DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the inner and outer layers of the base (claim 5 and 7) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 8, 11, 14, 15, 18, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 6, change “pane” to --panel--;
Claim 3, line 2, change “pane” to --panel--;
Claim 8, line 4, change first recitation of “a” to --the--;
Claim 11, line 6, change “pane” to --panel--;
Claim 14, line 2, change “pane” to --panel--;
Claim 15, line 4, change first recitation of “a” to --the--;
Claim 18, line 6, change “pane” to --panel--;
Claim 18, line 14, change first recitation of “a” to --the--; and
Claim 19, line 4, change “pane” to --panel--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is rejected as being incomplete for failing to recite sufficient structural cooperation between the base and the lid flap to enable the claimed function of “operates as a locking mechanism”.
The following change would receive favorable consideration:
Claim 4. (proposed) The rental casket insert of claim 1, wherein the base further includes a first aperture disposed on the interior surface of the base, and wherein the lid includes a flap that is coupled to a lower portion of the lid and extends upward, such that when the lid is inserted in the base, the flap is received by the first aperture and operates as a locking mechanism to removably secure the lid to the base.
See claim 11, lines 10-13, for the same indefinite language as discussed above with respect to claim 4.
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as they depend from rejected claim 11.
It is unclear if the “plurality of flaps” recited in claims 16 and 17, line 2, is referencing and/or includes the “flap” previously recited in claim 11, line 11.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cox et al. (US#9427369).
Regarding claim 1, Cox discloses a casket comprising: a base 12 (col. 3, lines 32-38) for receiving a deceased onto an interior surface that includes a lower panel 16, a first base end panel 19, a second base end panel 19, a first base side panel 18, and a second base side panel 18, wherein the base is configured is defined by a base length, a base width, and a base height (col. 3, lines 32-38); and a lid 22 for engaging with the interior surface of the base (Fig. 1) that includes an upper panel 24, a first lid end panel 30, a second lid end panel 32, a first lid side panel 26 and a second lid side panel 28, wherein the lid is defined by a lid length, a lid width, and a lid height, wherein the lid height is greater than the base height (Fig. 1), and wherein the lid includes at least one “detachable” (capable of being detached) portion 34, wherein the at least one detachable portion 34 is configured as a perforated (via slit scored fold lines 110, 118, and 120 defining perforations, see Fig. 4) section “for removal” (portion 34 capable of being removed from the lid 22 at slit score fold line 110) to “allow” (not prevent) at least partial coupling of the lid with the base when the deceased is disposed in the base against the interior surface.
Regarding claim 1, the casket of Cox includes all of the structure of claim 1 and is thus being viewed and labeled as a “rental casket insert” as it meets the applicant’s claim definition thereof. Where there is physical identity between the subject matter of the claims and the prior art, the label given to the claimed subject matter does not distinguish the invention over the prior art. In re Pearson, 494 F.2d 1399, 1403, 181 USPQ 641, 644 (CCPA 1974); In re Lemin, 326 F.2d 437, 140 USPQ 273 (CCPA 1964). Further, a rental casket is not being claimed and the casket of Cox is capable of being inserted into a rental casket.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the at least one detachable portion is configured as a plurality of concentric perforated sections 44, 42, and 46, see Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 3, wherein the at least one detachable portion is disposed along the first lid side panel 26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cox et al. (US#9427369) in view of Garvin (US#12171697).
Regarding claim 4, Cox fails to disclose discloses wherein the base further includes a first aperture disposed on the interior surface of the base, and wherein the lid includes a flap that is coupled to a lower portion of the lid and extends upward, such that when the lid is inserted in the base, the flap operates as a locking mechanism to removably secure the lid to the base. However, as evidenced by Garvin, such a locking mechanism is known in the analogous art, see casket base 12 which includes a first aperture 28 (handle opening) disposed on the interior surface of the base (Fig. 2), and wherein casket lid 14 includes a flap 11 that is coupled to a lower portion 60 of the lid (Fig. 5) and extends upward (has a height dimension), such that when the lid is inserted in the base, the flap operates as a locking mechanism to removably secure the lid to the base (col. 4, lines 10-20). Therefore, as evidenced by Garvin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cox by including a first aperture disposed on the interior surface of the base, and wherein the lid includes a flap that is coupled to a lower portion of the lid and extends upward, such that when the lid is inserted in the base, the flap operates as a locking mechanism to removably secure the lid to the base. The rational for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is the proposed combination is based upon combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Moreover, all the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yield nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143 and KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)). The inclusion of the above locking mechanism would enhance the security of the deceased by preventing unintentional removal of the lid from the casket.
Regarding claim 11, Cox discloses a casket comprising: a base 12 (col. 3, lines 32-38) for receiving a deceased onto an interior surface that includes a lower panel 16, a first base end panel 19, a second base end panel 19, a first base side panel 18, and a second base side panel 18, wherein the base is configured is defined by a base length, a base width, and a base height (col. 3, lines 32-38); and a lid 22 for engaging with the interior surface of the base (Fig. 1) that includes an upper panel 24, a first lid end panel 30, a second lid end panel 32, a first lid side panel 26 and a second lid side panel 28, wherein the lid is defined by a lid length, a lid width, and a lid height, and wherein the lid includes at least one “detachable” (capable of being detached) portion 34, wherein the at least one detachable portion 34 is configured as a perforated (via slit scored fold lines 110, 118, and 120 defining perforations, see Fig. 4) section “for removal” (portion 34 capable of being removed from the lid 22 at slit score fold line 110) to “allow” (not prevent) at least partial coupling of the lid with the base when the deceased is disposed in the base against the interior surface.
Regarding claim 11, the casket of Cox includes all of the structure of claim 1 and is thus being viewed and labeled as a “rental casket insert” as it meets the applicant’s claim definition thereof. Where there is physical identity between the subject matter of the claims and the prior art, the label given to the claimed subject matter does not distinguish the invention over the prior art. In re Pearson, 494 F.2d 1399, 1403, 181 USPQ 641, 644 (CCPA 1974); In re Lemin, 326 F.2d 437, 140 USPQ 273 (CCPA 1964). Further, a rental casket is not being claimed and the casket of Cox is capable of being inserted into a rental casket.
Regarding claim 11, Cox fails to disclose discloses wherein the base further includes a first aperture disposed on the interior surface of the base, and wherein the lid includes a flap that is coupled to a lower portion of the lid and extends upward, such that when the lid is inserted in the base, the flap operates as a locking mechanism to removably secure the lid to the base. However, as evidenced by Garvin, such a locking mechanism is known in the analogous art, see casket base 12 which includes a first aperture 28 (handle opening) disposed on the interior surface of the base (Fig. 2), and wherein casket lid 14 includes a flap 11 that is coupled to a lower portion 60 of the lid (Fig. 5) and extends upward (has a height dimension), such that when the lid is inserted in the base, the flap operates as a locking mechanism to removably secure the lid to the base (col. 4, lines 10-20). Therefore, as evidenced by Garvin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cox by including a first aperture disposed on the interior surface of the base, and wherein the lid includes a flap that is coupled to a lower portion of the lid and extends upward, such that when the lid is inserted in the base, the flap operates as a locking mechanism to removably secure the lid to the base. The rational for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is the proposed combination is based upon combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Moreover, all the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yield nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143 and KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)). The inclusion of the above locking mechanism would enhance the security of the deceased by preventing unintentional removal of the lid from the casket.
Regarding claim 12, Cox discloses wherein the lid height is greater than the base height (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Cox discloses wherein the at least one detachable portion is configured as a plurality of concentric perforated sections 44, 42, and 46, see Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 14, Cox discloses wherein the at least one detachable portion is disposed along the first lid side panel 26.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cox et al. (US#9427369) in view of Davis et al. (US#2011/0000059).
Regarding claim 5, although Cox discloses wherein the base further includes a handling aperture 13 disposed on the base 12 for aiding in a human moving the casket (Fig. 1), Cox fails to disclose wherein the casket base includes an inner layer that defines the interior surface and an outer layer. However, as evidenced by Davis, such a base configuration is known in the analogous art, see Figs. 6-8 and casket base 112 including an inner layer 132 that defines the interior surface and an outer layer 200, wherein the base further includes a handling aperture 128 disposed on the outer layer of the base for aiding in a human moving the casket 100. Therefore, as evidenced by Davis, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill it the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cox such that the base includes an inner layer that defines the interior surface and an outer layer, wherein the base further includes a handling aperture disposed on the outer layer of the base for aiding in a human moving the casket. The rational for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is the proposed combination is based upon combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Moreover, all the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yield nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143 and KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)). The inclusion of the base including an inner layer that defines the interior surface and an outer layer, wherein the base further includes a handling aperture disposed on the outer layer of the base for aiding in a human moving the casket, would deter fluid leakage from the casket and facilitate manual movement thereof.
Regarding claim 6, Cox discloses the handling aperture is disposed along at least one of base side panels.
Regarding claim 7, Davis teaches the inner layer is configured as a fluid impermeable layer ([0031], leak resistant liner).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, Cox discloses wherein the lid further includes a first plurality of lid extension panels 34 and 40 coupled to the first lid side panel 26, but not permanently attached to the first lid end panel 30 and a second plurality of lid extension panels 36 and 38 coupled to the second lid side 28 panel but not permanently attached to a second lid end panel 32, and wherein the first lid end panel includes (defines) a first center end panel 30 and the second lid end panel includes (defines) a second center end panel 32. However, for Cox to meet the current limitations of claim 1, one of these four extension panels 34, 40, 36, 38 is required to correspond to the claimed “detachable portion”. Consequently, only one of the first lid side panel or the second lid side panel can include a plurality of lid extension panels.
Claims 15 and 18 both include the allowable subject matter discussed above with respect to claim 8.
It is noted Davis et al. (US#2011/0000059) discloses in Fig. 8C a casket wherein the lid 114 has a “removed” section along the lower edge of its side wall for insertion into the base 112, see [0030].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
WILLIAM L. MILLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/WILLIAM L MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677