Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
2. The Amendment filed on 11/28/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-6 and 8-9 have been amended. Claim 7 has been canceled. Claim 11 has been added. Claims 1-6 and 8-11 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Fitzgerald (US 20180342050 A1) in view of Matthijs (US 20040174320 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fitzgerald (e.g., Figs. 1-20) discloses a display system, comprising:
a first display device including a first display screen in which an image is displayed, the first display device; a second display device including a second display screen and an input, the second display screen being different from the first display screen ([0105]; Fitzgerald discloses a first mobile device and a second mobile device, each mobile device is a display device including a display screen to display an image, the second mobile device or the second display device including a camera as an input device to input the captured image of the first display screen, Fig. 8 shows configuration of mobile device); and
a processor that: obtains area information that is related to a display area of the first display screen in which the image is displayed; and identifies a defective range that is included in the display area of the first display screen, based on the area information, and outputs the defective range ([0105]; the second mobile device or the second display device having a camera that captures an image of the first display screen and identifies and displays the defective area of the first display screen based on the captured image),
wherein, when a defect occurs in the first display device, the second display screen of the second display device displays, for input of the area information, a defect detection image ([0105]; the second mobile device or the second display device displays defective area of the first display screen based on the captured image; Figs. 17-18 and 24-25 show image analysis and defect detection), and
the processor obtains the area information of the first display screen by a user operating the input of the second display device to select at least one of a normal area or a defective area on the defect detection image displayed on the second display screen ([0105]; user operates the camera of the second mobile device or the second display device to capture an image of the first display screen and identifies and displays the defective area of the first display screen based on the captured image).
Fitzgerald does not expressly disclose the first display device lacking an input and the defect detection image that comprises a plurality of tile images arranged in a matrix representing the first display screen. However, it is obvious that the defect detection method as disclosed by Fitzgerald can be used to detect a display device, no matter whether the display device lacks an input or not. The examiner further cites Matthijs as a reference. Matthijs (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 5-6) discloses a defect detection device similar to that disclosed by Fitzgerald, comprising the first display device lacking an input and the defect detection image that comprises a plurality of tile images arranged in a matrix representing the first display screen (matrix display screen 2), wherein a camera 6 captures an image of the display screen 2 and identifies and displays the defective area of the display screen 2 based on the captured image (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 5-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Matthijs to the control device of Fitzgerald to detect defective areas of a display screen.
Regarding claim 2, Fitzgerald in view of Matthijs discloses the display system according to claim 1, Fitzgerald (e.g., Figs. 1-20) discloses wherein the at least one of the normal area corresponding to a normal range in which the image can be displayed normally or the defective area corresponding to the defective range in which the image cannot be displayed normally is input to the second display device that includes the second display screen, and the processor obtains the area information that includes the at least one of the normal area or the defective area from the second display device ([0105]; the second mobile device or the second display device including a camera as an input device to input the captured image of the first display screen and identifies and displays the normal or abnormal area of the first display screen based on the captured image).
Regarding claim 3, Fitzgerald in view of Matthijs discloses the display system according to claim 2, Fitzgerald (e.g., Figs. 1-20) discloses wherein the processor outputs, to the second display device, the defect detection image for inputting the at least one of the normal area or the defective area, and the processor obtains the area information that includes the at least one of the normal area or the defective area input from the second display device ([0105]; the second mobile device or the second display device including a camera as an input device to input the captured image of the first display screen and identifies and displays the normal or abnormal area of the first display screen based on the captured image).
Regarding claim 4, Fitzgerald in view of Matthijs discloses the display system according to claim 1, Fitzgerald (e.g., Figs. 1-20) discloses wherein the second display device obtains, as the area information, a captured image that includes the at least one of the normal area or the defective area by capturing an image of the display area of the first display screen, the normal area corresponding to anormal range in which the image can be displayed normally, the defective area corresponding to the defective range in which the image cannot be displayed normally, and the processor obtains, as the area information, the captured image that includes the at least one of the normal area or the defective area from the second display device ([0105]; the second mobile device or the second display device including a camera to capture image of the first display screen and identifies and displays the normal or abnormal area of the first display screen based on the captured image).
Regarding claim 5, Fitzgerald in view of Matthijs discloses the display system according to claim 4, Fitzgerald (e.g., Figs. 1-20) discloses wherein the second display device includes an image capturer, and the area information is an image of the display area of the first display screen captured by the image capturer of the second display device ([0105]; the second mobile device or the second display device including a camera to capture image of the first display screen and identifies and displays the normal or abnormal area of the first display screen based on the captured image).
Regarding claim 6, Fitzgerald in view of Matthijs discloses the display system according to claim 4, Fitzgerald (e.g., Figs. 1-20) discloses wherein the processor outputs, to the first display screen, the defect detection image for inputting the at least one of the normal area or the defective area, and the processor obtains, as the area information, a captured image that includes the at least one of the normal area or the defective area by capturing the image of the display area of the first display screen in which the defect detection image is displayed (Figs. 8 and 20; a camera captures images of the first display screen and identifies the normal or abnormal area of the first display screen, which is displayed on the first display).
Regarding claim 8, Fitzgerald in view of Matthijs discloses the display system according to claim 1, Fitzgerald (e.g., Figs. 1-20) discloses wherein the processor outputs, to the second display device, the defect detection image for inputting the at least one of the normal area or the defective area, and the processor obtains the area information that includes the at least one of the normal area or the defective area input from the second display device ([0105]; the second mobile device or the second display device including a camera as an input device to input the captured image of first display screen and identifies the normal or abnormal area of the first display screen).
Regarding claim 9, Fitzgerald (e.g., Figs. 1-20) discloses a control method for a display system, the display system including a first display device that includes a first display screen in which an image is displayed and a second display device including a second display screen, the first display device, the second display device including an input and being different from the first display screen ([0105]; Fitzgerald discloses a first mobile device and a second mobile device, each mobile device is a display device including a display screen to display an image, the second mobile device or the second display device including a camera as an input device to input the captured image of the first display screen, Fig. 8 shows configuration of mobile device), the control method comprising:
displaying, on the second display screen of the second display device when a defect occurs in the first display device, a defect detection image for input of area information, the defect detection image ([0105]; the second mobile device or the second display device displays defective area of the first display screen based on the captured image);
obtaining the area information that is related to a display area of the first display screen in which the image is displayed via a user operating the input of the second display device to select at least one of a normal area or a defective area on the defect detection image displayed on the second display screen; identifying a defective range that is included in the display area of the first display screen based on the area information, and outputting the defective range ([0105]; user operates the camera of the second mobile device or the second display device to capture an image of the first display screen and identifies and displays the defective area of the first display screen based on the captured image; Figs. 17-18 and 24-25 show image analysis and defect detection).
Fitzgerald does not expressly disclose the first display device lacking an input and the defect detection image that comprises a plurality of tile images arranged in a matrix representing the first display screen. However, it is obvious that the defect detection method as disclosed by Fitzgerald can be used to detect a display device, no matter whether the display device lacks an input or not. The examiner further cites Matthijs as a reference. Matthijs (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 5-6) discloses a defect detection device similar to that disclosed by Fitzgerald, comprising the first display device lacking an input and the defect detection image that comprises a plurality of tile images arranged in a matrix representing the first display screen (matrix display screen 2), wherein a camera 6 captures an image of the display screen 2 and identifies and displays the defective area of the display screen 2 based on the captured image (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 5-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Matthijs to the control device of Fitzgerald to detect defective areas of a display screen.
Regarding claim 10, Fitzgerald in view of Matthijs discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (Fitzgerald, Fig. 8) having recorded thereon a program for causing a computer to execute the control method according to claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, Fitzgerald in view of Matthijs discloses the display system according to claim 1, wherein, when the defect occurs in the first display device that lacks the input, the defect detection image is displayed on the second display screen in response to the second display device not experiencing the defect ([0105]; Fitzgerald discloses the second mobile device or the second display device including a camera as an input device to input the captured image of the first display screen and displays the normal or abnormal area of the first display screen based on the captured image).
Response to Arguments
6. Regarding claims 1 and 9, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. In view of amendments, the references of Fitzgerald (US 20180342050 A1) and Matthijs (US 20040174320 A1) have been used for new ground rejection. In particular, Fitzgerald ([0105]) discloses a first mobile device and a second mobile device, each mobile device is a display device including a display screen to display an image, the second mobile device or the second display device including a camera as an input device to input the captured image of the first display screen and identifies and displays the normal or abnormal area of the first display screen based on the captured image; In addition, Matthijs (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 5-6) discloses a defect detection device similar to that disclosed by Fitzgerald, wherein a camera 6 captures an image of the display screen 2 and identifies and displays the defective area of the display screen 2 based on the captured image (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 5-6). Therefore, the combination of Fitzgerald and Matthijs discloses the amended claims 1 and 9.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623