DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 09/02/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities: In the preamble of the claim 2 recited “The automated security system of claim 1” should read as “The security device of claim 1” since the preamble of the claim 1 recited “A security device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10-11 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelley et al. US 20200327757 in view of Schmidt et al. US 20220068078.
Regarding claim 1, Kelley et al. disclose A security device that includes features and components that incorporate the security device into an automated security system, the security device comprising: a mechanical or electromechanical lock; (Kelley et al. US 20200327757 abstract; paragraphs [0003]-[0010]; [0019]-[0020]; [0022]-[0027]; [0032]-[0040]; [0046]; [0052]-[0057]; figures 1-6)
See figures 1-2 and par. 22-23 and 54 of Kelley et al. reference, door lock 110 or door lock 200
In one embodiment, door lock 110 can be an electronic lock that may be unlocked using a key in embodiments where a tumbler is provided to unlock a lock, or by using an application on the remote computer system or device 140 that transmits commands to door lock 110 to activate a motor to unlock a lock (Kelley et al. par. 22).
According to the preamble claim the security device is a broad term and it can be a lock, door lock, portable lock or locker etc. and examiner interprets the door lock as the security device.
a processor or microprocessor; an electronic memory; network-communications components,
The door lock 110 can comprise a door lock processor 111, a door lock memory 112, electronic devices 116, including a transceiver, and mechanical components 118, as described in detail below with reference to FIGS. 2-4. …..The transceiver comprises any device that could be used to transmit data via a network connection—preferably a wireless network connection. Contemplated transceivers may include Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, infrared, microwave, cellular, satellite, radio, and light wave transceivers (Kelley et al. par. 23).
Examiner interprets the door lock processor 111 as the processor, the door lock memory as the electronic memory and the transceiver as the network-communications components for communicate via wireless protocol like Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, cellular or radio.
and a touch-sensitive activation button that, when pressed or touched, awakens the security device from an idle state and initiates transmission of an activation signal or message to an automated controller.
See paragraphs 56-57 and figures 1-2 of Kelley et al. reference, touchscreen, touchpad or keypad interface 213.
The keypad user interface 213 is used to accept an e-code while the biometric sensor 223 (shown euphemistically as a fingerprint sensor) could be used to accept a biometric characteristic of the user. In some embodiments, keypad user interface 213 and biometric sensor 223 could be configured to be devices that are in the sleep mode, and are only woken up after motion sensor 222 has detected an entity in a defined area. In other embodiments, the keypad user interface 213 is a device that is always on, and could be used to wake up other elements of the door lock 200, such as the transceiver 252 (shown here as an RF module). When such a trigger is received, a processor in the door lock 200 could then trigger one or more electronic devices to wake up, such as a transceiver that transmits a signal to a remote server that an entity has been detected, a microphone 215 that records sounds to be saved and/or transmitted, a camera 211 that records video to be saved and/or transmitted, and/or a speaker 216 that plays a pre-recorded sound recording. Here, a solar panel 212 could also be installed on an exterior surface of the outer housing 210 to help to recharge the battery 260, installed within the battery cavity 251 to abut the battery charger 255 (Kelley et al. par. 57).
Kelley et al. do not explicitly teach the security device securing one or more items in a retail environment.
Schmidt et al. teach the security device securing one or more items in a retail environment. (Schmidt et al. US 20220068078 abstract; paragraph [0081]; [0095]-[0097]; [0219]-[0222]; [0285]-[0301]; [0423]-[0429]; [0471]-[0481]; figures 1-6, 13-14, 26-27, 37-38, 46-52;)
Specification the Method of Purchasing Products at a Retail Store and Retrieving the Purchased Products Stored in a Contactless Manner from Within a Double-Sided Wireless Networked Locker System Installed at the Retail Store (Schmidt et al. par. 471). As shown in FIG. 47, the wireless networked locker system illustrated in FIGS. 46A and 51B comprises: a locker cabinet, installed in a retail or other order fulfillment environment, and provided with a plurality of electronically-controlled lockers, each being provided with (i) a backstage loading area as illustrated in FIG. 51B for the loading of specific lockers with purchased items associated with purchased orders, and (ii) a guest area where consumers retrieve purchased items from lockers containing their purchased goods; and electronics and communications equipment shown in FIG. 52 (Schmidt et al. par. 475). As shown in FIG. 47, each locker unit 501 within the wireless locker cabinet system 400 comprises a rugged housing for containing objects, and a hinged front door provided with an electronic lock unit. Preferably, each locker unit 401 further comprises: an electronic lock module 404 mounted on the retrieval side of the locker unit and connected to a strike plate and the like to enable an electronically-controlled door lock, and connected to a local lock controller 406 to control its operation during the control access methods according to the principles of the present invention; a keypad 410 mounted one each locker door, to allow the user to manually enter a digital password to access and open the locker unit either locally, or via the wireless remote methods of access control enabled by the wireless system network of the present invention described herein (Schmidt et al. par. 476).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate a plurality lockers install within the retail (see figure 46) store taught by Schmidt et al. reference into the modified system of Kelley et al. reference in order to promote user convenience.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kelley et al. and Schmidt et al. disclose The automated security system of claim 1 wherein when the touch-sensitive activation button is pressed or touched, an LED or other illumination feature included in the security device is activated to produce light.
See paragraphs 46, 56-57 and figures 1-2 of Kelley et al. reference, touchscreen, touchpad or keypad interface 213. In one embodiment, the random code could be a few characters illuminated on the keypad user interface 213, each one turning off after a character is pressed by the user. After all the characters of the random code are pressed, the user can enter the preset unlock code to retract the deadbolt 231 and unlock the door (Kelley et al. par. 56).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kelley et al. and Schmidt et al. disclose The security device of claim 1 wherein, upon receiving an activation signal or message, the automated controller sends one or more commands to the security device that are executed by the security device to attempt to authorize unlocking of the security device and, when authorization is successful, to unlock the security device.
In one embodiment, door lock 110 can be an electronic lock that may be unlocked using a key in embodiments where a tumbler is provided to unlock a lock, or by using an application on the remote computer system or device 140 that transmits commands to door lock 110 to activate a motor to unlock a lock. In some embodiments, door lock 110 may also be unlocked by verification of a received unlock code entered on a keypad of the door lock 110 or by verification of a matching characteristic received from a biometric sensor (e.g. biometric sensor 348 of FIG. 3) of the door lock 110. Besides unlocking, other functions of the door lock 110 may include locking the door, receiving and storing e-codes (unlock codes) and e-keys (allow other remote devices to unlock the door), transmitting the status of the lock via a transmitter, and recording the method of entry, time of entry, and which e-codes, e-keys, or biometric characteristics were used (recording via sensors and saving such records to a memory). These functions can be executed by instructions (commands) transmitted from the remote device 140. Communication between the door lock 110 and the remote device 140 may be managed and/or controlled through the cloud server 120. In some embodiments, communication may be peer-to-peer between the door lock 110 and the remote device 140. The cloud server 120 may also store and process data and commands between the door lock 110 and the remote device 140 in the form of a queue, discussed in detail below (Kelley et al. par. 22).
Examiner interprets the remote device 140 as the controller that send the command to unlock the lock device (security device).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kelley et al. and Schmidt et al. disclose The security device of claim 3 wherein the security device stores data in one or more electronic memories within the security device, the data including processor instructions that comprise a control program that, when executed by a processor or microprocessor within the security device, controls the security device to: receive commands from one or more automated controllers and execute the received commands;
In one embodiment, door lock 110 can be an electronic lock that may be unlocked using a key in embodiments where a tumbler is provided to unlock a lock, or by using an application on the remote computer system or device 140 that transmits commands to door lock 110 to activate a motor to unlock a lock. In some embodiments, door lock 110 may also be unlocked by verification of a received unlock code entered on a keypad of the door lock 110 or by verification of a matching characteristic received from a biometric sensor (e.g. biometric sensor 348 of FIG. 3) of the door lock 110. Besides unlocking, other functions of the door lock 110 may include locking the door, receiving and storing e-codes (unlock codes) and e-keys (allow other remote devices to unlock the door), transmitting the status of the lock via a transmitter, and recording the method of entry, time of entry, and which e-codes, e-keys, or biometric characteristics were used (recording via sensors and saving such records to a memory). These functions can be executed by instructions (commands) transmitted from the remote device 140. Communication between the door lock 110 and the remote device 140 may be managed and/or controlled through the cloud server 120. In some embodiments, communication may be peer-to-peer between the door lock 110 and the remote device 140. The cloud server 120 may also store and process data and commands between the door lock 110 and the remote device 140 in the form of a queue, discussed in detail below (Kelley et al. par. 22). The computer processor 111 executes instructions saved on non-transient computer-readable memory 112 to operate the electronic devices 116. The computer processor 111 can switch the state of at least one of the electronic devices 116 to a sleep mode until a trigger is received. Some electronic devices can include motion sensors, door lock sensors, door open sensors, biometric sensors, magnetic sensors, system clocks, transceivers, cameras, microphones, and user interfaces. Any electronic device could be dynamically designated to have a sleep state, depending upon the software on the memory 112, so a firmware update or an updated set of instructions may alter which of the electronic devices 116 have a sleep state. (Kelley et al. par. 27).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the limitation above as the security device (lock or door lock) receive a signal from one of the controller or processor and execute the signal or the command. Paragraphs 22 and 27 above disclose the door lock receive an unlock signal from the device 140 or signal from biometric sensor to unlock the door.
periodically send sync messages to the one or more automated controllers; and detect and handle internal events.
In some embodiments, the door lock 110 could transmit each notification dynamically as it detects triggering events, while in other embodiments the door lock 110 could queue the notifications in memory 112, which are then sent to the server 120 upon another triggering event (e.g. periodically every predetermined time or time period, or when requested by the remote device 140) (Kelley et al. par. 47).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the limitation above as the door lock periodically sending a signal to the automate controller (server) to verify authentication. Paragraph 47 clearly showing the door lock transmit the signal to the server to verify the authentication from the signal received from the remote device.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kelley et al. and Schmidt et al. disclose The security device of claim 10 wherein the stored data further includes: data associated with one or more timers that can be set to generate an interrupt following a period of time;
As used herein, a threshold time value could be any suitable time threshold used with an electronic clock (timer). For example, a threshold time value could be defined as after a time (e.g. after 3:00 PM or after an hour), before a time (e.g. before 3:00 PM or before an hour has elapsed), within a time period (e.g. between 3:00 PM and 3:30 PM or within the next thirty minutes), or within a series of time periods (e.g. between 1:00 PM and 4:00 PM every weekday or for ten minutes every hour) (Kelley et al. par. 24).
a set of one or more numeric or alphanumeric identifiers assigned to the security device;
As used herein, an e-code is a code that can be utilized by any entity (e.g. alphanumeric code, symbol, input sequence). Any suitable user interface/sensor could be used to receive an e-code. Preferably, such electronic devices are in sleep mode until door lock processor 111 changes their state in response to a triggering instruction or other suitable signal. Any combination of e-codes could be required by door lock 110 to activate the unlocking motor (Kelley et al. par. 26). Any suitable sensor could be used to trigger such notifications, such as the door lock changing state between locked and unlocked (e.g. via a non-electric, mechanical lock), the door changing state between open and closed, a sensor detecting an entity, a sensor detecting a matching biometric fingerprint, a user interface receiving an e-code, etc. Such notifications could include any combination of detected information related to the triggering event, such as a method of unlocking (e.g. an e-code, e-key, biometric characteristic detection, or mechanical key), a time of entry, or an identifier associated with the e-code or e-key. In some embodiments, the door lock 110 could transmit each notification dynamically as it detects triggering events, while in other embodiments the door lock 110 could queue the notifications in memory 112, which are then sent to the server 120 upon another triggering event (e.g. periodically every predetermined time or time period, or when requested by the remote device 140) (Kelley et al. par. 47).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets an e-code or e-key include a set of one or more numeri or alphanumeric identifiers assigned to the door lock and stored in memory 112.
and a register or memory location storing an indication of the current state of the device.
In one embodiment, door lock 110 can be an electronic lock that may be unlocked using a key in embodiments where a tumbler is provided to unlock a lock, or by using an application on the remote computer system or device 140 that transmits commands to door lock 110 to activate a motor to unlock a lock. In some embodiments, door lock 110 may also be unlocked by verification of a received unlock code entered on a keypad of the door lock 110 or by verification of a matching characteristic received from a biometric sensor (e.g. biometric sensor 348 of FIG. 3) of the door lock 110. Besides unlocking, other functions of the door lock 110 may include locking the door, receiving and storing e-codes (unlock codes) and e-keys (allow other remote devices to unlock the door), transmitting the status of the lock via a transmitter, and recording the method of entry, time of entry, and which e-codes, e-keys, or biometric characteristics were used (recording via sensors and saving such records to a memory). These functions can be executed by instructions (commands) transmitted from the remote device 140. Communication between the door lock 110 and the remote device 140 may be managed and/or controlled through the cloud server 120. In some embodiments, communication may be peer-to-peer between the door lock 110 and the remote device 140. The cloud server 120 may also store and process data and commands between the door lock 110 and the remote device 140 in the form of a queue, discussed in detail below. (Kelley et al. par. 22).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets an e-code or e-key include a set of one or more numeri or alphanumeric identifiers assigned to the door lock and stored in memory 112.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Kelley et al. and Schmidt et al. disclose The security device of claim 10 wherein each security device additionally communicates with one or more smart phones
Another object of the present invention is to provide a machine-readable code-driven access control method and system, wherein , during emergencies, when electrical power and/or Internet connectivity are disrupted, the system and method of the present invention also allows the guest user to locally communicate with the locker controller, through its network adapter and antennas (e.g. using Bluetooth and/or WIFI protocols), to establish a communication session between the mobile smartphone and the rented locker unit, and then enter the guest's digital locker password (i.e. PIN) via the virtual keypad (GUI screen) on the mobile smartphone, to locally operate its lock controller (provided with local battery power backup), and where the digital password is stored in local memory of the locker unit, by the system network servers within the data center during the web-based rental, access and control method, thereby allowing the guest to unlock the electronically-controlled lock unit of a rented locker unit, and open the locker door and access one's personal belongings while the locker system is disconnected from the Internet infrastructure and/or during local power disruptions (Schmidt et al. par. 81).
and key cards.
In preferred embodiments, door lock 110 could be locked or unlocked either via an electronic motor or via a key. Keys could be mechanical (e.g. pin-coded key) or electronic (e.g. RFID or Bluetooth), but preferably electronic keys act upon door lock 110 without utilizing a command sent through a network transceiver of door lock 110 (e.g. via an RFID transceiver that detects an RFID key swiped in front of a sensor, not via a command downloaded via a Wi-Fi network connection) (Kelley et al. par. 25).
Examiner interprets RFID key as the key cards.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Kelley et al. and Schmidt et al. disclose The security device of claim 17 wherein the control program additionally controls the security device to: sense and respond to key-card proximity;
detects a door lock's proximity to a strike plate. In preferred embodiments, door lock 110 could be locked or unlocked either via an electronic motor or via a key. Keys could be mechanical (e.g. pin-coded key) or electronic (e.g. RFID or Bluetooth), but preferably electronic keys act upon door lock 110 without utilizing a command sent through a network transceiver of door lock 110 (e.g. via an RFID transceiver that detects an RFID key swiped in front of a sensor, not via a command downloaded via a Wi-Fi network connection) (Kelley et al. par. 25). In some embodiments, the door lock 110 could also be configured to transmit notifications to the server 120, which are relayed to the remote device 140. For example, if door lock 110 detects that a door lock is in a closed state (indicating that the door is closed) and that the door lock is in an unlocked state, the door lock 110 could wake a transceiver and transmit a “door unlocked” notification. If the door lock 110 detects that its battery is running low, the door lock 110 could transmit a “battery low” notification. Any suitable sensor could be used to trigger such notifications, such as the door lock changing state between locked and unlocked (e.g. via a non-electric, mechanical lock), the door changing state between open and closed, a sensor detecting an entity, a sensor detecting a matching biometric fingerprint, a user interface receiving an e-code, etc. Such notifications could include any combination of detected information related to the triggering event, such as a method of unlocking (e.g. an e-code, e-key, biometric characteristic detection, or mechanical key), a time of entry, or an identifier associated with the e-code or e-key. In some embodiments, the door lock 110 could transmit each notification dynamically as it detects triggering events, while in other embodiments the door lock 110 could queue the notifications in memory 112, which are then sent to the server 120 upon another triggering event (e.g. periodically every predetermined time or time period, or when requested by the remote device 140) (Kelley et al. par. 47).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets e-key can be the RFID tag or badge for unlocking the door lock when authentication is authorize within proximity distance with the door lock.
and receive and respond to messages sent from a smart phone.
As indicated at Step G of FIG. 38B, and as shown in FIG. 40G, the mobile smartphone deployed on the wireless access control system network 1 is used to practice a device-level access control method by displaying, after scanning the door-level QR code 40C or entering the unique passcode into the locker's keypad, a message that the locker is OPEN, and upon return, unlock the locker by entering the passcode on the keypad or rescanning the Device-Level QR Code, and an END RENTAL Button for selection by the user to the end the locker rental (Schmidt et al. par. 429). See figure 14 G, smartphone 130 establish connection with server system 170.
Regarding claim 19, Kelley et al. teach the method comprising: incorporating into an automated security system one or more security devices, the security device comprising: a mechanical or electromechanical lock, (Kelley et al. US 20200327757 abstract; paragraphs [0003]-[0010]; [0019]-[0020]; [0022]-[0027]; [0032]-[0040]; [0046]; [0052]-[0057]; figures 1-6)
See figures 1-2 and par. 22-23 and 54 of Kelley et al. reference, door lock 110 or door lock 200
In one embodiment, door lock 110 can be an electronic lock that may be unlocked using a key in embodiments where a tumbler is provided to unlock a lock, or by using an application on the remote computer system or device 140 that transmits commands to door lock 110 to activate a motor to unlock a lock (Kelley et al. par. 22).
According to the preamble claim the security device is a broad term and it can be a lock, door lock, portable lock or locker etc. and examiner interprets the door lock as the security device.
a processor or microprocessor, an electronic memory, network-communications components,
The door lock 110 can comprise a door lock processor 111, a door lock memory 112, electronic devices 116, including a transceiver, and mechanical components 118, as described in detail below with reference to FIGS. 2-4. …..The transceiver comprises any device that could be used to transmit data via a network connection—preferably a wireless network connection. Contemplated transceivers may include Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, infrared, microwave, cellular, satellite, radio, and light wave transceivers (Kelley et al. par. 23).
Examiner interprets the door lock processor 111 as the processor, the door lock memory as the electronic memory and the transceiver as the network-communications components for communicate via wireless protocol like Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, cellular or radio.
and a touch-sensitive activation button that, when pressed or touched, awakens the security device from an idle state and initiates transmission of an activation signal or message to an automated controller.
See paragraphs 56-57 and figures 1-2 of Kelley et al. reference, touchscreen, touchpad or keypad interface 213.
The keypad user interface 213 is used to accept an e-code while the biometric sensor 223 (shown euphemistically as a fingerprint sensor) could be used to accept a biometric characteristic of the user. In some embodiments, keypad user interface 213 and biometric sensor 223 could be configured to be devices that are in the sleep mode, and are only woken up after motion sensor 222 has detected an entity in a defined area. In other embodiments, the keypad user interface 213 is a device that is always on, and could be used to wake up other elements of the door lock 200, such as the transceiver 252 (shown here as an RF module). When such a trigger is received, a processor in the door lock 200 could then trigger one or more electronic devices to wake up, such as a transceiver that transmits a signal to a remote server that an entity has been detected, a microphone 215 that records sounds to be saved and/or transmitted, a camera 211 that records video to be saved and/or transmitted, and/or a speaker 216 that plays a pre-recorded sound recording. Here, a solar panel 212 could also be installed on an exterior surface of the outer housing 210 to help to recharge the battery 260, installed within the battery cavity 251 to abut the battery charger 255 (Kelley et al. par. 57).
Kelley et al. do not explicitly teach A method for securing one or more items in a retail environment, each security device securing one or more items in the retail environment.
Schmidt et al. teach A method for securing one or more items in a retail environment, each security device securing one or more items in the retail environment, (Schmidt et al. US 20220068078 abstract; paragraph [0081]; [0095]-[0097]; [0219]-[0222]; [0285]-[0301]; [0423]-[0429]; [0471]-[0481]; figures 1-6, 13-14, 26-27, 46-52;)
Specification the Method of Purchasing Products at a Retail Store and Retrieving the Purchased Products Stored in a Contactless Manner from Within a Double-Sided Wireless Networked Locker System Installed at the Retail Store (Schmidt et al. par. 471). As shown in FIG. 47, the wireless networked locker system illustrated in FIGS. 46A and 51B comprises: a locker cabinet, installed in a retail or other order fulfillment environment, and provided with a plurality of electronically-controlled lockers, each being provided with (i) a backstage loading area as illustrated in FIG. 51B for the loading of specific lockers with purchased items associated with purchased orders, and (ii) a guest area where consumers retrieve purchased items from lockers containing their purchased goods; and electronics and communications equipment shown in FIG. 52 (Schmidt et al. par. 475). As shown in FIG. 47, each locker unit 501 within the wireless locker cabinet system 400 comprises a rugged housing for containing objects, and a hinged front door provided with an electronic lock unit. Preferably, each locker unit 401 further comprises: an electronic lock module 404 mounted on the retrieval side of the locker unit and connected to a strike plate and the like to enable an electronically-controlled door lock, and connected to a local lock controller 406 to control its operation during the control access methods according to the principles of the present invention; a keypad 410 mounted one each locker door, to allow the user to manually enter a digital password to access and open the locker unit either locally, or via the wireless remote methods of access control enabled by the wireless system network of the present invention described herein (Schmidt et al. par. 476).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate a plurality lockers install within the retail (see figure 46) store taught by Schmidt et al. reference into the modified system of Kelley et al. reference in order to promote user convenience.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Kelley et al. and Schmidt et al. disclose The method of claim 19 wherein, upon receiving an activation signal or message, the automated controller sends one or more commands to the security device that are executed by the security device to attempt to authorize unlocking of the security device from which the activation signal or message was received and, when authorization is successful, to unlock the security device from which the activation signal or message was received.
In one embodiment, door lock 110 can be an electronic lock that may be unlocked using a key in embodiments where a tumbler is provided to unlock a lock, or by using an application on the remote computer system or device 140 that transmits commands to door lock 110 to activate a motor to unlock a lock. In some embodiments, door lock 110 may also be unlocked by verification of a received unlock code entered on a keypad of the door lock 110 or by verification of a matching characteristic received from a biometric sensor (e.g. biometric sensor 348 of FIG. 3) of the door lock 110. Besides unlocking, other functions of the door lock 110 may include locking the door, receiving and storing e-codes (unlock codes) and e-keys (allow other remote devices to unlock the door), transmitting the status of the lock via a transmitter, and recording the method of entry, time of entry, and which e-codes, e-keys, or biometric characteristics were used (recording via sensors and saving such records to a memory). These functions can be executed by instructions (commands) transmitted from the remote device 140. Communication between the door lock 110 and the remote device 140 may be managed and/or controlled through the cloud server 120. In some embodiments, communication may be peer-to-peer between the door lock 110 and the remote device 140. The cloud server 120 may also store and process data and commands between the door lock 110 and the remote device 140 in the form of a queue, discussed in detail below (Kelley et al. par. 22). The memory 132 of the server 120 preferably holds authentication information for one or more users of the door lock 110. In such embodiments, when the remote device 140 communicates with the server 120, the server 120 could compare authentication information (e.g. a username and password) received from the remote device 140 against authentication information saved on the memory 132 to determine whether the remote device 140 is authorized to communicate with the door lock 110. Several users and/or several remote devices could be configured to be able to communicate with a single door lock, and likewise a single user could be configured to be able to communicate with a plurality of door locks. Once a user and/or a remote device 140 has been authenticated, the remote device 140 can use the server 120 to transmit one or more commands to the door lock 110. In one embodiment, the door lock 110 communicates with any number of discrete and/or distributed computer systems via the server 120, such as the remote device 140 (Kelley et al. par. 33).
Examiner interprets the remote device 140 as the controller that send the command to unlock the lock device (security device).
Claims 4-9 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelley et al. US 20200327757 in view of Schmidt et al. US 20220068078 and futher in view of Zaniker et al. US 20140316918.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kelley et al. and Schmidt et al. teach all the limitation in the claim 3.
The combination of Kelley et al. and Schmidt et al. do not explicitly teach The security device of claim 3 wherein the automated security system comprises: one or more automated controllers that each collects and maintains information about multiple security devices, and transmits commands and information to the security devices; and multiple security devices that each receives commands and information from one or more of the one or more automated controllers, and transmits state and operational information to one or more of the one or more automated controllers.
Zaniker et al. teach The security device of claim 3 wherein the automated security system comprises: one or more automated controllers that each collects and maintains information about multiple security devices, and transmits commands and information to the security devices; (Zaniker et al. US 20140316918 abstract; paragraphs [0005]-[0006]; [0025]-[0033]; [0035]-[0040]; [0044]; [0053]-[0061]; [0068]-[0074]; figures 1-17;)
In accordance with the principles of the present invention, the kiosk 106 may communicate with the locks 104 to notify the locks 104 that a user has selected or been assigned a particular lock or that the user has elected a "select your own locker" option that enables a user to enter his or her access indicia, such as a personal identification number (PIN), into any available locker (i.e., a lock 104a of a locker 102a) that meets a criteria, such as small locker and/or large locker, that he or she chooses, as further described herein. A communication channel 112 between the kiosk 106 and the locks 104 of the lockers 102 may be hardwired or wireless databus, and communications may include an address for a particular lock 104 or a broadcast message that is received by all of the locks 104 (Zaniker et al. par. 27). A central controller 502 operating as or within a kiosk may communicate with securable device controllers 504a-504n (collectively 504) (Zaniker et al. par. 35). The process 500 may start at step 508, where a user interface is provided by the central controller 502. The user interface may be a graphical user interface on a touchscreen, graphical user interface with hard-buttons associated with the graphical user interface for selection of user options, hard-buttons not on a graphical user interface, or otherwise, as understood in the art. At step 510, the central controller 502 may receive a user initiated request for a securable device including request parameters. The request parameters may include type of locker, size of locker, location(s) of locker, duration of rental, access indicia, payment, etc. At step 512, the central controller 502 may store access indicia and request parameters independent of a securable device identifier (e.g., locker number or identifier). The stored access indicia and request parameters are established, unprovisioned at this point and remain unprovisioned until the user enters the access indicia into a securable device associated with one of the securable device controllers 504.
Examiner interprets securable device controllers 504a-504n as the multiple security device and central controller 502 as the central controller store information about multiple securable device controller 504a-504n.
and multiple security devices that each receives commands and information from one or more of the one or more automated controllers, and transmits state and operational information to one or more of the one or more automated controllers.
See figures 5 and 11 of Zaniker et al. reference.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to provide a central controller to store access indicia and request parameters for a plurality lock devices (104a-104n), as shown in figures 1, 5 and 11 taught by Zaniker et al. reference into the modified system of Kelley et al. and Schmidt et al. reference in order to keep track of the rental status of the plurality lock devices within the environment.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kelley et al., Schmidt et al. and Zaniker et al. disclose The security device of claim 4 wherein the one or more automated controllers include multiple local automated controllers, each located in an environment secured by the automated security system,
A central controller 502 operating as or within a kiosk may communicate with securable device controllers 504a-504n (collectively 504) (Zaniker et al. par. 35).
Examiner interprets securable device controllers 504a-504n as the multiple security device and central controller 502 as the central controller store information about multiple securable device controller 504a-504n.
and a remote, higher-level automated controller within a cloud-computing facility.
As further shown in FIG. 3, the kiosk/controller 302 may be in communication with park server(s) 336 (a remote…a cloud-computing facility) that are configured to manage a park's data, such as season ticket holder data and point-of-sale (POS) data. The kiosk/controller 300 may be configured to receive, request, and communicate data with the park server(s) 336 to confirm locker rental purchases via a ticket booth of the park, seasonal ticket and/or locker rental purchases, online rental purchases of lockers, and so on (Zaniker et al. par. 31).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kelley et al., Schmidt et al. and Zaniker et al. disclose The security device of claim 5 wherein each security device communicates with a local automated controller via a radio-frequency local network;
The door lock 110 can comprise a door lock processor 111, a door lock memory 112, electronic devices 116, including a transceiver, and mechanical components 118, as described in detail below with reference to FIGS. 2-4. …..The transceiver comprises any device that could be used to transmit data via a network connection—preferably a wireless network connection. Contemplated transceivers may include Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, infrared, microwave, cellular, satellite, radio, and light wave transceivers (Kelley et al. par. 23).
and wherein each local automated controller communicates with the remote, higher-level automated controller via a wide-area network.
Door lock 110, server 120, and computer system 140 are euphemistically shown as directly electronically coupled to one another, but could also be indirectly electronically coupled to one another using a network (not shown) suitable for electronically coupling computer system devices to one another, and could comprise any number of suitable electronic devices for transmitting data from one electronic device to another electronic device, Such networks preferably exchange data using any suitable protocol or algorithm, for example HTTP, HTTPS, AES, public-private key exchanges, web service APIs, known financial transaction protocols, or other electronic information exchanging methods. Electronic communication can be conducted over any suitable network, and preferably a packet-switched network, the Internet, LAN, WAN (wide area network), or VPN (Kelley et al. par. 20).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kelley et al., Schmidt et al. and Zaniker et al. disclose The security device of claim 6 wherein a security device additionally communicates directly with the remote, higher-level automated controller via a wide-area network.
Door lock 110, server 120, and computer system 140 are euphemistically shown as directly electronically coupled to one another, but could also be indirectly electronically coupled to one another using a network (not shown) suitable for electronically coupling computer system devices to one another, and could comprise any number of suitable electronic devices for transmitting data from one electronic device to another electronic device, Such networks preferably exchange data using any suitable protocol or algorithm, for example HTTP, HTTPS, AES, public-private key exchanges, web service APIs, known financial transaction protocols, or other electronic information exchanging methods. Electronic communication can be conducted over any suitable network, and preferably a packet-switched network, the Internet, LAN, WAN (wide area network), or VPN (Kelley et al. par. 20).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kelley et al., Schmidt et al. and Zaniker et al. disclose The security device of claim 4 wherein each of the one or more automated controllers is a local automated controller located in an environment secured by the automated security system; and wherein each security device communicates with a local automated controller via a radio-frequency local network.
The door lock 110 can comprise a door lock processor 111, a door lock memory 112, electronic devices 116, including a transceiver, and mechanical components 118, as described in detail below with reference to FIGS. 2-4. …..The transceiver comprises any device that could be used to transmit data via a network connection—preferably a wireless network connection. Contemplated transceivers may include Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, infrared, microwave, cellular, satellite, radio, and light wave transceivers (Kelley et al. par. 23).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kelley et al., Schmidt et al. and Zaniker et al. disclose The security device of claim 4 wherein each of the one or more automated controllers is a remote automated controller within a cloud-computing facility;
These functions can be executed by instructions (commands) transmitted from the remote device 140. Communication between the door lock 110 and the remote device 140 (a remote automated controller) may be managed and/or controlled through the cloud server 120 (a cloud-computing facility). In some embodiments, communication may be peer-to-peer between the door lock 110 and the remote device 140. The cloud server 120 may also store and process data and commands between the door lock 110 and the remote device 140 in the form of a queue, discussed in detail below (Kelley et al. par. 22).
and wherein each security device communicates with a remote automated controller via a wide-area network.
Door lock 110, server 120, and computer system 140 are euphemistically shown as directly electronically coupled to one another, but could also be indirectly electronically coupled to one another using a network (not shown) suitable for electronically coupling computer system devices to one another, and could comprise any number of suitable electronic devices for transmitting data from one electronic device to another electronic device, Such networks preferably exchange data using any suitable protocol or algorithm, for example HTTP, HTTPS, AES, public-private key exchanges, web service APIs, known financial transaction protocols, or other electronic information exchanging methods. Electronic communication can be conducted over any suitable network, and preferably a packet-switched network, the Internet, LAN, WAN (wide area network), or VPN (Kelley et al. par. 20).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kelley et al., Schmidt et al. and Zaniker et al. disclose The security device of claim 11 wherein the stored data further includes: the values for various operational parameters; a list of authorization credentials and/or identifiers for devices and users allowed to access the security device;
Any suitable sensor could be used to trigger such notifications, such as the door lock changing state between locked and unlocked (e.g. via a non-electric, mechanical lock), the door changing state between open and closed, a sensor detecting an entity, a sensor detecting a matching biometric fingerprint, a user interface receiving an e-code, etc. Such notifications could include any combination of detected information related to the triggering event, such as a method of unlocking (e.g. an e-code, e-key, biometric characteristic detection, or mechanical key), a time of entry, or an identifier associated with the e-code or e-key. In some embodiments, the door lock 110 could transmit each notification dynamically as it detects triggering events, while in other embodiments the door lock 110 could queue the notifications in memory 112, which are then sent to the server 120 upon another triggering event (e.g. periodically every predetermined time or time period, or when requested by the remote device 140) (Kelley et al. par. 47).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets e-code, e-key, biometric characteristic detection or mechanical key as the list of authorization credential identification for unlock the door lock.
one or more encryption keys that are used for secure communications;
In accordance with the principles of the present invention, the kiosk 106 may communicate with the locks 104 to notify the locks 104 that a user has selected or been assigned a particular lock or that the user has elected a "select your own locker" option that enables a user to enter his or her access indicia, such as a personal identification number (PIN), into any available locker (i.e., a lock 104a of a locker 102a) that meets a criteria, such as small locker and/or large locker, that he or she chooses, as further described herein (Zaniker et al. par. 27).
controller and communications data, including network addresses; and a buffer containing commands received from an automated controller.
One embodiment of a system for provisioning a securable device may include multiple securable device stations, where each securable device station may include (i) a controller and (ii) a set of securable devices in local communication with the controller. The controller may be configured to enable a user to initiate access to a securable device from a set of securable devices. A first controller of a first securable device station may be configured to (a) receive (i) an access indicia and (ii) rental parameter that enables the user to access a securable device located in at least two of said plurality of securable device stations from a user, and (b) in response to receiving the access indicia and rental parameter, communicate the access indicia and rental parameter to a network address. A second controller of a second securable device station may be configured to (i) receive the access indicia and rental parameter communicated by said first controller and (ii) enable the user to access a securable device at the second securable device station as provided by the rental parameter (Zaniker et al. par. 6).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kelley et al., Schmidt et al. and Zaniker et al. disclose The security device of claim 13 wherein the operational parameters include: indications of time periods, such as a time that the security device can be in an unlocked state prior to generating an alarm; a period of time during which authorization credentials remain valid; the types of authorization credentials that can be received and used by the security device; and the commands that the security device is authorized to carry out on behalf of requesting controllers.
With regard to FIG. 4, an illustration of illustrative data repositories 400, including a provisioned securable devices data repository 402 and an established, unprovisioned rentals data repository 404. The provisioned securable devices data repository 402 may include a number of data parameters, including securable device identifier, access indicia (e.g., PIN, RFID tag, scannable code, etc.), valid indicia condition(s), and user interactions with securable device. The access indicia may be a four digit indicia. Alternatively, other numbers of digits, such as seven, may be utilized. Still yet, the access indicia may be an alphanumeric value. Alternatively, the access indicia may be a biometric identifier (e.g., fingerprint or swipe of a user's finger), for example. The valid indicia condition(s) may include a variety of different valid conditions, such as the securable device being rented all day, over a limited period of time (e.g., 2:00 pm-5:00 pm), a limited time period starting from a locker selection time (e.g., 2 hours from locker selection) over a limited geographic area, local to a kiosk, a combination thereof, or otherwise. The conditions may be listed in a human-readable form, but machine readable information or information in other formats (e.g., all parks=p1-p4), for example. The user interactions with a securable device may include a historical listing of when an associated securable device is accessed by a user. All interactions may be captured and stored (Zaniker et al. par. 32). In accordance with the principles of the present invention, data repository 404 may be configured to store data of established, unprovisioned rentals. That is, the content stored in the data repository 404 is not yet associated or provisioned with any securable device. As shown, the data repository 404 may include a number of data parameters, including access indicia, valid indicia condition(s), and purchase date/time. The valid indicia condition(s) may include a time range (e.g., hours of accessibility, duration of accessibility from first locker access), date range, number of locks that a user can access securable devices in a certain geographic area, and time and date that the user has purchased the accessibility to any available securable device. The securable devices may also be specified based on size, such as small locker or large locker, and location, such as locker in park A, locker in any of parks A-N, locker at particular ride (e.g., rollercoaster), or otherwise (Zaniker et al. par. 33).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kelley et al., Schmidt et al. and Zaniker et al. disclose The security device of claim 13 wherein the authorization credentials and/or identifiers include: radio-frequency identifiers; personal identification numbers; and mobile-device identifiers.
Electronic devices that act upon mechanical devices 118 could include, for example, motors that change a mechanical door lock or bolt from a locked state to an unlocked state or a magnet that detects a door lock's proximity to a strike plate. In preferred embodiments, door lock 110 could be locked or unlocked either via an electronic motor or via a key. Keys could be mechanical (e.g. pin-coded key) or electronic (e.g. RFID or Bluetooth), but preferably electronic keys act upon door lock 110 without utilizing a command sent through a network transceiver of door lock 110 (e.g. via an RFID transceiver that detects an RFID key swiped in front of a sensor, not via a command downloaded via a Wi-Fi network connection) (Kelley et al. par. 25). In some embodiments, the door lock 110 could also be configured to transmit notifications to the server 120, which are relayed to the remote device 140. For example, if door lock 110 detects that a door lock is in a closed state (indicating that the door is closed) and that the door lock is in an unlocked state, the door lock 110 could wake a transceiver and transmit a “door unlocked” notification. If the door lock 110 detects that its battery is running low, the door lock 110 could transmit a “battery low” notification. Any suitable sensor could be used to trigger such notifications, such as the door lock changing state between locked and unlocked (e.g. via a non-electric, mechanical lock), the door changing state between open and closed, a sensor detecting an entity, a sensor detecting a matching biometric fingerprint, a user interface receiving an e-code, etc. Such notifications could include any combination of detected information related to the triggering event, such as a method of unlocking (e.g. an e-code, e-key, biometric characteristic detection, or mechanical key), a time of entry, or an identifier associated with the e-code or e-key. In some embodiments, the door lock 110 could transmit each notification dynamically as it detects triggering events, while in other embodiments the door lock 110 could queue the notifications in memory 112, which are then sent to the server 120 upon another triggering event (e.g. periodically every predetermined time or time period, or when requested by the remote device 140) (Kelley et al. par. 47).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelley et al. US 20200327757 in view of Schmidt et al. US 20220068078 and further in view of Rijnswou Van et al. US 20080109899.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kelley et al. and Schmidt et al. teach all the limitation in the claim 11.
The combination of Kelley et al. and Schmidt et al. do not explicitly teach The security device of claim 11 wherein the stored data further includes: one or more hardware identifiers for the security device that are stored in a non-volatile register or memory location when the security device is manufactured.
Rijnswou Van et al. teach The security device of claim 11 wherein the stored data further includes: one or more hardware identifiers for the security device that are stored in a non-volatile register or memory location when the security device is manufactured. (Rijnswou Van et al. US 20080109899 abstract; paragraphs [0007]-[0012]; [0019]; [0040]- [0047]; figures 1-8;)
FIG. 7 shows a block diagram of a further embodiment of the system according to the invention. In this embodiment, a unique identifier has already been associated with the tag (e.g. already stored in the tag during the manufacturing). In this embodiment, the system includes an activator 710. The activator 710 further `programs` the tags. A dedicated activator 710 may be used for each event/application. The activator 710 obtains for the electronic tag the associated unique identity, for example by reading it from the memory location 402. To this end, the activator 710 would then need the hardware/software to communicate with the tag and, where applicable, provide power to it. The activator 710 then determines for the identity a corresponding challenge. The challenge must be suitable for the chosen challenge-response protocol (if used at all) and may be chosen randomly. The activator then stores the challenge in the first memory location 222 of the electronic tag 200. This memory location is preferably of a write-once type. Any suitable implementation of a write-once type may be used. If so desired, a state machine in the access circuit 210 may be used to register that the location 222 has been written to and to lock any further write and read access to this location. The activator 710 also determines a response that is associated with the challenge (e.g. based on the predetermined challenge-response algorithm). The activator 710 stores the computed response in the second memory location 224 of the tag. Preferably this memory location 224 is also of a write-once type. The activator 710 provides to the reader station 110 for each tag of the system the following information: ID and challenge. If the reader station does not compute the response itself, the activator 710 preferably also provides the response to the reader station 110.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to provide a unique identifier stored in the tag during the manufacturing taught by Rijnswou Van et al. reference into the modified system of Kelley et al. and Schmidt et al. reference for user easily tracking the tag.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelley et al. US 20200327757 in view of Schmidt et al. US 20220068078 and further in view of Gomez Santammaria et al. US 20200410797.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Kelley et al. and Schmidt et al. teach stored information about various internal events that have occurred, including switch and button activations; and authorization credentials received by the security device from key cards.
Electronic devices that act upon mechanical devices 118 could include, for example, motors that change a mechanical door lock or bolt from a locked state to an unlocked state or a magnet that detects a door lock's proximity to a strike plate. In preferred embodiments, door lock 110 could be locked or unlocked either via an electronic motor or via a key. Keys could be mechanical (e.g. pin-coded key) or electronic (e.g. RFID or Bluetooth), but preferably electronic keys act upon door lock 110 without utilizing a command sent through a network transceiver of door lock 110 (e.g. via an RFID transceiver that detects an RFID key swiped in front of a sensor, not via a command downloaded via a Wi-Fi network connection) (Kelley et al. par. 25). In some embodiments, the door lock 110 could also be configured to transmit notifications to the server 120, which are relayed to the remote device 140. For example, if door lock 110 detects that a door lock is in a closed state (indicating that the door is closed) and that the door lock is in an unlocked state, the door lock 110 could wake a transceiver and transmit a “door unlocked” notification. If the door lock 110 detects that its battery is running low, the door lock 110 could transmit a “battery low” notification. Any suitable sensor could be used to trigger such notifications, such as the door lock changing state between locked and unlocked (e.g. via a non-electric, mechanical lock), the door changing state between open and closed, a sensor detecting an entity, a sensor detecting a matching biometric fingerprint, a user interface receiving an e-code, etc. Such notifications could include any combination of detected information related to the triggering event, such as a method of unlocking (e.g. an e-code, e-key, biometric characteristic detection, or mechanical key), a time of entry, or an identifier associated with the e-code or e-key. In some embodiments, the door lock 110 could transmit each notification dynamically as it detects triggering events, while in other embodiments the door lock 110 could queue the notifications in memory 112, which are then sent to the server 120 upon another triggering event (e.g. periodically every predetermined time or time period, or when requested by the remote device 140) (Kelley et al. par. 47).
The combination of Kelley et al. and Schmidt et al. do not explicitly teach The security device of claim 11 wherein the stored data further includes: stored information that characterizes of the current operational state of the security device, including the current battery level.
Zaniker et al. teach The security device of claim 11 wherein the stored data further includes: stored information that characterizes of the current operational state of the security device, including the current battery level; (Gomez Santammaria et al. US 20200410797 abstract; paragraphs [0008]-[0011]; [0023]; [0050]; figures 1-3;)
The wireless operation of the electronic lock 22 of the locker 20 may also include obtaining, with the mobile device 60, the charge level of the battery powering the electronic lock 22. The charge level is obtained by the control module of the electronic lock 22, and communicated by means of BLE to the mobile device 60, which checks whether the charge level of the battery is below a certain threshold, and in which case it sends a low battery warning. The warning can be an alert message sent, among others, to the very user 10, to a maintenance service, to the central access control unit 40, or to the control unit 70 (Gomez Santammaria et al. par. 50).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute a battery status as taught by Gomez Santammaria et al. reference into the modified system of Kelley et al. and Schmidt et al. reference and the result of the substitution would be predictable, allowing a user to be aware the battery status of the lock.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the remarks applicant argues in substance:
Applicant argument: Applicant argues that arts of record Blanchard et al., Zaniker et al. and Gomez Santammaria et al. failed to teach or suggest the amendment as cited in the independent claims 1 and 19.
Examiner response: Examiner respectfully submit the presented arguments are rendered moot in view of the new ground rejection necessitated by amendments initiated by applicant. Please see above rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANG D TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686