DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claims 6-10 be found allowable, claims 16-20 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). The examiner recommends that claims 16-20 be amended to depend from claim 11 instead of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, “the connecting member” lacks antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed claim 4 depends from claim 3, which provides proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 14, “the connecting member” lacks antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed claim 14 depends from claim 13, which provides proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0071632 (Vikinski) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0004199 (Ross).
Regarding claim 1, Vikinski discloses a bone fixation device (106/100/122), comprising: a pair of rings (106a/106b); a plurality of struts (100) interposed between the pair of rings (see Fig. 1C), each of the plurality of struts having an adjustable length (see paragraph [0071]); a first motor configured to adjust a length of a first strut of the plurality of struts (see paragraphs [0071], [0074], [0075], and [0083] and Fig. 1C; each strut 100 comprises an actuator 104 that includes a motor); a second motor configured to adjust a length of a second strut of the plurality of struts (see paragraphs [0071], [0074], [0075], and [0083] and Fig. 1C; each strut 100 comprises an actuator 104 that includes a motor for adjusting a length of a respective strut); and an interface module (122) that is attached to a first ring of the pair of rings (see Fig. 1C and paragraph [0095]), wherein the interface module is configured to be connected to the first motor and the second motor (see paragraphs [0103] and [0116]; interface module sends controlling signals to actuator motor), and the interface module comprising a processor (see paragraph [0091]) configured to: control the first motor to adjust the length of the first strut (see paragraphs [0091], [0093], [0094], [0103]-[0105], and [0116]; interface module 122 may simultaneously control multiple struts 100 to adjust their lengths); and control the second motor to adjust the length of the second strut (see paragraphs [0091], [0093], [0094], [0103]-[0105], and [0116]; interface module 122 may simultaneously control multiple struts 100 to adjust their lengths).
Further regarding claim 1, Vikinski is silent regarding the interface module being removably attachable. However, Ross discloses an external fixation device (50) in which a component (10) with an interface module (see paragraph [0032]) for controlling adjustment of the external fixation device is removably attachable to the device (via fitting 30, see paragraph [0035]). Regarding claim 2, Ross suggests wherein the interface module is configured to be detached from the bone fixation device when a treatment session is over (detached via fitting 30, see paragraph [0035]; see also Abstract, one tool used to adjust multiple struts, thus, must be removable from the struts, including when treatment session is over). Regarding claim 3, Ross suggests further comprising a connecting member (fitting 30, see paragraph [0035]; see also clip, paragraph [0064]), wherein the interface module is attached to and detached from the external fixation device using the connecting member (see paragraphs [0035] and [0064]). Regarding claim 4, Ross discloses wherein the connecting member comprises a clip (see paragraph [0064]). Additionally, it would have been prima facie obvious to make the clip “quick release” in order to allow a user to minimize the time necessary for connecting and releasing the tool/motor from the strut.
Further regarding claims 1-4, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the interface module be removably attachable to the ring of the bone fixation device in order to reduce the number of parts on the bone fixation device worn by the user by having the interface module removable from the device, and/or to allow for an interface module to be usable on multiple bone fixation devices by the having the module removably attachable to each device.
Further regarding claim 1, Vikinski appears to disclose the interface module being electrically connected to the motors (see paragraphs [0103] and [0116]). Alternatively, Ross discloses an external fixator tool (10) wherein an interface module (34/20) is electrically connected to a motor (38) of the strut to control operation of the motor (see paragraph [0013]), and it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the interface module be electrically connected to the motors to allow for the motors to be controlled directly by the interface module (see Ross, paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 11, Vikinski discloses a bone fixation device (106/100/122), comprising: a pair of rings (106a/106b); a plurality of struts (100) interposed between the pair of rings (see Fig. 1C), each of the plurality of struts having an adjustable length (see paragraph [0071]); an interface module (122) that is attached to one of the pair of rings (see Fig. 1C and paragraph [0095]), wherein the interface module is configured to be connected to the first motor and the second motor (see paragraphs [0071], [0074], [0075], [0083], [0103] and [0116] and Fig. 1C; each strut 100 comprises an actuator 104 that includes a motor and the interface module sends controlling signals to the actuator motors), and the interface module comprising a processor (see paragraph [0091]) configured to: control the first motor to adjust a length of a first strut of the plurality of struts (see paragraphs [0091], [0093], [0094], [0103]-[0105], and [0116]; interface module 122 may simultaneously control multiple struts 100 to adjust their lengths); and control the second motor to adjust a length of a second strut of the plurality of struts (see paragraphs [0091], [0093], [0094], [0103]-[0105], and [0116]; interface module 122 may simultaneously control multiple struts 100 to adjust their lengths).
Further regarding claim 11, Vikinski is silent regarding the interface module being removably attachable. However, Ross discloses an external fixation device (50) in which a component (10) with an interface module (see paragraph [0032]) for controlling adjustment of the external fixation device is removably attachable to the device (via fitting 30, see paragraph [0035]). Regarding claim 12, Ross suggests wherein the interface module is configured to be detached from the bone fixation device when a treatment session is over (detached via fitting 30, see paragraph [0035]; see also Abstract, one tool used to adjust multiple struts, thus, must be removable from the struts, including when treatment session is over). Regarding claim 13, Ross suggests further comprising a connecting member (fitting 30, see paragraph [0035]; see also clip, paragraph [0064]), wherein the interface module is attached to and detached from the external fixation device using the connecting member (see paragraphs [0035] and [0064]). Regarding claim 14, Ross discloses wherein the connecting member comprises a clip (see paragraph [0064]). Additionally, it would have been prima facie obvious to make the clip “quick release” in order to allow a user to minimize the time necessary for connecting and releasing the tool/motor from the strut.
Further regarding claims 11-14, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the interface module be removably attachable to the ring of the bone fixation device in order to reduce the number of parts on the bone fixation device worn by the user by having the interface module removable from the device, and/or to allow for an interface module to be usable on multiple bone fixation devices by the having the module removably attachable to each device.
Further regarding claim 11, Vikinski appears to disclose the interface module being electrically connected to the motors (see paragraphs [0103] and [0116]). Alternatively, Ross discloses an external fixator tool (10) wherein an interface module (34/20) is electrically connected to a motor (38) of the strut to control operation of the motor (see paragraph [0013]), and it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the interface module be electrically connected to the motors to allow for the motors to be controlled directly by the interface module (see Ross, paragraph [0013]).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vikinski in view of Ross, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,180,380 (Pursley).
Regarding claim 5, Vikinski discloses that the interface module (122) uses wired or wireless means for communicating with an external controlling device, and it would be prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the interface module to use wired or wireless connecting members to connect to each of the first and second motors in order to allow for communication between the controller and the motors to enable the controller to simultaneously control multiple strut motors (see Vikinski, paragraphs [0094] and [0096]).
Further regarding claim 5, Vikinski is silent regarding the processor being further configured to generate an indication when the first or second connector is connected to the wrong motor. However, Pursley discloses a motorized orthopaedic system (see Abstract), wherein the system generates an indication if a motor is not functioning properly according to a controller’s instructions (see col. 6, lines 28-48). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Vikinski such that the processor is configured to generate an indication when a connector is connected to the wrong motor as Pursley suggests providing a notification to prevent a motor from operating improperly according to a controller’s instructions (see Pursley, col. 6, lines 28-48).
Claims 6, 9, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vikinski in view of Ross, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0010576 (Skelton).
Regarding claims 6, 9, 16, and 19, Vikinski is silent regarding wherein the processor is further configured to receive a treatment session delay request from a user of the bone fixation device (claims 6 and 16); wherein the processor is further configured to receive an indication from a user of the bone fixation device that indicates to postpone a treatment session (claims 9 and 19). However, Skelton discloses a system for delivering therapy from a medical device wherein the system is configured to receive a request/indication from a user to pause treatment (see paragraphs [0240] and [0250]). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the processor of Vikinski to be configured to receive a request/indication from a user to delay/postpone treatment as suggested by Skelton as the user may feel it is not safe or appropriate for the system to provide a treatment session, and accordingly would want a mechanism to prevent the treatment session from occurring.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vikinski in view of Ross, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0052782 (Morgan).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Vikinski is silent regarding wherein the processor is further configured to determine if one or more measured parameters remain within a treatment safety boundary. However, Morgan discloses an orthopedic implant (10) wherein the implant includes a sensor (50) that detects a parameter regarding a user's body adjacent the implant, wherein the sensor detects a body temperature (see paragraph [0032]), wherein, if the body temperature exceeds a predetermined value, a processor (100) is configured to send an inflammation alert to one or more of a user of the implant and a physician treating the user (see paragraphs [0037] and [0045]); and wherein the processor is further configured to compare the determined parameter to a stored range of values, and if the determined parameter is not within the range of values, the processor is configured to send an alert to one or more of the user of the bone fixation device and a physician treating the user (see paragraphs [0037] and [0045]). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Vikinski to have a temperature sensor and a processor configured to send an alert for a an out of boundary temperature fever or infection (i.e., a type of inflammation) as suggested by Morgan in order to alert the user and/or doctor that the patient’s body may not be tolerating the bone fixation device well and needs medical attention.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vikinski in view of Ross, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2007/0043310 (Trandafir) or U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0150026 (Bourget).
Regarding claims 8 or 18, Vikinski is silent regarding wherein the processor is further configured to send a recommended body posture to a user of the bone fixation device. However, Trandafir discloses a system for delivering therapy to a patient that involves a processor configured to send a recommended body posture to the user in order for the therapy to be delivered effectively (see paragraphs [0025], [0048], [0055], and [0064]). Additionally, Bourget discloses a system for delivering treatment to a patient in which a processor is configured to recommend the user to assume a certain body posture in order to diagnose a problem that caused a therapy shutdown (see Bourget, paragraph [0073]). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Vikinski to send a recommended body posture to a user of the bone fixation device in order to allow the patient to be best positioned to receive effective treatment, or to allow the system to diagnose a problem that caused a problematic therapeutic treatment session.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vikinski in view of Ross, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0051779 (Mackenzie).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Vikinski is silent regarding wherein the interface module comprises a force sensor that measures a force applied by one or more of the first motor or the second motor. However, Mackenzie discloses a bone lengthening system (see Abstract) wherein the system comprises a force sensor that measures a force applied by a motorized distractor (see paragraphs [0005], [0007], and [0027]). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Vikinski to have the interface module comprises a force sensor that measures a force applied by the motor in order to allow the motor to be disabled if a predetermined threshold of force is reached, thus maintaining the safety of the patient (see Mackenzie, paragraph [0005]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,220,250 (Cohen).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claims include the subject matter of the application claims, plus additional features. Thus, the invention of the patent claims is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the application claims are anticipated by the patent claims, they are not patentably distinct from the patent claims.
Claims 1 and 11 are each anticipated by claim 1 of Cohen.
Claims 1 and 11 are each anticipated by claim 6 of Cohen.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J PLIONIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773