DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 16 recites,“…cup, mug, glass, cup, mug, glass…”. The examiner will examine the claim as having only one iteration of, “cup, mug, glass”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, 11, 12-16, and 19-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102b as being anticipated by Hui (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2005/0189910).
Regarding Claim 1:
Hui discloses a charger system for use with a mobile device for charging or power the mobile device inductively (Figs. 4a-4c, charger circuit located within housing 1 of the inductive charger system for use with a mobile phone 3 as shown; and their related discussion), comprising: a base unit comprising one or more primary coils (Figs. 4a-4c, housing 1 comprising PCB 4 with a plurality of spiral tracks as shown, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0014, 0070-0074, 0077, etc.), the primary coils having a generally planar shape (see, at least, Abstract, paragraphs 0001, 0005-0009, 0070-0074, etc.), a power supply for passing a current through the primary coils to generate a magnetic field in a direction substantially perpendicular to the plane of the primary coil (see, at least, paragraphs 0004, 0070-0074, etc. which disclose the charging system is powered by AC or DC power sources, not shown); and wherein the perpendicular magnetic field is used to inductively generate a current in one or more secondary coils within one or more mobile devices placed close to the base unit, to charge or power the mobile device (Figs. 4a-4c, charger circuit located within housing 1 of the inductive charger system for use with a mobile device 3 with secondary winding(s), and their related discussion; see, at least, Abstract, paragraphs 0069-0075, etc.).
Regarding Claim 2:
Hui teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Hui further discloses wherein one or more of the primary and secondary coils comprise substantially spiral shapes (Figs. 4a-4c, housing 1 comprising PCB 4 with a plurality of spiral tracks as shown, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0014, 0070-0074, 0077, etc.).
Regarding Claim 3:
Hui teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Hui further discloses wherein the base unit includes a switch for automatically switching the primary coils on whenever a mobile device is placed close to the primary coil of the base unit and the presence of the mobile device is detected (Fig. 45, switches as shown in proximity to coils 104, 106, etc., and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0103 which discloses the switches ensure that only windings in the slots used by the secondary modules are excited).
Regarding Claim 4:
Hui teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Hui further discloses wherein the base unit includes multiple primary coils that can be used to simultaneously charge multiple devices (Figs. 4a-4c, housing 1 comprising PCB 4 with a plurality of spiral tracks as shown, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0014, 0070-0074, 0077, etc.).
Regarding Claim 5:
Hui teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Hui further discloses wherein the base unit is formed in the shape of a pad and wherein multiple primary coils are distributed within overlapping layers of coils within the pad (see, at least, paragraphs 0069-0071, etc. which disclose the housing 1 can have multiple PCBs with at least one winding stacked on top of each other).
Regarding Claim 9:
Hui teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Hui further discloses wherein one or more of the primary coils are stacked atop one another to increase transfer efficiency (see, at least, paragraphs 0069-0071, etc. which disclose the housing 1 can have multiple PCBs with at least one winding stacked on top of each other).
Regarding Claim 11:
Hui teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Hui further discloses wherein the charger or power supply is formed in the shape of a cup bowl, or other container, and wherein mobile devices can be placed inside to be charged or powered inductively (Figs. 41-45, 49-50, etc., charger shown in the shape of a container for devices to be placed within respective compartments as shown for charging; see, at least, paragraphs 0101-0104, 0108-0109, etc.).
Regarding Claim 12:
Hui teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Hui further discloses wherein a plurality of modular base units can be interconnected to form a larger single base unit (see, for example, Figs. 10a-10c, 41-45, etc. which disclose base units 100-102 each comprising its own respective primary winding 105 being interconnected to form a larger single base unit.).
Regarding Claim 13:
Hui discloses a mobile device capable of inductive powering or charging (Figs. 4a-4c, mobile device 3 and its related discussion) comprising: a battery for powering a mobile device (Figs. 4a-4c, mobile device 3 with secondary winding(s) for charging battery not shown, and its related discussion; see, at least, Abstract, paragraphs 0069-0075, etc.); and a receiver that is one of attached to, incorporated within, or coupled to the mobile device or the battery (Figs. 12a-12d, respective housing for secondary winding(s) attached to, incorporated within, or otherwise coupled to mobile device 3 for charging battery not shown, and its related discussion; see, at least, Abstract, paragraphs 0069-0075, etc.), wherein the receiver comprises a secondary coil that inductively receives energy from a substantially perpendicular magnetic field generated by a base unit when the mobile device is placed close to the base unit (Figs. 4a-4c, charger circuit located within housing 1 of the inductive charger system for use with a mobile device 3 with secondary winding(s); and their related discussion; see, at least, Abstract, paragraphs 0069-0075, etc.), and wherein the energy so received is used to generate a current in the secondary coil and to charge or power the mobile device (Figs. 4a-4c, charger circuit located within housing 1 of the inductive charger system for use with a mobile device 3 with secondary winding(s); and their related discussion; see, at least, Abstract, paragraphs 0069-0075, etc.).
Regarding Claim 14:
Hui teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 13. Hui further discloses wherein the receiver is formed of a flexible printed circuit board material and can be shaped to fit the battery or the mobile device (see, at least, paragraphs 0080-0081, 0106, etc. which disclose the receiver comprises a flexible ferrite sheet, as well as being formed for use within portable electronic equipment).
Regarding Claim 15:
Hui teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 13. Hui further discloses wherein the secondary coil comprises a substantially spiral shape (Figs. 12a-12d, etc. secondary winding(s) of the mobile device 3, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0069-0080, etc.).
Regarding Claim 16:
Hui teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 13. Hui further discloses wherein the mobile device is one of a kitchen appliance, dish, toy, cup, mug, glass, plate, cooking pot, cooking pan, blender, mixer, can opener, office equipment, lamp, printer, computer, copier, fax machine, or scanner (see, at least, paragraphs 0002, 0069, 0081, etc. which disclose the mobile device can be a plurality of devices including computers, computer mice, etc.).
Regarding Claim 19:
Hui teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 13. Hui further discloses wherein the mobile device includes a shell covering the battery (Figs. 12a-13a, respective covering, such as cover 25, as shown, and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0080-0083, etc.), and wherein the receiver is attached to or incorporated within the shell and is coupled to the battery to power or charge the battery when used in the mobile device and with the base unit (Figs. 12a-12d, respective housing for secondary winding(s) attached to, incorporated within, or otherwise coupled to mobile device 3 for charging battery not shown, and its related discussion; see, at least, Abstract, paragraphs 0069-0075, etc.).
Regarding Claim 20:
Hui discloses a system for simultaneously charging or powering a plurality of mobile devices inductively (Figs. 4a-4c, housing 1 comprising PCB 4 with a plurality of spiral tracks as shown for charging mobile devices 3, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0014, 0070-0074, 0077, etc.), comprising: a base unit (Figs. 4a-4c, housing 1 comprising PCB 4 with a plurality of spiral tracks as shown, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0014, 0070-0074, 0077, etc.) comprising a plurality of one or more primary coils, the primary coils having a generally planar shape (Figs. 4a-4c, housing 1 comprising PCB 4 with a plurality of spiral tracks as shown, and their related discussion; see, at least, Abstract, paragraphs 0001, 0005-0009, 0070-0074, etc.), a power supply for passing a current through the primary coils to generate magnetic fields for each coil in a direction substantially perpendicular to the plane of the primary coil (see, at least, paragraphs 0004, 0070-0074, etc. which disclose the charging system is powered by AC or DC power sources, not shown); a plurality of mobile devices capable of inductive powering or charging (Figs. 4a-4c, mobile devices 3 and their related discussion; see also figures 49-50 and their related discussion), each mobile device comprising a battery for powering a mobile device (Figs. 4a-4c, mobile device 3 with secondary winding(s) for charging battery not shown, and its related discussion; see, at least, Abstract, paragraphs 0069-0075, etc.); and a receiver that is one of attached to, incorporated within, or coupled to the mobile device or the battery (Figs. 12a-12d, respective housing for secondary winding(s) attached to, incorporated within, or otherwise coupled to mobile device 3 for charging battery not shown, and its related discussion; see, at least, Abstract, paragraphs 0069-0075, etc.), wherein the receiver comprises a secondary coil (Figs. 4a-4c, charger circuit located within housing 1 of the inductive charger system for use with a mobile device 3 with secondary winding(s); and their related discussion; see, at least, Abstract, paragraphs 0069-0075, etc.); and wherein the substantially perpendicular magnetic fields are used to inductively generate a current in the plurality of the secondary coils within one or more of the mobile devices placed close to the base unit, to charge or power the mobile devices (Figs. 4a-4c, charger circuit located within housing 1 of the inductive charger system for use with a mobile device 3 with secondary winding(s), and their related discussion; see, at least, Abstract, paragraphs 0069-0075, etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 6 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hui (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2005/0189910) in view of Sabo (U.S. Patent Number 6,803,744).
Regarding Claim 6:
Hui teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 5. Hui fails to teach wherein the multiple primary coils are allowed to move within a degree of freedom within their plane to more closely align the primary coil with the secondary coil of a mobile device.
However, Sabo discloses wherein the multiple primary coils are allowed to move within a degree of freedom within their plane to more closely align the primary coil with the secondary coil of a mobile device (Fig. 10, primary 302, secondary 304, and their related discussion; see, at least, Col. 6, lines 5-65 which disclose the coils forming the primary 302 are allowed to move relative to the other set of coils of the secondary 304 to maximize transfer of power). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the primary coils of Hui to be allowed to move, as taught within Sabo, to improve power transfer efficiency and maximize transfer of power through achievement of more desirable or maximum alignment.
Claims 7 and 17 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hui (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2005/0189910) in view of Lyon (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2004/0145342).
Regarding Claim 7:
Hui teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Hui fails to teach comprising a data storage component for storage of data.
However, Lyon discloses comprising a data storage component for storage of data, for subsequent transmission of data to or from the mobile device (Fig. 2, memory 216 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0018-0021, etc.). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate a data storage component, as taught within Lyon, in order to facilitate operation with various types of mobile devices, thereby improving overall charger compatibility and improving charging efficiency.
Regarding Claim 17:
Hui teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 13. Hui fails to teach the mobile device is an RFID tag.
However, Lyon discloses wherein the mobile device is an RFID tag device which includes an internal battery (Fig. 2, device 204 with RFID and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0023-0025, 0027, etc.). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate an RFID tag with the mobile device, as taught within Lyon, to allow the charger to identify the type of battery or mobile device present thereby facilitating and streamlining charging operations.
Claim 8 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hui (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2005/0189910) in view of Shneidman (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2006/0038794).
Regarding Claim 8:
Hui teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Hui fails to teach wherein the base unit is integrated into a charging kiosk.
However, Shneidman discloses wherein the base unit is integrated into a charging kiosk for occasional charging of mobile devices (see, at least, paragraph 0055 which discloses the docking and base stations may be provided at public kiosks allowing the units to be charged). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to integrate the base station into a charging kiosk, as taught within Shneidman, to provide a central unit capable of preventing physical damage to the components while allowing for more general or public use.
Claim 10 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hui (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2005/0189910) in view of Giannopoulos et al. (U.S. Patent Number 6,844,702).
Regarding Claim 10:
Hui teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Hui further discloses wherein the charger or power supply senses the location of the mobile device and activates a primary coil near the mobile device (Figs. 10a-10c and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0079, 0103, etc. which disclose respectively sensing a nearby secondary winding and subsequently activating the respective primary winding). Hui fails to teach the sensing occurs by sensing a change in a resonant circuit in the charger or power supply when the mobile device is in proximity to the primary coil.
However, Giannopoulos et al. discloses sensing a change in a resonant circuit in the charger or power supply when the mobile device is in proximity to the primary coil (see, at least, Col. 4, lines 35-50). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a resonance circuit, as taught by Giannopoulos, to provide a well-known and reliable way to detect changes in resonance caused by the presence of a secondary coil, thereby enabling sensing of the secondary coil’s presence.
Claim 18 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hui (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2005/0189910) in view of Rohde (U.S. Patent Number 5,959,433).
Regarding Claim 18:
Hui teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 13. Hui further discloses wherein the mobile device includes an after-market battery compatible with an original battery for the device (Figs. 11-12d, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0080 which discloses the back cover of the device is a detachable back cover which may be removed in order to replace a battery), and wherein the receiver directly powers or charges the after-market battery when used in the mobile device and with the base unit (Figs. 11-12d, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0080 which discloses the back cover of the device is a detachable back cover which may be removed in order to replace a battery, wherein the back cover has a built-in secondary planar transformer winding). While Hui discloses a battery and receiver, Hui fails to teach the receiver is incorporated into the after-market battery.
However, Rohde discloses wherein the receiver is incorporated into the after-market battery and directly powers or charges the after-market battery when used in the mobile device and with the base unit (Figs. 1-3, battery pack 14 with pick-up coil 14 incorporated into the battery pack as shown, and their related discussion; see, at least, Col. 2, lines 18-30, etc.). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the battery of Hui to incorporate the receiver into said battery, as taught within Rohde, to reduce device-side complexity, potentially improve device longevity, and enable the device to continue use while the original battery remains capable of being charged external to the device itself.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH N INGE/Examiner, Art Unit 2836