. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Application 19/010,768
Patent 12,221,266
1. A system for a shaker, said system comprising:
an inverted top can sitting atop and coupled to a bottom can;
wherein said top can comprises a top can lid, and wherein said bottom can comprises a bottom can lid, and wherein said top can lid and said bottom can lid are adjacent when said inverted top can is coupled to said bottom can;
wherein said top can has an integral first outer diameter located adjacent to said top can lid, and wherein said bottom can has an integral second outer diameter located adjacent said bottom can lid,
wherein said first outer diameter is less than said second outer diameter;
wherein said first outer diameter nests within said second outer diameter via friction when said first can is coupled to said second can;
wherein said system further comprises an external coupling to couple said top can with said bottom can, wherein said external coupling is removeable, and wherein said external coupling must be removed to decouple said top can from said bottom can; and
wherein said top can lid comprises a diameter, and wherein said bottom can lid comprises a diameter, and wherein the diameter of the top can lid is less than the diameter of the bottom can lid.
1. A system for a shaker, said system comprising:
an inverted top can sitting atop and coupled to a bottom can;
wherein said top can comprises a top can lid, and wherein said bottom can comprises a bottom can lid, and wherein said top can lid and said bottom can lid are adjacent when said inverted top can is coupled to said bottom can;
wherein said top can comprises a first component, and wherein said bottom can comprises a second component; and
wherein said top can is smaller than said bottom can;
wherein said top can has a volume of about 100 mL, and wherein said bottom can has a volume of about 12 ounces;
wherein said top can has an integral first outer diameter located adjacent to said top can lid, and wherein said bottom can has an integral second outer diameter located adjacent said bottom can lid, wherein said first outer diameter is less than said second outer diameter;
wherein said first outer diameter nests within said second outer diameter via friction when said first can is coupled to said second can;
wherein said system further comprises an external coupling to couple said top can with said bottom can: and wherein said top can lid comprises a diameter, and wherein said bottom can lid comprises a diameter, and wherein the diameter of the top can lid is less than the diameter of the bottom can lid.
2. The system of claim 1 wherein said bottom can lid results in a 360 opening when removed.
2. The system of claim 1 wherein said bottom can lid results in a 360 opening when removed.
3. The system of claim 1 wherein said top can comprises a first component,and wherein said bottom can comprises a second component; and wherein said top can is smaller than said bottom can; wherein said top can has a volume of about 100 mL, and wherein said bottom can has a volume of about 12 ounces.
1. wherein said bottom can comprises a second component; and
wherein said top can is smaller than said bottom can;
wherein said top can has a volume of about 100 mL, and wherein said bottom can has a volume of about 12 ounces
4. The system of claim 1 wherein said top can comprises a first component which comprises alcohol and wherein said bottom can comprises a second component which comprises a mixer.
3. The system of claim 1 wherein said first component comprises alcohol and wherein said second component comprises a mixer.
5. The system of claim 1 wherein said inverted top can comprises a sanitary and safety lining.
4. The system of claim 1 wherein said inverted top can comprises a sanitary and safety lining.
6. The system of claim 1 wherein said top can comprises a first component which comprises a solute and wherein said bottom can comprises a second component which comprises a solvent.
7. The system of claim 1 wherein said first component comprises a solute and wherein said second component comprises a solvent.
7. The system of claim 1 wherein said inverted top can comprises a solid and said bottom can comprises a liquid.
8. The system of claim 1 wherein said inverted top can comprises a solid and said bottom can comprises a liquid.
8. The system of claim 1 wherein top can comprises a first component and wherein said bottom can comprises a second component and wherein said bottom can has sufficient volume to accommodate both the first and second component.
9. The system of claim 1 wherein said bottom can has sufficient volume to accommodate both the first and second component.
9. The system of claim 8 wherein after said first component has been poured into the bottom can, the top of the inverted top can is recoupled to form a shaker with the bottom can.
10.The system of claim 1 wherein after said first component has been poured into the bottom can, the top of the inverted top can is recoupled to form a shaker with the bottom can.
10. The system of claim 1 wherein said bottom can comprises a short filled bottom can.
11. The system of claim 1 wherein said bottom can comprises a short filled bottom can.
14. The system of 1 wherein said bottom can comprises a nitrogen blanket.
12. The system of 1 wherein said bottom can comprises a nitrogen blanket.
15. The system of claim 5 wherein said sanitary and safety lining comprises BPA.
13. The system of claim 5 wherein said sanitary and safety lining comprises BPA.
16. The system of claim 1 wherein said bottom can comprises aluminum,and wherein said top can comprises tin.
14. The system of claim 1 wherein said bottom can comprises aluminum,and wherein said top can comprises tin.
17. The system of claim 1 wherein said top can comprises generally non- parallel side walls, and wherein said bottom can comprises generally parallel side walls.
16. The system of claim 1 wherein said top can comprises generally non- parallel side walls, and wherein said bottom can comprises generally parallel side walls.
18. The system of claim 1 wherein said top can comprises a first shape,and wherein said bottom can comprises a dissimilar shape.
17. The system of claim 1 wherein said top can comprises a first shape,and wherein said bottom can comprises a dissimilar shape.
19. The system of claim 1 wherein said top can comprises a generally conical shape and wherein said bottom can comprises a generally cylindrical shape.
18. The system of claim 1 wherein said top can comprises a generally conical shape and wherein said bottom can comprises a generally cylindrical shape.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant fixed 112 issues and rejections under 112 are withdraw. Applicants failure to file a TD resulted in DP rejection being maintained, even if applicant states “In the even claims are found allowable, Applicant will file a terminal disclaimer.” is not a sufficient reply to DP rejection. In regard to applicant arguments against the external coupling, see the updated rejection above with addition of new reference Shapiro that teaching the external means that secures the two cans and has to be removed before the use of the cans. Applicant adding the new limitation changed the scope of the claim, which required the new refence being brought in and teach that limitation. Regarding applicant’s “Nest via friction fitting” argument is not persuasive as under that section applicant keeps stating that claim requires the two cans to be friction fitted which is not true at all. Claim as written recites “wherein said first outer diameter is nests within the second outer diameter via friction when said first can is coupled to said second can” nowhere in in that sentence does it state “friction fitted” or “friction fit”. In this case, the two cans in the prior art are nested and that nest would create “friction” no matter how small or big, as that is not defined by the claim. Two elements being contacted together will create friction and the fig.3 above clearly shows the two cans top portions i.e. the lids being nested. TOP can does have a first outer diameter as labeled above, the application is read as shown in fig.3, see above for the updated interpreted of the top inverted can. No arguments against other 103’s were made. Applicant is recommended to check fig.12, different embodiment, of Estabrook that could also been used to rejected independent claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). Estabrook (US8834948B2) fig.12 embodiment can also be used to reject current written claims.
/PRINCE PAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735