DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument is that the drive ring of Takunaga does not teach the amended limitations. Examiners notes that Takunaga is a teaching reference to show that scroll features on a drive ring is known in the art. In Takunaga, the scroll features are defined by elements 20 defined by adjacent grooves (Fig. 3). The primary reference Elcock disclosed the amended limitations; that is the drive ring (115a) surrounds and hold the rotating ring (114) (see. Fig. 1). The combination of reference teaches the amended limitations in claims 1, 6 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elcock et al. (US 2021/0048035 A1) hereinafter Elcock in view of Tokunaga et al. (US 2022/0128092 A1) hereinafter Tokunaga.
Regarding claim 1 Elcock teaches a pump system comprising: a pump having a housing (104) and a pump outlet and that is driven by a rotating shaft (102) (Fig. 1; paras. 0052-0053); and
a mechanical seal assembly coupled to and surrounding the rotating shaft that seals a fluid in a chamber (112) of the pump so that liquid in the chamber exits the pump via the pump outlet, the mechanical seal assembly being disposed in the housing and including:
rotating and stationary rings (114, 116) (Fig. 1, paras. 0061-0062) configured so that the rotating ring rotates with the shaft and relative to the stationary ring;
and a drive ring (115a), wherein the drive ring surrounds and hold the rotating ring in a fixed relationship relative to the rotating shaft (Fig. 1; paras. 0055 and 0063).
Elcock does not teach the drive ring includes scrolled features on an outer diameter thereof that offset from a rotational axis of the drive ring by and angle.
However, Tokunaga drawn to a pump teaches a sealing assembly comprising a sealing ring (6), the sealing ring including scrolled features (15 and 20) (the scrolled are defined between adjacent grooves (16); (Figs. 2-3), on an outer diameter thereof that are offset from a rotational axis of the sealing ring by an angle (Figs. 2-3; paras. 0027-0030). The scrolled features are defined by grooves which generate dynamic pressure in the sealing assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Elcock by providing scrolled features on the drive ring as taught by in order generate dynamic pressure in the mechanical seal (Tokunaga, para. 0027-0030).
Regarding claim 2, Elcock as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Elcock as modified by Tokunaga further teaches the features are shaped as parallelograms (features 15 in Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3 are parallelogram shape).
Regarding claim 3, Elcock as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 2. Elcock as modified by Tokunaga further teaches adjacent features are separated by grooves (15; Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 4, Elcock as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Elcock as modified by Tokunaga further teaches the features extend beyond a front of the rotating ring drive ring (Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 5, Elcock as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Elcock as modified by Tokunaga further teaches a gland plate coupled to the housing such that it defines a cooling chamber (12, Elcock; Fig. 1) between the housing and the rotating and stationary rings, the gland plate including a flush inlet that is in fluid communication with the chamber (Elcock, annotated FIG. 1 below).
Regarding claim 6, Elcock teaches a pump system comprising: a pump having a housing (104) and a pump outlet and that is driven by a rotating shaft (102) (Fig. 1; paras. 0052-0053); and
a mechanical seal assembly configured to be coupled to rotating shaft of a machine, the seal assembly comprising:
rotating and stationary rings (114, 116) (Fig. 1, paras. 0061-0062) configured so that the rotating ring rotates with the shaft and relative to the stationary ring; and a drive ring (115a) wherein the drive ring holds the rotating ring in a fixed relationship relative to the rotating shaft (Fig. 1; paras. 0055 and 0063).
Elcock does not teach the drive ring includes scrolled features on an outer diameter thereof that offset from a rotational axis of the drive ring by and angle.
However, Tokunaga drawn to a pump teaches a sealing assembly comprising a sealing ring (6), the sealing ring including scrolled features (15 and 20) (the scrolled are defined between adjacent grooves (16); (Figs. 2-3), on an outer diameter thereof that are offset from a rotational axis of the sealing ring by an angle (Figs. 2-3; paras. 0027-0030). The scrolled features are defined by grooves which generate dynamic pressure in the sealing assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Elcock by providing scrolled features on the drive ring as taught by in order generate dynamic pressure in the mechanical seal (Tokunaga, para. 0027-0030).
Regarding claim 7, Elcock as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 6. Elcock as modified by Tokunaga further teaches the features are shaped as parallelograms (features 15 in Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3 are parallelogram shape).
Regarding claim 8, Elcock as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 6. Elcock as modified by Tokunaga further teaches adjacent features are separated by a trough (15, Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 9, Elcock as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 7. Elcock as modified by Tokunaga further teaches the features extend beyond a front of the rotating ring drive ring (Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 10, Elcock teaches a method of operating pump including a mechanical seal assembly, the method comprising: coupling the mechanical seal assembly to a rotating shaft (102) that drives the pump, wherein the mechanical seal assembly is coupled to shaft so that it surrounds the shaft and seals a fluid in a chamber of the pump so that liquid in the chamber exits the pump via a pump outlet (Fig. 1; paras. 0052-0053, the mechanical seal assembly including:
rotating and stationary rings (114, 116) (Fig. 1, paras. 0061-0062) configured so that the rotating ring rotates with the shaft and relative to the stationary ring; and
and a drive ring (115a), wherein the drive ring surrounds and hold the rotating ring in a fixed relationship relative to the rotating shaft (Fig. 1; paras. 0055 and 0063);
rotating the shaft to cause cooling fluid in a region near the mechanical seal assembly to rotate around the drive ring (Fig. 1; paras. 0055 and 0063).
Elcock does not teach the drive ring includes scrolled features on an outer diameter thereof that offset from a rotational axis of the drive ring by and angle.
However, Tokunaga drawn to a pump teaches a sealing assembly comprising a sealing ring (6), the sealing ring including scrolled features (15 and 20) (the scrolled are defined between adjacent grooves (16); (Figs. 2-3), on an outer diameter thereof that are offset from a rotational axis of the sealing ring by an angle (Figs. 2-3; paras. 0027-0030). The scrolled features are defined by grooves which generate dynamic pressure in the sealing assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Elcock by providing scrolled features on the drive ring as taught by in order generate dynamic pressure in the mechanical seal (Tokunaga, para. 0027-0030). The modification discloses “rotating the shaft to cause cooling fluid in a region near the mechanical seal assembly to rotate around the drive ring due to the scrolled features”.
Regarding claim 11, Elcock as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Elcock as modified by Tokunaga further teaches the features are shaped as parallelograms (features 15 in Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3 are parallelogram shape).
Regarding claim 12, Elcock as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 10. Elcock as modified by Tokunaga further teaches adjacent features are separated by a trough (15, Tokunaga, Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 13, Elcock as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 10. Elcock as modified by Tokunaga further teaches the features extend beyond a front of the rotating ring drive ring (Tokunaga, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Elcock as modified by Tokunaga teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 10. Elcock as modified by Tokunaga further teaches coupling a gland plate to a housing such that it defines a cooling chamber (12, Elcock; Fig. 1) between the housing and the rotating and stationary rings, the gland plate including a flush inlet that is in fluid communication with the chamber (Elcock, annotated FIG. 1 above).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elcock in view of Roddis et al. (US 9,897,213 B2) hereinafter Roddis.
Regarding claim 1, Elcock teaches a pump system comprising: a pump having a housing (104) and a pump outlet and that is driven by a rotating shaft (102) (Fig. 1; paras. 0052-0053); and
a mechanical seal assembly coupled to and surrounding the rotating shaft that seals a fluid in a chamber (112) of the pump so that liquid in the chamber exits the pump via the pump outlet, the mechanical seal assembly being disposed in the housing and including:
rotating and stationary rings (114, 116) (Fig. 1, paras. 0061-0062) configured so that the rotating ring rotates with the shaft and relative to the stationary ring;
and a drive ring (115a), wherein the drive ring surrounds and hold the rotating ring in a fixed relationship relative to the rotating shaft (Fig. 1; paras. 0055 and 0063).
Elcock does not teach the drive ring includes scrolled features on an outer diameter thereof that offset from a rotational axis of the drive ring by and angle.
However, Roddis in the same field teaches a sealing assembly in a pump comprising a drive ring (113, 13) (Figs. 3 and 5), the drive ring including scrolled features (Roddis annotated FIG. 5 below), on an outer diameter thereof that are offset from a rotational axis of the sealing ring by an angle (Roddis, annotated FIG. 5 below). The scrolled features are defined by grooves (16, 15) which cause barrier fluid to flow in the same direction (Col. 6, line 45-Col. 7, line 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Elcock by providing scrolled features on the drive ring as taught by Roddis in order generate dynamic pressure in the mechanical seal (Roddis, Col. 6, line 45-Col. 7, line 3).
Regarding claim 2, Elcock as modified by Roddis teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Elcock as modified by Roddis further teaches the scrolled features are shaped as parallelograms (Roddis, annotated FIG. 5 above).
Regarding claim 3, Elcock as modified by Roddis teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 2. Elcock as modified by Roddis further teaches the adjacent scrolled are separated by trough (Roddis, Col. 6, line 45-Col. 7, line 3; annotated FIG. 5 above).
Regarding claim 5, Elcock as modified by Roddis teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Elcock as modified by Roddis further teaches a gland plate coupled to the housing such that it defines a cooling chamber (12, Elcock; Fig. 1) between the housing and the rotating and stationary rings, the gland plate including a flush inlet that is in fluid communication with the chamber (Elcock, annotated FIG. 1 above).
Regarding claim 6, Elcock teaches a pump system comprising: a pump having a housing (104) and a pump outlet and that is driven by a rotating shaft (102) (Fig. 1; paras. 0052-0053); and
a mechanical seal assembly configured to be coupled to rotating shaft of a machine, the seal assembly comprising:
rotating and stationary rings (114, 116) (Fig. 1, paras. 0061-0062) configured so that the rotating ring rotates with the shaft and relative to the stationary ring; and a drive ring (115a) wherein the drive ring holds the rotating ring in a fixed relationship relative to the rotating shaft (Fig. 1; paras. 0055 and 0063).
Elcock does not teach the drive ring includes scrolled features on an outer diameter thereof that offset from a rotational axis of the drive ring by and angle.
However, Roddis in the same field teaches a sealing assembly in a pump comprising a drive ring (113, 13) (Figs. 3 and 5), the drive ring including scrolled features (Roddis annotated FIG. 5 below), on an outer diameter thereof that are offset from a rotational axis of the sealing ring by an angle (Roddis, annotated FIG. 5 below). The scrolled features are defined by grooves (16, 15) which cause barrier fluid to flow in the same direction (Col. 6, line 45-Col. 7, line 3).
Regarding claim 7, Elcock as modified by Roddis teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 6. Elcock as modified by Roddis further teaches the scrolled features are shaped as parallelograms (Roddis, annotated FIG. 5 above).
Regarding claim 8, Elcock as modified by Roddis teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 7. Elcock as modified by Roddis further teaches the adjacent scrolled are separated by trough (Roddis, Col. 6, line 45-Col. 7, line 3; annotated FIG. 5 above).
Regarding claim 10, Elcock teaches a method of operating pump including a mechanical seal assembly, the method comprising: coupling the mechanical seal assembly to a rotating shaft (102) that drives the pump, wherein the mechanical seal assembly is coupled to shaft so that it surrounds the shaft and seals a fluid in a chamber of the pump so that liquid in the chamber exits the pump via a pump outlet (Fig. 1; paras. 0052-0053, the mechanical seal assembly including:
rotating and stationary rings (114, 116) (Fig. 1, paras. 0061-0062) configured so that the rotating ring rotates with the shaft and relative to the stationary ring; and
and a drive ring (115a), wherein the drive ring surrounds and hold the rotating ring in a fixed relationship relative to the rotating shaft (Fig. 1; paras. 0055 and 0063);
rotating the shaft to cause cooling fluid in a region near the mechanical seal assembly to rotate around the drive ring (Fig. 1; paras. 0055 and 0063).
Elcock does not teach the drive ring includes scrolled features on an outer diameter thereof that offset from a rotational axis of the drive ring by and angle.
However, Roddis in the same field teaches a sealing assembly in a pump comprising a drive ring (113, 13) (Figs. 3 and 5), the drive ring including scrolled features (Roddis annotated FIG. 5 below), on an outer diameter thereof that are offset from a rotational axis of the sealing ring by an angle (Roddis, annotated FIG. 5 below). The scrolled features are defined by grooves (16, 15) which cause barrier fluid to flow in the same direction (Col. 6, line 45-Col. 7, line 3).
Regarding claim 11, Elcock as modified by Roddis teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 6. Elcock as modified by Roddis further teaches the scrolled features are shaped as parallelograms (Roddis, annotated FIG. 5 above).
Regarding claim 12, Elcock as modified by Roddis teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 7. Elcock as modified by Roddis further teaches the adjacent scrolled are separated by trough (Roddis, Col. 6, line 45-Col. 7, line 3; annotated FIG. 5 above).
Regarding claim 14, Elcock as modified by Roddis teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 10. Elcock as modified by Roddis further teaches coupling a gland plate to a housing such that it defines a cooling chamber (12, Elcock; Fig. 1) between the housing and the rotating and stationary rings, the gland plate including a flush inlet that is in fluid communication with the chamber (Elcock, annotated FIG. 1 above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAXIME M ADJAGBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745