DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quilici et al. (US 20210203781) in view of Colon et al. (US 11,463,475)
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17, Quilici discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by at least one processor, from a computing device, a call indication of a call being received from a user with a particular phone number (Paragraph: 0030: Quilici discusses how the system authenticate numbers in a user's call history on a user's client device; and how the authentication initiated automatically or in real-time (e.g., as a user accesses a message or about to dial a number in the message), i.e. allowing to indicate a call being received from a user with a particular phone number from a user’s call history), the user claiming to be associated with an entity (Paragraphs: 0031 and 0043: Quilici discusses how the correct phone number determined by retrieving a phone number associated with the entity from a trusted data source); and transmitting, by the at least one processor, based on the fraudulent entity likelihood (Paragraphs: 0031, 0038 and 0040-0041: Quilici discusses how the system generating a warning that the message contains fraudulent information; and how the content analyzer determine fraudulent phone numbers in the extracted information and send results of analysis), at least one instruction to the computing device to display on a computing device display at least one of: at least one icon indicator on an icon associated with the at least one application (Paragraph: 0029: Quilici discusses the client application inserting a visual indicator or icon next to the number in the message, such as a red star, or an exclamation point, to alert the user that the number is suspicious), the at least one icon indicator reflecting the fraudulent entity likelihood, at least one visual cue corresponding to a value of the fraudulent entity likelihood (Paragraphs: 0008 and 0029: Quilici discusses how a visual indicator or icon next to the number in the message, such as a red star, or an exclamation point, to alert the user that the number is suspicious), at least one visual indicator corresponding to the value of the fraudulent entity likelihood, at least one text indication that the particular phone number is associated with the fraudulent entity or the legitimate entity, or an identification of the entity (Paragraphs: 0027 and 0044: Quilici discusses how verification comprise callers having their caller ID “signed” as legitimate by originating carriers and validated by a service provider at the destination to verify that an incoming call is really coming from a number listed on a caller ID display; and how the client application or message scanning server determine a phone number or caller ID data in a message (or call history) is either authentic or fraudulent by comparing it to database(s) of known numbers for who a caller claims to be).
Quilici discloses the invention set forth above but does not specifically point out “utilizing, by the at least one processor, at least one call verification machine learning model, executed by at least one application on the computing device, that is trained to output a fraudulent entity likelihood that the particular phone number is associated with a fraudulent entity or a legitimate entity”
Colon however discloses utilizing, by the at least one processor, at least one call verification machine learning model, executed by at least one application on the computing device, that is trained to output a fraudulent entity likelihood that the particular phone number is associated with a fraudulent entity or a legitimate entity (Col.4 lines 28-34, Col.7 lines 31-36 and Col.9 lines 40-43: Colon discusses how the fraud prediction service update weights of the machine learning model used to predict fraudulent attacks (e.g., premium phone number abuse fraud) based on the first cluster of IP addresses. Colon also discusses how machine learning models trained to take various combinations of such inputs in order to determine a likelihood of fraudulent activity; and how the training data comprise at a telephone number and a label indicating whether the telephone number are associated with a fraudulent request).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Quilici, and modify the system to utilize, by the at least one processor, at least one call verification machine learning model, executed by at least one application on the computing device, that is trained to output a fraudulent entity likelihood that the particular phone number is associated with a fraudulent entity or a legitimate entity, as taught by Colon, thus allowing to improve over time to detect and/or prevent fraud from different attack infrastructures, as discussed by Colon.
Considering claims 2, 10 and 18, Quilici discloses the method of claims 1, 9 and 17, wherein an appearance the at least one icon indicator is updated prior to the user answering the call (Paragraphs: 0029 and 0008: Quilici discusses how the icon which include a link, wherein the system perform a scan and remedy action upon the client application detecting an instance where a user is trying to make a call or communication using a link in a message).
Considering claims 3, 11 and 19, Quilici discloses the method of claims 1, 9 and 17, wherein the at least one icon indicator comprises at least one of: an outline surrounding the icon, a drop shadow on the icon, or a bubble on the icon (Paragraphs: 0029 and 0035: a visual indicator or icon next to the number in the message, such as a red star, or an exclamation point).
Considering claims 4 and 12, Quilici discloses the method of claims 1 and 9, wherein the at least one icon indicator is a drop shadow or outer circle rendered to be filled with a color selected from a range of colors that correspond to values of the fraudulent entity likelihood (Paragraphs: 0035 and 0029).
Considering claims 5 and 13, Quilici discloses the method of claims 1 and 9, wherein the at least one icon indicator is displayed in an on or off mode indicative of the particular phone number being associated with the fraudulent entity or the legitimate entity (Paragraphs: 0008 and 0029).
Considering claims 6 and 14, Quilici discloses the method of claims 1 and 9, wherein the at least one visual cue has a range of color gradients corresponding to the value of the fraudulent entity likelihood (Paragraphs: 0029 and 0035: Quilici discusses a visual indicator or icon next to the number in the message, such as a red star, to alert the user that the number is suspicious and should not be called).
Considering claims 7, 15 and 20, Quilici discloses the method of claims 1, 9 and 17, further comprising receiving, by the at least one processor, from the computing device of the user, a permission indicator identifying a permission by the user to detect calls being received via the at least one application (Paragraphs: 0029, 0039 and 0042: Quilici discusses how the user prompted with a message, such as “you're trying to return a call based on a number left in a message which might be suspicious, would you like us to check it first?”; and how the retrieval unit either retrieve messages and call histories directly from the user's client device or given permission/credentials to download the user's messages from a message server).
Considering claims 8 and 16, Quilici discloses the method of claims 1 and 9, further comprising: comparing, by the at least one processor, the fraudulent entity likelihood with a threshold to determine a binary value indicating that the particular phone number is associated with the entity; and designating, by the at least one processor, the binary value as the fraudulent entity likelihood that the particular phone number is associated with the entity (Paragraphs: 0036-0037: Quilici discusses a threshold or given scores of one or more criteria exceed satisfactory thresholds for what constitutes a suspicious message or call may be lower given that the system is not necessarily blocking the message or communicator).
Conclusion
YOSEF K. LAEKEMARIAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2651
/YOSEF K LAEKEMARIAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691