DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 21-40 were pending when the Office action was issued on June 11, 2026. In the amendment filed September 2, 2026, claims 28 and 38, which were indicated as allowable in the Office action, have been rewritten in the independent form. Claims 21 and 37 have been canceled. Accordingly, Claims 22-36 and 28-40 are pending and under examination.
The indicated allowability of claims 28 and 28 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Terumo Kabushiki Kaisha (EP 1084722 A2), which is cited in the Information Disclosure Statement filed September 2, 2026 and Goff (WO 2006/124307 A2, which is cited in the IPR2025-01264, which is cited in the Information Disclosure Statement filed September 2, 2026. Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an actuation mechanism” in claim 28, line 7 and claim 38, line 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-27, 28, 29, 31-32, 35, 36, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quick (US 2015/0352325, which is cited in the most recent Office action, hereinafter “Quick”) in view of Johnson et al. (US 6,719,717, which is cited in the most recent Office action, hereinafter “Johnson”) and further in view of Terumo Kabushiki Kaisha (EP 1084722 A2, hereinafter “Terumo”), which is cited in the Information Disclosure Statement filed September 2, 2026.
Referring to claim 28, Quick discloses a system for aspirating clot material from a blood vessel of a patient (Figs. 4A-5G, para. [0028]. Fig. 4A is reproduced below), comprising:
a handle body 102 having a connector 208 configured to be coupled to an aspiration catheter 206 intravascularly positioned in the patient proximate to the clot material PE (Fig. 5A);
a pump assembly 106 (Figs. 3A-3B, para. [0032]: “The pressure source 106 can be mounted at least partially within the housing 102 and configured to generate negative and/or positive pressure…As shown in FIG. 1B, in some embodiments the pressure source 106 is a syringe having a barrel 108 (e.g., a 20 cc barrel), a plunger 110, and a piston (not visible) coupled to an end portion of the plunger 110.”) carried by the handle body 102, wherein the pump assembly includes a barrel 108 and a plunger 106 slidably positioned in the barrel;
an actuation mechanism 104 is carried by the handle body 102 and coupled to the pump assembly 106, wherein the actuation mechanism is actuatable by a user to move the plunger in (a) a first direction A1 (Figs. 3A and 4A) through the barrel to generate negative pressure in the barrel (paras. [0053]-[0054]) and (b) a second direction A2 (Fig. 4B) through the barrel to generate positive pressure in the barrel (paras. [0053]-[0054]);
a reservoir 320 (para. [0052]: “The tubing system 300 fluidly couples the pressure source 106 to an aspiration lumen of the catheter 200 (e.g., the lumen of the guide catheter 206). The tubing system 300 has a first portion 314 coupled to the pressure source 106, a second portion 316 coupled to the catheter 200, and a drainage portion 318 coupled to a reservoir 320 (e.g., a vinyl bag).”);
a flow system including:
a first one-way valve configured to (a) inhibit fluid flow from the aspiration catheter to the barrel when the actuation assembly is actuated to move the plunger in the first direction and to (b) prevent fluid flow from the barrel to the aspiration catheter when the actuation assembly is actuated to move the plunger in the second direction (para. [0052]: “For example, the first portion 314 can include tubing section 302a, the drainage portion 318 can include tubing section 302b, first valve 304, and tubing section 302c, and the second portion 316 can include tubing section 302d, second valve 306, tubing section 302e, stop-cock 310, and tubing section 302f. The first valve 304 can be a one-way valve (e.g., a check valve) that only allows fluid flow from the first portion 314 to the drainage portion 318 (and not vice-versa). The second valve 306 can also be a one-way valve (e.g., a check valve) that only allows flow from the second portion 316 to the drainage portion 318 (and not vice-versa).” (emphasis added), para. [0055]: “As shown in FIG. 4B, moving the lever 104 from the second position to the first position (indicated by arrow A2) creates a positive pressure (indicated by arrows F in FIG. 4B) in the first portion 314 and drainage portion 318 of the tubing system 300. The second valve 306 prevents the positive pressure from affecting the aspiration lumen, thereby preventing the backflow of fluid into the blood vessel BV at the treatment site.” (emphasis added));
a second one-way valve configured to (a) inhibit fluid flow from the reservoir to the barrel when the actuation assembly is actuated to move the plunger in the first direction and to (b) permit fluid flow from the barrel to the reservoir when the actuation assembly is actuated to move the plunger in the second direction (para. [0052]: “For example, the first portion 314 can include tubing section 302a, the drainage portion 318 can include tubing section 302b, first valve 304, and tubing section 302c, and the second portion 316 can include tubing section 302d, second valve 306, tubing section 302e, stop-cock 310, and tubing section 302f. The first valve 304 can be a one-way valve (e.g., a check valve) that only allows fluid flow from the first portion 314 to the drainage portion 318 (and not vice-versa). The second valve 306 can also be a one-way valve (e.g., a check valve) that only allows flow from the second portion 316 to the drainage portion 318 (and not vice-versa).” (emphasis added), para. [0055]: “As shown in FIG. 4B, moving the lever 104 from the second position to the first position (indicated by arrow A2) creates a positive pressure (indicated by arrows F in FIG. 4B) in the first portion 314 and drainage portion 318 of the tubing system 300. The second valve 306 prevents the positive pressure from affecting the aspiration lumen, thereby preventing the backflow of fluid into the blood vessel BV at the treatment site.” (emphasis added)); and
Quick discloses wherein sequential actuation of the actuation mechanism 104 to move the plunger in the first direction and the second direction is configured to (a) aspirate blood and at least a portion of the clot material through the aspiration catheter (paras. [0043]-[0047]),
Quick discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for disclosing a filter assembly, wherein sequential actuation of the actuation mechanism 104 to move the plunger in the first direction and the second direction is configured to, (b) drive the blood and the portion of the clot material into the filter assembly to filter the blood from the portion of the clot material, and (c) drive the filtered blood to the reservoir; wherein the filter assembly comprising a housing defining a sealed chamber and having a first housing end portion and a second housing end portion opposite the first housing end portion; a first port position proximate to the first housing end portion; a second port; and a filter extending from a first filter end portion to a second filter end portion wherein the filter extends from a first filter end portion to a second filter end portion, wherein the filter extends continuously about the first filter end portion such that the filter encloses an interior region around the second port, wherein the first port is configured to receive the blood and the portion of the clot material therethrough, the second port is configured to receive the filtered blood therethrough.
However, in the same field of endeavor, which is a system for aspirating occlusive material from a blood vessel of a patient (Abstract), Johnson discloses application of suction from suction source 110 (Fig. 1) withdraws blood clots 120 and any accompanying blood from the patient through the catheter 20 into blood filtration device 90. The filtration device 90 comprises a housing, a filter 100 for capturing and separating blood clots 120 from the withdrawn blood (FIG. 1, col. 3, ln 30-48). Johnson also discloses the filter 100 is positioned upstream from valve 102 (FIG. 1). Johnson discloses the filtered blood is reinfused back into the patient via a reinfuser 140 (FIG.1, col. 5, ln 29-47).
Johnson fails to disclose the structure of filtration assembly, however, Terumo discloses that, during a cardiac procedure blood, blood is withdrawn from the patient, reoxygenated, and filter to remove air bubble and clots being returned to the patient to reduce blood loss (Fig. 9 and entire reference). Terumo discloses the filtration device 10 (Figs. 1-9) comprises a housing 14 (housing 14 includes top section 18 and bottom section 20 as shown in Fig. 1, para. [0019]), a filter (filter 16 and filter cap 43 as shown in Fig. 1, para. [0043]) for capturing and separating blood clots and air bubble from the withdrawn blood. Terumo discloses the advantage of the filter assembly is utilized centripetal flow to facilitate removal of air bubbles that is mixed with the blood (para. [0021]).
In view of Johnson and Terumo’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have provided a filter assembly as suggested by Terumo to the distal location to the valve 306 of Quick, and a reinfuser to allow the surgeon to perform infusion of the filtered blood back into the patient in the event that a substantial amount of blood is withdrawn from the patient during the procedure.
Quick/Johnson/Terumo would discloses the step of sequential actuation of the actuation mechanism 104 to move the plunger in the first direction and the second direction is configured to, (b) drive the blood and the portion of the clot material into the filter assembly to filter the blood from the portion of the clot material, and (c) drive the filtered blood to the reservoir and the step of sequential actuation of the actuation mechanism 104 to move the plunger in the first direction and the second direction is configured to, (b) drive the blood and the portion of the clot material into the filter assembly to filter the blood from the portion of the clot material, and (c) drive the filtered blood to the reservoir.
Referring to claim 23, the modified system of Quick discloses the system of claim 28 wherein the filter assembly of Terumo has a first port 22 (Terumo: Fig. 1 and Fig. 9) fluidly couples the filter assembly to the aspiration catheter 316 of Quick and a second port 29 (Terumo: Fig. 1 and Fig. 9) fluidly couples the filter assembly to the pump assembly.
Referring to claim 24, the modified system of Quick discloses the system of claim 28 wherein the sequential actuation of the actuation mechanism to move the plunger in the first direction and the second direction is configured to pull the blood and the portion of the clot material into the filter assembly via the negative pressure generated in the barrel (see rejection claim 28 above and paras. [0032], [0043]-[0047] and [0053]-[0054] of Quick reference).
Referring to claim 25, the modified system of Quick discloses the system of claim 28 wherein the actuation mechanism 104 comprises a lever 104 coupled to the handle body and to the plunger (Quick: Figs. 3A-3B shows barrel is moved with respect to plunger, para [0030] and [0043]-[0047], para [0032]: “As shown in FIG. 1B, in some embodiments the pressure source 106 is a syringe having a barrel 108 (e.g., a 20 cc barrel), a plunger 110, and a piston (not visible) coupled to an end portion of the plunger 110. One of the plunger 110 or the barrel 108 can be fixed relative to the housing 102, while the other of the plunger 110 or the barrel 108 is moveable relative to the housing 102.” Quick discloses lever 104 coupled to the outer housing and the plunger if the barrel is fixedly attached to the housing or the lever 104 coupled to the outer housing and the barrel if the plunger is fixedly attached to the housing).
Referring to claim 26, the modified system of Quick discloses the system of claim 28 wherein the reservoir comprises a bag (Quick: para. [0052]: “The tubing system 300 has a first portion 314 coupled to the pressure source 106, a second portion 316 coupled to the catheter 200, and a drainage portion 318 coupled to a reservoir 320 (e.g., a vinyl bag).”)
Referring to claim 27, the modified system of Quick discloses the system of claim 28 wherein the reservoir 320 of Quick system is configured to receive the filtered blood (Quick: para. [0052]).
Referring to claim 29, the modified system of Quick discloses the system of claim 28 wherein the filter has a substantially cylindrical shape (Terumo discloses the filter has a substantially cylindrical shape (Fig. 1)).
Referring to claim 31, the modified system of Quick discloses the system of claim 28 wherein the housing is at least partially transparent to permit visualization of the portion of clot material in the chamber outside the interior region (Terumo: para. [0019])
Referring to claim 32, the modified system of Quick discloses the system of claim 28 wherein the second port 29 (Terumo: Fig. 1 and Fig. 9) is positioned proximate to the second housing end portion.
Referring to claim 35, the modified system of Quick discloses the system of claim 28 wherein the first filter end portion is curved (Figs. 6 and 8 of Terumo reference show the housing 14 and 12 have a circular cross-section, thus, the filter element also have a circular cross-section).
Referring to claim 36, the modified system of Quick discloses the system of claim 28 wherein: the flow system further comprises a valve 310 (Quick: Fig. 4A, para. [0052]) between the pump assembly and the aspiration catheter; the valve is actuatable by the user between (a) a closed position inhibiting fluid flow from the aspiration catheter to the pump assembly and (b) an open position permitting fluid flow from the aspiration catheter to the pump assembly; the valve is configured to be in the closed position when the actuation mechanism is actuated by the user to move the plunger in the first direction to store the negative pressure in the barrel; and the valve is configured to be moved to the open position to apply the stored negative pressure to the aspiration catheter (Attention is directed to Fig. 1A, which is reproduced below, of the present application and Fig. 4B, which is reproduced above, of the Quick reference. Examiner notes that the difference between the embodiment as shown in Fig. 4B of Quick reference and Fig. 1A of the present application lies in the fact that the present application further includes filter assembly 306. Fig. 1A of the present application has valve 310 at the same location with valve 310 of Quick reference. Examiner contends that one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that the function of valve 310 of Quick reference is similar to the function of valve 310 of the present application. Thus, valve 310 of Quick reference will perform the function as required in claim 36).
Referring to claim 38, examiner notes that the difference between claim 28 and claim 38 lies in the fact that claim 28 requires a reservoir (line 11) while claim 38 requires a filter blood tube (line 11). In the rejection of claim 28 above, the filter assembly of Terumo is inserted at a position between check valve 306 and proximal end of tube 302e. Thus, the tubing sections 302d and/or 302b can be interpreted as “a filter blood tube” as required in claim 38.
Referring to claim 40, the modified system of Quick discloses the system of claim 38 wherein the filter assembly has a first port fluidly coupling the filter assembly to the aspiration catheter and a second port fluidly coupling the filter assembly to the pump assembly (subject matter in claim 40 is similar to claim 23, please see rejection of claim 23 above).
Claim(s) 22, 30, 33-34 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quick in view of Johnson et al. and Terumo as applied to claim 28 above and further in view of Grooters (US 5,197,485, which is cited the most recent Office action, hereinafter “Grooters”) and further in view of Goff (WO 2006/124307 A2, which is cited in the IPR2025-01264, which is cited in the Information Disclosure Statement filed September 2, 2026, hereinafter “Goff”).
Referring to claims 22, 30 and 33-34, the modified system of Quick discloses the system of claim 28 but fails to disclose wherein the housing of filter assembly is configured to be opened to provide access to the filter.
Referring again to claims 22, 30 and 33-34, Grooters discloses a clot collection and blood filtration system (Figs. 2-7) includes a filter housing (components 14 and 24 as shown in Fig. 2) having a first end portion 14 or 24d and a second end portion 24d or 14, the filter housing having a port 14 or 24d at the first end portion configured to be fluidically coupled to the catheter and a cap 24d or 14 at the second end portion fluidically coupled to the vacuum source, a filter 26 positioned within the housing between the first end portion and the second end portion. Grooters discloses the handle can be quickly disassembled to allow the surgeon to remove the filter for examining any particulate collected (col. 2, lns. 25-50). Furthermore, in the same field of endeavor, which is a methods and systems for filtering aspirated material, Goff discloses filter assembly 18 comprises an upper shell 30, a lower shell 32, and a filter element 34 which is disposed within the interior of the shells (Fig. 1, para. [0025]). Goff discloses that the filter assembly is configured to allow the surgeon to remove the filter element for observation of solid material and replacement of the filter element (paras. [0005] and [0015]).
Referring still to claims 22, 30 and 33-34, in view of Grooters and Goff’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have arranged the filtration system of Terumo to have the top portion 18 (top portion 18 is interpreted as a cap as required in claim 33) is removably coupled to the bottom portion 20 to allow the surgeon the ability of removing the filter element from the housing for cleaning and/or examining the clot material or replacing the filter element in the event that the filter is full with the clot material.
Referring to claim 39, the modified system of Quick discloses the system of claim 38 wherein the filter assembly comprises a housing and a filter removably positioned within the filter assembly, and wherein the filter is configured to filter the blood from the portion of the clot material (see rejection of claim 22 above).
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on September 2, 2026, prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUAN V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771