DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
As a result of the Amendment foiled on June 16, 2026, claims 1-27 are pending. Claims 1, 6, 8, 18 and 27 are amended. Claims 18-26 were previously withdrawn due to a Restriction requirement and subsequent Election.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 16, 2026 with respect to the art rejections to claims 1-3, 5-12, 14-17 and 27 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant is contending that the reference of Cho does not disclose the features of independent claim 1 (and independent claim 27), including the amended elements of “an encapsulation layer extending from the first to third area between the plurality of subpixels and the plurality of touch electrodes” and “wherein the third area includes a fourth area where a shielding layer on the encapsulation layer is disposed between the plurality of data link lines and the plurality of touch link lines in a thickness direction of the display device and overlaps at least some of the plurality of data link lines. (Applicant Remarks at pgs. 7-10). Specifically, Applicant is contending that the conductive sheets within Cho (Fig. 3, CTS1/CTS2) are placed under the panel protection layer PPL and thereby cannot read upon the relational element of “…where a shielding layer on the encapsulation layer is disposed…” since Cho does not show the conductive sheets above the thin film encapsulation layer (Cho at Fig. 7, TFE). (Applicant Remarks at pgs. 7-10).
The Office respectfully disagrees with the above conclusions. Although previously the conductive sheets (Figs. 3-5, CTS1/CTS2) were used to read upon the shielding layer feature, the Cho reference also discloses an anti-reflection layer comprising a black matrix (Fig. 7, RPL and BM), which is now used to read upon the shielding layer and the clause “wherein the third area includes a fourth area where a shielding layer on the encapsulation layer is disposed between the plurality of data link lines and the plurality of touch link lines in a thickness direction of the display device and overlaps at least some of the plurality of data link lines” (Fig. 7, antireflection layer, RPL; Detailed Description, [0130-0135], “The antireflection layer RPL may be disposed on the second conductive pattern CTL2. The antireflection layer RPL may include a black matrix BM and a plurality of color filters CF. The black matrix BM may overlap the non-emission area NLA, and the color filters CF may overlap the emission areas LA, respectively.”). It is noted that Cho at Fig. 7 shows the antireflection layer being disposed above the thin-film encapsulation layer TFE, which is used to read upon the other amended feature of “an encapsulation layer extending from the first to third area between the plurality of subpixels and the plurality of touch electrodes” (Fig. 7, thin film encapsulation layer, TFE; Detailed Description, [0092-0093]; TFE covers across the pixels and control line areas).
Applicant also appears to be arguing some dependent claim features such as “wherein the shielding layer is open without being formed at least a portion of an area in which the plurality of power lines are formed“, as recited in claim 8. (Applicant Remarks at pg. 11-12). However, Cho also explicitly discloses openings within the shielding layer (Figs. 6-10 power source lines, PL1/PS2; Detailed Description, [0097-0105]; See next opening B_OP; Detailed description, [0130-0135], “The black matrix BM may be disposed on the insulating layer TINS and may cover the second conductive pattern CTL2. An opening B_OP overlapping the emission area LA and the opening PX_OP may be defined in the black matrix BM. The black matrix BM may absorb and block light.”) and the black matrix does not necessarily completely overlap the power lines PL1/PL2 within the non-emission area.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 4 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
For the foregoing reasons, claims 1-17 and 27 remain rejected.
Election/Restrictions
Amended claim 18 (and 19-26) are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Claims 18-26 are directed towards a different structure of display device with a plurality of insulation layers (first through fourth) and their relational features, whereas claims 1-17 and 27 are directed towards a display device with a plurality of areas (first through third), data lines, touch lines, data pads and data link lines,
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 18-26 remain withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-12, 14-17 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cho, United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2025/0004599 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses a display device (Figs. 1-8, generally, Summary) comprising:
a display area including a plurality of subpixels (Fig. 6, pixels, PX) and a plurality of touch electrodes (Fig. 8-13; sensing electrodes, input sensing unit, ISP; Detailed Description, [0082][0131-0140]);
a first area including a plurality of data lines and a plurality of touch lines (Fig. 6-8, data lines. Dl1-DLn; sensing lines, TL; Detailed Description, [0131-0145]);
a second area including a plurality of data pads (Figs. 6-10, first pads, PD1; Detailed Description, [0095-0105], “The first pads PD1 may be disposed in the non-display area NDA adjacent to the lower end of the display panel DP and may be closer to the lower end of the display panel DP than the data driver DDV. The data driver DDV, the first power source line PL1, the second power source line PL2, the first control line CSL1, and the second control line CSL2 may be electrically connected to the first pads PD1. The data lines DL1 to DLn may be electrically connected to the data driver DDV, and the data driver DDV may be electrically connected to the first pads PD1 corresponding to the data lines DL1 to DLn”) and a plurality of touch pads (Figs. 8-10, second pads, PD2; Detailed Description, [0143-0155], “The first sensing line TL may electrically connect the first sensing electrode SE1 to the second pad PD2. The second pad PD2 may be electrically connected to the touch circuit TC.”); and
a third area between the first area and the second area, the third area including a plurality of data link lines (Figs. 6-8, control line, CSL1/CSL2; Detailed description, [0097-0110]; specifically portion within inactive area connecting to PD1) and a plurality of touch link lines (Fig. 8-10, second sensing line, RL; Detailed Description, [0145-0155]; specifically portion in active area connecting to PD2), an encapsulation layer extending from the first to third area between the plurality of subpixels and the plurality of touch electrodes (Fig. 7, thin film encapsulation layer, TFE; Detailed Description, [0092-0093]; TFE covers across the pixels and control line areas);
wherein the third area includes a fourth area where a shielding layer on the encapsulation layer is disposed between the plurality of data link lines and the plurality of touch link lines in a thickness direction of the display device and overlaps at least some of the plurality of data link lines (Fig. 7, antireflection layer, RPL; Detailed Description, [0130-0135], “The antireflection layer RPL may be disposed on the second conductive pattern CTL2. The antireflection layer RPL may include a black matrix BM and a plurality of color filters CF. The black matrix BM may overlap the non-emission area NLA, and the color filters CF may overlap the emission areas LA, respectively.”).
Regarding claim 2, Cho discloses wherein the plurality of touch lines are touch sensing lines through which a touch sensing signal is configured to be transferred from the plurality of touch electrodes (Figs. 8-10, sensing lines, TL; Detailed Description, [0131-0145], “The first sensing line TL may electrically connect the first sensing electrode SE1 to the second pad PD2. The second pad PD2 may be electrically connected to the touch circuit TC.”).
Regarding claim 3, Cho discloses wherein the first area includes a touch bridge electrode under the plurality of touch lines (Figs. 8-10, connection electrode, SE_CE; Detailed Description, [0135-0145], “Referring to FIGS. 8 and 9, a first sensing electrode SE1 may extend in the first direction DR1 and be arranged in the second direction DR2. The first sensing electrode SE1 may include a sensing cell SE1_SC and a connection electrode SE1_CE. The sensing cell SE1_SC may have a larger area than the connection electrode SE1_CE. The touch circuit TC may calculate coordinates of the first and second inputs based on the sensing cell SE1_SC. The connection electrode SE1_CE may connect sensing cells SE1_SC. The connection electrode SE1_CE of the first sensing electrode SE1 may include a connection pattern having a bridge shape.”).
Regarding claim 5, Cho discloses wherein the touch bridge electrode is configured to receive a ground voltage (Figs. 8-11, GND, Detailed Description, [0145-0160], “For example, one end of each of the first pen-sensing electrodes P-SE1 may be electrically connected to ground GND.”).
Regarding claim 8, Cho discloses wherein the third area includes a sixth area where a plurality of power lines are disposed between the plurality of data link lines and the plurality of touch link lines in the thickness direction, and
wherein the shielding layer is open without being formed at least a portion of an area in which the plurality of power lines are formed in the sixth area (Figs. 6-10 power source lines, PL1/PS2; Detailed Description, [0097-0105]; See next opening B_OP; Detailed description, [0130-0135], “he black matrix BM may be disposed on the insulating layer TINS and may cover the second conductive pattern CTL2. An opening B_OP overlapping the emission area LA and the opening PX_OP may be defined in the black matrix BM. The black matrix BM may absorb and block light. “)
Regarding claim 9, Cho discloses wherein the third area includes a plurality of touch inspection lines connecting the plurality of touch link lines to a plurality of touch inspection pads, and wherein the plurality of touch inspection lines includes a stepped structure in a seventh area adjacent to the plurality of touch inspection pads (Figs. 8-10, fourth pads, PD4. Detailed Description, [0138-0150], “A first pen-sensing line PSL may electrically connect the first pen-sensing electrode P-SE1 to the fourth pad PD4. The fourth pad PD4 may be electrically connected to the touch circuit TC. “; specifically the lines that connect to PD4).
Regarding claim 10, Cho discloses wherein the shielding layer overlaps at least a portion of the seventh area (Fig. 7, antireflection layer, RPL; Detailed Description, [0130-0135], “The antireflection layer RPL may be disposed on the second conductive pattern CTL2. The antireflection layer RPL may include a black matrix BM and a plurality of color filters CF. The black matrix BM may overlap the non-emission area NLA, and the color filters CF may overlap the emission areas LA, respectively.”).
Regarding claim 11, Cho discloses wherein the plurality of touch inspection pads are formed on a display panel of the display device (Figs. 8-10, pads, PD4 are formed on display panel; See also Figs. 3-7 for stacking structure of the input sensing layer ISP being on the display panel DP).
Regarding claim 12, Cho discloses wherein each of the plurality of touch link lines connects one of the plurality of touch lines in the first area to corresponding one of the plurality of touch pads in the second area (Figs. 8-10, sensing lines, TL; Detailed Description, [0131-0145], “The first sensing line TL may electrically connect the first sensing electrode SE1 to the second pad PD2. The second pad PD2 may be electrically connected to the touch circuit TC.”; See also PD3)., and each of the plurality of data link lines connects one of the plurality of data lines in the first area to corresponding one of the plurality of data pads in the second area (Figs. 6-8, control line, CSL1/CSL2; Detailed description, [0097-0110]; specifically portion within inactive area connecting to PD1).
Regarding claim 14, Cho discloses wherein the shielding layer is connected to a low-potential pixel voltage line (Detailed Description, [0101-0126], “The display device DD may further include a timing controller for controlling operations of the scan driver SDV, the data driver DDV, and the light emission driver EDV and a voltage generator for generating the first and second voltages. The timing controller and the voltage generator may be electrically connected to the first pads PD1 through a printed circuit board. In an embodiment, the timing controller and/or the voltage generator may be integrated with the data driver DDV.”; [0131-0140]; [0172-0184])
Regarding claim 15, Cho discloses wherein the plurality of data link lines extend diagonally in the third area, and the fourth area is configured along a direction in which the data link line extends in the third area (See Fig. 6 and CSL1/CSL2 extending diagonally).
Regarding claim 16, Cho discloses wherein the shielding layer overlaps an area where the data link lines and the touch link lines crosses each other (Fig. 7, antireflection layer, RPL; Detailed Description, [0130-0135], “The antireflection layer RPL may be disposed on the second conductive pattern CTL2. The antireflection layer RPL may include a black matrix BM and a plurality of color filters CF. The black matrix BM may overlap the non-emission area NLA, and the color filters CF may overlap the emission areas LA, respectively.”).
Regarding claim 17, Cho discloses wherein the data pad and the touch pad are formed on a circuit film electrically connected to a display panel of the display device (Figs. 3-8, specifically Fig. 5 and DP-CL, circuit element layer, Detailed Description, [0091-0107]).
Regarding claim 27, Cho disclose a display panel (Figs. 1-10, Background, [0004], Summary) comprising the elements of claim 1. Thus, claim 27 is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Lee et al., United States Patent Application Publication no. US 2022/0253175 A1 (previously cited but not relied upon within previous Office Action).
Regarding claim 4, Cho discloses every element of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the shielding layer is formed of a same material as the touch bridge electrode.
Lee, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a display device wherein the shielding layer (Fig. 7, Detailed Description, [0103-0110], “A shielding electrode SE formed of the same material as the connection electrode CE can be arranged in the opening O/A in the connection electrode CE”) is formed of a same material as the touch bridge electrode (See also Lee Detailed Description, [0103-0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the particular material of the shielding layer to provide wherein the shielding layer is formed of a same material as the touch bridge electrode. The motivation to combine these arts is to improve touch sensing performance through the shielding features (See also Lee Detailed Description, [0120]). The fact that Lee and Cho disclose similar types of touch display devices makes this combination more easily implemented.
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Jeong et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0167163 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Cho discloses every element of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose
wherein the third area includes at least one dam, and wherein a portion of the touch link line on an upper portion of the at least one dam has a wide line width extending in a length direction of the dam.
Jeong, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a display device wherein the third area includes at least one dam, and wherein a portion of the touch link line on an upper portion of the at least one dam has a wide line width extending in a length direction of the dam (See Jeong, Figs. 7-9, DAM1/DAM2; Detailed Description, [0170-0182], “The primary dam DAM1 and/or the secondary dam DAM2 may be basically made of a dam forming pattern DFP. The dam forming pattern DFP may have a higher height than the touch pad Y-TP disposed on the touch pad unit 511.”’ Y-TL and X-TL are the touch link lines).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the third area of Cho to include the teachings of Jeong in such a way to provide wherein the third area includes at least one dam, and wherein a portion of the touch link line on an upper portion of the at least one dam has a wide line width extending in a length direction of the dam. The motivation to combine these arts is to provide further support for the encapsulation layers (See Jeong, Detailed Description, [0170-0182]). The fact that Cho and Jeong discloses similar types of touch panel devices with signal lines in the inactive area makes this combination more easily implemented.
Regrading claim 7, Cho in combination with Jeong discloses every element of claim 6 and Cho discloses wherein the shielding layer overlaps the portion of the touch link line (Fig. 7, antireflection layer, RPL; Detailed Description, [0130-0135]).
Thus, it would have remained obvious to combine Cho and Jeong in the manner of claim 6.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Lee, further in view of Jeong et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0167163 A1.
Regarding claim 13, Cho discloses every element of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the plurality of touch electrodes include touch electrodes and touch electrode connection lines connecting two adjacent touch electrodes in a same column (See Figs. 8-14; connection electrodes; Detailed Description, [0141-0155], “The connection electrode SE1_CE may connect sensing cells SE1_SC”).
Cho does not disclose wherein the shielding layer is formed of a same material on a same layer as the touch electrode connection lines.
Lee, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a display device wherein the shielding layer is formed of a same material on a same layer as the touch electrode connection lines (Fig. 7, Detailed Description, [0103-0115], “In addition, the embodiments of the present disclosure can have a shielding electrode SE disposed between the signal lines SL and the touch routing lines TL in order to disperse noise due to the signal lines SL, thereby further reducing the noise of the touch sensing signal detected through the touch routing lines TL, which is attributable to the signal lines SL….For example, the shielding electrode SE can be formed of the same material as the pixel electrode arranged in the subpixel SP, and can be arranged to be separate from the connection electrode CE. In addition, since the opening O/A in the connection electrode CE is formed to intersect the signal lines SL, the shielding electrode SE positioned in the opening O/A can also be arranged to intersect the signal lines SL…. The shielding electrode SE can be formed of the same material as the common voltage line CVL, and can be electrically connected to a shielding voltage line SVL that is disposed to be separate from the common voltage line CVL.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the particular material of the shielding layer to provide wherein the shielding layer is formed of a same material on a same layer as the touch electrode connection lines. The motivation to combine these arts is to improve touch sensing performance through the shielding features (See also Lee Detailed Description, [0120]). The fact that Lee and Cho disclose similar types of touch display devices makes this combination more easily implemented.
Cho does not explicitly disclose wherein the touch electrodes and the touch electrode connection lines are disposed on different layers.
Jeong, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a display device and provides the suggestion of disposing touch electrodes and touch electrode connection lines on different layers (Jeong, Detailed Description, [0081], “ For example, the plurality of touch electrodes may be disposed on one layer or may be divided and disposed on two or more layers separated by an insulating layer. The plurality of touch lines may be located on a different layer from the plurality of touch electrodes, or may be located on the same layer as some of the plurality of touch electrodes.”).
It would have been obvious to have modified the touch electrode and touch electrode connection lines within the combination of Cho and Lee to be on different layers, as suggested by Jeong. The motivation to combine and modify these arts is a matter of design choice on layering structure of touch display devices (Jeong, Detailed Description, [0081-0084]). The fact that Cho and Jeong discloses similar types of touch panel devices with signal lines in the inactive area makes this combination more easily implemented.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KWIN XIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626