DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 4 and 19 are amended. Claims 2-3,6-11 and 17-18 are withdrawn. Claims 1, 4-5, 12-16 and 19 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 14-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (US 20220254816).
As per claim 1, Park discloses a display device (Fig. 4, #DD; [0080]) comprising:
a substrate (#SUB) comprising a display area (#DA) and a non-display area (#NDA) that surrounds the display area ([0084]; [0087]; [0090]);
a plurality of pixels (#PXL) in the display area (#DA) of the substrate (#SUB; [0088]);
a pad part (#PD) in the non-display area (#NDA) of the substrate (#SUB), the pad part (#PD) supplied with a selection signal ([0101]; [0105]; [0113]);
a connection line (Fig. 17, i.e., diagonal portion of #LP3 in #SA3, diagonal portion of #LP4 in #SA3) in the non-display area (#NDA) of the substrate (#SUB), the connection line (i.e., diagonal portion of #LP3 in #SA3, diagonal portion of #LP4 in #SA3) extending in a first direction (i.e., diagonal direction) and connected to the pad part (#PD; [0439]; [0443]);
a selection signal pattern (i.e., straight portion of #LP3 in #SA2, straight portion of #LP4 in #SA2) in the non-display area (#NDA) of the substrate (#SUB), the selection signal pattern (i.e., straight portion of #LP3 in #SA2, straight portion of #LP4 in #SA2) extending in a second direction (i.e., vertical direction) that is different from the first direction (i.e., diagonal direction) and connected to the connection line (i.e., diagonal portion of #LP3 in #SA3, diagonal portion of #LP4 in #SA3); and
a plurality of selection signal lines (#D1-D2) that extend from the non-display area (#NDA) to the display area (#DA) of the substrate (#SUB), the plurality of selection signal lines (#D1-D2) connected to the selection signal pattern (i.e., straight portion of #LP3 in #SA2, straight portion of #LP4 in #SA2) and configured to provide the selection signal, which is supplied from the pad part (#PD), to the plurality of pixels ([0103]; [0113]; [0116]; [0368]; [0439]).
As per claim 5, Park discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the selection signal pattern (i.e., straight portion of #LP3 in #SA2) includes a metallic material ([0172]; [0182]; [0440]).
As per claim 14, Park discloses a display device (Fig. 4, #DD; [0080]) comprising:
a substrate (#SUB) comprising a display area (#DA) and a non-display area (#NDA) that surrounds the display area ([0084]; [0087]; [0090]);
a plurality of pixels (#PXL) in the display area (#DA) of the substrate (#SUB; [0088]);
a pad part (#PD) in the non-display area (#NDA) of the substrate (#SUB), the pad part (#PD) supplied with a selection signal ([0101]; [0105]; [0113]);
a connection line (Fig. 17, i.e., diagonal portion of #LP3 in #SA3, diagonal portion of #LP4 in #SA3) in the non-display area (#NDA) of the substrate (#SUB), the connection line (i.e., diagonal portion of #LP3 in #SA3, diagonal portion of #LP4 in #SA3) extending in a first direction (i.e., diagonal direction) and connected to the pad part (#PD; [0439]; [0443]);
a selection signal pattern (i.e., straight portion of #LP3 in #SA2, straight portion of #LP4 in #SA2) in the non-display area (#NDA) of the substrate (#SUB), the selection signal pattern (i.e., straight portion of #LP3 in #SA2, straight portion of #LP4 in #SA2) extending in a second direction (i.e., vertical direction) that is different from the first direction (i.e., diagonal direction) and connected to the connection line (i.e., diagonal portion of #LP3 in #SA3, diagonal portion of #LP4 in #SA3); and
a plurality of selection signal lines (#D1-D2) that extend from the non-display area (#NDA) to the display area (#DA) of the substrate (#SUB), the plurality of selection signal lines (#D1-D2) connected to the selection signal pattern (i.e., straight portion of #LP3 in #SA2, straight portion of #LP4 in #SA2) and configured to provide the selection signal, which is supplied from the pad part (#PD), to the plurality of pixels ([0103]; [0113]; [0116]; [0368]; [0439]),
wherein (Figs. 10 and 17 discloses) the plurality of selection signal lines (#D1-D2) are disposed for each pixel row of the display area (#DA).
As per claim 15, Park discloses the display device of claim 14, wherein the plurality of selection signal lines (#D1-D2) extend in the first direction (i.e., diagonal direction) and the second direction (i.e., straight direction; [0439]; [0443]).\
As per claim 19, Park discloses a display device (Fig. 4, #DD; [0080]) comprising:
a display area (#DA) and a non-display area (#NDA) that surrounds the display area ([0084]; [0087]; [0090]);
a plurality of pixels (#PXL) in the display area (#DA; [0088]);
a pad part (#PD) in the non-display area (#NDA), the pad part (#PD) receiving a selection signal ([0101]; [0105]; [0113]);
a connection line (Fig. 17, i.e., diagonal portion of #LP3 in #SA3, diagonal portion of #LP4 in #SA3) in the non-display area (#NDA), the connection line (i.e., diagonal portion of #LP3 in #SA3, diagonal portion of #LP4 in #SA3) extending in a first direction (i.e., diagonal direction) and connected to the pad part (#PD; [0439]; [0443]);
a selection signal pattern (i.e., straight portion of #LP3 in #SA2, straight portion of #LP4 in #SA2) in the non-display area (#NDA) and connected with the pad part (#PD), the selection signal pattern (i.e., straight portion of #LP3 in #SA2, straight portion of #LP4 in #SA2) extending in a second direction (i.e., vertical direction) that is different from the first direction (i.e., diagonal direction) and connected to the connection line (i.e., diagonal portion of #LP3 in #SA3, diagonal portion of #LP4 in #SA3); and
a plurality of selection signal lines (#D1-D2) that extend from the non-display area (#NDA) to the display area (#DA), the plurality of selection signal lines (#D1-D2) connected to the selection signal pattern (i.e., straight portion of #LP3 in #SA2, straight portion of #LP4 in #SA2) and the plurality of pixels, the plurality of selection signal lines (#D1-D2) providing the selection signal, which is supplied from the pad part (#PD), to the plurality of pixels ([0103]; [0113]; [0116]; [0368]; [0439]),
wherein (Figs. 10 and 17 discloses) the plurality of selection signal lines (#D1-D2) are disposed for each pixel row of the display area (#DA).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park.
As per claims 4 and 16, Park discloses the display device of claim 1 (claim 14) except for a width of the selection signal pattern in the first direction is larger than a width of (each of) the plurality of selection signal lines. Official Notice is taken that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have a width of the selection signal pattern in the first direction is larger than a width of (each of) the plurality of selection signal lines since a mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled. In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Lee (US 20210142702).
As per claim 12, Park discloses the display device of claim 1.
However, Park does not teach an illumination inspection part in the non-display area, the illumination inspection part connected to the connection line,
wherein the illumination inspection part comprises at least one mode illumination inspection switch configured to provide a mode illumination inspection signal to the connection line in response to an illumination inspection control signal.
Lee teaches an illumination inspection part (Fig. 2, #111) in the non-display area, the illumination inspection part (#111) connected to the connection line (i.e., data line; [0066]-[0067]; [0072]-[0073]),
wherein the illumination inspection part comprises at least one mode illumination inspection switch (#Tr) configured to provide a mode illumination inspection signal to the connection line in response to an illumination inspection control signal ([0072]-[0073]; [0093]-[0104]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the illumination inspection part disclosed by Lee connected to the connection line of Park so as to provide a link line defect detection method which is capable of detecting a defect of a data link line.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Marum (5,500,546).
As per claim 13, Park discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising:
an antistatic part (#ESDP) in the non-display area (#NDA), the antistatic part (#ESDP) connected to the connection line ([0374]),
wherein the antistatic part (Fig. 10, #ESDP) comprises a first antistatic element (#ESDP1) and a second antistatic element (#ESDP2; [0375]).
However, Park does not teach the antistatic part comprises a first antistatic element and a second antistatic element connected in series between a first voltage line to which a first voltage is provided and a second voltage line to which a second voltage lower than the first voltage is provided.
Marum teaches the antistatic part comprises a first antistatic element (Fig. 3, #30) and a second antistatic element (#40) connected in series between a first voltage line (#VCC line) to which a first voltage is provided and a second voltage line (#ground line) to which a second voltage lower than the first voltage is provided (col. 6, line 6-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the antistatic part of Park configured according to Marum so as to provide an improvement in ESD protection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 19 have been considered but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection as presented above.
Applicant states on pages 12-13 in the Remarks in regards to claim 14, “Referring to FIG. 9 of the present application, the plurality of selection signal lines SSL1 and SSL2 recited in claim 14 are connected to a first selection signal pattern SSP1 or a second selection signal pattern SSP2. As described in paragraph [0253] of the present application, the selection signal patterns SSP1 and SSP2 are provided to reduce resistance and load of the plurality of selection signal lines SSL1 and SSL2…Therefore, Park does not disclose or suggest that a plurality of data lines D1, D2, D3 are connected to a wiring structure for reducing resistance and load of signal lines, as recited in claim 14 of the present application”.
However, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the selection signal patterns are provided to reduce resistance and load of the plurality of selection signal lines, a plurality of data lines are connected to a wiring structure for reducing resistance and load of signal lines) are not recited in the rejected claim. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
It is further noted that in the Remarks on page 12, the Applicant’s referral of Figure 9 and paragraph 0253 of the specification is in reference to a non-elected species of the invention as stated in the Restriction Requirements dated 11/10/2025 and in the Election of Species dated 01/05/2026.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Nelson Lam/
Examiner, Art Unit 2627
/KE XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2627