DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. In the instant case, claim 3 requires the thermal charger to comprise wheels and to be transportable, however, parent claim 2 from which claim 3 depends, requires the thermal charger to be mounted on a concrete slab or other fixed structure; not movable. Therefore, claim 3 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 2. Claim 6 requires the thermal charger to comprise wheels and to be transportable, however, parent claim 5 from which claim 6 depends, requires the thermal charger to be mounted on a concrete slab or other fixed structure; not movable. Therefore, claim 6 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 5. Claim 9 also requires the thermal charger to comprise wheels and to be transportable, however, parent claim 8 from which claim 9 depends, requires the thermal charger to be mounted on a concrete slab or other fixed structure; not movable. Therefore, claim 9 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 8.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 3, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The recitation of “wherein the thermal charger comprises wheels and is transportable” (claim 3, claim 6 and claim 9) is unclear. The recitation above requires the thermal charger to comprise wheels and to be transportable, however, the parent claim from which the limitation depends, requires the thermal charger to be mounted on a concrete slab or other fixed structure, therefore, it is unclear the use of wheels and transportability if the charger is not movable. After reviewing Applicant’s disclosure, more specifically figures 44 and 45, it appears that both claims are directed to different schematic illustrations of the thermal charger. For examination purposes, the thermal charger is being examined as portable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Siddiqui (US 2022/0154992).
Regarding claim 1, Siddiqui discloses a thermal charger (including temperature regulating device 110) for charging a thermal battery system of a vehicle (refer to temperature-controlled container 100 and par. 66, wherein said container 100 has the capability to allow the transport of organs within or outside hospitals, and in current ground vehicles and aircraft), comprising
a charging hose and a return hose (refer to flexible tubing 102, 104, 106, 108 as in par. 84) each configured to connect to external ports of the vehicle (refer to auto-shutoff valves 90 of container 100 as can be seen from fig. 4; also, refer to par. 88, and fig. 5, wherein the system is portable and ready for transportation, therefore, since the ports are part of the system and not the vehicle being used for transportation, the ports are considered external to the vehicle) for fluid flow of a heat transfer fluid to and from a PCM-charging circuit of the vehicle (including heat exchangers 80 and 82 as in fig. 4);
an onboard pump (60 and 66);
a phase change material (refer to PCM storage volume 144 as in fig. 14); and
a heat exchanger (refer to heat pipes 142 located within volume 144) embedded in the phase change material;
wherein the hoses (flexible tubing 102, 104, 106, 108), the onboard pump (60 and 66), and the heat exchanger (heat pipes 144 located within volume 144, and exchanging heat with the heat transfer fluid by means of element 150) define a PCM-discharging circuit of the thermal charger; and
further comprising an electric battery (refer to rechargeable battery pack 32 as in fig. 2) for powering the onboard pump (60, 66) by which the heat-transfer fluid is circulated through the PCM-discharging circuit (located within the temperature regulating device 110) of the thermal charger and the PCM-charging circuit of the vehicle (container 100 to be located in the vehicle).
Regarding claim 2, Siddiqui meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Siddiqui discloses wherein the thermal charger is not mounted on a concrete slab or other fixed structure (refer to the first line of par. 87, wherein the system is designed to be portable).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siddiqui (US 2022/0154992) in view of Hur (WO 2019/117478 A1).
Regarding claims 3, 6 and 9, Siddiqui meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the rejection of claims 2, 5 and 8 respectively. Further, Siddiqui discloses wherein the thermal charger is transportable (refer to the first line of par. 87, wherein the system is designed to be portable, therefore, capable of being transportable), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the thermal charger comprises wheels.
However, Hur teaches that it is known in the art of refrigeration, to provide a movable air-conditioning device comprising wheels (332), in order for the device to be freely movable (refer to pg. 5, par. 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Siddiqui such that the thermal charger comprises wheels in view of the teachings by Hur, in order for the thermal charger to be freely movable.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siddiqui (US 2022/0154992).
Regarding claim 4, Siddiqui discloses a thermal charger (including temperature regulating device 110) for charging a thermal battery system of a vehicle (refer to temperature-controlled container 100 and par. 66, wherein said container has the capability to allow the transport of organs within or outside hospitals, and in current ground vehicles and aircraft), comprising:
a charging hose and a return hose (refer to flexible tubing 102, 104, 106, 108 as in par. 84) each configured to connect to external ports of the vehicle (refer to auto-shutoff valves 90 of container 100 as can be seen from fig. 4; also, refer to par. 88, and fig. 5, wherein the system is portable and ready for transportation, therefore, since the ports are part of the system and not the vehicle being used for transportation, the ports are considered external to the vehicle) for fluid flow of a heat transfer fluid to and from a PCM-charging circuit of the vehicle (including heat exchangers 80 and 82 as in fig. 4);
an onboard pump (60 and 66);
a phase change material (refer to PCM storage volume 144 as in fig. 14); and
a heat exchanger (refer to heat pipes 144 located within volume 144) embedded in the phase change material;
wherein the hoses (flexible tubing 102, 104, 106, 108), the onboard pump (60 and 66), and the heat exchanger (heat pipes 144 located within volume 144, and exchanging heat with the heat transfer fluid by means of element 150) define a PCM-discharging circuit of the thermal charger; and
further comprising an electric battery (refer to rechargeable battery pack 32 as in fig. 2) for powering the onboard pump (60, 66) by which the heat-transfer fluid is circulated through the PCM-discharging circuit (located within the temperature regulating device 110) of the thermal charger and the PCM-charging circuit of the vehicle (container 100 to be located in the vehicle).
While Siddiqui discloses the thermal battery system of the vehicle, Siddiqui fails to explicitly disclose wherein said vehicle is a trailer.
Nevertheless, it appears that the thermal charger for charging the thermal battery system of the vehicle of Siddiqui would operate equally well with the vehicle being a trailer and it would be a matter of choice of a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to cause the vehicle of Siddiqui to be a trailer because this feature appears to be an arbitrary design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over Siddiqui.
Regarding claim 5, Siddiqui as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 4. Further, Siddiqui as modified discloses wherein the thermal charger is not mounted on a concrete slab or other fixed structure (refer to the first line of par. 87, wherein the system is designed to be portable).
Regarding claim 7, Siddiqui discloses a thermal charger (including temperature regulating device 110) for charging a thermal battery system of a vehicle (refer to temperature-controlled container 100 and par. 66, wherein said container has the capability to allow the transport of organs within or outside hospitals, and in current ground vehicles and aircraft), comprising:
a charging hose and a return hose (refer to flexible tubing 102, 104, 106, 108 as in par. 84) each configured to connect to external ports of the vehicle (refer to auto-shutoff valves 90 of container 100 as can be seen from fig. 4; also, refer to par. 88, and fig. 5, wherein the system is portable and ready for transportation, therefore, since the ports are part of the system and not the vehicle being used for transportation, the ports are considered external to the vehicle) for fluid flow of a heat transfer fluid to and from a PCM-charging circuit of the vehicle (including heat exchangers 80 and 82 as in fig. 4);
an onboard pump (60 and 66);
a phase change material (refer to PCM storage volume 144 as in fig. 14); and
a heat exchanger (refer to heat pipes 144 located within volume 144) embedded in the phase change material;
wherein the hoses (flexible tubing 102, 104, 106, 108), the onboard pump (60 and 66), and the heat exchanger (heat pipes 144 located within volume 144, and exchanging heat with the heat transfer fluid by means of element 150) define a PCM-discharging circuit of the thermal charger; and
further comprising an electric battery (refer to rechargeable battery pack 32 as in fig. 2) for powering the onboard pump (60, 66) by which the heat-transfer fluid is circulated through the PCM-discharging circuit (located within the temperature regulating device 110) of the thermal charger and the PCM-charging circuit of the vehicle (container 100 to be located in the vehicle).
While Siddiqui discloses the thermal battery system of the vehicle, Siddiqui fails to explicitly disclose wherein said vehicle is a cart.
Nevertheless, it appears that the thermal charger for charging the thermal battery system of the vehicle of Siddiqui would operate equally well with the vehicle being a cart and it would be a matter of choice of a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to cause the vehicle of Siddiqui to be a cart because this feature appears to be an arbitrary design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over Siddiqui.
Regarding claim 8, Siddiqui as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 7. Further, Siddiqui as modified discloses wherein the thermal charger is not mounted on a concrete slab or other fixed structure (refer to the first line of par. 87, wherein the system is designed to be portable).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 4-5 of the remarks that the primary reference of Siddiqui fails to disclose wherein the charging hose and return hose are each configured to connect to external ports, since the temperature regulating device 110 of the system is transported in vehicles and aircrafts. This argument has been considered but is not persuasive.
Since the system Siddiqui charging the thermal battery system can operate outside of the transportation vehicle (refer to par. 88, and fig. 5, wherein the system is portable and ready for transportation), the ports are part of said complete system, and not the vehicle; the ports are considered external to the vehicle.
For at least the reasons disclosed above, claims 1-9 remain rejected.
Conclusion
/ANA M VAZQUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763