DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11793392 B2 and claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12193637 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims read on the application claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 10-11, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauerfeind (US 5337733) in view of Nakao (US 5217001), further in view of Dubrul (US 5431676).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 20, Bauerfeind discloses a system (eg. Fig.1-2 endoscope with pressure system) comprising: an elongate rigidizing device configured to transition between a flexible configuration and a rigid configuration by the application of pressure (eg. Col. 2, Ln. 21-44, Col. 5, Ln. 35 – Col. 6, Ln. 20); but does not disclose a working channel sleeve extending over the elongate rigidizing device, the working channel sleeve comprising one or more expandable external working channels, the expandable external working channels formed by one or more filaments, wherein the working channel sleeve is configured so that the one or more external working channels expands when a tool is passed therethrough, wherein the one or more filaments are knitted, braided or woven to form pores having a pore size that may vary as the one or more expandable external working channels is expanded or collapsed.
Nakao teaches an endoscope system that uses a disposable sheath assembly for an insertion member with a thin-walled elongate tubular sheath made of a strong flexible material that can expand (eg. Fig. 9-10, Col. 8, Ln. 39 – Col. 9, Ln. 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the invention of Bauerfeind with the outer sheath with expandable channels as taught by Nakao to provide the predictable result of adding instrument-delivery capacity to an elongate insertion member without enlarging the device’s profile during insertion.
Dubrul teaches an endoscopic device with a tubular braid comprising non-elastic filaments creating a mesh that is radially expandable from a small diameter configuration to a large diameter configuration where the tubular braid is anchored by axial shortening of a braid upon radial expansion that changes the dimension of the filaments (eg. Abstract, Col. 3, Ln. 55 – Col. 4, Ln. 60, Col. 6, Ln. 40-65, Fig. 10, braid 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Bauerfeind and Nakao to have Nakao’s outer sleeve be made of the tubular braid as taught by Dubrul as a simple substitution for having the predictable result of being able to radially expand/collapse as needed.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, the combined invention of Bauerfeind, Nakao, and Dubrul discloses the one or more expandable external working channels is coupled to a proximal end region and to a distal end region of the elongate rigidizing device (eg. Nakao, Abstract, Col. 5, Ln. 30 – Col. 6, Ln. 53).
Regarding claim 5, the combined invention of Bauerfeind, Nakao, and Dubrul discloses the expandable external working channels comprise a mix of elastic and non-elastic filaments (eg. Dubrul, Abstract, Col. 3, Ln. 5-25, Col. 3, Ln. 55 – Col. 4, Ln. 10, Col. 6, Ln. 40-65, Col. 7, Ln. 9-27, can have elastic/deformable layers with the braid layer).
Claim(s) 3-4 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauerfeind (US 5337733) in view of Nakao (US 5217001), further in view of Dubrul (US 5431676), further in view of Silverstein (US 5025778).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, the combined invention of Bauerfeind, Nakao, and Dubrul discloses the invention of claim 1, but does not disclose comprising at least one guide configured to be removably inserted into the one or more expandable external working channels, the at least one guide including a lumen configured to expand the one or more expandable external working channels to enable passage of the tool therethrough.
Silverstein teaches a rigid rod and lining that can be inserted into the tubing through an endoscope channel (eg. Col. 6, Ln. 30 – Col. 7, Ln. 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the invention of Bauerfeind, Nakao, and Dubrul with the guide rod as taught by Silverstein to provide the predictable result of providing structural support for the channel and instruments during passage.
Regarding claim 4, the combined invention of Bauerfeind, Nakao, Dubrul, and Silverstein discloses at least one guide includes an atraumatic distal end (eg. Silverstein Col. 6, Ln. 30 – Col. 7, Ln. 25, tapered).
Regarding claim 13, the combined invention of Bauerfeind, Nakao, Dubrul, and Silverstein discloses the at least one guide comprises a protrusion configured to enable rotational alignment of the at least one guide relative to the elongate rigidizing device (eg. Dubrul, Col. 10, Ln. 20-35, the cone is used as an alignment mechanism and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to make a simple substitution for such this well-known mechanism for the same function of alignment).
Regarding claim 14, the combined invention of Bauerfeind, Nakao, Dubrul, and Silverstein discloses the expandable external working channels comprise a mix of elastic and non-elastic filaments (eg. Dubrul, Abstract, Col. 3, Ln. 5-25, Col. 3, Ln. 55 – Col. 4, Ln. 10, Col. 6, Ln. 40-65, Col. 7, Ln. 9-27, can have elastic/deformable layers with the braid layer).
Regarding claim 15, the combined invention of Bauerfeind, Nakao, Dubrul, and Silverstein discloses the expandable external working channels comprise a mix of elastic and non-elastic filaments (eg. Bauerfeind, Col. 5, Ln. 35-46, Dubrul, Col. 7, Ln. 9-26).
Regarding claim 16, the combined invention of Bauerfeind, Nakao, Dubrul, and Silverstein discloses the outer member comprises a polyurethane or silicone material (eg, Dubrul, Col. 6, Ln. 40-65).
Claim(s) 6 and 9s/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauerfeind (US 5337733) in view of Nakao (US 5217001), further in view of Dubrul (US 5431676), further in view of Chouinard (US 7438712 B2).
Regarding claims 6, and 9, the combined invention of Bauerfeind, Nakao, and Dubrul discloses the invention of claim 1, but does not disclose the one or more expandable external working channels comprises a fluoropolymer material (eg. Dubrul, Col. 6, Ln. 40 – Col. 7, Ln. 8, various rubbers etc. but not specifically fluoropolymers.
Chouinard teaches an endoluminal tube device with a layer that uses PTFE (eg. Col. 5, Ln. 8-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Bauerfeind, Nakao, and Dubrul to have the layers made of PTFE as a well-known material in the art for constructing sheaths for delivery systems (eg. Chouinard, Col. 5, Ln. 8-65).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauerfeind (US 5337733) in view of Nakao (US 5217001), further in view of Dubrul (US 5431676), further in view of Belson (US 2006/0235458 A1)
Regarding claim 7, the combined invention of Bauerfeind, Nakao, and Dubrul discloses the invention of claim 1, but does not disclose the one or more expandable external working channels comprises a hydrophilic coating.
Belson teaches hydrophilic gel coating to an endoscopic working channel (eg. Para. 60, 153, 156).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the invention of Bauerfeind, Nakao, and Dubrul with the hydrophilic coating as taught by Belson to provide the predictable result of helping instruments and the channel to be inserted without binding, catching, or distorting the channel (eg. Belson, Para. 60).
Regarding claim 8, the combined invention of Bauerfeind, Nakao, Dubrul, and Belson discloses one or more expandable external working channels comprises a proximal entry marker thereon configured to indicate a distal exit position (eg. Belson, Para. 54 and 122).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauerfeind (US 5337733) in view of Nakao (US 5217001), further in view of Dubrul (US 5431676), further in view of Silverstein (US 5025778), further in view of Chouinard (US 7438712 B2).
Regarding claim 17, the combined invention of Bauerfeind, Nakao, and Dubrul, and Silverstein discloses the invention of claim 10 but does not disclose the outer member comprises a fluoropolymer material.
Silverstein teaches a rigid rod and lining that can be inserted into the tubing through an endoscope channel (eg. Col. 6, Ln. 30 – Col. 7, Ln. 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the invention of Bauerfeind, Nakao, and Dubrul with the guide rod as taught by Silverstein to provide the predictable result of providing structural support for the channel and instruments during passage.
Chouinard teaches an endoluminal tube device with a layer that uses PTFE (eg. Col. 5, Ln. 8-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Bauerfeind, Nakao, Dubrul, and Silverstein to have the layers made of PTFE as a well-known material in the art for constructing sheaths for delivery systems (eg. Chouinard, Col. 5, Ln. 8-65).
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauerfeind (US 5337733) in view of Nakao (US 5217001), further in view of Dubrul (US 5431676), further in view of Silverstein (US 5025778), further in view of Belson (US 2006/0235458 A1)
Regarding claim 18, the combined invention of Bauerfeind, Nakao, Dubrul, and Silverstein discloses the invention of claim 10, but does not disclose the one or more expandable external working channels comprises a hydrophilic coating.
Silverstein teaches a rigid rod and lining that can be inserted into the tubing through an endoscope channel (eg. Col. 6, Ln. 30 – Col. 7, Ln. 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the invention of Bauerfeind, Nakao, and Dubrul with the guide rod as taught by Silverstein to provide the predictable result of providing structural support for the channel and instruments during passage.
Belson teaches hydrophilic gel coating to an endoscopic working channel (eg. Para. 60, 153, 156).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the invention of Bauerfeind, Nakao, and Dubrul with the hydrophilic coating as taught by Belson to provide the predictable result of helping instruments and the channel to be inserted without binding, catching, or distorting the channel (eg. Belson, Para. 60).
Regarding claim 19, the combined invention of Bauerfeind, Nakao, Dubrul, Silverstein, andBelson discloses one or more expandable external working channels comprises a proximal entry marker thereon configured to indicate a distal exit position (eg. Belson, Para. 54 and 122).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J LAU/Examiner, Art Unit 3796