DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2-3,11 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 6-10 and 18 are additionally withdrawn from further consideration since claims 6-10 and 18 do not correspond to the elected Species F of FIGS. 8 and 10-11. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/05/2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/06/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: LIGHT EMITTING ELEMENT DISPLAY DEVICE FREELY AND SELECTIVELY RESTRICTING VIEWING ANGLE OF DIVIDED AREAS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 14-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (US 20220254816).
As per claim 1, Park discloses a display device (Fig. 4, #DD; [0080]) comprising:
a substrate (#SUB) comprising a display area (#DA) and a non-display area (#NDA) that surrounds the display area ([0084]; [0087]; [0090]),
a plurality of pixels (#PXL) in the display area (#DA) of the substrate (#SUB; [0088]);
a pad part (#PD) in the non-display area (#NDA) of the substrate (#SUB), the pad part (#PD) supplied with a selection signal ([0101]; [0105]; [0113]),
a connection line (Fig. 17, i.e., diagonal portion of #LP3 in #SA3) in the non-display area (#NDA) of the substrate (#SUB), the connection line (i.e., diagonal portion of #LP3 in #SA3) extending in a first direction (i.e., diagonal direction) and connected to the pad part (#PD; [0439]; [0443]);
a selection signal pattern (i.e., straight portion of #LP3 in #SA2) in the non-display area (#NDA) of the substrate (#SUB), the selection signal pattern (i.e., straight portion of #LP3 in #SA2) extending in a second direction (i.e., vertical direction) that is different from the first direction (i.e., diagonal direction) and connected to the connection line (i.e., diagonal portion of #LP3 in #SA3); and
a selection signal line (#D1) that extends from the non-display area (#NDA) to the display area (#DA) of the substrate (#SUB), the selection signal (#D1) connected to the selection signal pattern (i.e., straight portion of #LP3 in #SA2) and configured to provide the selection signal, which is supplied from the pad part (#PD), to the plurality of pixels ([0103]; [0113]; [0116]; [0368]; [0439]).
As per claim 5, Park discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the selection signal pattern (i.e., straight portion of #LP3 in #SA2) includes a metallic material ([0172]; [0182]; [0440]).
As per claim 14, Park discloses a display device (Fig. 4, #DD; [0080]) comprising:
a substrate (#SUB) comprising a display area (#DA) and a non-display area (#NDA) that surrounds the display area ([0084]; [0087]; [0090]);
a plurality of pixels (#PXL) in the display area (#DA) of the substrate (#SUB; [0088]);
a pad part (#PD) in the non-display area (#NDA) of the substrate (#SUB), the pad part (#PD) supplied with a selection signal ([0101]; [0105]; [0113]);
a connection line (Fig. 17, i.e., diagonal portion of #LP3 in #SA3) in the non-display area (#NDA) of the substrate (#SUB), the connection line (i.e., diagonal portion of #LP3 in #SA3) extending in a first direction (i.e., diagonal direction) and connected to the pad part (#PD; [0439]; [0443]);
a selection signal pattern (i.e., straight portion of #LP3 in #SA2) in the non-display area (#NDA) of the substrate (#SUB), the selection signal pattern (i.e., straight portion of #LP3 in #SA2) extending in a second direction (i.e., vertical direction) that is different from the first direction (i.e., diagonal direction) and connected to the connection line (i.e., diagonal portion of #LP3 in #SA3); and
a plurality of selection signal lines (#D1-D2) that extends from the non-display area (#NDA) to the display area (#DA) of the substrate (#SUB), the plurality of selection signal lines (#D1-D2) connected to the selection signal pattern (i.e., straight portion of #LP3 in #SA2) and configured to provide the selection signal, which is supplied from the pad part (#PD), to the plurality of pixels ([0103]; [0113]; [0439]),
wherein (Figs. 10 and 17 discloses) the plurality of selection signal lines (#D1-D2) are disposed for each pixel row of the display area (#DA).
As per claim 15, Park discloses the display device of claim 14, wherein the plurality of selection signal lines (#D1-D2) extend in the first direction (i.e., diagonal direction) and the second direction (i.e., straight direction; [0439]; [0443]).
As per claim 19, Park discloses a display device (Fig. 4, #DD; [0080]) comprising:
a display area (#DA) and a non-display area (#NDA) that surrounds the display area ([0084]; [0087]; [0090]);
a plurality of pixels (#PXL) in the display area (#DA; [0088]);
a pad part (#PD) in the non-display area (#NDA), the pad part (#PD) receiving a selection signal ([0101]; [0105]; [0113]);
a selection signal pattern (i.e., straight portion of #LP3 in #SA2) in the non-display area (#NDA) and connected with the pad part ([0101]; [0105]); and
a selection signal line (#D1) connected to the selection signal pattern (i.e., straight portion of #LP3 in #SA2) and the plurality of pixels, the selection signal providing the selection signal to the plurality of pixels ([0103]; [0113]; [0116]; [0368]; [0439]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park.
As per claims 4 and 16, Park discloses the display device of claim 1 (claim 14) except for a width of the selection signal pattern in the first direction is larger than a width of (each of the plurality of) the selection signal line(s). Official Notice is taken that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have a width of the selection signal pattern in the first direction is larger than a width of (each of the plurality of) the selection signal line(s) since a mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled. In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Lee (US 20210142702).
As per claim 12, Park discloses the display device of claim 1.
However, Park does not teach an illumination inspection part in the non-display area, the illumination inspection part connected to the connection line,
wherein the illumination inspection part comprises at least one mode illumination inspection switch configured to provide a mode illumination inspection signal to the connection line in response to an illumination inspection control signal.
Lee teaches an illumination inspection part (Fig. 2, #111) in the non-display area, the illumination inspection part (#111) connected to the connection line (i.e., data line; [0066]-[0067]; [0072]-[0073]),
wherein the illumination inspection part comprises at least one mode illumination inspection switch (#Tr) configured to provide a mode illumination inspection signal to the connection line in response to an illumination inspection control signal ([0072]-[0073]; [0093]-[0104]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the illumination inspection part disclosed by Lee connected to the connection line of Park so as to provide a link line defect detection method which is capable of detecting a defect of a data link line.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Marum (5,500,546).
As per claim 13, Park discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising:
an antistatic part (#ESDP) in the non-display area (#NDA), the antistatic part (#ESDP) connected to the connection line ([0374]),
wherein the antistatic part (Fig. 10, #ESDP) comprises a first antistatic element (#ESDP1) and a second antistatic element (#ESDP2; [0375]).
However, Park does not teach the antistatic part comprises a first antistatic element and a second antistatic element connected in series between a first voltage line to which a first voltage is provided and a second voltage line to which a second voltage lower than the first voltage is provided.
Marum teaches the antistatic part comprises a first antistatic element (Fig. 3, #30) and a second antistatic element (#40) connected in series between a first voltage line (#VCC line) to which a first voltage is provided and a second voltage line (#ground line) to which a second voltage lower than the first voltage is provided (col. 6, line 6-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the antistatic part of Park configured according to Marum so as to provide an improvement in ESD protection.
Conclusion
/Nelson Lam/
Examiner, Art Unit 2627
/KE XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2627