Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,782. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are covered by the scope of the claims in U.S. Patent No. 12,212,782 with obvious wording variations as shown in the rejection below:
Instant Application No. 19/011/216
U.S. Patent No. 12,212,782
2. A method for video decoding in a video decoder, the method comprising: receiving a video bitstream including a picture parameter set (PPS) of a plurality of pictures, the PPS including a num_slices_in_pic_minus1 syntax that indicates a number of rectangular slices in each of the plurality of pictures; determining the number of rectangular slices based on a value of the num_slices_in_pic_minus1 syntax in the PPS; and decoding the video bitstream based on the determined number of rectangular slices in each of the plurality of pictures.
1. A method for video data decoding, executable by a processor, the method comprising: receiving encoded video data comprising picture and a num_slices_in_pic_minus1 syntax indicating a number of rectangular slices in each of the pictures referring to a picture parameter set (PPS); determining the number of rectangular slices based on the value of the num_slices_in_pic_minus1 syntax; determining an access unit count based on a picture order count; and decoding the encoded video based on the determined number of rectangular slices in each of the pictures referring to the PPS.
Claim 3 of the instant application corresponds to claim 2 of U.S Patent No. 12,212,782 B2.
Claim 4 of the instant application corresponds to claim 3 of U.S. Patent No.12, 212,782 B2.
Claim 5 of the instant application corresponds to claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,782 B2.
Claim 6 of the instant application corresponds to claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12, 212,782 B2.
Claim 7 of the instant application corresponds to claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,782 B2.
Claim 8 of the instant application corresponds to claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,782 B2.
Claim 9 of the instant application corresponds to claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,782 B2.
Claim 10 of the instant application corresponds to claim 1 of U.S. Patent No.12,212,782 B2.
Claim 11 of the instant application corresponds to claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,782 B2.
Claim 12 of the instant application corresponds to claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,782 B2.
Claim 13 of the instant application corresponds to claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,782 B2.
Claim 14 of the instant application corresponds to claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,782 B2.
Claim 15 of the instant application corresponds to claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,782 B2.
Claim 16 of the instant application corresponds to claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,782 B2.
Claim 17 of the instant application corresponds to claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,782 B2.
Claims 18-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1- of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,782 in view of Chang et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0092449).
As per claim 18, Choi teaches a method of processing visual media data (claim 1, “method for video data decoding”), the method comprising: processing a bitstream that includes the visual data (claim 1), the bitstream includes a picture parameter set (PPS) of a plurality of pictures (claim 1, “receiving encoded video data comprising pictures and a num_slices_in_pic_minus1 syntax indicating a number of rectangular slices in each of the pictures referring to a picture parameter set (PPS)”); the PPS includes a num_slices_in_pic_minus1 syntax that indicates a number of rectangular slices in each of the plurality of pictures (claim 1); the number of rectangular slices is determined based on a value of the num_slices_in_pic_minus1 syntax in the PPS (claim 1, determining the number of rectangular slices based on the value of the num_slices_in_pic_minus1 syntax); and the video bitstream is processed based on the determined number of rectangular slices in each of the plurality of pictures (claim 1, and decoding the encoded video data based on the determined number of rectangular slices in each of the pictures referring to the PPS). Choi does not explicitly discloses processing a bitstream that includes the visual media data according to a format rule, as recited in claim 18. However, Chang teaches processing a bitstream that includes the visual media data according to a format rule (see a least table 1, and fig. 1, 3-7).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chang with Choi in order to increase the efficiency of image processing.
Claim 19 of the instant application corresponds to claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,782 B2.
Claim 20 of the instant application corresponds to claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,782 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-3, 10-11, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Chang et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0092449 A1).
As per claim 2, Chang teaches a method for video decoding in a video decoder (figs. 4 and 7), the method comprising: receiving a video bitstream including a picture parameter set (PPS) of a plurality of pictures ([0019], [0120-0121] and table 2), the PPS including a num_slices_in_pic_minus1 syntax that indicates a number of rectangular slices in each of the plurality of pictures (table 1 col. 15; “num_sices_in_pic_minus1 plus 1 specifies the number of slices in each picture referring to the PPS”); determining the number of rectangular slices based on a value of the num_slices_in_pic_minus1 syntax in the PPS (table 1, col. 15; “num_slices_in_pic_minus1 plus 1 specifies the number of slices in each picture referring to the PPS. The value of num_slices_in_pic_minus1 shall be in the range of 0 to NumBricksInPic − 1, inclusive.”); and decoding the video bitstream based on the determined number of rectangular slices in each of the plurality of pictures (fig. 4).
As per claim 3, Chang teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 2. In addition, Chang teaches wherein the value of the num_slices_in_pic_minus1 syntax is in a range of 0 to preset value (table 1, col. 15; “… the value of num_slices_in_pic_minus1 shall be in the range of 0 to NumBricksInPic − 1, inclusive”).
As per claim 10, which is the corresponding method for video encoding in a video encoder, with the limitations of the method for video decoder as recited in claim 2, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 2 also applies here. In addition, the Examiner notes that Chang discloses the corresponding encoder and method for encoding video data (fig. 3 and 6).
As per claim 11, which is the corresponding method with the limitations of the limitations as the method as recited in claim 3, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 3 also applies here.
As per claim 18, which is the corresponding method of processing visual media data with the limitations of the method for video decoding in a video decoder as recited in claim 2, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 2 also applies here. In addition, Chang teaches processing a bitstream that includes the visual media data according to a format rule (see a least table 1, and fig. 1, 3-7).
As per claim 19, which is the corresponding method with the limitations of the limitations as the method as recited in claim 3, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 3 also applies here.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 8, 12-13, 16, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0092449 A1) and in view of Deng et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0043717 A1).
As per claim 4, Chang teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 2. Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein the value of num_slices_in_pic_minus1 syntax is equal to 0 to when no_pic_partition_flag syntax is equal to 1.
However, Deng teaches wherein the value of num_slices_in_pic_minus1 syntax is equal to 0 when a no_pic_partition_flag syntax is equal to 1 ([0145]; “when no_pic_partition_partition_flag is equal to 1 the value of num_slices_minus1 is inferred to be equal to 0”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Deng with Chang for the benefit of providing increased efficiency in video processing.
As per claim 5, Chang teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 2. Chang does not explicitly teach wherein the number of rectangular slice is inferred to be one when a flag corresponding to a picture of the plurality of pictures indicates no partitioning.
However, Deng teaches wherein the number of rectangular slices is inferred to be one when a flag corresponding to a picture of the plurality of pictures indicates no partitioning is applied ([0145], “no_pic_partition_flag is equal to 1 specifies that no picture partitioning is applied to each picture referring to the PPS”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Deng with Chang for the benefit of providing increased efficiency in video processing.
As per claim 8, Chang teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 2. Chang does not explicitly disclose a delta value between a number of subpictures and the number of rectangular slices is inferred to be zero when a flag corresponding to a single slice per subpicture is signaled.
However, Deng teaches a delta value between a number of subpictures and the number of rectangular slices is inferred to be zero when a flag corresponding to a single slice per subpicture is signaled ([0145]; “ single_slice_per_subpic_flag equal to 1 specifies that each subpicture consists of one and only one rectangular slice. Single_slice_per_subpic_flag equal to 0 specifies that each subpicture may consist of one or more rectangular slices. When single_slice_per_subpic_flag is equal to 1, num_slices_in_pic_minus1 is inferred to be equal to sps_num_subpics_minus1. When not present, the value of single_slice_per_subpic_flag is inferred to be equal to 0”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Deng with Chang for the benefit of providing increased efficiency in video processing.
As per claim 12, which is the corresponding method with the limitations of the limitations as the method as recited in claim 4 thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 4 also applies here.
As per claim 13, which is the corresponding method with the limitations of the limitations as the method as recited in claim 5, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 5 also applies here.
As per claim 16, which is the corresponding method with the limitations of the limitations as the method as recited in claim 8 thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 8 also applies here.
As per claim 20, which is the corresponding method with the limitations of the limitations as the method as recited in claim 4 thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 4 also applies here.
As per claim 21, which is the corresponding method with the limitations of the limitations as the method as recited in claim 5 thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 5 also applies here.
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0092449) in view of Zhang et al., (U.S. Pub. No.2022/0248061).
As per claim 6, Chang teaches wherein the video bitstream includes one or more subpictures (abstract, [0005], [0007], [0018-0019], [0056], [0059]). Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein the video bitstream includes one or more tile group headers, one or more subpictures, and one or more picture order count (POC), and the one or more tile group headers further include a set of adaptive resolution change reference information.
However, Zhang teaches the video bitstream includes one or more tile group headers, and one or more picture order counts (POC) ([0154] and table 8; “tile group header” and “picture order count”), and one or more tile group headers further includes a set of adaptive resolution change reference information (fig. 8, fig. 14, [0038], [0083], [0115-0116], [0134-0136], [0145], [0170], [0309-0311]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Zhang with Chang in order to provide improved image quality and efficient image processing.
As per claim 14, which is the corresponding method with the limitations of the limitations as the method as recited in claim 6 thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 6 also applies here.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al., (U.S. Pub. No. ) in view of Deng et al., (2023/0043717 A1) and further in view of Chang et al., ( “Joint Video Experts Team (JVET), of ITU-T STG 16 WP 3 and ISO/IEC JTC1/SC 29/ WG 11 17th Meeting Brussels, BE 7-17 January 2020”; herein referenced as “Chang’2”).
As per claim 9, Chang (modified by Deng) teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 8. Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein the number of subpictures is less than the number of rectangular slices.
However, Chang’2 teaches wherein the number of subpictures is less than the number of rectangular slices (1. Problem Statement, pg. 1. “the number of subpictures in picture shall be smaller than or equal to the number of slices in picture”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chang’2 with Chang (modified by Deng) for the benefit to provide efficient signaling between number of subpictures and number of slices in picture.
As per claim 17, which is the corresponding method with the limitations of the limitations as the method as recited in claim 9, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 9 also applies here.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Park et al., (U.S Pub. No. 20230080116-A1)
Hendry et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 20240205424-A1)
Contact
JESSICA PRINCE
Examiner
Art Unit 2486
/JESSICA M PRINCE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486