DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 11, 15, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, it is unclear what “the request for deleting the third association” is referring to since claim 10 recites “the fourth request message is used for requesting…to delete the third association” and claim 11 recites “the third request message is used for requesting to delete the third association”.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the first communication device" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 18, it is unclear what “the steps” in line 3 is referring since claim 10 only recite a single step (i.e., deleting, by a second communication device, a third association).
Regarding claim 19, it is unclear what “the steps” in line 3 is referring since claim 12 only recite a single step (i.e., performing, by a third communication device, a second operation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, 14-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20250310837 by Iniesta Gonzalez et al. (hereinafter Gonzalez).
Regarding claim 1, Gonzalez teaches an information processing method, comprising:
obtaining, by a first communication device, a request message (¶ 78, A method performed by a policy control function (PCF)…The method comprises receiving by the UE-PCF from an Access Mobility Function (AMF) in a first system a request to delete the UE policy association it has previously established with the UE-PCF);
and performing, by the first communication device based on the request message, a first operation corresponding to an association (¶ 78, A method performed by a policy control function (PCF)…The method comprises receiving by the UE-PCF from an Access Mobility Function (AMF) in a first system a request to delete the UE policy association it has previously established with the UE-PCF; ¶ 144, when the AMF initiates the deletion of the UE policy association…so the PCF may delay the removal of the ongoing UE Policy Association),
wherein the request message comprises at least one of the following: a first request message related to a first association; a second request message related to a second association; or a third request message related to a third association (¶ 78, A method performed by a policy control function (PCF)…The method comprises receiving by the UE-PCF from an Access Mobility Function (AMF) in a first system a request to delete the UE policy association it has previously established with the UE-PCF),
wherein the first association is established before a terminal returns from a first network to a second network, and is used for obtaining terminal policy information in the second network; the second association is established after the terminal returns from the first network to the second network, and is used for obtaining terminal policy information in the second network; and the third association is established before the terminal returns from the first network to the second network (¶ 78, receiving by the UE-PCF from an Access Mobility Function (AMF) in a first system a request to delete the UE policy association it has previously established with the UE-PCF (e.g., at UE Registration in 5GS). The request to delete the association includes first information indicating the UE has moved from the first system to a second system; ¶ 204, UE moves back…from EPS to 5GS; ¶ 75, embodiments henceforth are described using 5GS as a first system and EPS and a second system…However, it will be understood to a person skilled in the art that the first and second system could be any other systems; ¶ 116, 5GS consists of a 5G core network (5GC) a (R) AN and UE(s); ¶ 74, EPS and EPC are used interchangeably henceforth acknowledging that an EPS includes an EPC and the EUTRAN), and is used for obtaining terminal policy information in the first network (¶ 192, one or more UE policy associations established for the UE when in the first system; ¶ 4, UE policy information (UE policies) during UE Policy Association Establishment; ¶ 143, UE policies available at the UE from the former UE Policy Association for this UE which was established when the UE was in 5GS; ¶ 145, obtain the UE policies…from the ongoing UE Policy Association established for 5GS; ¶ 148, get the UE policies…from the former UE Policy Association in 5GS; ¶ 201, get the UE policies (list of PSIs)…from the former UE Policy Association in 5GS);
and the first network and the second network are networks with different access modes (¶ 78, UE has moved from the first system to a second system; ¶ 204, UE moves back…from EPS to 5GS; ¶ 75, embodiments henceforth are described using 5GS as a first system and EPS and a second system…However, it will be understood to a person skilled in the art that the first and second system could be any other systems).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez’s teachings with Gonzalez’s one or more embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing a solution for providing UE policies updates to a UE when the UE moves from a first system to a second system (¶ 75).
Regarding claim 2, Gonzalez the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that the request message comprises the third request message, the first operation comprises at least one of the following: deleting the third association (Gonzalez 78, A method performed by a policy control function (PCF)…The method comprises receiving by the UE-PCF from an Access Mobility Function (AMF) in a first system a request to delete the UE policy association it has previously established with the UE-PCF; ¶ 144, when the AMF initiates the deletion of the UE policy association…so the PCF may delay the removal of the ongoing UE Policy Association; ¶ 162, If the UE policy information associated with the former UE Policy Association is not yet deleted, the UE-PCF 210B can now delete it); or, sending a second response message, wherein the second response message is used for returning a result for a request for deleting the third association.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez’s teachings with Gonzalez’s one or more embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing a solution for providing UE policies updates to a UE when the UE moves from a first system to a second system (¶ 75).
Regarding claim 3, Gonzalez teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that the request message comprises the first request message, the first operation comprises at least one of the following: setting the first association to an active state; accepting establishment or modification of the first association; deleting the first association, or setting the first association to an inactive state; sending a fourth request message, wherein the fourth request message is used for requesting a second communication device to delete the third association, or set the third association to an inactive state; or sending a first response message, wherein the first response message is used for returning a result for a request for deleting the first association (given non-patentable weight since this claim further limits a non-chosen alternative of claim 1 and/or recite contingent limitation(s) that is/are not required to be met. See MPEP 2111.04(II) for more information).
Regarding claim 4, Gonzalez teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that the request message comprises the second request message, the first operation comprises at least one of the following: setting an established second association to an active state; accepting establishment or modification of the second association; or sending a fourth request message, wherein the fourth request message is used for requesting a second communication device to delete the third association, or set the third association to an inactive state (given non-patentable weight since this claim further limits a non-chosen alternative of claim 1 and/or recite contingent limitation(s) that is/are not required to be met. See MPEP 2111.04(II) for more information).
Regarding claim 5, Gonzalez teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the performing a first operation corresponding to an association comprises: if the first communication device is the same as a fifth communication device and a third communication device associated with the first communication device remains the same before and after the terminal returns from the first network to the second network, performing, by the first communication device, at least one of the following: setting the first association to an active state, and/or accepting establishment or modification of the first association; or sending a fourth request message, wherein the fourth request message is used for requesting a second communication device to delete the third association, or set the third association to an inactive state, wherein the first communication device is a device used before the terminal returns from the first network to the second network, and the fifth communication device is a device used after the terminal returns from the first network to the second network (given non-patentable weight since this claim recite contingent limitation(s) that is/are not required to be met. See MPEP 2111.04(II) for more information).
Regarding claim 6, Gonzalez teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the performing a first operation corresponding to an association comprises: if the first communication device is the same as a fifth communication device and a third communication device associated with the first communication device varies before and after the terminal returns from the first network to the second network, performing, by the first communication device, at least one of the following: deleting the first association, or setting the first association to an inactive state; setting an established second association to an active state, and/or accepting establishment or modification of the second association; or sending a fourth request message, wherein the fourth request message is used for requesting a second communication device to delete the third association, or set the third association to an inactive state, wherein the first communication device is a device used before the terminal returns from the first network to the second network, and the fifth communication device is a device used after the terminal returns from the first network to the second network (given non-patentable weight since this claim recite contingent limitation(s) that is/are not required to be met. See MPEP 2111.04(II) for more information).
Regarding claim 7, Gonzalez teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the performing a first operation corresponding to an association comprises: if the first communication device is different from a sixth communication device, performing, by the first communication device, at least one of the following: deleting the first association, or setting the first association to an inactive state; or sending a fourth request message, wherein the fourth request message is used for requesting a second communication device to delete the third association, or set the third association to an inactive state, wherein the first communication device is a device used before the terminal returns from the first network to the second network, and the sixth communication device is a device used after the terminal returns from the first network to the second network (given non-patentable weight since this claim recite contingent limitation(s) that is/are not required to be met. See MPEP 2111.04(II) for more information).
Regarding claim 8, Gonzalez teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the performing a first operation corresponding to an association comprises: if the first communication device is different from a seventh communication device, performing, by the first communication device, the following content: setting an established second association to an active state, and/or accepting establishment or modification of the second association, wherein the first communication device is a device used after the terminal returns from the first network to the second network, and the seventh communication device is a device used before the terminal returns from the first network to the second network (given non-patentable weight since this claim recite contingent limitation(s) that is/are not required to be met. See MPEP 2111.04(II) for more information).
Regarding claim 9, Gonzalez teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein a first terminal policy information identifier used before the terminal returns from the first network to the second network is the same as a second terminal policy information identifier used after the terminal returns from the first network to the second network (Gonzalez ¶ 22, UE shall update the stored UE policy information with the one provided by the PCF as follows; ¶ 24, If the UE has an existing Policy Section with the same PSI, the UE replaces the stored Policy Section with the received information; ¶ 8, PCF includes the UE policy information delivered to the UE into a Policy Section identified by a Policy Section Identifier (PSI). The PCF may divide the UE policy information into different Policy Sections, each one identified by a PSI. Each Policy Section provides a list of self-contained UE policy information to the UE; abstract, a UE determining whether UE policies should be updated at the UE when the UE moves from a first system to a second system; ¶ 78, UE has moved from the first system to a second system; ¶ 204, UE moves back…from EPS to 5GS; ¶ 75, embodiments henceforth are described using 5GS as a first system and EPS and a second system…However, it will be understood to a person skilled in the art that the first and second system could be any other systems; ¶ 116, 5GS consists of a 5G core network (5GC) a (R) AN and UE(s); ¶ 74, EPS and EPC are used interchangeably henceforth acknowledging that an EPS includes an EPC and the EUTRAN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez’s teachings with Gonzalez’s one or more embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing a solution for providing UE policies updates to a UE when the UE moves from a first system to a second system (¶ 75).
Regarding claim 10, Gonzaelz teaches an information processing method, comprising:
in a case that a first condition is met, deleting, by a second communication device, a third association (¶ 78, A method performed by a policy control function (PCF)…The method comprises receiving by the UE-PCF from an Access Mobility Function (AMF) in a first system a request to delete the UE policy association it has previously established with the UE-PCF…The request to delete the association includes first information indicating the UE has moved from the first system to a second system; ¶ 144, when the AMF initiates the deletion of the UE policy association…so the PCF may delay the removal of the ongoing UE Policy Association. Examiner correspond the AMF to the second communication device),
wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: a terminal returns from a first network to a second network (¶ 78, A method performed by a policy control function (PCF)…The method comprises receiving by the UE-PCF from an Access Mobility Function (AMF) in a first system a request to delete the UE policy association it has previously established with the UE-PCF…The request to delete the association includes first information indicating the UE has moved from the first system to a second system; ¶ 204, UE moves back…from EPS to 5GS; ¶ 75, embodiments henceforth are described using 5GS as a first system and EPS and a second system…However, it will be understood to a person skilled in the art that the first and second system could be any other systems; ¶ 116, 5GS consists of a 5G core network (5GC) a (R) AN and UE(s); ¶ 74, EPS and EPC are used interchangeably henceforth acknowledging that an EPS includes an EPC and the EUTRAN); a third communication device triggers a session establishment procedure; the third communication device triggers a session modification procedure; a session context setup request is obtained; first indication information is received, wherein the first indication information is used for indicating the terminal to perform an N26 interface-based handover procedure; a fourth request message is received, wherein the fourth request message is used for requesting the second communication device to delete the third association, or set the third association to an inactive state; or first notification information is received, wherein the first notification information is used for indicating the second communication device to delete the third association, or set the third association to an inactive state,
wherein the third association is established before the terminal returns from the first network to the second network (¶ 78, receiving by the UE-PCF from an Access Mobility Function (AMF) in a first system a request to delete the UE policy association it has previously established with the UE-PCF (e.g., at UE Registration in 5GS). The request to delete the association includes first information indicating the UE has moved from the first system to a second system; ¶ 204, UE moves back…from EPS to 5GS; ¶ 75, embodiments henceforth are described using 5GS as a first system and EPS and a second system…However, it will be understood to a person skilled in the art that the first and second system could be any other systems; ¶ 116, 5GS consists of a 5G core network (5GC) a (R) AN and UE(s); ¶ 74, EPS and EPC are used interchangeably henceforth acknowledging that an EPS includes an EPC and the EUTRAN), and is used for obtaining terminal policy information in the first network (¶ 192, one or more UE policy associations established for the UE when in the first system; ¶ 4, UE policy information (UE policies) during UE Policy Association Establishment; ¶ 143, UE policies available at the UE from the former UE Policy Association for this UE which was established when the UE was in 5GS; ¶ 145, obtain the UE policies…from the ongoing UE Policy Association established for 5GS; ¶ 148, get the UE policies…from the former UE Policy Association in 5GS; ¶ 201, get the UE policies (list of PSIs)…from the former UE Policy Association in 5GS),
and the first network and the second network are networks with different access modes (¶ 78, UE has moved from the first system to a second system; ¶ 204, UE moves back…from EPS to 5GS; ¶ 75, embodiments henceforth are described using 5GS as a first system and EPS and a second system…However, it will be understood to a person skilled in the art that the first and second system could be any other systems).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez’s teachings with Gonzalez’s one or more embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing a solution for providing UE policies updates to a UE when the UE moves from a first system to a second system (¶ 75).
Regarding claim 11, Gonzalez teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein the deleting a third association comprises: sending, by the second communication device, a third request message to a first communication device, wherein the third request message is used for requesting to delete the third association (¶ 78, A method performed by a policy control function (PCF)…The method comprises receiving by the UE-PCF from an Access Mobility Function (AMF) in a first system a request to delete the UE policy association it has previously established with the UE-PCF); and receiving, by the second communication device, a second response message sent by the first communication device, wherein the second response message is used for returning a result for the request for deleting the third association (¶ 153, after the UE-PCF 210B responds to the AMF 200; fig. 5, step 4, UE-PCF 210B sends Npcf_UEPolicyControl_Delete Resp to AMF 200).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez’s teachings with Gonzalez’s one or more embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing a solution for providing UE policies updates to a UE when the UE moves from a first system to a second system (¶ 75).
Regarding claim 12, Gonzalez teaches an information processing method, comprising:
performing, by a third communication device, a second operation, wherein the second operation comprises at least one of the following: sending a first request message, wherein the first request message is used for requesting at least one of the following: restoring a first association from an inactive state to an active state, or establishing or modifying a first association; sending a second request message, wherein the second request message is used for requesting to establish or modify a second association; sending a third request message, wherein the third request message is used for requesting to delete a third association; or sending second notification information, wherein the second notification information is used for indicating at least one of the following: a terminal has registered with a second network or deleted the first association (¶ 78, A method performed by a policy control function (PCF)…The method comprises receiving by the UE-PCF from an Access Mobility Function (AMF) in a first system a request to delete the UE policy association it has previously established with the UE-PCF…The request to delete the association includes first information indicating the UE has moved from the first system to a second system; ¶ 144, when the AMF initiates the deletion of the UE policy association…so the PCF may delay the removal of the ongoing UE Policy Association. Examiner correspond the AMF to the third communication device),
wherein the first association is established before the terminal returns from a first network to the second network, and is used for obtaining terminal policy information in the second network; the second association is established after the terminal returns from the first network to the second network, and is used for obtaining terminal policy information in the second network; and the third association is established before the terminal returns from the first network to the second network (¶ 78, receiving by the UE-PCF from an Access Mobility Function (AMF) in a first system a request to delete the UE policy association it has previously established with the UE-PCF (e.g., at UE Registration in 5GS). The request to delete the association includes first information indicating the UE has moved from the first system to a second system; ¶ 204, UE moves back…from EPS to 5GS; ¶ 75, embodiments henceforth are described using 5GS as a first system and EPS and a second system…However, it will be understood to a person skilled in the art that the first and second system could be any other systems; ¶ 116, 5GS consists of a 5G core network (5GC) a (R) AN and UE(s); ¶ 74, EPS and EPC are used interchangeably henceforth acknowledging that an EPS includes an EPC and the EUTRAN), and is used for obtaining terminal policy information in the first network (¶ 192, one or more UE policy associations established for the UE when in the first system; ¶ 4, UE policy information (UE policies) during UE Policy Association Establishment; ¶ 143, UE policies available at the UE from the former UE Policy Association for this UE which was established when the UE was in 5GS; ¶ 145, obtain the UE policies…from the ongoing UE Policy Association established for 5GS; ¶ 148, get the UE policies…from the former UE Policy Association in 5GS; ¶ 201, get the UE policies (list of PSIs)…from the former UE Policy Association in 5GS);
and the first network and the second network are networks with different access modes (¶ 78, UE has moved from the first system to a second system; ¶ 204, UE moves back…from EPS to 5GS; ¶ 75, embodiments henceforth are described using 5GS as a first system and EPS and a second system…However, it will be understood to a person skilled in the art that the first and second system could be any other systems).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez’s teachings with Gonzalez’s one or more embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing a solution for providing UE policies updates to a UE when the UE moves from a first system to a second system (¶ 75).
Regarding claim 14, Gonzalez teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the performing a second operation comprises: if the third communication device is different from a fourth communication device, sending, by the third communication device, the second notification information to the fourth communication device, wherein the third communication device is a device used before the terminal returns from the first network to the second network (Gonzalez), and the fourth communication device is a device used after the terminal returns from the first network to the second network (given non-patentable weight since this claim recite contingent limitation(s) that is/are not required to be met and further limits the contingent limitation(s). See MPEP 2111.04 for more information).
Regarding claim 15, Gonzalez teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein before the performing a second operation, the method further comprises: obtaining, by the third communication device, first information, wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following: an identifier of the first communication device, address information of the first communication device, or a terminal policy information identifier (Gonzalez ¶ 78, receiving by the UE-PCF from an Access Mobility Function (AMF) in a first system a request to delete the UE policy association it has previously established with the UE-PCF (e.g., at UE Registration in 5GS). Although not explicitly stated, the request must have some sort of identification information of the UE policy association in order to inform the UE-PCF to delete the UE policy association. Examiner correspond this identification information to the terminal policy information identifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez’s teachings with Gonzalez’s one or more embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing a solution for providing UE policies updates to a UE when the UE moves from a first system to a second system (¶ 75).
Regarding claim 17, Gonzalez teaches a communication device (fig. 11, network node qq300; ¶ 210, network nodes include functions of one or more of a PCF…AMF), comprising a processor (fig. 11, processing circuitry qq302) and a memory (fig. 11, memory qq304), wherein the memory stores a program or instructions capable of running on the processor, and when the program or instructions are executed by the processor (¶ 236 and ¶ 238), the steps of the information processing method according to claim 1 are implemented (see rejection of claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez’s teachings with Gonzalez’s one or more embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing a solution for providing UE policies updates to a UE when the UE moves from a first system to a second system (¶ 75).
Regarding claim 18, Gonzalez teaches a communication device (fig. 11, network node qq300; ¶ 210, network nodes include functions of one or more of a PCF…AMF), comprising a processor (fig. 11, processing circuitry qq302) and a memory (fig. 11, memory qq304), wherein the memory stores a program or instructions capable of running on the processor, and when the program or instructions are executed by the processor (¶ 236 and ¶ 238), the steps of the information processing method according to claim 10 are implemented (see rejection of claim 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez’s teachings with Gonzalez’s one or more embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing a solution for providing UE policies updates to a UE when the UE moves from a first system to a second system (¶ 75).
Regarding claim 19, Gonzalez teaches a communication device (fig. 11, network node qq300; ¶ 210, network nodes include functions of one or more of a PCF…AMF), comprising a processor (fig. 11, processing circuitry qq302) and a memory (fig. 11, memory qq304), wherein the memory stores a program or instructions capable of running on the processor, and when the program or instructions are executed by the processor (¶ 236 and ¶ 238), the steps of the information processing method according to claim 12 are implemented (see rejection of claim 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez’s teachings with Gonzalez’s one or more embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing a solution for providing UE policies updates to a UE when the UE moves from a first system to a second system (¶ 75).
Regarding claim 20, Gonzalez teaches a non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium stores a program or instructions, and when the program or instructions are executed by a processor, the steps of the information processing method according to claim 1 are implemented.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez’s teachings with Gonzalez’s one or more embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing a solution for providing UE policies updates to a UE when the UE moves from a first system to a second system (¶ 75).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez in view of WO 2020145523 by Youn et al. (hereinafter Youn) (see attached English translation document).
Regarding claim 13, Gonzalez teaches the method according to claim 12.
Although Gonzalez teaches the performing a second operation comprises: performing, by the third communication device, at least one of the following: sending the first request message; sending the second request message; or sending the third request message (¶ 78, A method performed by a policy control function (PCF)…The method comprises receiving by the UE-PCF from an Access Mobility Function (AMF) in a first system a request to delete the UE policy association it has previously established with the UE-PCF…The request to delete the association includes first information indicating the UE has moved from the first system to a second system; ¶ 144, when the AMF initiates the deletion of the UE policy association…so the PCF may delay the removal of the ongoing UE Policy Association. Examiner correspond the AMF to the third communication device) and the terminal returns from the first network to the second network, Gonzalez does not explicitly disclose the performing a second operation comprises: if the third communication device is the same as an eighth communication device, performing, by the third communication device, at least one of the following: sending the first request message; sending the second request message; or sending the third request message wherein the third communication device is a device used before the terminal returns from the first network to the second network, and the eighth communication device is a device used after the terminal returns from the first network to the second network.
Youn in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches if a third communication device is the same as an eighth communication device, wherein the third communication device is a device used before a terminal returns from a first network to a second network, and the eighth communication device is a device used after the terminal returns from the first network to the second network (page 48, When the UE returns from EPS to 5GS, the selected AMF (the AMF associated with the UE when UE returns to 5GS) may be the same AMF serving AMF serving non-3GPP access or a different AMF; page 44, UE is registered in EPS…for non-3GPP access…non-3GPP access PDU session is moved to EPS). By modifying Gonzalez’s teachings of the performing a second operation comprises: performing, by the third communication device, at least one of the following: sending the first request message; sending the second request message; or sending the third request message with Youn’s teachings of if a third communication device is the same as an eighth communication device, wherein the third communication device is a device used before a terminal returns from a first network to a second network, and the eighth communication device is a device used after the terminal returns from the first network to the second network, the modification results in the performing a second operation comprises: if the third communication device is the same as an eighth communication device, performing, by the third communication device, at least one of the following: sending the first request message; sending the second request message; or sending the third request message wherein the third communication device is a device used before the terminal returns from the first network to the second network, and the eighth communication device is a device used after the terminal returns from the first network to the second network.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez’s teachings with Youn’s above teachings. The motivation is increasing a reliability of authentication and/or authorization status (Youn col. 48 lines 39-40) or decreasing signaling overhead and service delay (Youn col. 50 lines 53-54). Known work in one field of endeavor (Youn prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Gonzalez prior art) based on design incentives (increasing a reliability of authentication and/or authorization status or decreasing signaling overhead and service delay) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez in view of US 20200396649 by Zong et al. (hereinafter Zong).
Regarding claim 16, Gonzalez teaches the method according to claim 12.
Although Gonzalez teaches the performing a second operation (¶ 78, A method performed by a policy control function (PCF)…The method comprises receiving by the UE-PCF from an Access Mobility Function (AMF) in a first system a request to delete the UE policy association it has previously established with the UE-PCF…The request to delete the association includes first information indicating the UE has moved from the first system to a second system; ¶ 144, when the AMF initiates the deletion of the UE policy association…so the PCF may delay the removal of the ongoing UE Policy Association. Examiner correspond the AMF to the third communication device), the third communication device, and requesting to delete the third association (¶ 78, A method performed by a policy control function (PCF)…The method comprises receiving by the UE-PCF from an Access Mobility Function (AMF) in a first system a request to delete the UE policy association it has previously established with the UE-PCF…The request to delete the association includes first information indicating the UE has moved from the first system to a second system; ¶ 144, when the AMF initiates the deletion of the UE policy association…so the PCF may delay the removal of the ongoing UE Policy Association. Examiner correspond the AMF to the third communication device), Gonzalez does not explicitly disclose before the performing a second operation, the method further comprises: obtaining, by the third communication device, second information, wherein the second information is used for indicating one of the following: requesting to delete the first association; or requesting to delete the third association.
Zong in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches before performing a second operation, a method further comprises: obtaining, by a third communication device, second information, wherein the second information is used for indicating one of the following: requesting to delete an association (¶ 98, The first AMF sends second indication information to the second AMF; ¶ 100, The second indication information is used to notify the second AMF that the first AMF has not selected the PCF used by the second AMF. Then, the second AMF can determine that the first AMF is using a PCF other than the one used by the second AMF. Therefore, the second AMF may send a deletion request message to the PCF to request the PCF to delete the policy association). By modifying Gonzalez’s teachings of the performing a second operation, the third communication device, and requesting to delete the third association with Zong’s teachings of before performing a second operation, a method further comprises: obtaining, by a third communication device, second information, wherein the second information is used for indicating one of the following: requesting to delete an association, the modification results in before the performing a second operation, the method further comprises: obtaining, by the third communication device, second information, wherein the second information is used for indicating one of the following: requesting to delete the first association; or requesting to delete the third association.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez’s teachings with Zong’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing resource overheads of a policy control network element in mobility management network element reselection scenarios (Zong ¶ 5). Known work in one field of endeavor (Zong prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Gonzalez prior art) based on design incentives (reduce resource overheads of a policy control network element in mobility management network element reselection scenarios) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20250056382 discloses policy association termination and establishment; and
US 20210076191 discloses policy association deletion and establishment.
/PETER P CHAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476