DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LG ELECTRONICS, “Clarification on how handle PDU Session when Alternative S-NSSAI / replaced SNSSAI is not supported in the target area”, S2-2310193, 3GPP TSG-SA2 Meeting #159, Xiamen, China, 27, September 2023 (hereinafter LG) in view of US 20240147235 A1 (Velev).
In re claims 1 and 12, LG discloses a first access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system, the first AMF comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and a method performed by the first access and mobility management function (AMF) comprising: identifying that a user equipment (UE) moves to a cell where a replaced single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) is not supported (Page 2, section 5.15.19, lines 3-10, “If the NSSF detects that an S-NSSAI becomes unavailable or congested (e.g. based on OAM or NWDAF analytics output), it sends network slice availability notification for the S-NSSAI to the AMF. The notification may include an Alternative S-NSSAI which can be used by the AMF to replace the S-NSSAI...The notification may include an Alternative S-NSSAI which can be used by the AMF to replace the S-NSSAI. The PCF notifies the AMF when the S-NSSAI is available again for the UE”); and based on the replaced S-NSSAI being not supported, transmitting, to a second AMF, a registration status update message indicating a registration status for a UE context, wherein the registration status update message includes information on protocol data unit (PDU) session identifier (ID) to be released (Page 2, section 5.15.19, lines 18-26, “Based on the notification above from NSSF or PCF or OAM, the AMF may determine that an S-NSSAI is to be replaced with Alternative S-NSSAI. For roaming case, the AMF may receive network slice availability notification of the HPLMN S-NSSAI from NSSF in the HPLMN via NSSF in VPLMN, to trigger the Network Slice Replacement of the HPLMN S-NSSAI as described in clause 5.15.6...The AMF determines the Alternative S-NSSAI for a UE registered with the S-NSSAI based on the notification from NSSF or PCF, or based on local configuration if the NSSF or PCF do not provide an alternative S-NSSAI. The Alternative S-NSSAI shall be supported in the UE Registration Area” (registration update process knowing alternative S-NSSAI not supported). Page 3, lines 1-5, “For the supporting UE when the UE has a NAS signaling connection, i.e. it is CM-CONNECTED or it has become CM-CONNECTED, e.g. through a Service Request procedure or through a UE registration procedure, if the AMF determines that the S-NSSAI is to be replaced and there is a PDU Session associated with the S-NSSAI in the UE context, the AMF sends the mapping of the S-NSSAI to the Alternative S-NSSAI to the UE in the UE Configuration Update message or in the Registration Accept message”. Page 3, lines 19-22, “the AMF performs UE Configuration Update procedure to reconfigure the UE with the alternative S-NSSAI. The AMF continues the PDU Session establishment procedure with the Alternative SNSSAI and provides both the Alternative S-NSSAI and the S-NSSAI to the SMF inNsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext service operation”. Page 4, lines 4-7, “If there is an existing PDU Session associated with an Alternative S-NSSAI that has replaced an S-NSSAI, when a UE moves into an area where the replaced S-NSSAI is not supported, the AMF sends new Allowed NSSAI to the UE to remove the replaced S-NSSAI and mapping of the replaced S-NSSAI to the Alternative S-NSSAI. The AMF requests to the SMF to release PDU Session associated with the Alternative S-NSSAI”).
LG does not explicitly disclose the first AMF comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver.
Velev discloses the first AMF comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver (Fig. 3, [0057], “FIG. 3 depicts one embodiment of an apparatus 300 that may be used for network slice admission control. The apparatus 300 includes one embodiment of the network unit 104. Furthermore, the network unit 104 may include a processor 302, a memory 304, an input device 306, a display 308, a transmitter 310, and a receiver 312”. [0143], “In certain embodiments, the method 1100 may be performed by a processor executing program code, for example, a microcontroller, a microprocessor, a CPU, a GPU, an auxiliary processing unit, a FPGA, or the like”. [0056], “In one embodiment, the transmitter 210 and the receiver 212 may be part of a transceiver”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LG with Velev to provide a method for a service considering the availability of a network slice replaced in a wireless communication system. The advantage of doing so is service continuity for example is a disaster situation.
In re claims 2 and 13, the combination discloses the method of claim 1 and the first AMF of claim 13, wherein LG discloses wherein the method further comprising: removing the replaced S-NSSAI from an allowed NSSAI in case that the UE moves to the cell where the replaced S-NSSAI is not supported (Page 4, lines 4-7, “If there is an existing PDU Session associated with an Alternative S-NSSAI that has replaced an S-NSSAI, when a UE moves into an area where the Alternative S-NSSAI is not supported, the AMF may send a new Allowed NSSAI to the UE including mapping of the S-NSSAI to a new Alternative S-NSSAI; or remove the mapping of the replaced S-NSSAI to the Alternative S-NSSAI; or request to the SMF to release PDU Session associated with the Alternative S-NSSAI").
In re claims 3 and 14, the combination discloses the method of claim 2 and the first AMF of claim 13, wherein LG discloses the method further comprising: removing an alternative S-NSSAI from the allowed NSSAI in case that the replaced S- NSSAI is not maintained in the allowed NSSAI (See “In re claims 2 and 13”. Minor design variation. Not supported is interpreted as no more maintained)).
In re claim 4, the combination discloses the method of claim 3, wherein LG discloses the method further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, a registration accept message including information on an updated allowed NSSAI (Page 3, lines 1-5, “For the supporting UE when the UE has a NAS signaling connection, i.e. it is CM-CONNECTED or it has become CM-CONNECTED, e.g. through a Service Request procedure or through a UE registration procedure, if the AMF determines that the S-NSSAI is to be replaced and there is a PDU Session associated with the S-NSSAI in the UE context, the AMF sends the mapping of the S-NSSAI to the Alternative S-NSSAI to the UE in the UE Configuration Update message or in the Registration Accept message”).
In re claims 5 and 15, the combination discloses the method of claim 1 and the first AMF of claim 12, wherein LG discloses the method further comprising: based on processing at least one PDU session included in a network slice for service continuity, determining a PDU session to be released in the network slice among the at least one PDU session; and transmitting, to a session management function (SMF), a release request message including the PDU session ID corresponding to the PDU session to be released in the network slice (Page 1, reason for change, lines 6-8, “If replaced S-NSSAI is not supported, since both original S-NSSAI and Alternative S-NSSAI should be in the Allowed NSSAI, POU Session should be released”. Page 3, lines 34-38, “If the SMF determines that the PDU Session is to be re-established, the SMF sends the Alternative S-NSSAI to the supporting UE either in PDU Session Modification Command if the PDU Session is of SSC mode 3, or in PDU Session Release if the PDU Session is of SSC mode 2 or SSC mode 1, to trigger the re-establishment of the PDU Session. The UE includes both, the S-NSSAI and the Alternative S-NSSAI in the PDU Session Establishment message”).
In re claims 6 and 16, the combination discloses the method of claim 1 and the first AMF of claim 12, wherein Velev discloses wherein the first AMF is a new AMF for the UE and the second AMF is an old AMF for the UE (Fig. 7, [0017], “FIG. 7 is a schematic block diagram illustrating one embodiment of a system for UE mobility with an AMF change and a new AMF (e.g., second AMF, AMF1) sending an indication to an old AMF (e.g., first AMF, AMF2) about the unsupported S-NSSAIs”).
In re claims 7 and 17, the combination discloses the method of claim 6 and the first AMF of claim 16, wherein Velev discloses the method further comprising: transmitting, to the second AMF, a request message for a transfer of the UE context; and receiving, from the second AMF, a response message for the transfer of the UE context, the response message including the UE context and a UE ID ([0100], “In a third communication 720, the AMF1 706 sends Namf_Communication_UEContextTransfer (e.g., complete registration request) to the AMF2 708 to request the UE context. The AMF2 708 sends the UE context to the UE 702 including the current allowed NSSAI. The AMF2 708 replies to the AMF1 706. The AMF2 708 sends to AMF1 706: a response to Namf_Communication_UEContextTransfer (e.g., subscription permanent identifier (“SUPI”), UE context in AMF2 708). The UE context contains among other informational elements (“IEs”) also the allowed NSSAI”).
In re claims 8 and 18, LG discloses a second access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system, the second AMF comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and a method performed by the second access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: identifying that a user equipment (UE) moves to a cell where a replaced single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) is not supported (Page 2, section 5.15.19, lines 3-10, “If the NSSF detects that an S-NSSAI becomes unavailable or congested (e.g. based on OAM or NWDAF analytics output), it sends network slice availability notification for the S-NSSAI to the AMF. The notification may include an Alternative S-NSSAI which can be used by the AMF to replace the S-NSSAI...The notification may include an Alternative S-NSSAI which can be used by the AMF to replace the S-NSSAI. The PCF notifies the AMF when the S-NSSAI is available again for the UE”); and based on the replaced S-NSSAI being not supported, receiving, from a first AMF, a registration status update message indicating a registration status for a UE context, wherein the registration status update message includes information on protocol data unit (PDU) session identifier (ID) to be released(Page 2, section 5.15.19, lines 18-26, “Based on the notification above from NSSF or PCF or OAM, the AMF may determine that an S-NSSAI is to be replaced with Alternative S-NSSAI. For roaming case, the AMF may receive network slice availability notification of the HPLMN S-NSSAI from NSSF in the HPLMN via NSSF in VPLMN, to trigger the Network Slice Replacement of the HPLMN S-NSSAI as described in clause 5.15.6...The AMF determines the Alternative S-NSSAI for a UE registered with the S-NSSAI based on the notification from NSSF or PCF, or based on local configuration if the NSSF or PCF do not provide an alternative S-NSSAI. The Alternative S-NSSAI shall be supported in the UE Registration Area” (registration update process knowing alternative S-NSSAI not supported). Page 3, lines 1-5, “For the supporting UE when the UE has a NAS signaling connection, i.e. it is CM-CONNECTED or it has become CM-CONNECTED, e.g. through a Service Request procedure or through a UE registration procedure, if the AMF determines that the S-NSSAI is to be replaced and there is a PDU Session associated with the S-NSSAI in the UE context, the AMF sends the mapping of the S-NSSAI to the Alternative S-NSSAI to the UE in the UE Configuration Update message or in the Registration Accept message”. Page 3, lines 19-22, “the AMF performs UE Configuration Update procedure to reconfigure the UE with the alternative S-NSSAI. The AMF continues the PDU Session establishment procedure with the Alternative SNSSAI and provides both the Alternative S-NSSAI and the S-NSSAI to the SMF inNsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext service operation”. Page 4, lines 4-7, “If there is an existing PDU Session associated with an Alternative S-NSSAI that has replaced an S-NSSAI, when a UE moves into an area where the replaced S-NSSAI is not supported, the AMF sends new Allowed NSSAI to the UE to remove the replaced S-NSSAI and mapping of the replaced S-NSSAI to the Alternative S-NSSAI. The AMF requests to the SMF to release PDU Session associated with the Alternative S-NSSAI”).
LG does not explicitly disclose the second AMF comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver.
Velev discloses the second AMF comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver (Fig. 3, [0057], “FIG. 3 depicts one embodiment of an apparatus 300 that may be used for network slice admission control. The apparatus 300 includes one embodiment of the network unit 104. Furthermore, the network unit 104 may include a processor 302, a memory 304, an input device 306, a display 308, a transmitter 310, and a receiver 312”. [0143], “In certain embodiments, the method 1100 may be performed by a processor executing program code, for example, a microcontroller, a microprocessor, a CPU, a GPU, an auxiliary processing unit, a FPGA, or the like”. [0056], “In one embodiment, the transmitter 210 and the receiver 212 may be part of a transceiver”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LG with Velev to provide a method for a service considering the availability of a network slice replaced in a wireless communication system. The advantage of doing so is service continuity for example is a disaster situation.
In re claims 9 and 19, the combination discloses the method claim 8 and the second AMF of claim 18, wherein LG discloses wherein the replaced S-NSSAI is removed from an allowed NSSAI in case that the UE moves to the cell where the replaced S-NSSAI is not supported (Page 4, lines 4-7, “If there is an existing PDU Session associated with an Alternative S-NSSAI that has replaced an S-NSSAI, when a UE moves into an area where the Alternative S-NSSAI is not supported, the AMF may send a new Allowed NSSAI to the UE including mapping of the S-NSSAI to a new Alternative S-NSSAI; or remove the mapping of the replaced S-NSSAI to the Alternative S-NSSAI; or request to the SMF to release PDU Session associated with the Alternative S-NSSAI").
In re claims 10 and 20, the combination discloses the method claim 8 and the second AMF of claim 18, wherein Velev discloses wherein the first AMF is a new AMF for the UE and the second AMF is an old AMF for the UE (Fig. 7, [0017], “FIG. 7 is a schematic block diagram illustrating one embodiment of a system for UE mobility with an AMF change and a new AMF (e.g., second AMF, AMF1) sending an indication to an old AMF (e.g., first AMF, AMF2) about the unsupported S-NSSAIs”).
In re claim 11, the combination discloses the method of claim 10, wherein Velev discloses the method further comprising: receiving, from the first AMF, a request message for a transfer of the UE context; and transmitting, to the first AMF, a response message for the transfer of the UE context, the response message including the UE context and a UE ID ([0100], “In a third communication 720, the AMF1 706 sends Namf_Communication_UEContextTransfer (e.g., complete registration request) to the AMF2 708 to request the UE context. The AMF2 708 sends the UE context to the UE 702 including the current allowed NSSAI. The AMF2 708 replies to the AMF1 706. The AMF2 708 sends to AMF1 706: a response to Namf_Communication_UEContextTransfer (e.g., subscription permanent identifier (“SUPI”), UE context in AMF2 708). The UE context contains among other informational elements (“IEs”) also the allowed NSSAI”).
Contact
/SWATI JAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2649