DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 21st August, 2026. Claims 1, 7, and 13 have been amended. Claims 1-18 remain rejected in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to Claims 1, 7, and 13 filed on 21st August, 2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103, regarding that the prior art does not teach the limitation(s): "each of the one or more virtual mood boards comprises a grouping of assets having similarities in theme detected by the one or more comprehension models", "the contextual information comprises one or more of a project statement for a project upon which the user is working, one or more past projects associated with the user, and a job description of the user, and wherein the contextual information is received and aggregated in parallel with placement of the input asset into the one or more virtual mood boards", and "apply a language model to a combination of the one or more virtual mood boards and the aggregated contextual information to create one or more generative artificial intelligence prompts, including at least one generative artificial intelligence prompt for each of the one or more virtual mood boards" have been fully considered, but are moot because of new grounds for rejection. It has now been taught by the combination of Chang, Menges, and Trache.
Regarding arguments to Claims 2-6, 8-12, and 14-18, they directly/indirectly depend on independent Claims 1, 7, and 13 respectively. Applicant does not argue anything other than independent Claims 1, 7, and 13. The limitations in those claims, in conjunction with combination, was previously established as explained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 20260119514 A1, previously cited), hereinafter referenced as Chang, in view of Menges et al. (US 20250086865 A1, previously cited), hereinafter referenced as Menges, and further in view of Trache et al. (US 20240419658 A1), hereinafter referenced as Trache.
Regarding Claim 1, Chang discloses an information handling system (Chang, [0093]: teaches computing resource 600 <read on information handling system>) comprising:
a memory (Chang, [0093]: teaches computing resource 600 including memory 605); and
a processor communicatively coupled to the memory, and configured to (Chang, [0093]: teaches computing resource 600 including "a CPU <read on processor> for processing data and computer-readable instructions"):
receive an input asset from a user (Chang, [0043]: teaches retrieving visual content items <read on input asset> that are responsive to user queries);
[[apply one or more comprehension models to the input asset to]] determine one or more characteristics associated with the input asset (Chang, [0049]: teaches a generated decision tree associated with content item 250 <read on input asset>, where each child node of the decision tree is associated with "particular feature, aspect, characteristic, etc. of the parent node to which it is directly connected");
based on the one or more characteristics, place the input asset into one or more virtual mood boards (Chang, [0060]: teaches determining "content items <read on input asset> from a corpus of content items to be presented at content item positions 324 <read on virtual mood boards>," which are based on queries related to retrieved visual content items), wherein
[[each of the one or more virtual mood boards comprises a grouping of assets having similarities in theme detected by the one or more comprehension models;]]
receive and aggregate contextual information regarding the user (Chang, [0047]: teaches text-based user summary 254 <read on contextual information of user> includes "information extracted and aggregated from user information maintained by an online service"; Note: it should be noted that this process establishes that a profile of the user's action can be built as Paragraph [0032] describes textual information associated to user interaction), wherein
[[the contextual information comprises one or more of a project statement for a project upon which the user is working, one or more past projects associated with the user, and a job description of the user, and wherein]]
the contextual information is received and aggregated in parallel with placement of the input asset into the one or more virtual mood boards (Chang, [0058]: teaches "layout 320 may include an indication 322 of a summary <read on contextual information> or phrase associated with an aspect of the user, such as the user's aesthetic, taste, vibe, preference, etc., and/or features and/or objects linked to the user, which may have been determined by a generative model and specified in LLM output 302 and content item positions 324 <read on placement into virtual mood boards> at which visual content items <read on input asset> may be presented"; [0103]: teaches that the disclosed methods or process steps "can be combined in any order and/or in parallel"); and
apply a language model to a combination of the one or more virtual mood boards and the aggregated contextual information to create one or more generative artificial intelligence prompts, including at least one generative artificial intelligence prompt for each of the one or more virtual mood boards (Chang, [0046]: teaches generating a generative model prompt 256 <read on generative AI prompt> based on content item 250 for generative model 260 <read on language model> to process, where content item 250 includes categories or labels associated with it, which are from text-based information 252 <read on aggregated contextual information> of the user's history; [0037]: teaches LLM prompt 208 <read on generative AI prompt for virtual mood boards> specifying that the summary or phrase and the one or more queries be generated in contemplation that the content may be presented to the user in accordance with the template format/layout, where "the summary or phrase may be presented along with a collage of visual content items that represent, illustrate, or are otherwise expressive of the aspect of the user" such that "the template format may define a layout (e.g., positioning, arrangement, etc.) of the content items to be included in the collage <read on virtual mood board> and the type of visual content items to be presented at each position in the collage"; [0064]: teaches "based on the user's responses to the questions of the questionnaire, quiz, survey, poll, etc., the conclusion summary, and/or inference relating to the user's response may be determined and presented to the user on client device 330 via user interface 332-5" as shown in FIG. 3C, which shows a combination of both images <read on virtual mood boards> and text information of the user based on the user's response).
However, Chang does not expressly disclose
apply one or more comprehension models to the input asset to determine one or more characteristics associated with the input asset;
each of the one or more virtual mood boards comprises a grouping of assets having similarities in theme detected by the one or more comprehension models; and
the contextual information comprises one or more of a project statement for a project upon which the user is working, one or more past projects associated with the user, and a job description of the user.
Menges discloses
apply one or more comprehension models to the input asset to determine one or more characteristics associated with the input asset (Menges, [0113]: teaches a generative design system 300 <read on comprehension models> that "identifies a set of characteristics shared by the set of seed images <read on input asset>," such as "the set of seed images have a similar subject matter or theme, have a similar color palette, have a similar setting, have a similar artistic style, or share any other characteristic, trait, or property (e.g., the seed images share one or more “positive signals”)");
each of the one or more virtual mood boards comprises a grouping of assets having similarities in theme detected by the one or more comprehension models (Menges, [0113]: teaches "the generative design system 300 can determine that the set of seed images <read on grouping of assets> have a similar subject matter or theme, have a similar color palette, have a similar setting, have a similar artistic style, or share any other characteristic, trait, or property (e.g., the seed images share one or more “positive signals”)"); and
[[the contextual information comprises one or more of a project statement for a project upon which the user is working, one or more past projects associated with the user, and a job description of the user.]]
Menges is analogous art with respect to Chang because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely using generative models for image generation. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement a generative system that automatically determines and categorizes sets of images as taught by Menges into the teaching of Chang. The suggestion for doing so would allow for more accurate categorized images that can be used in parallel with a generative multimodal system, such as presenting sets of relevant images to the user, thereby yielding predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Menges with Chang.
However, the combination of Chang and Menges does not expressly disclose
the contextual information comprises one or more of a project statement for a project upon which the user is working, one or more past projects associated with the user, and a job description of the user.
Trache discloses
the contextual information comprises one or more of a project statement for a project upon which the user is working, one or more past projects associated with the user, and a job description of the user (Trache, [0051]: teaches a user profile comprising content, such as user role <read on job description> and/or context <read on contextual information>, where the profile "may comprise several distinct elements, such as indications of a knowledge base 230, functions 240, template(s) 220, plugins 250, and/or other parameters that may be used in generating a prompt to an LLM"; [0031]: teaches context being defined as "any information associated with a user, user session <read on project statement for project>, or some other characteristic, which may be stored and/or managed by a context module," where "context may include one or more of: previous analyses <read on past projects> performed by the user, previous prompts provided by the user, previous conversation of the user with the language model, schema of data being analyzed, a role of the user, a context of the data processing system (e.g., the field), and/or other contextual information").
Trache is analogous art with respect to Chang, in view of Menges because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely processing information through large language models (LLMs). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a context module that collects user data, such as the user's role and current sessions as taught by Trache into the teaching of Chang, in view of Menges. The suggestion for doing so would allow the LLM to contextualize and determine relevant data that can be used for creating a personalized generative AI prompt. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Trache with Chang, in view of Menges.
Regarding Claim 7, it recites the limitations that are similar in scope to Claim 1, but in a method. As shown in the rejection, the combination of Chang, Menges, and Trache discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Additionally, Chang discloses a method (Chang, [0099]: teaches a computer method) comprising:…
Thus, Claim 7 is met by Chang according to the mapping presented in the rejection of Claim 1, given the information handling system corresponds to a method.
Regarding Claim 13, it recites the limitations that are similar in scope to Claim 1, but in an article of manufacture. As shown in the rejection, the combination of Chang, Menges, and Trache discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Additionally, Chang discloses an article of manufacture (Chang, [0099]: teaches an article of manufacture) comprising:
a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Chang, [0099]: teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium); and
computer-executable instructions carried on the computer-readable medium (Chang, [0099]: teaches "the computer-readable storage medium may be readable by a computer and may comprise instructions <read on computer-executable instructions> for causing a computer or other device to perform processes"),
the instructions readable by a processor (Chang, [0099]: teaches "the computer-readable storage medium may be readable by a computer <read on processor> and may comprise instructions for causing a computer or other device to perform processes"),
the instructions, when read and executed, for causing the processor to (Chang, [0099]: teaches "the computer-readable storage medium may be readable by a computer and may comprise instructions for causing a computer or other device to perform processes"):…
Thus, Claim 13 is met by Chang according to the mapping presented in the rejection of Claim 1, given the information handling system corresponds to an article of manufacture.
Regarding Claims 2, 8, and 14, the combination of Chang, Menges, and Trache discloses the information handling system, the method, and the article of Claims 1, 7, and 13 respectively. Additionally, Chang further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to
apply a generative model to the one or more generative artificial intelligence prompts to generate one or more output assets based on the input asset (Chang, FIG. 2B teaches generative model 260 <read on generative model> generating model output 262 <read on output assets>, which determines which content items are relevant for display based on the generative model prompt 256).
Regarding Claims 3, 9, and 15, the combination of Chang, Menges, and Trache discloses the information handling system, the method, and the article of Claims 2, 8, and 14 respectively. Additionally, Chang further discloses wherein at least one of the one or more output assets comprises
an image or video (Chang, [0046]: teaches a model output 262 <read on output asset> being generated based on content item 250, where model output 262 includes generated content <read on image/video> that is to be presented on client device 230).
Regarding Claims 4, 10, and 16, the combination of Chang, Menges, and Trache discloses the information handling system, the method, and the article of Claims 1, 7, and 13 respectively. The combination of Chang and Trache does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claims 4, 10, and 16; however, Menges discloses wherein the processor is further configured to:
receive verbal instructions from the user regarding the input asset (Menges, [0116]: teaches a user request for the generative design system 300 to generate a mood based on seed images <read on input asset>; [0054]: teaches the user's request being "instructions in the form of text or speech <read on verbal>"); and
apply the one or more comprehension models to a combination of the input asset and the verbal instructions to determine one or more characteristics associated with the input asset (Menges, [0116]: teaches the generative design system 300 <read on comprehension models> generating a new mood based on a set of seed images <read on input asset>, which is done in response to a user's request <read on verbal instructions>; [0113]: teaches the generative design system 300 identifying a set of characteristics shared by the set of seed images).
Menges is analogous art with respect to Chang, in view of Trache because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely using generative models for image generation. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement a generative system that automatically determines and categorizes sets of images as taught by Menges into the teaching of Chang, in view of Trache. The suggestion for doing so would allow for more accurate categorized images that can be used in parallel with a generative multimodal system, such as presenting sets of relevant images to the user, thereby yielding predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Menges with Chang, in view of Trache.
Regarding Claims 5, 11, and 17, the combination of Chang, Menges, and Trache discloses the information handling system, the method, and the article of Claims 1, 7, and 13 respectively. Additionally, Chang further discloses wherein the input asset comprises
an image or video (Chang, [0046]: teaches content item 254 <read on input asset> including non-textual content item, such as an image and video; Note: it should be noted that content item 254 is used as input for a generative model prompt 256).
Regarding Claims 6, 12, and 18, the combination of Chang, Menges, and Trache discloses the information handling system, the method, and the article of Claims 1, 7, and 13 respectively. Additionally, Chang further discloses wherein the one or more characteristics comprises one or more of
a type, a style, a layout, and a mood associated with the input asset (Chang, [0024]: teaches a collage of visual content items that represents aspects of the user's aesthetic <read on type>, taste <read on style>, vibe <read on mood>, preference, etc. in accordance with a template format/layout).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rosenkranz et al. (US 20240296425 A1) discloses a generative language model that receives a first prompt that includes information regarding the user's profile and job experience; and
West et al. (US 20240320714 A1) discloses obtaining context regarding a user's profile information for generating content.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2614
/KENT W CHANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2614