DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The “Related Applications” section should include the patent number of the related application.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haines 10,746,332.
In regard to claim 1, Haines discloses (fig. 8) a conduit coupling device comprising:
a coupler 212, comprising:
a first end and an opposing second end;
the second end defined by an arcuate cutout; and
a cap comprising:
an arcuate shape 232 configured to be approximately coextensive with the arcuate cutout so that a periphery of the cap aligns with a periphery of the arcuate cutout when the cap and the coupler operatively associate; and
a glue ridge (ridge on 232 received in the groove on 212) provided along a periphery of the arcuate shape, wherein the glue ridge is dimensioned to slidably be received in the glue channel when the arcuate shape occupies the arcuate cutout.
In regard to claim 2, further comprising an adhesive channel provided along a periphery of the arcuate cutout (the groove shown on 202 by the hidden lines in fig. 8).
In regard to claim 3, further comprising an adhesive ridge (ridge at the left end of 232 in fig. 8 that is inserted into the groove represented by the hidden lines of 202 in fig. 8) provided along the periphery of the arcuate shape, wherein the adhesive ridge is dimensioned to slidably be received in the adhesive channel when the arcuate shape and the arcuate cutout operatively associate.
In regard to claim 7, further comprising a butt rib disposed along an inner circumferenc of the coupler between the first and second ends (the step from 212 to ball portion of 202, as best seen in fig. 8).
In regard to claim 11, a method of coupling a first and second conduit, the method comprising:
providing the conduit coupling device 212 of claim 3;
adhering the first end to the first conduit; adhering the second end to the second conduit; and sliding the glue ridge into the glue channel (see col. 6, lines 56- col. 7, line 12).
In regard to claim 12, further comprising placing an adhesive in the glue channel prior to sliding the glue ridge therein (see col. 6, lines 56- col. 7, line 12).
Claim(s) 1-3, 7 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Warren 2019/0331267.
In regard to claim 1, Haines discloses a conduit coupling device comprising:
a coupler 103, comprising:
a first end and an opposing second end;
the second end defined by an arcuate cutout 110a; and
a cap 106 comprising:
an arcuate shape 113a configured to be approximately coextensive with the arcuate cutout so that a periphery of the cap aligns with a periphery of the arcuate cutout when the cap and the coupler operatively associate; and
In regard to claim 2, further comprising an adhesive channel (space between surfaces 110b and 110c) provided along the periphery of the arcuate cutout
In regard to claim 3, an adhesive ridge 111 provided along a periphery of the arcuate shape, wherein the adhesive ridge 111 is dimensioned to slidably be received in the adhesive channel (space between surfaces 110b and 110c) when the arcuate shape occupies the arcuate cutout.
In regard to claim 7, further comprising a butt rib 110a disposed along an inner circumference of the coupler between the first and second ends.
In regard to claim 11, a method of coupling a first and second conduit, the method comprising:
providing the conduit coupling device of claim 3;
adhering the first end to the first conduit; adhering the second end to the second conduit; and sliding the glue ridge into the glue channel (see paragraph 32).
In regard to claim 12, further comprising placing an adhesive in the glue channel prior to sliding the glue ridge therein (see paragraph 32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haines 10,746,332.
In regard to claim 4, Haines discloses coupler with a glue channel as described above, but
does not disclose the channel as being tapered. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the glue channel of Haines with a taper because a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warren 2019/0331267 in view of van der Beld.
In regard to claims 8-9, Warren discloses a coupler with two ends for securely connecting
two pipe ends together, but does not disclose the first and second ends of the coupler as being tapered. Van der Beld teaches that supplying a similar type of connector 3 with tapered interiors 6,6’, in order to improve the connection qualities of the coupler, is common and well known in the art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the coupler interiors of Warren to include tapers, as taught by van der Beld.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,203,570. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are claiming similar subject matter.
Conclusion
/DAVID BOCHNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679