DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 34 is objected to because of the following informalities: “and” should be recited immediately prior to “benzocaine” in the last line. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 35 is objected to because of the following informalities: “and” should be recited immediately prior to “gamma interferon.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 28 recites wherein the biologically active material is “selected from the list comprising.” The claim is indefinite since the Markush grouping requires a material selected from an open list of alternatives and it is unclear what other alternatives are intended to be encompassed by the claim. See MPEP 2173.05(h).
Claim 29 recites in part ii) “or analgesic and anti-inflammatory agents.” The claim is indefinite since it is unclear whether the claim requires all the species in part ii) or requires only one of the species in part ii).
Claim 29 is further indefinite since the claim does not recite the term “or” or “and” after the limitation of part iii). It is unclear whether the claim requires the limitations of i), ii), iii) and iv) or whether the claim requires the limitations of one of i), ii), iii) or iv).
If the claim requires the limitations of i), ii), iii) and iv), the claim is additionally indefinite since some active materials are recited in multiple parts with different amounts, thus, it is unclear how much active material the composition contains. For example, anti-arrhythimic agent is recited in part iii) in an amount of 5 to 50 weight % and is recited in part iv) in an amount of 0.02 to 50 weight %.
For sake of compact prosecution, the Examiner has interpreted claim 29 to require the limitations of one of i), ii), iii) or iv).
Claim 34 recites wherein the biologically active material is “selected from the list comprising.” The claim is indefinite since the Markush grouping requires a material selected from an open list of alternatives and it is unclear what other alternatives are intended to be encompassed by the claim. See MPEP 2173.05(h).
Claim 35 recites wherein the interferon is “selected from the list comprising.” The claim is indefinite since the Markush grouping requires a material selected from an open list of alternatives and it is unclear what other alternatives are intended to be encompassed by the claim. See MPEP 2173.05(h).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
1. Claims 28, 29 and 32-34 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Patel et al. (WO 2007/034287 A2, Mar. 29, 2007) (hereinafter Patel) in view of Singh et al. (US 2005/0208110, Sep. 22, 2005) (hereinafter Singh), as evidenced by Park et al. (WO 01/037814, May 31, 2001) (hereinafter Park).
Patel discloses a freeze-dried oramucosal pharmaceutical dosage form in the form of a wafer. The wafer comprises a porous, hydroscopic, muco-adhesive polymeric matrix with at least one desired pharmaceutically active compound added thereto. The polymer is selected from a number of polymers having different dissolution rates and, in use when taken orally, the matrix adheres to an oramucosal surface to dissolve over a predetermined period of time to release the pharmaceutically active compound (abstract). The polymers may be mixed with excipients such as glycine, mannitol, or lactose, which alters the physiochemical and/or pysicomechanical properties of the polymer (page 4, lines 6-9). Suitable excipient and polymer combinations allow for the development of rapidly disintegrating and prolonged release wafer systems. Wafer systems containing HPC, lactose, mannitol, and glycine had the ability to disintegrate within 30 seconds (page 14, lines 12-15). It was generally noted that higher polymer concentrations were associated with lower rates of disintegration. Due the highly soluble nature of diluents, an increase in the amount accounted for higher matrix solubility and thus faster rates of disintegration (page 10, lines 4-7). Mannitol, lactose and glycine are diluents (Table 1 and Figure 6). The dosage form may comprise mannitol, lactose, and glycine (Table 1). Suitable pharmaceutically active compounds include sedatives (page 4, line 30) and antihistamines, such as loratadine (i.e., histamine H-receptor antagonist) (page 5, line 1).
Patel differs from the instant claims insofar as not teaching wherein the dosage form comprises amylopectin.
However, Singh discloses a rapidly dissolving film for delivery of an active agent to a moist body surface. The film comprises a rapidly dissolving polymeric material (abstract). Suitable rapidly dissolving polymeric materials include amylopectin (¶ [0048]). Suitable moist body surface includes the surfaces in and around the oral cavity (¶ [0028]). The term “rapidly” is intended to mean that the film dissolves in less than about 10 minutes after application, preferably within about 5 seconds to 10 minutes after application. The film is designed to release the active agent within the time frame of the dissolution of the film (¶ [0037]).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated amylopectin into the dosage form of Patel since the dosage form comprises a number of polymers having different dissolution rates and amylopectin is a known rapidly dissolving polymer for oral compositions as taught by Singh.
Regarding the amount of amylopectin claimed, as discussed above, Patel discloses wherein polymer concentration affects disintegration. Therefore, since amylopectin is a rapidly dissolving polymer, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed amount of amylopectin depending on the rate of disintegration desired for the dosage form. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding the amount of biologically active material (e.g., histamine H-receptor antagonist) claimed, Patel discloses wherein loratadine is an antihistamine. Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed amount of loratadine (i.e. histamine H-receptor antagonists) depending on the level of antihistamine effect desired. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding the amount of mannitol and glycine claimed, Patel discloses wherein mannitol and glycine are diluents and wherein the amount of diluents affect rates of disintegration. Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed amount of mannitol and glycine depending on the rate of disintegration desired for the dosage form. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding instant claim 28 reciting wherein said biologically active material is absorbed by diffusion directly into the systemic circulation, as evidenced by Park, when an oral composition comprising an active compound is contacted with saliva and disintegrates, the active compound is absorbed through the oral mucosa and into the systemic circulation (page 4, lines 27-31). Therefore, since Patel discloses wherein the dosage form disintegrates in the oral cavity and the pharmaceutically active compound is released, the pharmaceutically active compound of Patel would be absorbed by diffusion directly into the systemic circulation.
Regarding instant claims 28 reciting wherein the amylopectin is not in the form of starch or modified starch, Singh does not disclose wherein the amylopectin is in the form of starch or modified starch.
Regarding the amount of sedative claimed in instant claim 29, as discussed above, Patel discloses wherein the composition may comprise sedatives. It would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed amount of sedatives depending on the level of sedation desired. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
2. Claims 30 and 31 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Patel et al. (WO 2007/034287 A2, Mar. 29, 2007) (hereinafter Patel) in view of Singh et al. (US 2005/0208110, Sep. 22, 2005) (hereinafter Singh), and further in view of Gole et al. (US 5,558,880, Sep. 24, 1996) (hereinafter Gole), as evidenced by Park et al. (WO 01/037814, May 31, 2001) (hereinafter Park).
The teachings of Patel and Singh are discussed above. Patel and Singh do not teach wherein the dosage form comprises microcrystalline cellulose.
However, Gole discloses a solid dosage form comprising a porous network of matrix material that disperses rapidly in water (col. 2, lines 43-44). The speed in which the dosage form dissolved is dependent in large part on the choice of matrix forming agent(s) and their concentration (col. 6, lines 43-45). Suitable matrix forming materials include microcrystalline cellulose (col. 6, line 52).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated microcrystalline cellulose into the dosage form of Patel since the dosage form comprises a number of polymers having different dissolution rates and microcrystalline cellulose is a known and effective polymer for oral compositions having a dissolution rate as taught by Gole.
Regarding the amount of microcrystalline cellulose claimed, as discussed above, Patel discloses wherein polymer concentration affects disintegration. Therefore, since microcrystalline cellulose is a dissolvable polymer, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed amount of microcrystalline cellulose depending on the rate of disintegration desired for the dosage form. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
3. Claim 35 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Patel et al. (WO 2007/034287 A2, Mar. 29, 2007) (hereinafter Patel) in view of Singh et al. (US 2005/0208110, Sep. 22, 2005) (hereinafter Singh), and further in view of Houghton et al. (US 2004/0228919, Nov. 18, 2004) (hereinafter Houghton), as evidenced by Park et al. (WO 01/037814, May 31, 2001) (hereinafter Park).
The teachings of Patel and Singh are discussed above. Patel and Singh do not teach wherein the dosage form comprises alpha-2 interferon.
However, Houghton discloses a non-compressed fast-dispersing solid dosage form suitable for oromucosal administration of a pharmaceutically active substance comprising an active substance (abstract). Suitable active substances include proteins, peptides, and recombinant drugs such as alpha-2 interferon for the treatment of common cold (¶ [0131]).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. Patel discloses wherein the dosage form comprises a pharmaceutically active compound. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated alpha-2 interferon into the dosage form of Patel since it is a known and effective pharmaceutically active compound for oromucosal dosage forms and it treats common cold should that be desired as taught by Houghton et al.
Regarding the amount of alpha-2 interferon, as discussed above, alpha-2 interferon treats common cold. Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed amount of alpha-2 interferon depending on the level of treatment for the common cold desired. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Double Patenting
Claims 28-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent Nos. 10,744,086, 11,975,097, and 12,186,426. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims recite a more specific version of the instant claims (i.e., the conflicting claims recite additional limitations, such as the powder x-ray diffraction (XRD) of the dosage form) and thus read on the instant claims.
Claims 28-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,857,097. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending claims and patented claims both recite a fast disintegrating and dissolving freeze-dried wafer comprising a biologically active material, amylopectin, and a carbohydrate. The pending claims differ from the patented claims insofar as reciting an amount of biologically active material. However, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art to have arrived ta the claimed amount of biologically active material depending on the therapeutic effect desired.
Conclusion
Claims 28-35 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
/TRACY LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614