DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/08/2026 have been fully considered. Applicant’s argument that Elock does not teach amended limitations to independent claims 1, 6 and 10 is persuasive. However, the limitations are not patentable and are addressed in a new rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bareis et al. (US 2021/0025396 A1) hereinafter Breis in view of Tokunaga et al. (US 2022/0128092 A1) hereinafter Tokunaga.
Regarding claim 1, Bareis teaches a pump system comprising: a pump having a housing (6) and a pump outlet (Fig. 1) and that is driven by a rotating shaft (13) (Fig. 1; paras. 0024-0027); and
a mechanical seal assembly coupled to and surrounding the rotating shaft that seals a fluid in a chamber (15) of the pump so that liquid in the chamber exits the pump via the pump outlet, the mechanical seal assembly being disposed in the housing (Fig. 1; para. 0025) and including:
rotating and stationary rings (3, 4) (Fig. 1, paras. 0023) configured so that the rotating ring rotates with the shaft and relative to the stationary ring;
and a drive ring (14), wherein the drive ring encases some or all of the rotating ring and hold the rotating ring in a fixed relationship relative to the rotating shaft (Fig. 1; paras. 0023-0025).
Bareis does not teach the drive ring includes scrolled features on an outer diameter thereof that offset from a rotational axis of the drive ring by and angle.
However, Tokunaga drawn to a pump teaches a sealing assembly comprising a sealing ring (6), the sealing ring including scrolled features (15 and 20) (the scrolled are defined between adjacent grooves (16); (Figs. 2-3), on an outer diameter thereof that are offset from a rotational axis of the sealing ring by an angle (Figs. 2-3; paras. 0027-0030). The scrolled features are defined by grooves which generate dynamic pressure in the sealing assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Bareis by providing scrolled features on the drive ring as taught by in order generate dynamic pressure in the mechanical seal (Tokunaga, para. 0027-0030).
Regarding claim 2, Bareis as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Bareis as modified by Tokunaga further teaches the features are shaped as parallelograms (features 15 in Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3 are parallelogram shape).
Regarding claim 3, Bareis as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 2. Bareis as modified by Tokunaga further teaches adjacent features are separated by grooves (15; Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 4, Bareis as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Bareis as modified by Tokunaga further teaches the features extend beyond a front of the rotating ring drive ring (Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 6, Bareis teaches a mechanical seal assembly configured to be coupled to rotating shaft of a machine, the seal assembly comprising:
rotating and stationary rings (3, 4) (Fig. 1, paras. 0023) configured so that the rotating ring rotates with the shaft and relative to the stationary ring;
and a drive ring (14), wherein the drive ring encases some or all of the rotating ring and hold the rotating ring in a fixed relationship relative to the rotating shaft (Fig. 1; paras. 0023-0025).
Bareis does not teach the drive ring includes scrolled features on an outer diameter thereof that offset from a rotational axis of the drive ring by and angle.
However, Tokunaga drawn to a pump teaches a sealing assembly comprising a sealing ring (6), the sealing ring including scrolled features (15 and 20) (the scrolled are defined between adjacent grooves (16); (Figs. 2-3), on an outer diameter thereof that are offset from a rotational axis of the sealing ring by an angle (Figs. 2-3; paras. 0027-0030). The scrolled features are defined by grooves which generate dynamic pressure in the sealing assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Bareis by providing scrolled features on the drive ring as taught by in order generate dynamic pressure in the mechanical seal (Tokunaga, para. 0027-0030).
Regarding claim 7, Bareis as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 6. Bareis as modified by Tokunaga further teaches the features are shaped as parallelograms (features 15 in Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3 are parallelogram shape).
Regarding claim 8, Bareis as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 6. Bareis as modified by Tokunaga further teaches adjacent features are separated by a trough (15, Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 9, Bareis as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 7. Bareis as modified by Tokunaga further teaches the features extend beyond a front of the rotating ring drive ring (Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 10, Bareis teaches a method of operating pump including a mechanical seal assembly, the method comprising: coupling the mechanical seal assembly to a rotating shaft (13) that drives the pump, wherein the mechanical seal assembly is coupled to shaft so that it surrounds the shaft and seals a fluid in a chamber (15) of the pump so that liquid in the chamber exits the pump via a pump outlet (Fig. 1; paras. 0023-0025), the mechanical seal assembly including:
rotating and stationary rings (3, 4) (Fig. 1; paras. 0023-0025) configured so that the rotating ring rotates with the shaft and relative to the stationary ring; and
and a drive ring (14), wherein the drive ring encases some or all the rotating ring and holds the rotating ring in a fixed relationship relative to the rotating shaft (Fig. 1; paras. 0055 and 0063);
rotating the shaft to cause cooling fluid in a region near the mechanical seal assembly to rotate around the drive ring (Fig. 1; paras. 0023-0025).
Bareis does not teach the drive ring includes scrolled features on an outer diameter thereof that offset from a rotational axis of the drive ring by and angle.
However, Tokunaga drawn to a pump teaches a sealing assembly comprising a sealing ring (6), the sealing ring including scrolled features (15 and 20) (the scrolled are defined between adjacent grooves (16); (Figs. 2-3), on an outer diameter thereof that are offset from a rotational axis of the sealing ring by an angle (Figs. 2-3; paras. 0027-0030). The scrolled features are defined by grooves which generate dynamic pressure in the sealing assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Bareis by providing scrolled features on the drive ring as taught by in order generate dynamic pressure in the mechanical seal (Tokunaga, para. 0027-0030).
Regarding claim 11, Bareis as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Bareis as modified by Tokunaga further teaches the features are shaped as parallelograms (features 15 in Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3 are parallelogram shape).
Regarding claim 12, Bareis as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 10. Bareis as modified by Tokunaga further teaches adjacent features are separated by a trough (15, Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 13, Bareis as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 10. Bareis as modified by Tokunaga further teaches the features extend beyond a front of the rotating ring drive ring (Tokunaga, Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bareis in view of Roddis et al. (US 9,897,213 B2) hereinafter Roddis.
Regarding claim 1 Bareis teaches a pump system comprising: a pump having a housing (6) and a pump outlet (Fig. 1) and that is driven by a rotating shaft (13) (Fig. 1; paras. 0024-0027); and
a mechanical seal assembly coupled to and surrounding the rotating shaft that seals a fluid in a chamber (15) of the pump so that liquid in the chamber exits the pump via the pump outlet, the mechanical seal assembly being disposed in the housing (Fig. 1; para. 0025) and including:
rotating and stationary rings (3, 4) (Fig. 1, paras. 0023) configured so that the rotating ring rotates with the shaft and relative to the stationary ring;
and a drive ring (14), wherein the drive ring encases some or all of the rotating ring and hold the rotating ring in a fixed relationship relative to the rotating shaft (Fig. 1; paras. 0023-0025).
Bareis does not teach the drive ring includes scrolled features on an outer diameter thereof that offset from a rotational axis of the drive ring by and angle.
However, Roddis in the same field teaches a sealing assembly in a pump comprising a drive ring (113, 13) (Figs. 3 and 5), the drive ring including scrolled features (Roddis annotated FIG. 5 below), on an outer diameter thereof that are offset from a rotational axis of the sealing ring by an angle (Roddis, annotated FIG. 5 below). The scrolled features are defined by grooves (16, 15) which cause barrier fluid to flow in the same direction (Col. 6, line 45-Col. 7, line 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Bareis by providing scrolled features on the drive ring as taught by Roddis in order generate dynamic pressure in the mechanical seal (Roddis, Col. 6, line 45-Col. 7, line 3).
Regarding claim 2, Bareis as modified by Roddis teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Bareis as modified by Roddis further teaches the scrolled features are shaped as parallelograms (Roddis, annotated FIG. 5 above).
Regarding claim 3, Bareis as modified by Roddis teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 2. Bareis as modified by Roddis further teaches the adjacent scrolled are separated by trough (Roddis, Col. 6, line 45-Col. 7, line 3; annotated FIG. 5 above).
Regarding claim 6, Bareis teaches a mechanical seal assembly configured to be coupled to rotating shaft of a machine, the seal assembly comprising:
rotating and stationary rings (3, 4) (Fig. 1, paras. 0023) configured so that the rotating ring rotates with the shaft and relative to the stationary ring;
and a drive ring (14), wherein the drive ring encases some or all of the rotating ring and hold the rotating ring in a fixed relationship relative to the rotating shaft (Fig. 1; paras. 0023-0025).
Bareis does not teach the drive ring includes scrolled features on an outer diameter thereof that offset from a rotational axis of the drive ring by and angle.
However, Roddis in the same field teaches a sealing assembly in a pump comprising a drive ring (113, 13) (Figs. 3 and 5), the drive ring including scrolled features (Roddis annotated FIG. 5 above), on an outer diameter thereof that are offset from a rotational axis of the sealing ring by an angle (Roddis, annotated FIG. 5 below). The scrolled features are defined by grooves (16, 15) which cause barrier fluid to flow in the same direction (Col. 6, line 45-Col. 7, line 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Bareis by providing scrolled features on the drive ring as taught by Roddis in order generate dynamic pressure in the mechanical seal (Roddis, Col. 6, line 45-Col. 7, line 3).
Regarding claim 7, Bareis as modified by Roddis teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 6. Bareis as modified by Roddis further teaches the scrolled features are shaped as parallelograms (Roddis, annotated FIG. 5 above).
Regarding claim 8, Bareis as modified by Roddis teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 7. Bareis as modified by Roddis further teaches the adjacent scrolled are separated by trough (Roddis, Col. 6, line 45-Col. 7, line 3; annotated FIG. 5 above).
Regarding claim 10, Bareis teaches a method of operating pump including a mechanical seal assembly, the method comprising: coupling the mechanical seal assembly to a rotating shaft (13) that drives the pump, wherein the mechanical seal assembly is coupled to shaft so that it surrounds the shaft and seals a fluid in a chamber (15) of the pump so that liquid in the chamber exits the pump via a pump outlet (Fig. 1; paras. 0023-0025), the mechanical seal assembly including:
rotating and stationary rings (3, 4) (Fig. 1; paras. 0023-0025) configured so that the rotating ring rotates with the shaft and relative to the stationary ring; and
and a drive ring (14), wherein the drive ring encases some or all the rotating ring and holds the rotating ring in a fixed relationship relative to the rotating shaft (Fig. 1; paras. 0055 and 0063);
rotating the shaft to cause cooling fluid in a region near the mechanical seal assembly to rotate around the drive ring (Fig. 1; paras. 0023-0025).
Bareis does not teach the drive ring includes scrolled features on an outer diameter thereof that offset from a rotational axis of the drive ring by and angle.
However, Roddis in the same field teaches a sealing assembly in a pump comprising a drive ring (113, 13) (Figs. 3 and 5), the drive ring including scrolled features (Roddis annotated FIG. 5 below), on an outer diameter thereof that are offset from a rotational axis of the sealing ring by an angle (Roddis, annotated FIG. 5 below). The scrolled features are defined by grooves (16, 15) which cause barrier fluid to flow in the same direction (Col. 6, line 45-Col. 7, line 3).
Regarding claim 11, Bareis as modified by Roddis teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 10. Bareis as modified by Roddis further teaches the scrolled features are shaped as parallelograms (Roddis, annotated FIG. 5 above).
Regarding claim 12, Bareis as modified by Roddis teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 10. Bareis as modified by Roddis further teaches the adjacent scrolled are separated by trough (Roddis, Col. 6, line 45-Col. 7, line 3; annotated FIG. 5 above).
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Werdecker et al. (US 2021/0207715 A1 A1) hereinafter Werdecker in view of Tokunaga
Regarding claim 1, Werdecker teaches a pump system comprising: a pump having a housing (9) and a pump outlet (Fig. 1) and that is driven by a rotating shaft (8) (Fig. 1; paras. 0024-0027); and
a mechanical seal assembly coupled to and surrounding the rotating shaft that seals a fluid in a chamber (15) of the pump so that liquid in the chamber exits the pump via the pump outlet, the mechanical seal assembly being disposed in the housing (Fig. 1; paras. 0019-0021) and including:
rotating and stationary rings (21, 22) (Fig. 1, paras. 0024-0027) configured so that the rotating ring rotates with the shaft and relative to the stationary ring (Fig. 1, paras. 0024-0027);
and a drive ring (26), wherein the drive ring encases some or all of the rotating ring and hold the rotating ring in a fixed relationship relative to the rotating shaft (Fig. 1; paras. 0024-0027).
Werdecker does not teach the drive ring includes scrolled features on an outer diameter thereof that offset from a rotational axis of the drive ring by and angle.
However, Tokunaga drawn to a pump teaches a sealing assembly comprising a sealing ring (6), the sealing ring including scrolled features (15 and 20) (the scrolled are defined between adjacent grooves (16); (Figs. 2-3), on an outer diameter thereof that are offset from a rotational axis of the sealing ring by an angle (Figs. 2-3; paras. 0027-0030). The scrolled features are defined by grooves which generate dynamic pressure in the sealing assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Werdecker by providing scrolled features on the drive ring as taught by in order generate dynamic pressure in the mechanical seal (Tokunaga, para. 0027-0030).
Regarding claim 2, Werdecker as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Werdecker as modified by Tokunaga further teaches the features are shaped as parallelograms (features 15 in Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3 are parallelogram shape).
Regarding claim 3, Werdecker as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 2. Werdecker as modified by Tokunaga further teaches adjacent features are separated by grooves (15; Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 4, Werdecker as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Werdecker as modified by Tokunaga further teaches the features extend beyond a front of the rotating ring drive ring (Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 5, Werdecker as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Werdecker as modified by Tokunaga further a gland plate coupled to the housing such that it defines a cooling chamber between the housing and the rotating and stationary rings, the gland plate including a flush inlet that is in fluid communication with the chamber (Werdecker, annotated FIG. 1 below).
Regarding claim 6, Werdecker teaches a mechanical seal assembly configured to be coupled to rotating shaft of a machine, the seal assembly comprising:
rotating and stationary rings (21, 22) (Fig. 1, paras. 0024-0027) configured so that the rotating ring rotates with the shaft and relative to the stationary ring (Fig. 1, paras. 0024-0027);
and a drive ring (26), wherein the drive ring encases some or all of the rotating ring and hold the rotating ring in a fixed relationship relative to the rotating shaft (Fig. 1; paras. 0024-0027).
Werdecker does not teach the drive ring includes scrolled features on an outer diameter thereof that offset from a rotational axis of the drive ring by and angle.
However, Tokunaga drawn to a pump teaches a sealing assembly comprising a sealing ring (6), the sealing ring including scrolled features (15 and 20) (the scrolled are defined between adjacent grooves (16); (Figs. 2-3), on an outer diameter thereof that are offset from a rotational axis of the sealing ring by an angle (Figs. 2-3; paras. 0027-0030). The scrolled features are defined by grooves which generate dynamic pressure in the sealing assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Werdecker by providing scrolled features on the drive ring as taught by in order generate dynamic pressure in the mechanical seal (Tokunaga, para. 0027-0030).
Regarding claim 7, Werdecker as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 6. Werdecker as modified by Tokunaga further teaches the features are shaped as parallelograms (features 15 in Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3 are parallelogram shape).
Regarding claim 8, Werdecker as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 6. Werdecker as modified by Tokunaga further teaches adjacent features are separated by a trough (15, Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 9, Werdecker as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 7. Werdecker as modified by Tokunaga further teaches the features extend beyond a front of the rotating ring drive ring (Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 10, Werdecker teaches a method of operating pump including a mechanical seal assembly, the method comprising: coupling the mechanical seal assembly to a rotating shaft (8) that drives the pump, wherein the mechanical seal assembly is coupled to shaft so that it surrounds the shaft and seals a fluid in a chamber (Fig. 1) of the pump so that liquid in the chamber exits the pump via a pump outlet (Fig. 1, paras. 0024-0027), the mechanical seal assembly including:
rotating and stationary rings (21, 22) (Fig. 1, paras. 0024-0027) configured so that the rotating ring rotates with the shaft and relative to the stationary ring (Fig. 1, paras. 0024-0027);
and a drive ring (26), wherein the drive ring encases some or all of the rotating ring and hold the rotating ring in a fixed relationship relative to the rotating shaft (Fig. 1; paras. 0024-0027).
Werdecker does not teach the drive ring includes scrolled features on an outer diameter thereof that offset from a rotational axis of the drive ring by and angle.
However, Tokunaga drawn to a pump teaches a sealing assembly comprising a sealing ring (6), the sealing ring including scrolled features (15 and 20) (the scrolled are defined between adjacent grooves (16); (Figs. 2-3), on an outer diameter thereof that are offset from a rotational axis of the sealing ring by an angle (Figs. 2-3; paras. 0027-0030). The scrolled features are defined by grooves which generate dynamic pressure in the sealing assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Werdecker by providing scrolled features on the drive ring as taught by in order generate dynamic pressure in the mechanical seal (Tokunaga, para. 0027-0030).
Regarding claim 11, Werdecker as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 10. Werdecker as modified by Tokunaga further teaches the features are shaped as parallelograms (features 15 in Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3 are parallelogram shape).
Regarding claim 12, Werdecker as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 10. Wedecker as modified by Tokunaga further teaches adjacent features are separated by a trough (15, Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 13, Werdecker as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 10. Werdecker as modified by Tokunaga further teaches the features extend beyond a front of the rotating ring drive ring (Tokunaga, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Werdecker as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 10. Werdecker as modified by Tokunaga further teaches coupling a gland plate to a housing of the pump such that it defines a cooling chamber between the housing and the rotating and stationary rings; and providing cooling fluid to the region near the seal assembly through a flush inlet in the gland plate (Werdecker, annotated FIG. 1 above).
Conclusion
/MAXIME M ADJAGBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745