DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 01/06/2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/04/2025 have been considered by the examiner and initialed copies of the IDS are hereby attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11-12, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Olcan (Olcan et. al. , "Training of Deep Neural Networks With up to 10 Million Antennas,", 2022, ) in view of He (CN104133195A) and further in view of Yu (CN117060864A).
Regarding claim 1 Olcan discloses: A gain model and autofocus radar (GMAR) system, the GMAR system comprising: a gain prediction model training processor configured to : receive training radar data; receive truth data; perform a machine learning training process to develop a radar gain prediction model based on the training radar data and the truth data (Section I: “The usage of artificial neural networks for antenna and microwave circuit design has shown great potentials [1]–[4]. Particularly, multi-layer perceptron (MLP) networks have the ability to model highly nonlinear relations between the electromagnetic (EM) system output and its geometrical and material parameters, especially in the case when deep neural networks (DNN) are used. However, there are many choices that can be made while training the DNN, e.g. the training algorithm and its parameters, the scaling of input and output data, etc. Therefore, we summarize results for DNN modeling of forward gain of Yagi-Uda antenna.”);
Olcan does not teach “and a marine autofocus radar system for use on a marine vessel, the marine autofocus radar system comprising: a radar system configured to be disposed on the marine vessel, the radar system being further configured to generate raw radar data based on transmitted radar signals and received radar reflection signals; a radar system controller configured to be operably coupled to the radar system , the radar system controller being further configured to: receive the raw radar data from the radar system; convert the raw radar data into processed radar data “.
However, He in the analogous arts teaches: and a marine autofocus radar system for use on a marine vessel (Para 0002: “ navigation radar is a marine vessel navigation system must be installed to one of the devices, ship function avoids the dangerous barrier continuous small wave guiding radar volume, low transmission power, easy installation, small harm to human body, and it can be widely applied to all kinds of small ship, a barge around various target detection, guiding the ship running according to the channel.”), the marine autofocus radar system comprising: a radar system configured to be disposed on the marine vessel, the radar system being further configured to generate raw radar data based on transmitted radar signals and received radar reflection signals (Para 0002: “navigation radar is a marine vessel navigation system must be installed to one of the devices, ship function avoids the dangerous barrier continuous small wave guiding radar volume, low transmission power, easy installation, small harm to human body, and it can be widely applied to all kinds of small ship, a barge around various target detection, guiding the ship running according to the channel.”); a radar system controller configured to be operably coupled to the radar system , the radar system controller being further configured to: receive the raw radar data from the radar system; convert the raw radar data into processed radar data (Para 0024: “[0024] wherein, in practical application, the detecting unit is a memory register to be detected data samples, a reference unit refers to the stored shift register reference data samples. the parameter estimation subsystem comprises a background noise power estimation subsystem, sea clutter interference intensity estimation subsystem with the STC control coefficient estimation subsystem, detecting unit comprises: the memory register to be detected data samples, a reference unit refers to the stored shift register reference data samples.”).
Yu in analogous arts teaches: apply the processed radar data to the radar gain prediction model to determine a gain error (Page : “In some aspects, the envelope regulator circuit may include a gain adjustment model associated with a voltage change of the non-linear component, and the apparatus may further include a control block (e.g., a hardware control register) to configure the gain adjustment model based on the parameterized model. In some aspects, a gain adjustment model in the envelope regulator circuit may be based on a drain inductor resonance of the nonlinear component. In some aspects, a gain adjustment model in the envelope regulator circuit may include a look-up table (LUT) generated based on a parameterized model. The LUT may be a two-dimensional (2D) LUT that maps the voltage variation of the non-linear component and the envelope (e.g., instantaneous envelope) of the input signal to the gain value.”) ; and adjust a gain setting value of the radar system as a feedback input to repeatedly adjust the operation of the radar system based on the gain error (Page 18: “In some aspects, the RF transceiver 100 may further include a control block (e.g., a hardware register) to configure a gain adjustment model associated with the drain inductor resonance of the PA 130. and the envelope adjuster circuit 116 may process the envelope of the input signal 102 based on the gain adjustment model. In some aspects, the gain adjustment model may include a drain voltage to gain map look-up table (LUT) based on the parameterized model. For example, a drain voltage to gain mapping LUT (e.g., 2D LUT 458) may be generated based on a parameterized model.”), wherein the gain setting value affects content of the raw radar data by controlling amplification of the transmitted radar signals or filtering of the received radar reflection signals (Page 9: “The transmitter circuit 120 may be configured to up-convert the signal 104 z from the baseband signal to a higher frequency signal, such as an RF signal. The RF signal generated by the transmitter 120 may be provided to the PA 130, which may be implemented as a PA array comprising N individual PAs. The PA 130 may be configured to amplify the RF signal generated by the transmitter 120 (thus, the PA 130 may be driven by the drive signal based on the output of the DPD circuit 110), and to output the amplified RF signal 131, which may be driven by y (e.g., y). vector).”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Olcan with Yu to incorporate the feature of: apply the processed radar data to the radar gain prediction model to determine a gain error; and adjust a gain setting value of the radar system as a feedback input to repeatedly adjust the operation of the radar system based on the gain error, wherein the gain setting value affects content of the raw radar data by controlling amplification of the transmitted radar signals or filtering of the received radar reflection signals. Olcan and Yu are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the use of radio frequency (RF) technology. However, Olcan fails to disclose a feature of adjusting the antenna gain. This feature is disclosed by ----. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Olcan with Yu to incorporate the feature of: apply the processed radar data to the radar gain prediction model to determine a gain error; and adjust a gain setting value of the radar system as a feedback input to repeatedly adjust the operation of the radar system based on the gain error, wherein the gain setting value affects content of the raw radar data by controlling amplification of the transmitted radar signals or filtering of the received radar reflection signals as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system.
Claims 11 and 18 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 2, therefore claims 11 and 18 are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 2 the combination of Olcan, He and Yu discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Yu further teaches: wherein the radar system controller is further configured to receive a second set of raw radar data, determine a second gain error, and adjust the gain setting value of the radar system based on the second gain error (error (Page 18: “In some aspects, the RF transceiver 100 may further include a control block (e.g., a hardware register) to configure a gain adjustment model associated with the drain inductor resonance of the PA 130. and the envelope adjuster circuit 116 may process the envelope of the input signal 102 based on the gain adjustment model. In some aspects, the gain adjustment model may include a drain voltage to gain map look-up table (LUT) based on the parameterized model. For example, a drain voltage to gain mapping LUT (e.g., 2D LUT 458) may be generated based on a parameterized model.”).
Claims 12 and 19 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 2, therefore claims 12 and 19 are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 3 the combination of Olcan, He and Yu discloses all the limitations of claim 2. Yu further teaches: wherein the radar system controller is further configured to adjust the gain prediction model, prior to applying second processed radar data to the gain prediction model, using a convolution neural network (Page 17: “In one example, the MLP model may include three hidden layers with (16, 32, 16) neurons, respectively. In one example, the MLP model may include three hidden layers with (16, 32, 16) neurons, respectively. In general, the MLP model may include any suitable number of hidden layers, and each hidden layer may include any suitable number of neurons. The two components are combined together, and the complete model is shown by 402.”).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Olcan (Olcan et. al. , "Training of Deep Neural Networks With up to 10 Million Antennas,", 2022, ) in view of He (CN104133195A) , in view of Yu (CN117060864A) and further in view of Itohara (US9459342B2).
Regarding claim 5 the combination of Olcan and Yu discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Olcan does not teach “wherein the radar system controller is configured to convert the raw radar data into the processed radar data by at least converting the raw radar data into the processed radar data, the processed radar data being defined with respect to a coordinate system having at least one circular-defined dimension “ .
However, Itohara in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the radar system controller is configured to convert the raw radar data into the processed radar data by at least converting the raw radar data into the processed radar data, the processed radar data being defined with respect to a coordinate system having at least one circular-defined dimension (Description 45: “An example where a running vehicle is tracked using the radar device 100 of this embodiment is hereinafter described using FIGS. 6A-6E. In FIGS. 6A-6E, the horizontal axis X is defined to be the width direction of the radar device 100, and the vertical axis Y is defined to be a direction of the center axis C illustrated in FIG. 2. The vehicle running in the direction of arrow D is tracked by using the radar device 100. FIG. 6A illustrates all of the detected data set before the tracking process. In FIGS. 6B and 6C, a result of tracking using circular cluster areas is illustrated, and in FIGS. 6D and 6E, a result of tracking using fan-shaped cluster areas is illustrated. The result illustrated in FIGS. 6D and 6E is of the tracking using the radar device 100 of this embodiment.”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Olcan with Itohara to incorporate the feature of: wherein the radar system controller is configured to convert the raw radar data into the processed radar data by at least converting the raw radar data into the processed radar data, the processed radar data being defined with respect to a coordinate system having at least one circular-defined dimension. Olcan and Itohara are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the use of radio frequency (RF) technology. However, Olcan fails to disclose a feature of processing radar data in a circular-defined dimension. This feature is disclosed by Itohara. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Olcan with Itohara to incorporate the feature of: wherein the radar system controller is configured to convert the raw radar data into the processed radar data by at least converting the raw radar data into the processed radar data, the processed radar data being defined with respect to a coordinate system having at least one circular-defined dimension as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system.
Claim 15 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 5, therefore claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 6, 7, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Olcan (Olcan et. al. , "Training of Deep Neural Networks With up to 10 Million Antennas,", 2022, ) in view of He (CN104133195A) , in view of Yu (CN117060864A) and further in view of Harrison (US20190331768A1).
Regarding claim 6 the combination of Olcan, He and Yu discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Olcan does not teach “wherein the radar system controller is configured to convert the raw radar data into the processed radar data by at least converting the raw radar data into the processed radar data, the processed radar data being formatted as multi-dimensional image frames converted from an array of radar scanlines“.
However, Harrison in the analogous teaches: wherein the radar system controller is configured to convert the raw radar data into the processed radar data by at least converting the raw radar data into the processed radar data, the processed radar data being formatted as multi-dimensional image frames converted from an array of radar scanlines (Para 0038: “ FIG. 7 illustrates the CNN 602 in more detail. Each radar slice 700 represents the range-Doppler information of a radar scan acquired by the radar module 402 of FIG. 4. These radar slices are compiled into a cube of radar data 702, which may represent a full scan across the azimuth or a full 3D scan of the FoV, and so forth. The radar data cube 704 is input into CNN 704, implemented as in CNN 602. The CNN 602/704 uses small regions of a visual field and identifies edges and orientations in the field, much like a filter for an image. The image goes through a series of convolutional, nonlinear sampling through layers, resulting in a probability. The layers include a convolutional layer that looks at these small regions individually, referred to as receptive fields. “).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Olcan with Harrison to incorporate the feature of: wherein the radar system controller is configured to convert the raw radar data into the processed radar data by at least converting the raw radar data into the processed radar data, the processed radar data being formatted as multi-dimensional image frames converted from an array of radar scanlines. Olcan and Harrison are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the use of radio frequency (RF) technology. However, Olcan fails to disclose a feature of generation multidimension slices from radar data. This feature is disclosed by Harrison. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Olcan with Harrison to incorporate the feature of: wherein the radar system controller is configured to convert the raw radar data into the processed radar data by at least converting the raw radar data into the processed radar data, the processed radar data being formatted as multi-dimensional image frames converted from an array of radar scanlines as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system.
Claim 16 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 6, therefore claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 7 the combination of Olcan, He and Yu discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Olcan does not teach “wherein the truth data is based on classifications of a plurality of image frames of the training radar data“.
However, Harrison in the analogous teaches: wherein the truth data is based on classifications of a plurality of image frames of the training radar data (Para 0038: “ FIG. 7 illustrates the CNN 602 in more detail. Each radar slice 700 represents the range-Doppler information of a radar scan acquired by the radar module 402 of FIG. 4. These radar slices are compiled into a cube of radar data 702, which may represent a full scan across the azimuth or a full 3D scan of the FoV, and so forth. The radar data cube 704 is input into CNN 704, implemented as in CNN 602. The CNN 602/704 uses small regions of a visual field and identifies edges and orientations in the field, much like a filter for an image. The image goes through a series of convolutional, nonlinear sampling through layers, resulting in a probability. The layers include a convolutional layer that looks at these small regions individually, referred to as receptive fields. “).
The reason for combining Olcan with Harrison is the same as the one given in claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 9 the combination of Olcan, He and Yu discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Olcan does not teach “wherein the training radar data is generated by sweeping settings of the radar system over respective ranges, including the gain setting value, during capture of the training radar data and logging correlated settings of the radar systems “.
However, Harrison in the analogous teaches: wherein the training radar data is generated by sweeping settings of the radar system over respective ranges, including the gain setting value, during capture of the training radar data and logging correlated settings of the radar systems (Para 0045: “Attention is now directed to FIG. 9, which illustrates a flowchart for training the DNN 604 of FIG. 6. The first step in training 900 is to prepare a known input-output training dataset (902). The dataset can include synthetic and/or real data output by a radar system such as radar system 102 of FIG. 1 and radar system 400 of FIG. 4. As described above, the data from these radar systems is multi-dimensional and includes measures such as range, velocity, azimuth and elevation for each beam. In training DNN 604, a full 4D data set can be used, or alternatively, DNN 604 may be trained with a smaller dimensional set. In one example, the dataset used in training is a 4D hybercube; in other examples, a 3D data cube is used by scanning data at a fixed elevation (e.g., zero or other elevation) and recording the range, velocity and azimuth angles.”).
The reason for combining Olcan with Harrison is the same as the one given in claim 6 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8, 10, 13-14, 17 and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4 the combination of Olcan, He and Yu discloses all the limitations of claim 2. Olcan does not teach “wherein the radar system controller is further configured to adjust the gain prediction model, prior to applying second processed radar data to the gain prediction model, based on global positioning system (GPS)-oriented marine map data indicating fixed-position object targets within a range of the radar system”.
In reference to depend/independent claim 4, the prior arts made of record individually or in any combination, failed to teach, render obvious, or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the combination of the claimed features of claim 4. Specifically, the prior arts made of record fail to disclose the limitation: “wherein the radar system controller is further configured to adjust the gain prediction model, prior to applying second processed radar data to the gain prediction model, based on global positioning system (GPS)-oriented marine map data indicating fixed-position object targets within a range of the radar system “
Claim 14 recites limitations that are like those of claim 4, therefore claim 14 is allowable under the same rationale.
Regarding 8 the combination of Olcan, He and Yu discloses all the limitations of claim 7. Olcan does not teach “wherein each image frame of the training radar data is classified as being in one of five gain assessment classes, each gain assessment class having a respective gain adjustment response for use in performing the machine learning training process to develop the radar gain prediction model.”.
In reference to depend/independent claim 8, the prior arts made of record individually or in any combination, failed to teach, render obvious, or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the combination of the claimed features of claim 8. Specifically, the prior arts made of record fail to disclose the limitation: “wherein each image frame of the training radar data is classified as being in one of five gain assessment classes, each gain assessment class having a respective gain adjustment response for use in performing the machine learning training process to develop the radar gain prediction model. “.
Regarding claim 10 the combination of Olcan, He and Yu discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Olcan does no teach “wherein the radar system controller is further configured to perform object identification based on the processed radar data; wherein the radar system controller is configured to: receive a plurality of known feature locations for known objects; and apply the processed radar data to the gain prediction model to determine the gain error from the gain prediction model, the gain prediction model being constructed to determine the gain error to capture radar targets in addition to radar targets for the known objects.”.
In reference to depend/independent claim 10, the prior arts made of record individually or in any combination, failed to teach, render obvious, or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the combination of the claimed features of claim 10. Specifically, the prior arts made of record fail to disclose the limitation: “wherein the radar system controller is configured to: receive a plurality of known feature locations for known objects; and apply the processed radar data to the gain prediction model to determine the gain error from the gain prediction model, the gain prediction model being constructed to determine the gain error to capture radar targets in addition to radar targets for the known objects. “.
Claims 17 and 20 recites limitations that are like those of claim 4, therefore claims 17 and 20 are allowable under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 13 the combination of Olcan and He discloses all the limitations of claim 12. Olcan does not teach “wherein the processor is further configured to adjust the gain prediction model, prior to applying second processed radar data to the gain prediction model.”.
In reference to depend/independent claim 13, the prior arts made of record individually or in any combination, failed to teach, render obvious, or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the combination of the claimed features of claim 13. Specifically, the prior arts made of record fail to disclose the limitation: “wherein the processor is further configured to adjust the gain prediction model, prior to applying second processed radar data to the gain prediction model.“.
Conclusion
/BONGANI JABULANI MASHELE/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/TIMOTHY A BRAINARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648