DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-17 and 27 in the reply filed on February 3, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 18-26 are withdrawn from consideration.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Korean parent Application No. KR10-2024-0020524, filed on February 13, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12, 14-17 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cho, United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2025/0004599 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses a display device (Figs. 1-8, generally, Summary) comprising:
a display area including a plurality of subpixels (Fig. 6, pixels, PX) and a plurality of touch electrodes (Fig. 8-13; sensing electrodes, input sensing unit, ISP; Detailed Decsription, [0082][0131-0140]);
a first area including a plurality of data lines and a plurality of touch lines (Fig. 6-8, data lines. Dl1-DLn; sensing lines, TL; Detailed Description, [0131-0145]);
a second area including a plurality of data pads (Figs. 6-10, first pads, PD1; Detailed Description, [0095-0105], “The first pads PD1 may be disposed in the non-display area NDA adjacent to the lower end of the display panel DP and may be closer to the lower end of the display panel DP than the data driver DDV. The data driver DDV, the first power source line PL1, the second power source line PL2, the first control line CSL1, and the second control line CSL2 may be electrically connected to the first pads PD1. The data lines DL1 to DLn may be electrically connected to the data driver DDV, and the data driver DDV may be electrically connected to the first pads PD1 corresponding to the data lines DL1 to DLn”) and a plurality of touch pads (Figs. 8-10, second pads, PD2; Detailed Description, [0143-0155], “The first sensing line TL may electrically connect the first sensing electrode SE1 to the second pad PD2. The second pad PD2 may be electrically connected to the touch circuit TC.”); and
a third area between the first area and the second area, the third area including a plurality of data link lines (Figs. 6-8, control line, CSL1/CSL2; Detailed description, [0097-0110]; specifically portion within inactive area connecting to PD1) and a plurality of touch link lines (Fig. 8-10, second sensing line, RL; Detailed Description, [0145-0155]; specifically portion in active area connecting to PD2),
wherein the third area includes a fourth area where a shielding layer is disposed between the plurality of data link lines and the plurality of touch link lines in a thickness direction of the display device and overlaps at least some of the plurality of data link lines (Figs 3-8, conductive sheets, CTS1/CTS2; Detailed Description, [0067], “The first conductive sheet CTS1 may include a ferromagnetic material. For example, the first conductive sheet CTS1 may be a ferrite sheet including ferrite. The second conductive sheet CTS2 may include a diamagnetic material. For example, the second conductive sheet CTS2 may include copper. The first and second conductive sheets CTS1 and CTS2 may shield an external magnetic field applied from a lower portion of the display device DD to the electronic panel EP.”).
Regarding claim 2, Cho discloses wherein the plurality of touch lines are touch sensing lines through which a touch sensing signal is configured to be transferred from the plurality of touch electrodes (Figs. 8-10, sensing lines, TL; Detailed Description, [0131-0145], “The first sensing line TL may electrically connect the first sensing electrode SE1 to the second pad PD2. The second pad PD2 may be electrically connected to the touch circuit TC.”).
Regarding claim 3, Cho discloses wherein the first area includes a touch bridge electrode under the plurality of touch lines (Figs. 8-10, connection electrode, SE_CE; Detailed Description, [0135-0145], “Referring to FIGS. 8 and 9, a first sensing electrode SE1 may extend in the first direction DR1 and be arranged in the second direction DR2. The first sensing electrode SE1 may include a sensing cell SE1_SC and a connection electrode SE1_CE. The sensing cell SE1_SC may have a larger area than the connection electrode SE1_CE. The touch circuit TC may calculate coordinates of the first and second inputs based on the sensing cell SE1_SC. The connection electrode SE1_CE may connect sensing cells SE1_SC. The connection electrode SE1_CE of the first sensing electrode SE1 may include a connection pattern having a bridge shape.”).
Regarding claim 4, Cho discloses wherein the shielding layer is formed of a same material as the touch bridge electrode (Figs. 8-14; Detailed Description, [0170-0175], “Referring to FIGS. 8 and 14, the first sensing electrode SE1 may be formed of the second conductive pattern CTL2. A portion of the second conductive pattern CTL2 forming the first sensing electrode SE1 may be electrically connected to the first conductive pattern CTL1 to form a connection pattern having a bridge shape.”).
Regarding claim 5, Cho discloses wherein the touch bridge electrode is configured to receive a ground voltage (Figs. 8-11, GND, Detailed Description, [0145-0160], “For example, one end of each of the first pen-sensing electrodes P-SE1 may be electrically connected to ground GND.”).
Regarding claim 8, Cho discloses wherein the third area includes a sixth area where a plurality of power lines are disposed between the plurality of data link lines and the plurality of touch link lines in the thickness direction, and wherein the shielding layer is open in the sixth area (Figs. 6-10 power source lines, PL1/PS2; Detailed Description, [0097-0105])
Regarding claim 9, Cho discloses wherein the third area includes a plurality of touch inspection lines connecting the plurality of touch link lines to a plurality of touch inspection pads, and wherein the plurality of touch inspection lines includes a stepped structure in a seventh area adjacent to the plurality of touch inspection pads (Figs. 8-10, fourth pads, PD4. Detailed Description, [00138-0150], “A first pen-sensing line PSL may electrically connect the first pen-sensing electrode P-SE1 to the fourth pad PD4. The fourth pad PD4 may be electrically connected to the touch circuit TC. “; specifically the lines that connect to PD4).
Regarding claim 10, Cho discloses wherein the shielding layer overlaps at least a portion of the seventh area (Figs 3-8, conductive sheets, CTS1/CTS2; Detailed Description, [0067], “The first conductive sheet CTS1 may include a ferromagnetic material. For example, the first conductive sheet CTS1 may be a ferrite sheet including ferrite. The second conductive sheet CTS2 may include a diamagnetic material. For example, the second conductive sheet CTS2 may include copper. The first and second conductive sheets CTS1 and CTS2 may shield an external magnetic field applied from a lower portion of the display device DD to the electronic panel EP.”; CTS1/2 overlaps the inactive area).
Regarding claim 11, Cho discloses wherein the plurality of touch inspection pads are formed on a display panel of the display device (Figs. 8-10, pads, PD4 are formed on display panel; See also Figs. 3-7 for stacking structure of the input sensing layer ISP being on the display panel DP).
Regarding claim 12, Cho discloses wherein each of the plurality of touch link lines connects one of the plurality of touch lines in the first area to corresponding one of the plurality of touch pads in the second area (Figs. 8-10, sensing lines, TL; Detailed Description, [0131-0145], “The first sensing line TL may electrically connect the first sensing electrode SE1 to the second pad PD2. The second pad PD2 may be electrically connected to the touch circuit TC.”; See also PD3)., and each of the plurality of data link lines connects one of the plurality of data lines in the first area to corresponding one of the plurality of data pads in the second area (Figs. 6-8, control line, CSL1/CSL2; Detailed description, [0097-0110]; specifically portion within inactive area connecting to PD1).
Regarding claim 14, Cho discloses wherein the shielding layer is connected to a low-potential pixel voltage line (Detailed Description, [0101-0126], “The display device DD may further include a timing controller for controlling operations of the scan driver SDV, the data driver DDV, and the light emission driver EDV and a voltage generator for generating the first and second voltages. The timing controller and the voltage generator may be electrically connected to the first pads PD1 through a printed circuit board. In an embodiment, the timing controller and/or the voltage generator may be integrated with the data driver DDV.”; [0131-0140]; [0172-0184])
Regarding claim 15, Cho discloses wherein the plurality of data link lines extend diagonally in the third area, and the fourth area is configured along a direction in which the data link line extends in the third area (See Fig. 6 and CSL1/CSL2 extending diagonally).
Regarding claim 16, Cho discloses wherein the shielding layer overlaps an area where the data link lines and the touch link lines crosses each other (Figs 3-8, conductive sheets, CTS1/CTS2; Detailed Description, [0067]; CTS1/2 overlap the inactive area; Detailed Description, [0170-0175], “Referring to FIGS. 8 and 14, the first sensing electrode SE1 may be formed of the second conductive pattern CTL2. A portion of the second conductive pattern CTL2 forming the first sensing electrode SE1 may be electrically connected to the first conductive pattern CTL1 to form a connection pattern having a bridge shape.”).
Regarding claim 17, Cho discloses wherein the data pad and the touch pad are formed on a circuit film electrically connected to a display panel of the display device (Figs. 3-8, specifically Fig. 5 and DP-CL, circuit element layer, Detailed Description, [0091-0107]).
Regarding claim 27, Cho disclose a display panel (Figs. 1-10, Background, [0004], Summary) comprising the elements of claim 1. Thus, claim 27 is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Jeong et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0167163 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Cho discloses every element of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose
wherein the third area includes at least one dam, and wherein a portion of the touch link line on an upper portion of the at least one dam has a different line width in a length direction of the dam.
Jeong, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a display device wherein the third area includes at least one dam, and wherein a portion of the touch link line on an upper portion of the at least one dam has a different line width in a length direction of the dam (See Jeong, Figs. 7-9, DAM1/DAM2; Detailed Description, [0170-0182], “The primary dam DAM1 and/or the secondary dam DAM2 may be basically made of a dam forming pattern DFP. The dam forming pattern DFP may have a higher height than the touch pad Y-TP disposed on the touch pad unit 511.”’ Y-TL and X-TL are the touch link lines).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the third area of Cho to include the teachings of Jeong in such a way to provide wherein the third area includes at least one dam, and wherein a portion of the touch link line on an upper portion of the at least one dam has a different line width in a length direction of the dam. The motivation to combine these arts is to provide further support for the encapsulation layers (See Jeong, Detailed Description, [0170-0182]). The fact that Cho and Jeong discloses similar types of touch panel devices with signal lines in the inactive area makes this combination more easily implemented.
Regrading claim 7, Cho in combination with Jeong discloses every element of claim 6 and Cho discloses wherein the shielding layer overlaps the portion of the touch link line (Figs 3-8, conductive sheets, CTS1/CTS2; Detailed Description, [0067], “The first conductive sheet CTS1 may include a ferromagnetic material. For example, the first conductive sheet CTS1 may be a ferrite sheet including ferrite. The second conductive sheet CTS2 may include a diamagnetic material. For example, the second conductive sheet CTS2 may include copper. The first and second conductive sheets CTS1 and CTS2 may shield an external magnetic field applied from a lower portion of the display device DD to the electronic panel EP.”; CTS1/2 overlaps the inactive area where the touch link lines are).
Thus, it would have remained obvious to combine Cho and Jeong in the manner of claim 6.
Regarding claim 13, Cho discloses every element of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the plurality of touch electrodes include touch electrodes and touch electrode connection lines connecting two adjacent touch electrodes in a same column (See Figs. 8-14; connection electrodes; Detailed Description, [0141-0155], “ The connection electrode SE1_CE may connect sensing cells SE1_SC”), and wherein the shielding layer is formed of a same material on a same layer as the touch electrode connection lines (Figs. 8-14; Detailed Description, [0170-0175], “Referring to FIGS. 8 and 14, the first sensing electrode SE1 may be formed of the second conductive pattern CTL2. A portion of the second conductive pattern CTL2 forming the first sensing electrode SE1 may be electrically connected to the first conductive pattern CTL1 to form a connection pattern having a bridge shape.”).
Cho does not explicitly disclose wherein the touch electrodes and the touch electrode connection lines are disposed on different layers.
Jeong, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a display device and provides the suggestion of disposing touch electrodes and touch electrode connection lines on different layers (Jeong, Detailed Description, [0081], “ For example, the plurality of touch electrodes may be disposed on one layer or may be divided and disposed on two or more layers separated by an insulating layer. The plurality of touch lines may be located on a different layer from the plurality of touch electrodes, or may be located on the same layer as some of the plurality of touch electrodes.”).
It would have been obvious to have modified the touch electrode and touch electrode connection lines within Cho to be on different layers, as suggested by Jeong. The motivation to combine and modify these arts is a matter of design choice on layering structure of touch display devices (Jeong, Detailed Description, [0081-0084]). The fact that Cho and Jeong discloses similar types of touch panel devices with signal lines in the inactive area makes this combination more easily implemented.
Other References
The following references are also cited as pertinent on the PTO-892 but may not be specifically relied upon within this Action:
Lee at al. (US 2022/0253175 A1)
Conclusion
/KWIN XIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626