DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Claims
This is the first office action on the merits of Application No. 19/010,859 filed on 01/06/2025. Claims 1-22 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, the claim limitation “an external force” renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear what is an external force and how it is applied. Clarification is required. For the examination purpose, “an external force” has been considered by a force provided by a user.
Similar issue has been observed in claim 22 and can be rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 11-14, 16-18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BATTLOGG (US 20200257369 A1)(hereinafter “BATTLOGG”).
Regarding claim 1, BATTLOGG discloses a control system (e.g. controller 703, fig. 2) for a vehicle (700,figs. 1-2), comprising:
an operator interface (e.g. an operating lever 705, fig. 1, para 28);
a sensing system (734, fig. 1, para 296) configured to detect a variable position of the operator interface (705) and cause a change in operation of the vehicle;
a drive component (702, fig. 2, para 291 ); and
a non-contact coupling component (e.g. magnetorheological fluid (MRF) of brake 702, fig. 1, para 291) coupled to the operator interface (110) and to the drive component (702), wherein the non-contacting coupling component (MRF) exhibits a torque transfer function, (see para 300)
wherein the non-contact coupling component (MRF) is configured to receive a torque from the drive component (702) and, according to the torque transfer function, the non-contact coupling component (MRF) is configured to provide a torque to the operator interface (705) to cause movement of the operator interface, (see para 300) and
wherein the variable position of the operator interface (705) is configured to vary independently from a position of the non-contact coupling component (MRF ). (see para 301)
Regarding claim 2, BATTLOGG discloses the control system of claim 1, wherein the control system (703) is configured that a movement of the operator interface (705) causes a responsive movement in the drive component (702). (see para 293)
Regarding claim 3, BATTLOGG discloses the control system of claim 2, wherein the drive component (705) is configured to provide a torque to the non-contact coupling component (MRF) in response to the movement of the operator interface (705) causing the responsive movement in the drive component (702), such that a feedback torque (e.g. deceleration torque) is received by the operator interface (705). (see paras 297-298)
Regarding claim 5, BATTLOGG discloses the control system of claim 1, wherein the non-contact coupling component (MRF) includes a plurality of magnets (not shown, the magnets of MRF) configured to effect coupling between the operator interface (705) and the drive component (702).
Regarding claim 6, BATTLOGG discloses the control system of claim 1, wherein the non-contact coupling component (MRF) includes a damping fluid (e.g. magnetorheological fluid) configured to effect coupling between the operator interface (705) and the drive component (702).
Regarding claim 7, BATTLOGG discloses the control system of claim 1, wherein the damping fluid comprises a magnetorheological fluid.
Regarding claim 11, BATTLOGG discloses the control system of claim 1, wherein the variable position of the operator interface (705) is configured to vary independently from a position of the non-contact coupling component (MRF) in response to receiving an external force (e.g. force by user hand) at the operator interface.
Regarding claim 12, BATTLOGG discloses a method for controlling (e.g. controller 703, fig. 2) an operator interface (e.g. an operating lever 705, fig. 1, para 288) of a vehicle (700,figs. 1-2), the method comprising:
detecting a variable position (see para 290) of the operator interface (e.g. an operating lever 705, fig. 1, para 290) using a sensing system (734, fig. 1, para 296);
in response to detecting a change in a position of operator interface (705) and cause a change in operation of the vehicle;
receive, at a non-contact coupling component (e.g. magnetorheological fluid (MRF) of brake 702, fig. 1, para 291), a torque from a drive component (702, fig. 2, para 291);
according to a torque transfer function of the non-contact coupling component (e.g. magnetorheological fluid (MRF) of brake 702, fig. 1, para 291), provide, by the non-contacting coupling component (MRF), a torque to the operator interface (705) to cause movement of the operator interface, (see para 300) and
varying the position of the operator interface (705) is configured to vary independently from a position of the non-contact coupling component (MRF ). (see para 301)
Regarding claim 13, BATTLOGG discloses the method of claim 12, , further comprising: moving the operator interface; and in response to moving the operator interface (705), causing a responsive movement in the drive component (702). (see para 293)
Regarding claim 14, BATTLOGG discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising providing, by the drive component (705), a torque to the non-contact coupling component (MRF) in response to moving the operator interface (705) causing the responsive movement in the drive component (702), such that a feedback torque (e.g. deceleration torque) is received by the operator interface (705). (see paras 297-298)
Regarding claim 16, BATTLOGG discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the non-contact coupling component (MRF) includes a plurality of magnets (not shown, the magnets of MRF) configured to effect coupling between the operator interface (705) and the drive component (702).
Regarding claim 17, BATTLOGG discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the non-contact coupling component (MRF) includes a damping fluid (e.g. magnetorheological fluid) configured to effect coupling between the operator interface (705) and the drive component (702).
Regarding claim 18, BATTLOGG discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the damping fluid comprises a magnetorheological fluid.
Regarding claim 22, BATTLOGG discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising varying the position of the operator interface (705) independently from a position of the non-contact coupling component (MRF) in response to receiving an external force (e.g. force by user hand) at the operator interface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8-10, 15, and 19-21 are objected to as been dependent upon a rejected base claims 1 and 12, respectively, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for allowance, if applicable, will be the subject of a separate communication to the Applicant or patent owner, pursuant to 37 CFR § 1.104 and MPEP § 1302.14.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Smith (US 8215467 B2) discloses a vehicle that has a multi-gap magnetorheological fluid (MRF) clutch connecting rotatable input and output members, and includes a drum connected to the output member and a rotor connected to the input member.
Carlson (US 6186290 B1) discloses A magnetorheological brake includes an outer, rotating flywheel member having a hollow interior space, and an inner fixed member disposed in the hollow interior space. The inner fixed member is sized so that a working space is provide between the surfaces of the fixed member and the inner wall of the rotating member. A controllable medium of magnetically permeable metal particles is disposed in the working space. A field generator is mounted in the interior space to the fixed member to selectably generate a field acting on the outer and inner members and the controllable medium in the working space. The rheology change in the medium produced by the field generates resistance to rotation of the outer member about the inner member. A device according to the invention may be used as a flywheel/brake or resistance-generating device in exercise equipment, rotating equipment, such as conveyors, and vehicles.
Conclusion
/F. P/Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/FARHANA PERVIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3655