DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barzuza et al. (US 2015/0215351) in view of Ligameri et al. (US 2015/0348322).
Regarding claim 1, Barzuza teaches a method comprising: at a first electronic device in communication with one or more displays and one or more sensors: while in electronic communication with a second electronic device, presenting, via the one or more displays, a virtual object representing a user of the second electronic device in an environment of the first electronic device, wherein the virtual object has a first orientation that is based on a current location and/or orientation of a user of the first electronic device (see fig. 1-2, 5-7, ¶ 0014, 0028-0030, 0032-0035. Users or participants in a conferencing session using HMD head mounted displays are worn by participants and the orientation information and the first view information, provides determining a first change to how video is presented the first HMD.); while presenting the virtual object representing the user of the second electronic device with the first orientation in the environment, detecting, via the one or more sensors, a first input that includes movement of the user of the first electronic device in the environment (see fig. 1-2, 5-7, ¶ 0014, 0028-0030, 0032-0038. Orientation information may be compiled from a gyro sensor(s), accelerometer(s), compass, video cameras, or any other type of sensor that could provide information relevant to an HMD's orientation. In some examples, portions of the orientation information may be provided by sensors external to HMD 102, such as room proximity sensors or external cameras. Change has been determined, by directing HMD 102 to implement the change. Participant is able to control the video presented to them by HMD 102 by moving their head upon which HMD 102 is worn. This movement is represented by the orientation and view information discussed above to control the video presented to participant during the conference session. As updated orientation and view information continue to be compiled, the video will continue to be controlled in accordance with participant movement.); and in response to detecting the first input: in accordance with a determination that the movement of the user of the first electronic device causes the current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device to change in the environment relative to the virtual object, updating presentation, via the one or more displays, of the virtual object representing the user of the second electronic device to have a second orientation, different from the first orientation, in the environment, wherein the second orientation of the virtual object is based on an updated current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device (see fig. 1-2, 5-7, ¶ 0014, 0028-0030, 0032-0038, 0057, 0063-0066. Change has been determined, by directing HMD 102 to implement the change. Participant is able to control the video presented to them by HMD 102 by moving their head upon which HMD 102 is worn. This movement is represented by the orientation and view information discussed above to control the video presented to participant during the conference session. As updated orientation and view information continue to be compiled, the video will continue to be controlled in accordance with participant movement. Determining the visual elements located at each gaze point. AR HMDs, the gaze point may be over an element physically located with a participant or an element displayed by the HMD. Since each HMD may display visual elements differently (e.g. different location, different perspectives, etc.), gaze point may be in different locations for each participant. This presents different orientations/movements when viewing a virtual object (another participant).); and in accordance with a determination that the movement of the user of the first electronic device does not cause the current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device to change in the environment relative to the virtual object, maintaining presentation of the virtual object representing the user of the second electronic device with the first orientation in the environment (see fig. 1-2, 5-7, 9, ¶ 0014, 0028-0030, 0032-0038, 0057, 0063-0066. Change has been determined, by directing HMD 102 to implement the change. Participant is able to control the video presented to them by HMD 102 by moving their head upon which HMD 102 is worn. This movement is represented by the orientation and view information discussed above to control the video presented to participant during the conference session. As updated orientation and view information continue to be compiled, the video will continue to be controlled in accordance with participant movement. The movement of the user does not change the location or orientation in the environment. Upon the use being located in a virtual setting, with other participants, the users position does not change when the user movement is inputted. The presentation in the current environment does not alter when others are gazing in different directions.).
Barzuza discloses an HMD device in communication with sensors, however, does not mention how the device is in communication with a display. Barzuza is vague on at a first electronic device in communication with one or more displays and one or more sensors.
Ligameri teaches a first electronic device in communication with one or more displays and one or more sensors (see fig. 1, ¶ 0016. Ligameri disclose visual information is communicated to display and goggles by a connection. Thus providing both the goggles and display the same feed which both are communicated with each other.).
The combination of Ligameri to Barzuza provides a goggles and display in communication to provide visual feed on both devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Barzuza to incorporate a display and googles in communication with each other. The modification provides for visual information is communicated to display and goggles by a connection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barzuza et al. (US 2015/0215351).
Regarding claim 16, Barzuza teaches a first electronic device comprising: one or more processors; memory; and one or more programs stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for performing a method comprising: while in electronic communication with a second electronic device, presenting, via one or more displays, a virtual object representing a user of the second electronic device in an environment of the first electronic device, wherein the virtual object has a first orientation that is based on a current location and/or orientation of a user of the first electronic device (see fig. 1-2, 5-7, ¶ 0014, 0028-0030, 0032-0035. Users or participants in a conferencing session using HMD head mounted displays are worn by participants and the orientation information and the first view information, provides determining a first change to how video is presented the first HMD.); while presenting the virtual object representing the user of the second electronic device with the first orientation in the environment, detecting, via one or more sensors, a first input that includes movement of the first electronic device in the environment (see fig. 1-2, 5-7, ¶ 0014, 0028-0030, 0032-0038. Orientation information may be compiled from a gyro sensor(s), accelerometer(s), compass, video cameras, or any other type of sensor that could provide information relevant to an HMD's orientation. In some examples, portions of the orientation information may be provided by sensors external to HMD 102, such as room proximity sensors or external cameras. Change has been determined, by directing HMD 102 to implement the change. Participant is able to control the video presented to them by HMD 102 by moving their head upon which HMD 102 is worn. This movement is represented by the orientation and view information discussed above to control the video presented to participant during the conference session. As updated orientation and view information continue to be compiled, the video will continue to be controlled in accordance with participant movement.); and in response to detecting the first input: in accordance with a determination that the movement of the first electronic device causes the current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device to change in the environment relative to the virtual object, updating presentation, via the one or more displays, of the virtual object representing the user of the second electronic device to have a second orientation, different from the first orientation, in the environment, wherein the second orientation of the virtual object is based on an updated current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device (see fig. 1-2, 5-7, ¶ 0014, 0028-0030, 0032-0038, 0057, 0063-0066. Change has been determined, by directing HMD 102 to implement the change. Participant is able to control the video presented to them by HMD 102 by moving their head upon which HMD 102 is worn. This movement is represented by the orientation and view information discussed above to control the video presented to participant during the conference session. As updated orientation and view information continue to be compiled, the video will continue to be controlled in accordance with participant movement. Determining the visual elements located at each gaze point. AR HMDs, the gaze point may be over an element physically located with a participant or an element displayed by the HMD. Since each HMD may display visual elements differently (e.g. different location, different perspectives, etc.), gaze point may be in different locations for each participant. This presents different orientations/movements when viewing a virtual object (another participant).); and in accordance with a determination that the movement of the first electronic device does not cause the current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device to change in the environment relative to the virtual object, maintaining presentation of the virtual object representing the user of the second electronic device with the first orientation in the environment (see fig. 1-2, 5-7, 9, ¶ 0014, 0028-0030, 0032-0038, 0057, 0063-0066. Change has been determined, by directing HMD 102 to implement the change. Participant is able to control the video presented to them by HMD 102 by moving their head upon which HMD 102 is worn. This movement is represented by the orientation and view information discussed above to control the video presented to participant during the conference session. As updated orientation and view information continue to be compiled, the video will continue to be controlled in accordance with participant movement. The movement of the user does not change the location or orientation in the environment. Upon the use being located in a virtual setting, with other participants, the users position does not change when the user movement is inputted. The presentation in the current environment does not alter when others are gazing in different directions.).
Regarding claim 17, Barzuza teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of a first electronic device, cause the first electronic device to perform a method comprising: while in electronic communication with a second electronic device, presenting, via one or more displays, a virtual object representing a user of the second electronic device in an environment of the first electronic device, wherein the virtual object has a first orientation that is based on a current location and/or orientation of a user of the first electronic device (see fig. 1-2, 5-7, ¶ 0014, 0028-0030, 0032-0035. Users or participants in a conferencing session using HMD head mounted displays are worn by participants and the orientation information and the first view information, provides determining a first change to how video is presented the first HMD.); while presenting the virtual object representing the user of the second electronic device with the first orientation in the environment, detecting, via one or more sensors, a first input that includes movement of the first electronic device in the environment (see fig. 1-2, 5-7, ¶ 0014, 0028-0030, 0032-0038. Orientation information may be compiled from a gyro sensor(s), accelerometer(s), compass, video cameras, or any other type of sensor that could provide information relevant to an HMD's orientation. In some examples, portions of the orientation information may be provided by sensors external to HMD 102, such as room proximity sensors or external cameras. Change has been determined, by directing HMD 102 to implement the change. Participant is able to control the video presented to them by HMD 102 by moving their head upon which HMD 102 is worn. This movement is represented by the orientation and view information discussed above to control the video presented to participant during the conference session. As updated orientation and view information continue to be compiled, the video will continue to be controlled in accordance with participant movement.); and in response to detecting the first input: in accordance with a determination that the movement of the first electronic device causes the current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device to change in the environment relative to the virtual object, updating presentation, via the one or more displays, of the virtual object representing the user of the second electronic device to have a second orientation, different from the first orientation, in the environment, wherein the second orientation of the virtual object is based on an updated current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device (see fig. 1-2, 5-7, ¶ 0014, 0028-0030, 0032-0038, 0057, 0063-0066. Change has been determined, by directing HMD 102 to implement the change. Participant is able to control the video presented to them by HMD 102 by moving their head upon which HMD 102 is worn. This movement is represented by the orientation and view information discussed above to control the video presented to participant during the conference session. As updated orientation and view information continue to be compiled, the video will continue to be controlled in accordance with participant movement. Determining the visual elements located at each gaze point. AR HMDs, the gaze point may be over an element physically located with a participant or an element displayed by the HMD. Since each HMD may display visual elements differently (e.g. different location, different perspectives, etc.), gaze point may be in different locations for each participant. This presents different orientations/movements when viewing a virtual object (another participant).); and in accordance with a determination that the movement of the first electronic device does not cause the current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device to change in the environment relative to the virtual object, maintaining presentation of the virtual object representing the user of the second electronic device with the first orientation in the environment (see fig. 1-2, 5-7, 9, ¶ 0014, 0028-0030, 0032-0038, 0057, 0063-0066. Change has been determined, by directing HMD 102 to implement the change. Participant is able to control the video presented to them by HMD 102 by moving their head upon which HMD 102 is worn. This movement is represented by the orientation and view information discussed above to control the video presented to participant during the conference session. As updated orientation and view information continue to be compiled, the video will continue to be controlled in accordance with participant movement. The movement of the user does not change the location or orientation in the environment. Upon the use being located in a virtual setting, with other participants, the users position does not change when the user movement is inputted. The presentation in the current environment does not alter when others are gazing in different directions.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 2, 4, 7, 8, 10, 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barzuza et al. (US 2015/0215351) in view of Ligameri et al. (US 2015/0348322).
Regarding claim 2, Barzuza teaches the method of claim 1, wherein presenting the virtual object representing the user of the second electronic device includes presenting a three-dimensional image of the user of the second electronic device (see ¶ 0032. The video viewed of participant 123 by participant 122 in HMD 102 may be captured and transferred to conferencing server 101 by one or more 2D or 3D video image capture devices co-located with participant 123.).
Regarding claim 4, Barzuza teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first electronic device and the second electronic device each include a head-mounted display (see fig. 1-2, 5-7, ¶ 0014, 0028-0030, 0032-0035. Users or participants in a conferencing session using HMD head mounted displays are worn by participants and the orientation information and the first view information, provides determining a first change to how video is presented the first HMD.)
Regarding claim 7, Barzuza teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device is based on a gaze direction of the user of the first electronic device; detecting the first input includes detecting a change in the gaze direction of the user of the first electronic device; and the updated current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device is based on an updated gaze direction of the user of the first electronic device (see fig. 1-2, 5-7, ¶ 0014, 0028-0030, 0032-0038, 0057, 0063-0066. Change has been determined, by directing HMD 102 to implement the change. Participant is able to control the video presented to them by HMD 102 by moving their head upon which HMD 102 is worn. This movement is represented by the orientation and view information discussed above to control the video presented to participant during the conference session. As updated orientation and view information continue to be compiled, the video will continue to be controlled in accordance with participant movement. Determining the visual elements located at each gaze point. AR HMDs, the gaze point may be over an element physically located with a participant or an element displayed by the HMD. Since each HMD may display visual elements differently (e.g. different location, different perspectives, etc.), gaze point may be in different locations for each participant. This presents different orientations/movements when viewing a virtual object (another participant).).
Regarding claim 8, Barzuza teaches the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the first input includes detecting a change in position of the user of the first electronic device in the environment relative to the virtual object representing the user of the second electronic device (see fig. 1-2, 5-7, ¶ 0014, 0028-0030, 0032-0038, 0057, 0063-0066. Change has been determined, by directing HMD 102 to implement the change. Participant is able to control the video presented to them by HMD 102 by moving their head upon which HMD 102 is worn. This movement is represented by the orientation and view information discussed above to control the video presented to participant during the conference session. As updated orientation and view information continue to be compiled, the video will continue to be controlled in accordance with participant movement. Determining the visual elements located at each gaze point. AR HMDs, the gaze point may be over an element physically located with a participant or an element displayed by the HMD. Since each HMD may display visual elements differently (e.g. different location, different perspectives, etc.), gaze point may be in different locations for each participant. This presents different orientations/movements when viewing a virtual object (another participant).).
Regarding claim 10, Barzuza teaches the method of claim 1, wherein, prior to detecting the first input, the virtual object representing the user of the second electronic device is presented at a first location in the environment from a viewpoint of the first electronic device, the method further comprising: in response to detecting the first input: in accordance with the determination that the movement of the user of the first electronic device causes the current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device to change in the environment relative to the virtual object(see fig. 1-2, 5-7, ¶ 0014, 0028-0030, 0032-0038. Orientation information may be compiled from a gyro sensor(s), accelerometer(s), compass, video cameras, or any other type of sensor that could provide information relevant to an HMD's orientation. In some examples, portions of the orientation information may be provided by sensors external to HMD 102, such as room proximity sensors or external cameras. Change has been determined, by directing HMD 102 to implement the change. Participant is able to control the video presented to them by HMD 102 by moving their head upon which HMD 102 is worn. This movement is represented by the orientation and view information discussed above to control the video presented to participant during the conference session. As updated orientation and view information continue to be compiled, the video will continue to be controlled in accordance with participant movement.), updating presentation, via the one or more displays, of the virtual object representing the user of the second electronic device to be presented at a second location, different from the first location, in the environment, wherein the second location of the virtual object is based on the updated current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device (see fig. 1-2, 5-7, ¶ 0014, 0028-0030, 0032-0038, 0057, 0063-0066. Change has been determined, by directing HMD 102 to implement the change. Participant is able to control the video presented to them by HMD 102 by moving their head upon which HMD 102 is worn. This movement is represented by the orientation and view information discussed above to control the video presented to participant during the conference session. As updated orientation and view information continue to be compiled, the video will continue to be controlled in accordance with participant movement. Determining the visual elements located at each gaze point. AR HMDs, the gaze point may be over an element physically located with a participant or an element displayed by the HMD. Since each HMD may display visual elements differently (e.g. different location, different perspectives, etc.), gaze point may be in different locations for each participant. This presents different orientations/movements when viewing a virtual object (another participant).); and in accordance with a determination that the movement of the user of the first electronic device does not cause the current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device to change in the environment relative to the virtual object, maintaining presentation of the virtual object representing the user of the second electronic device at the first location in the environment (see fig. 1-2, 5-7, 9, ¶ 0014, 0028-0030, 0032-0038, 0057, 0063-0066. Change has been determined, by directing HMD 102 to implement the change. Participant is able to control the video presented to them by HMD 102 by moving their head upon which HMD 102 is worn. This movement is represented by the orientation and view information discussed above to control the video presented to participant during the conference session. As updated orientation and view information continue to be compiled, the video will continue to be controlled in accordance with participant movement. The movement of the user does not change the location or orientation in the environment. Upon the use being located in a virtual setting, with other participants, the users position does not change when the user movement is inputted. The presentation in the current environment does not alter when others are gazing in different directions.).
Regarding claim 14, Barzuza teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: updating presentation of the virtual object representing the user of the second electronic device to have the second orientation that is based on the updated current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device includes moving the virtual object representing the user of the second electronic device by a first amount in the environment; and the first amount is based on a respective amount of the movement of the user of the first electronic device in the environment when detecting the first input (see fig. 1-2, 5-7, ¶ 0014, 0028-0030, 0032-0038, 0057, 0063-0066. Change has been determined, by directing HMD 102 to implement the change. Participant is able to control the video presented to them by HMD 102 by moving their head upon which HMD 102 is worn. This movement is represented by the orientation and view information discussed above to control the video presented to participant during the conference session. As updated orientation and view information continue to be compiled, the video will continue to be controlled in accordance with participant movement. Determining the visual elements located at each gaze point. AR HMDs, the gaze point may be over an element physically located with a participant or an element displayed by the HMD. Since each HMD may display visual elements differently (e.g. different location, different perspectives, etc.), gaze point may be in different locations for each participant. This presents different orientations/movements when viewing a virtual object (another participant).).
Regarding claim 15, Barzuza teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: a second environment at the second electronic device includes a first object; and the virtual object representing the user of the second electronic device is presented with a representation of the first object while in the electronic communication with the second electronic device (see fig. 1-2, 5-7, ¶ 0014, 0028-0030, 0032-0035. Users or participants in a conferencing session using HMD head mounted displays are worn by participants and the orientation information and the first view information, provides determining a first change to how video is presented the first HMD.)
7. Claim(s) 3, 5, 6, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barzuza et al. (US 2015/0215351) in view of Ligameri et al. (US 2015/0348322) in further view of Culbertson et al. (US 2005/0168402).
Regarding claim 3, Barzuza teaches the method of claim 2, wherein: presenting the virtual object with the first orientation that is based on the current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device includes orienting a head of the three-dimensional image of the user of the second electronic device to face toward the user of the first electronic device relative to a viewpoint of the first electronic device; and updating presentation of the virtual object representing the user of the second electronic device to have the second orientation that is based on the updated current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device includes moving the head of the three-dimensional image of the user of the second electronic device such that the head continues to face toward the user of the first electronic device relative to the viewpoint of the first electronic device (see fig. 1-2, 5-7, ¶ 0014, 0028-0030, 0032-0038, 0057, 0063-0066. Change has been determined, by directing HMD 102 to implement the change. Participant is able to control the video presented to them by HMD 102 by moving their head upon which HMD 102 is worn. This movement is represented by the orientation and view information discussed above to control the video presented to participant during the conference session. As updated orientation and view information continue to be compiled, the video will continue to be controlled in accordance with participant movement. Determining the visual elements located at each gaze point. AR HMDs, the gaze point may be over an element physically located with a participant or an element displayed by the HMD. Since each HMD may display visual elements differently (e.g. different location, different perspectives, etc.), gaze point may be in different locations for each participant. This presents different orientations/movements when viewing a virtual object (another participant).).
Barzuza and Ligameri does not teach includes moving the head of the three-dimensional image of the user of the second electronic device such that the head continues to face toward the user of the first electronic device relative to the viewpoint of the first electronic device.
Culbertson teaches includes moving the head of the three-dimensional image of the user of the second electronic device such that the head continues to face toward the user of the first electronic device relative to the viewpoint of the first electronic device (see fig. 1-4, ¶ 0056-0058. Viewing participant is rotated an amount wherein the model will gaze in the reference direction in the virtual coordinate system. If the 3D model of the viewing participant is rotated an amount, then the gaze direction of the viewing participant model. The model of the viewing participant will face the viewed object. The 3D model of the viewing participant must be rotated by the angel when placed in the virtual environment to properly portray a gaze towards the viewed object. The angle is the orientation part of the viewing participant's virtual pose. Therefore the gaze of the participant can then follow an object and as long as the gaze is captured, the head continues to face toward the object as object moves.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Barzuza and Ligameri to incorporate a capture the display movement and continuous head movement as the object moves across the screen. The modification provides for the gaze of the participant can then follow an object and as long as the gaze is captured, the head continues to face toward the object as object moves.
Regarding claim 5, Barzuza and Ligameri do not teach the method of claim 1, wherein presenting the virtual object with the first orientation that is based on the current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device causes the virtual object to face toward the user of the first electronic device relative to a viewpoint of the first electronic device.
Culbertson teaches wherein presenting the virtual object with the first orientation that is based on the current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device causes the virtual object to face toward the user of the first electronic device relative to a viewpoint of the first electronic device (see fig. 1-4, ¶ 0056-0058. Viewing participant is rotated an amount wherein the model will gaze in the reference direction in the virtual coordinate system. If the 3D model of the viewing participant is rotated an amount, then the gaze direction of the viewing participant model. The model of the viewing participant will face the viewed object. The 3D model of the viewing participant must be rotated by the angel when placed in the virtual environment to properly portray a gaze towards the viewed object. The angle is the orientation part of the viewing participant's virtual pose. Therefore the gaze of the participant can then follow an object and as long as the gaze is captured, the head continues to face toward the object as object moves.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Barzuza and Ligameri to incorporate a capture the display movement and continuous head movement as the object moves across the screen. The modification provides for the gaze of the participant can then follow an object and as long as the gaze is captured, the head continues to face toward the object as object moves.
Regarding claim 6, Barzuza and Ligameri do not teach the method of claim 5, wherein updating presentation of the virtual object representing the user of the second electronic device to have the second orientation that is based on the updated current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device causes the virtual object to continue to face toward the user of the first electronic device relative to the viewpoint of the first electronic device.
Culbertson teaches wherein updating presentation of the virtual object representing the user of the second electronic device to have the second orientation that is based on the updated current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device causes the virtual object to continue to face toward the user of the first electronic device relative to the viewpoint of the first electronic device (see fig. 1-4, ¶ 0056-0058. Viewing participant is rotated an amount wherein the model will gaze in the reference direction in the virtual coordinate system. If the 3D model of the viewing participant is rotated an amount, then the gaze direction of the viewing participant model. The model of the viewing participant will face the viewed object. The 3D model of the viewing participant must be rotated by the angel when placed in the virtual environment to properly portray a gaze towards the viewed object. The angle is the orientation part of the viewing participant's virtual pose. Therefore the gaze of the participant can then follow an object and as long as the gaze is captured, the head continues to face toward the object as object moves.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Barzuza and Ligameri to incorporate a capture the display movement and continuous head movement as the object moves across the screen. The modification provides for the gaze of the participant can then follow an object and as long as the gaze is captured, the head continues to face toward the object as object moves.
Regarding claim 9, Barzuza and Ligameri does not teach the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the first input includes detecting rotation of the user of the first electronic device in the environment relative to the virtual object representing the user of the second electronic device.
Culbertson teaches wherein detecting the first input includes detecting rotation of the user of the first electronic device in the environment relative to the virtual object representing the user of the second electronic device (see fig. 1-4, ¶ 0056-0058. Viewing participant is rotated an amount wherein the model will gaze in the reference direction in the virtual coordinate system. If the 3D model of the viewing participant is rotated an amount, then the gaze direction of the viewing participant model. The model of the viewing participant will face the viewed object. The 3D model of the viewing participant must be rotated by the angel when placed in the virtual environment to properly portray a gaze towards the viewed object. The angle is the orientation part of the viewing participant's virtual pose. Therefore the gaze of the participant can then follow an object and as long as the gaze is captured, the head continues to face toward the object as object moves.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Barzuza and Ligameri to incorporate a capture the display movement and continuous head movement as the object moves across the screen. The modification provides for the gaze of the participant can then follow an object and as long as the gaze is captured, the head continues to face toward the object as object moves.
8. Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barzuza et al. (US 2015/0215351) in view of Ligameri et al. (US 2015/0348322) in further view of Wheeler et al. (US 8,643,951).
Regarding claim 11, Barzuza and Ligameri do not teach the method of claim 10, wherein, in accordance with a determination that the movement of the user of the first electronic device causes the virtual object to no longer be visible in a field of view of the first electronic device in the environment from an updated viewpoint of the first electronic device, presenting the virtual object at the second location causes the virtual object to be visible in the field of view of the first electronic device in the environment from the updated viewpoint of the first electronic device.
Wheeler teaches wherein, in accordance with a determination that the movement of the user of the first electronic device causes the virtual object to no longer be visible in a field of view of the first electronic device in the environment from an updated viewpoint of the first electronic device, presenting the virtual object at the second location causes the virtual object to be visible in the field of view of the first electronic device in the environment from the updated viewpoint of the first electronic device (see fig. 1B-2A. Col. 6, lines 19-55, col. 8, lines 7-20. At time A, no media objects are visible through viewing window 152. However, at time B, after viewing window 152 has moved, graphic object 154 is visible to the wearer. The object can be in view and not in view relative to location based of the location of the object, wherein the user would have to move from one position to another position.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Barzuza and Ligameri to incorporate virtual object to no longer be visible in a field of view and object in view when in a second location. The modification provides for the object can be in view and not in view relative to location based of the location of the object, wherein the user would have to move from one position to another position.
9. Claim(s) 12, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barzuza et al. (US 2015/0215351) in view of Ligameri et al. (US 2015/0348322) in further view of Muniz Simas et al. (US 2013/0022950).
Regarding claim 12, Barzuza and Ligameri do not teach the method of claim 1, wherein: the current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device is based on a height of the user of the first electronic device relative to a surface of the environment; detecting the first input includes detecting a change in the height of the user of the first electronic device relative to the surface of the environment; and the updated current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device is based on an updated height of the user of the first electronic device relative to the surface.
Muniz teaches wherein: the current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device is based on a height of the user of the first electronic device relative to a surface of the environment; detecting the first input includes detecting a change in the height of the user of the first electronic device relative to the surface of the environment; and the updated current location and/or orientation of the user of the first electronic device is based on an updated height of the user of the first electronic device relative to the surface (see fig. 1C, ¶ 0119-0121. The player module simulates the height of the user. When the height of a user changes the player module adjusts the height of vision within the virtual environment to ensure consistency between what the user sees in the virtual environment and what would see in the real environment, this is based on the input from the motion tracker device.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Barzuza and Ligameri to incorporate height of the user of the first electronic device relative to a surface of the environment. The modification height and updated height changes in the environment in order to be consistent with what the user sees.
Regarding claim 13, Barzuza and Ligameri do not teach method of claim 12, wherein the surface of the environment includes a ground of the environment.
Muniz teaches wherein the surface of the environment includes a ground of the environment (see fig. 1C, ¶ 0119-0121. The player module simulates the height of the user. When the height of a user changes the player module adjusts the height of vision within the virtual environment to ensure consistency between what the user sees in the virtual environment and what would see in the real environment, this is based on the input from the motion tracker device.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Barzuza and Ligameri to incorporate height of the user of the first electronic device relative to a surface of the environment. The modification height and updated height changes in the environment in order to be consistent with what the user sees.
Conclusion
/ASSAD MOHAMMED/ Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691